Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Secret Compass Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Secret Compass Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 412-2322 Fax: (970) 484-2727 1318 Duff Dr, Fort Collins, CO 80524 http://www.secretcompassonline.com/

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Online retailer specializing in clothing, collectibles, fashion accessories, general merchandise, gifts, leather, men's clothing, variety and women's apparel.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Secret Compass Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Secret Compass Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Secret Compass Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 26, 2013 Business started: 03/01/2004 in CO Business incorporated: 03/01/2004 in CO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Shane Cooper, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Shane Cooper, CEO
Business Category

Online Retailer Collectible Stores General Merchandise - Retail Gift Shops Leather Clothes Stores Men's Clothing Stores Variety Stores Womens Apparel - Retail Fashion Accessories Clothing Stores Online Shopping Sites

Service Area
Online
Products & Services

collectibles, movies, style merchandise, sideshow, hot toys, Romain Jerome, Abby Shot


Additional Locations

  • 1318 Duff Dr

    Fort Collins, CO 80524 (970) 412-2322

  • PO Box 1731

    Fort Collins, CO 80522

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Jan 11, 2013, I placed a deposit of $30 for the Voyager Space Golden Record Cover Replica through this company's website using my ****** account. At the time I placed the order, there was a 3 month wait for the item. In a series of emails up until July 2013 to the company inquiring about the item and production, I was told the production was delayed. The advertised price was $139 plus shipping however the shipping costs were never disclosed. On October 21, 2013, I received an email that the item was in and the amount due was $134.65 (remainder of balance and shipping costs). The website clearly gives the customer the option of how to ship their purchase and I was not given the choice. At this point after waiting so long for the item and the undisclosed shipping charges, I asked for the item to be cancelled. I was told that the deposit was not refundable. Per the cancellation policy, "With most pre-orders items, you can cancel your order, anytime up until the item is in stock and ready to ship." At this point, the item had not shipped so this was not following their own company policy. As of April 2014, the refund/cancellation policy was worded as "without penalty" but has been since changed.

Desired Settlement: I have repeatedly communicated via email with one individual whom did not disclose with me until the end that he was the owner. After demanding to speak to his boss, he then informed me he was the owner and founder. All I want at this point is my refund of $30 and will not accept store credit as I want nothing to do with this company or its products. I have requested this and have been told this is non-refundable and they refuse to communicate with me any longer.

Business Response: Dear BBB and ****** *****,

I’d be happy to explain the truth behind this transaction
and provide proof, since the customer is not telling the truth in his
complaint. 

FACTS:

This customer did place an order for the Golden Probe for
$139.95 + shipping and the customer paid a $30 deposit to guarantee his
order.  Our immediate response when we
received payment on the $30 deposit was “Thanks for paying the deposit!  We will invoice you again for $109.95 +
shipping/handling as soon as this item is in stock.”  See proof in the attached screenshot (***
***** communication 1).  The item’s
delivery date was pushed back several times due to issues with production, but
we kept customers informed of the delays by email.  At the time of purchase, the shipping was undisclosed.  This is not unusual with merchandise on
preorder, because the Dealers do not know the final dimensions or weight of the
finished package while the product is being produced, and therefore simply
cannot provide an accurate shipping quote at the time of purchase. 

Unfortunately, this is where the customer has diverted from
the truth altogether.

On October 21st, 2013 we sent an invoice to the
customer for his remaining balance + shipping:

$139.95 - $30 deposit = $109.95  + shipping/handling $24.70 = $134.65

The customer rudely responded by stating “I think NOT!” and
that his total was only $109.  He didn’t
want to pay the shipping.

I reminded the customer as per the communication when we
advertised the product and initially responded to the customer’s payment of the
deposit in October that the invoice would have $109.95 + shipping on it when
the item was in stock.  He didn’t want
to pay the shipping.  I reminded the
customer of all of this and his response was that he never wanted to deal with
our company ever again.  Please see
proof in the attached screenshot (*** ***** communication 2).

Five months later, in March of 2014, the customer contacted
us again in an attempt to cancel the order. 
He stated that because we offer free shipping on some items for sale in
our ebay store (this meant he was entitled to free shipping on the Golden
Probe, even though this product and transaction was never advertised with free
shipping) and because of the delays in production, he was entitled to a refund
of the deposit.  I responded by saying
that our company would not be forced into offering free shipping when we didn’t
advertise it and that we could cancel the transaction, but that he would
forfeit his deposit.  I then went above
and beyond our store policies and offered him store credit on the deposit.  The customer responded by demanding a refund
of the deposit, and stating “you have no idea who you are deal with” and “no
where was anything disclose on no refund!” Please see proof in the attached
screenshot (*** ***** communication 3).

Now, 5 months later, we get this complaint with BBB.  We have been in business 10+ years now and
our policies on presales and deposits have been the same for the past 10+
years.  If we ask a customer to pay a
deposit on a preorder, the deposit is non refundable.  That’s been in print in our Store Policies on our website for the
last 10+ years and has not changed.  http://www.secretcompassonline.com/Terms

Please see proof in the attached screenshot (Secret
Compass store policy RE cancellation and deposits.

Non -refundable deposits on high-end merchandise in
production are typical in the industry we deal in.  Many of the manufacturers themselves and most of the Dealers
charge non-refundable deposits.

As I have made clear to *** ***** in our communication, we
are not going to be forced into offering free shipping on item we didn’t
advertise with free shipping, and we’re not going to be forced into refunding a
deposit that was non refundable, least of all by an rude and unprofessional buyer
who cannot tell the truth, even in their own complaint to the BBB. 

Respectfully
***** ******
Founder and CEO
Secret Compass Inc.

 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I strongly disagree with the one-sided response using screenshots of just the email communications that benefit him. If you are going to tell the story, include everything (see attachment Email Chain). In the final email when asked to speak to a superior, ***** then revealed he was in fact the owner. You will see in the email thread from Oct 2013, I requested my order be cancelled. The cancellation policy at that time said "easiest cancellation policy" and specifically orders can be cancelled until shipped. But if you refer to the current cancellation policy, this was changed as to no refund of deposits for cancelled items. (See attached cancellation policy from Oct 2013, and current).

To prove my point even further, I did a sample purchase of this same item today and now states "free shipping for UPS delivery" (see attached purchase cart).

As to why I had not contacted the BBB, the company refused to address this any longer and there was still no resolve of this matter. I waited for the owner to do the right thing per their own policy and after finding out I was communicating with the owner, this was still not refunded. I as the customer have the right to cancel my order after waiting an extreme amount of time (over 9 months) and finding out the outrageous shipping cost.
.
Once again, per their own policy at the time of order, all I ask for is my refund of $30.
Regards,

****** *****

Business Response: Hi BBB and *** *****,

The customer continues to cherry pick from what he sees in our store policies, and
if you look at the screenshots he has attached, it’s 100% clear what our store
policies were at the time, and continue to be.

From this screenshot the customer has used from October of 2013, it clearly says
that “MOST preorders can be cancelled without penalty.”  The key word is MOST.  Please see attached screenshot.  We have 1000s of items for sale and on
preorders, and many of them can be preordered without paying a deposit.  These orders can be cancelled any time as
the customer sees fit.  Orders with
deposits can be cancelled, but the customer will forfeit the deposit.  That’s the very nature of the word deposit
as seen in www.dictionary.com:

de·pos·it

  [dih-poz-it]  Show
IPA

verb (used with object)

1.to place for safekeeping or in trust, especially in a bankaccount: He deposited his paycheck every Friday.

2.to give as security or in part payment.

We asked for a deposit on this order (security) and there is a standard definition
for this in our society.  If you pay a
deposit on a hotel room and you don’t show up, you will lose your deposit.  If you pay a deposit on a new car and you
don’t complete the transaction, you will lose your deposit.

We asked that this customer pay a deposit on this specific transaction and the
customer paid it.  We gave no guaranteed
timetable for delivery and guaranteed no free shipping. Nowhere in print did we
ever guarantee that this product or any other product in production would/will
ship at a certain time.  Nowhere in
print did we ever offer this customer free shipping.  Nowhere in print did it ever say or does it say we refund
deposits.  The current policy as see in
the customer’s screenshot more specifically addresses the same policy we have
had all along, for the last 10 years. 
Deposits cannot be refunded with cancellations and this is an industry
standard for high-end collectible merchandise like this.  Many of the manufacturers and the Dealers of
this type of merchandise have similar policies.

In regards to the communication between the customer and I, his screenshots and my
screenshots tell the same story.  The
customer ONLY attempted to cancel when presented with a final invoice showing
the remaining balance + shipping.  The
customer wanted free shipping, which was simply not offered at the time on this
product.  The screenshot being presented
from the current sample checkout clearly shows the product with a price tag of
$179.95 with free shipping, which is $40 more than what the customer paid for
the item.  Please see attached
screenshot.  We have started
experimenting with free shipping as of late, but the costs have to be paid from
somewhere and the new price of $179.95 with free shipping clearly makes up for
the cost to ship this item.  It’s ridiculous that the customer
has even presented this as there is a clearly a $40 difference between what the
customer was offered the product in 2013 and what the product is selling for
now with free shipping.

I am the one that has communicated with the customer all along and any screenshot,
his or mine, that shows the communication between the customer and I clearly
shows that while I was professional, and the customer has been rude and
abusive.  The customer demanded
something that was not part of the deal and did not complete the transaction.
so the order was cancelled and the deposit was forfeited- as per our store
policies.  The customer tried to force
me to give him something that was not part of the transaction and anyone that
will read this complaint on BBB will come to the same conclusion.

We will absolutely NOT refund one cent to *** *****.  This is an unprofessional and dishonest buyer that has attempted to
twist our store policies to benefit the transaction that took place between himself
and our company.  His own screenshots
and dialogue clearly show that he thinks he can push merchants around into
getting what he wants.

Respectfully,

***** ******
Founder and CEO
Secret Compass Inc.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The fact is he has change his policy to denied me a refund of my depost of 30 dollars.Please see all above!

Regards,

****** *****

4/12/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/13/11 I sent a deposit to Secret Compass of $500.00 for a QMX Serenity Firefly 1:180 Scale Transport. To date I have heard nothing. I have tried to cancel this order but was told the deposit is non-refundable. On checking with the manufacture QMX I have found they have discontinued production of this item and there are no open orders for Secret Compass for this particular item.I feel I am either due a refund or a credit. Either of which I would be satisifed with since there is no chance of getting the original item I ordered and after 2 year think this is only fair. Product_Or_Service: QMX Serenity Firefly 1:180 Transport

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund If I cannot be refunded my payment of $500 I would gladly take a credit to the Secret Compass website for an HCG Star Trek 1:4 scale Mr. Spock($259.00) and a HCG 1:6 scale Mr. Spock statue($199.00) the balance can go toward shipping.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/08) */ Dear BBB, Thank-you for the opportunity to respond to this complaint. Secret Compass is widely considered by collectors in the global market to be one of the most reliable sources for limited edition collectible merchandise. We have been in business since 2003 and we have never had a complaint filed with the BBB, in ten years of doing business. Our team is online and on the phones all day long; we are known for reliability, flexibility, and going the extra distance for our customers. Our email addresses and phone numbers are in plain print on our website, and have been since we opened our doors. Mr. ****** has communicated back and forth with our company in the past, and we're at a loss to explain how he came to the conclusion that he should file a complaint with the BBB rather than simply communicating his concerns to us directly. Had he reached out to us prior to filing this complaint, we would gladly have discussed the possible options available to him. Unfortunately for all parties involved, this customer's complaint has absolutely no merit. Here are some basic facts that summarize this transaction: FACT: This customer has paid a $500 deposit to reserve a QMX Serenity Firefly 1:180 Scale Transport model. FACT: The model is in production, and is running late. We NEVER guaranteed a delivery date on this model or any model or figure we have ever sold that is in production at the time of sale. FACT: As seen in plain print in the store policies on our website, for cancellations: If you wish to cancel a pre-sale order after the (14) day limit, orders paid with a deposit will be cancelled and you will forfeit your deposit. http://www.secretcompasscollectibles.com/pages/store-policies/ We are willing extend our customers alternate options when possible but these are out store policies, in plain print. There are the facts, and then there are Mr. ******'s attempts to distort the facts. I will address each of the statements the customer has made: "To date I have heard nothing." That is utterly false. We have faithfully provided Mr. ****** with a Weekly Status Update email sent to his email address (*****@aol.com) which clearly indicates that this model in question, the QMX Serenity Firefly 1:180 Transport model, is still in production and has been for some time, due to production delays. Included is a screenshot from our account with Mail Chimp, the mass email service we use to send this Update to nearly 5,000 customers every week. This screenshot clearly shows that we have sent Mr. ****** 87 weekly emails, and that he has physically clicked and opened 41.4% of them, including the last 1 we sent him. Furthermore, I have also attached a screenshot of the latest Weekly Status Update which Mr. ****** opened, that clearly shows that the model in question is running late. To suggest that Mr. ****** "has heard nothing" is a total fabrication. He has been well informed, weekly, on the delays associated with this model. "On checking with the manufacture QMX I have found they have discontinued production of this item.... there is no chance of getting the original item." This is also utterly false. As seen in plain print, new orders on this particular model have been temporarily suspended so that the manufacturing team can catch up on existing orders. Here is the link taken directly from the sale of this exact model on the manufacturer's website: (https://store.qmxonline.com/Serenity--The-Big-****-Replica_p_75.html) which clearly shows this statement in print: "Due to increased demand, we have temporarily suspended new orders so our Artisans can continue production on schedule." This has absolutely not been cancelled or discontinued at all. Nowhere, anywhere in print, has the manufacturer stated that production has been discontinued. "There are no open orders for Secret Compass for this particular item." This is a complete fabrication. Our company has an existing purchase order for our customers that dates back to 2010, and the models will be delivered once they are manufactured. Mr. ****** is one of these customers, and he is entitled to this model when it's ready to ship, at the agreed price, minus the $500 deposit he has already paid. Proof of our purchase order with the manufacturer can be verified by emailing Jim Wampler, our rep at QmX : *****@quantummechanix.com Mr. ****** has not told the truth. He has deliberately misled the BBB and anyone who will read this claim on the status of this model, the status of our company's purchase order with the manufacturer, and has cast doubt on our ability to deliver as promised to our waiting customers. Had he simply reached out to us by email or phone, prior to filing this complaint, we would have been happy to discuss transferring his $500 deposit to store credit, to accommodate him for what has been an unusually long wait. We routinely accommodate customers on a daily basis. Sadly, this customer never gave us a chance to do so. Instead, he chose to file a complaint in a public forum, which as I have just proven, is without merit. Mr. ****** has wasted everyone's time including ours. This customer owes our company a public apology, to go along with this public claim. If this customer acknowledges that the statements that he has made are false, posted in writing to this claim, we would be happy to transfer this $500 deposit into store credit for these two Spock statues he is interested in. If we do not get such an acknowledgement, we will NOT transfer this deposit to store credit. We will expect the final invoice on this model to be paid, minus the deposit, once this item is in stock. If the customer chooses to ignore the final invoice, then the sale will be cancelled and Mr. ****** will lose his deposit. Again, our store policies on deposits are in plain print: http://www.secretcompasscollectibles.com/pages/store-policies/ Thank-you for your time Sincerely, ****** ****** Founder and CEO Secret Compass Consumer Response /* (450, 13, 2013/04/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I truly apologize to this seller. There was confusion with the manufacturer about this order. It seems they operate under another name and of course did not recognize the Online site. he has been very kind and understanding to my rushing to conclusions. Their own website listed this item as Sold Out but again that was for new orders only and not existing ones. Again a miscommunication on my part. We have come to a mutually satisfying resolution. I wish this seller luck and hope we can do business again and I promise to have more communication with them.