Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Secret Compass Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 412-2322 Fax: (970) 484-2727 1318 Duff Dr, Fort Collins, CO 80524 http://www.secretcompassonline.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Online retailer specializing in clothing, collectibles, fashion accessories, general merchandise, gifts, leather, men's clothing, variety and women's apparel.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Secret Compass Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Secret Compass Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Secret Compass Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 26, 2013 Business started: 03/01/2004 in CO Business incorporated 03/01/2004 in CO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Shane Cooper, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Shane Cooper, CEO
Business Category

Online Retailer Collectible Stores General Merchandise - Retail Gift Shops Leather Clothes Stores Men's Clothing Stores Variety Stores Womens Apparel - Retail Fashion Accessories Clothing Stores Online Shopping Sites

Service Area
Online
Products & Services

collectibles, movies, style merchandise, sideshow, hot toys, Romain Jerome, Abby Shot


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Secret Compass Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1318 Duff Dr

    Fort Collins, CO 80524 (970) 412-2322

  • PO Box 1731

    Fort Collins, CO 80522

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Jan 11, 2013, I placed a deposit of $30 for the Voyager Space Golden Record Cover Replica through this company's website using my ****** account. At the time I placed the order, there was a 3 month wait for the item. In a series of emails up until July 2013 to the company inquiring about the item and production, I was told the production was delayed. The advertised price was $139 plus shipping however the shipping costs were never disclosed. On October 21, 2013, I received an email that the item was in and the amount due was $134.65 (remainder of balance and shipping costs). The website clearly gives the customer the option of how to ship their purchase and I was not given the choice. At this point after waiting so long for the item and the undisclosed shipping charges, I asked for the item to be cancelled. I was told that the deposit was not refundable. Per the cancellation policy, "With most pre-orders items, you can cancel your order, anytime up until the item is in stock and ready to ship." At this point, the item had not shipped so this was not following their own company policy. As of April 2014, the refund/cancellation policy was worded as "without penalty" but has been since changed.

Desired Settlement: I have repeatedly communicated via email with one individual whom did not disclose with me until the end that he was the owner. After demanding to speak to his boss, he then informed me he was the owner and founder. All I want at this point is my refund of $30 and will not accept store credit as I want nothing to do with this company or its products. I have requested this and have been told this is non-refundable and they refuse to communicate with me any longer.

Business Response: Dear BBB and ****** *****,

I’d be happy to explain the truth behind this transaction
and provide proof, since the customer is not telling the truth in his
complaint. 

FACTS:

This customer did place an order for the Golden Probe for
$139.95 + shipping and the customer paid a $30 deposit to guarantee his
order.  Our immediate response when we
received payment on the $30 deposit was “Thanks for paying the deposit!  We will invoice you again for $109.95 +
shipping/handling as soon as this item is in stock.”  See proof in the attached screenshot (***
***** communication 1).  The item’s
delivery date was pushed back several times due to issues with production, but
we kept customers informed of the delays by email.  At the time of purchase, the shipping was undisclosed.  This is not unusual with merchandise on
preorder, because the Dealers do not know the final dimensions or weight of the
finished package while the product is being produced, and therefore simply
cannot provide an accurate shipping quote at the time of purchase. 

Unfortunately, this is where the customer has diverted from
the truth altogether.

On October 21st, 2013 we sent an invoice to the
customer for his remaining balance + shipping:

$139.95 - $30 deposit = $109.95  + shipping/handling $24.70 = $134.65

The customer rudely responded by stating “I think NOT!” and
that his total was only $109.  He didn’t
want to pay the shipping.

I reminded the customer as per the communication when we
advertised the product and initially responded to the customer’s payment of the
deposit in October that the invoice would have $109.95 + shipping on it when
the item was in stock.  He didn’t want
to pay the shipping.  I reminded the
customer of all of this and his response was that he never wanted to deal with
our company ever again.  Please see
proof in the attached screenshot (*** ***** communication 2).

Five months later, in March of 2014, the customer contacted
us again in an attempt to cancel the order. 
He stated that because we offer free shipping on some items for sale in
our ebay store (this meant he was entitled to free shipping on the Golden
Probe, even though this product and transaction was never advertised with free
shipping) and because of the delays in production, he was entitled to a refund
of the deposit.  I responded by saying
that our company would not be forced into offering free shipping when we didn’t
advertise it and that we could cancel the transaction, but that he would
forfeit his deposit.  I then went above
and beyond our store policies and offered him store credit on the deposit.  The customer responded by demanding a refund
of the deposit, and stating “you have no idea who you are deal with” and “no
where was anything disclose on no refund!” Please see proof in the attached
screenshot (*** ***** communication 3).

Now, 5 months later, we get this complaint with BBB.  We have been in business 10+ years now and
our policies on presales and deposits have been the same for the past 10+
years.  If we ask a customer to pay a
deposit on a preorder, the deposit is non refundable.  That’s been in print in our Store Policies on our website for the
last 10+ years and has not changed.  http://www.secretcompassonline.com/Terms

Please see proof in the attached screenshot (Secret
Compass store policy RE cancellation and deposits.

Non -refundable deposits on high-end merchandise in
production are typical in the industry we deal in.  Many of the manufacturers themselves and most of the Dealers
charge non-refundable deposits.

As I have made clear to *** ***** in our communication, we
are not going to be forced into offering free shipping on item we didn’t
advertise with free shipping, and we’re not going to be forced into refunding a
deposit that was non refundable, least of all by an rude and unprofessional buyer
who cannot tell the truth, even in their own complaint to the BBB. 

Respectfully
***** ******
Founder and CEO
Secret Compass Inc.

 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I strongly disagree with the one-sided response using screenshots of just the email communications that benefit him. If you are going to tell the story, include everything (see attachment Email Chain). In the final email when asked to speak to a superior, ***** then revealed he was in fact the owner. You will see in the email thread from Oct 2013, I requested my order be cancelled. The cancellation policy at that time said "easiest cancellation policy" and specifically orders can be cancelled until shipped. But if you refer to the current cancellation policy, this was changed as to no refund of deposits for cancelled items. (See attached cancellation policy from Oct 2013, and current).

To prove my point even further, I did a sample purchase of this same item today and now states "free shipping for UPS delivery" (see attached purchase cart).

As to why I had not contacted the BBB, the company refused to address this any longer and there was still no resolve of this matter. I waited for the owner to do the right thing per their own policy and after finding out I was communicating with the owner, this was still not refunded. I as the customer have the right to cancel my order after waiting an extreme amount of time (over 9 months) and finding out the outrageous shipping cost.
.
Once again, per their own policy at the time of order, all I ask for is my refund of $30.
Regards,

****** *****

Business Response: Hi BBB and *** *****,

The customer continues to cherry pick from what he sees in our store policies, and
if you look at the screenshots he has attached, it’s 100% clear what our store
policies were at the time, and continue to be.

From this screenshot the customer has used from October of 2013, it clearly says
that “MOST preorders can be cancelled without penalty.”  The key word is MOST.  Please see attached screenshot.  We have 1000s of items for sale and on
preorders, and many of them can be preordered without paying a deposit.  These orders can be cancelled any time as
the customer sees fit.  Orders with
deposits can be cancelled, but the customer will forfeit the deposit.  That’s the very nature of the word deposit
as seen in www.dictionary.com:

de·pos·it

  [dih-poz-it]  Show
IPA

verb (used with object)

1.to place for safekeeping or in trust, especially in a bankaccount: He deposited his paycheck every Friday.

2.to give as security or in part payment.

We asked for a deposit on this order (security) and there is a standard definition
for this in our society.  If you pay a
deposit on a hotel room and you don’t show up, you will lose your deposit.  If you pay a deposit on a new car and you
don’t complete the transaction, you will lose your deposit.

We asked that this customer pay a deposit on this specific transaction and the
customer paid it.  We gave no guaranteed
timetable for delivery and guaranteed no free shipping. Nowhere in print did we
ever guarantee that this product or any other product in production would/will
ship at a certain time.  Nowhere in
print did we ever offer this customer free shipping.  Nowhere in print did it ever say or does it say we refund
deposits.  The current policy as see in
the customer’s screenshot more specifically addresses the same policy we have
had all along, for the last 10 years. 
Deposits cannot be refunded with cancellations and this is an industry
standard for high-end collectible merchandise like this.  Many of the manufacturers and the Dealers of
this type of merchandise have similar policies.

In regards to the communication between the customer and I, his screenshots and my
screenshots tell the same story.  The
customer ONLY attempted to cancel when presented with a final invoice showing
the remaining balance + shipping.  The
customer wanted free shipping, which was simply not offered at the time on this
product.  The screenshot being presented
from the current sample checkout clearly shows the product with a price tag of
$179.95 with free shipping, which is $40 more than what the customer paid for
the item.  Please see attached
screenshot.  We have started
experimenting with free shipping as of late, but the costs have to be paid from
somewhere and the new price of $179.95 with free shipping clearly makes up for
the cost to ship this item.  It’s ridiculous that the customer
has even presented this as there is a clearly a $40 difference between what the
customer was offered the product in 2013 and what the product is selling for
now with free shipping.

I am the one that has communicated with the customer all along and any screenshot,
his or mine, that shows the communication between the customer and I clearly
shows that while I was professional, and the customer has been rude and
abusive.  The customer demanded
something that was not part of the deal and did not complete the transaction.
so the order was cancelled and the deposit was forfeited- as per our store
policies.  The customer tried to force
me to give him something that was not part of the transaction and anyone that
will read this complaint on BBB will come to the same conclusion.

We will absolutely NOT refund one cent to *** *****.  This is an unprofessional and dishonest buyer that has attempted to
twist our store policies to benefit the transaction that took place between himself
and our company.  His own screenshots
and dialogue clearly show that he thinks he can push merchants around into
getting what he wants.

Respectfully,

***** ******
Founder and CEO
Secret Compass Inc.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The fact is he has change his policy to denied me a refund of my depost of 30 dollars.Please see all above!

Regards,

****** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

7 Customer Reviews on Secret Compass Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart