This business is not BBB accredited.

Edge Optics LLC

Phone: (970) 682-2627 706 S College Ave Ste 101, Fort Collins, CO 80524

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This business offers full service eye care, optometry, eye exams and sports eye wear.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Edge Optics LLC include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Edge Optics LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 29, 2012 Business started: 05/01/2011 Business started locally: 05/01/2011 Business incorporated 05/08/2011 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board of Optometric Examiners
1560 Broadway, Suite 1350, Denver CO 80202
Phone Number: (303) 894-7800

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Mindy Bryant, Director of Operations Mr. Mason Bryant, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Mindy Bryant, Director of Operations
Business Category

Retail Optical Goods Stores Opticians Eyeglass Suppliers Health & Wellness Optometrists Contact Lens Suppliers

Products & Services

sports eye wear, sunglasses, eye exams, kids frames, preventative eye care, eco friendly business, fashion frames

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Edge Optics LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    706 S College Ave Ste 101

    Fort Collins, CO 80524 (970) 682-2627


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought a prescription written by my regular optometrist and had it filled at the Edge Optics in November 2014. I bought both frames and glasses. When I tried to use the glasses I couldn't see well so I brought them back to be checked. The first issue is that the doctor and/or his staff assumed that my prescription was correct and instead of re-checking my eyes -- or requesting that I return to my optometrist for a re-check -- prior to sending back the lenses for a doctor’s change they just sent them back and requested only an increased reading power. Given that this was my only opportunity to make changes without incurring additional costs, the lack of a complete prescription re-check proved costly to me. I would have been willing to pay Dr. ****** for an exam but this was never discussed. Second, the staff optician assumed that the lenses were made correctly even though I repeatedly returned with the new glasses stating that they were not working for me. The only thing the optician did was make adjustments to the fit which never worked and she never investigated whether the lenses and prescription were correct. It turned out that the second pair of lenses were made incorrectly (the segments were crooked). I had to have my glasses checked at two other eye care practices to discover this. When I returned to Edge Optics, the optician stated that the lenses were "within tolerances" and Dr. ****** said that the reading of crooked segments was "subjective," implying that the two other eye care providers who determined they were made incorrectly were wrong. Meanwhile I had my regular eye doctor do a complete prescription re-check and he did find that the one from earlier in the fall wasn't correct so I asked Edge Optics to send the lenses back to the lab to check for the crooked segments. They said that if the lab found them to be made incorrectly, which they did, they would only remake the original prescription. None of this would have happened had Edge Optics seriously investigated my complaint about the glasses in the first place. They simply "wasted" the one opportunity to correct the prescription. In my interactions with other eye care providers I learned that while it is standard to only submit one doctor’s change, most practices, in order to better protect the patient, never submit a doctor’s change without first doing a complete prescription re-check and carefully verifying that the lenses have been made correctly. Neither the optician nor Dr. ****** ever recommended this.

Desired Settlement: A refund of $489.20 for the cost of the lenses only (prescription and coatings), I will keep the frames.

Business Response:

***** **** ****** ********************** *** ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** ******** ** ******** *********

To Whom it may concern,

     We are writing in response to ******* *******' complaint to the Better Business Bureau.  Its is unfortunate that ******* ******* feels he had a less than satisfactory experience with Edge Optics.  We tried from the first encounter to provide a great experience for him, beginning with the friendly discounts we gave him off the already low retail prices ( over 170 dollars off retail price).  After over a month after receiving the product, We gave him a free prescription recheck (29 dollar value) because he was scared to go back to his original doctor who's prescription he used for the original purchase.  We remade the glasses at no charge.    Then another month later he returned to the office with a new prescription from his doctor that was very different , due to structural, medical changes in the patients cornea's.  We offered to remake the glasses again at wholesale cost to him, since the problem with the glasses made was due to a medical change in the patients body, and not due to an error in craftmanship.  We can still offer ******* a remake of his lenses at wholesale cost with his new prescription he received after having a medical change in his eye's prescription.

***** ******, OD

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  See attachment supporting my claim that a complete prescription recheck was not performed prior to submitting the free redo.  I stand by my request for a complete refund for the cost of the lenses.


******* *******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Edge Optics LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart