BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Pro Moving & Storage?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Pro Moving & Storage

Phone: (970) 593-0909 Fax: (970) 635-3055 604 8th St SE Unit A, Loveland, CO 80537 http://www.prodeliveryandmoving.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pro Moving & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Pro Moving & Storage include:

  • 7 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Pro Moving & Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pro Moving & Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 02, 2007 Business started: 07/20/1991 Business started locally: 07/20/1991 Business incorporated: 07/13/2006 in CO
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

FMCSA-Federal Motor Carrier Safety
1200 New Jersey Ave SE, Washington DC 20590
www.safersys.org
Phone Number: (800) 832-5660

DORA - Colorado Public Utility Commission
1560 Broadway Ste 250, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/
Phone Number: 303.894.2904
Fax Number: 303.894.2065
cliff.hinson@state.co.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gene Prather, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gene Prather, President
Business Category

Movers Office Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Packing and Crating Companies Piano Movers Safe Vault Movers Storage Units Merchandise Warehouses Warehouses Transportation Companies Relocation Companies Moving & Storage Company Delivery Companies

Alternate Business Names
B and Me Inc

Additional Locations

  • 604 8th St SE Unit A

    Loveland, CO 80537 (970) 593-0909

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Extensive furniture damage b/c negligence, theft of two TV's & many other items. ****** the owner stopped all communication after police report was made Pro Moving & Storage on Aug 29, 2012 moved all of my household items to ******* ******** Storage because my new house was not finished yet. During the move into the storage unit my furniture was not handled properly. Antique glass lamps were destroyed, leather and cloth furniture were stained and ripped, wrought Iron chairs were crushed, etc. The storage property manager, Mark witnessed the carelessness of ******'s employees while they moved my stuff into the storage unit and later saw them dispose of broken glass and furniture before they locked up the unit that night. Mark even wrote down Pro Moving & Storage's name as a company not to recommend. On December 10, 2012 Pro Moving & Storage then moved my household items from my unit to my new house. Upon opening my storage unit the Pro Moving employees called ****** and told him that the unit was nothing they had ever seen before with most furniture just thrown into the unit and there was broken or damaged items visible everywhere. With that, ****** met the truck at my house to see them unload all of the damaged furniture. ****** told me that he had never seen damage like this in all of his years in business. As I unpacked the next day I realized that my two flat screen TV's were missing and since then several other items. ****** after the move on Dec 10th told me that we had time to settle this but as I read the fine print on the contract and realized I only had 10 days to formally notify ****** of my complaint. With that, I emailed ****** a complete damage and missing item report on 12-19-12. ****** in regards to the furniture damage sent out ****** from Furniture Medic on X-XX-XX from 9:00 AM to 11:00 AM to photograph and document all of my furniture damage. Meanwhile, it's been over two months I had not heard anything from either ****** or ****** about resolving the damaged furniture. When I called ****** today, 3-25-13, she told me she gave ****** all of the photos and repair estimate a long time ago and she thought he was handling my repairs. I also filed a police report in January 2013 regarding my two missing flat screen TV's, 2/bed frame hardware sets, mirrors, Venetian Italian Masks, etc because ****** refused to and detective ******* who was assigned to my case said for a couple of months ****** did not return his calls but did recently give the him a list of employees involved in my move (all not employed any longer) and he is following up with pawn shops but nothing is turning up yet.

Desired Settlement: What I am asking for from ****** is to either repair or replace all furniture and stolen/missing items from my move on August 29, 2012 that was clearly due to gross negligence of his employees.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/04/18) */ Ms. ****** hired Pro Moving and Storage to move her household goods to her self storage unit last summer, August 29th, 2012. The quoted price was based on the inventory in the quote file already sent to **********. This quote file includes one 25 to 27 inch regular TV (not specified as a flat screen TV). At that time, Ms. ****** stated she didn't want her nice big flat screen TV to go into storage and would deal with that herself. The crew that moved her goods into storage were not able to stack everything into the storage unit. They brought the overflow to the Pro Moving warehouse. Since these goods were only supposed to be stored for a few weeks and then delivered to Ms. ******'s new condo, the goods were stored loose along one wall of the warehouse and not placed in storage vaults. Other members of the Pro Moving staff remember the 25 to 27 inch TV sitting on the floor with that group of items. Ms. ******'s second move into her new condo was postponed and she eventually hired Pro Moving to recover all her goods from storage and place them in her new home December 10, 2012. In the meantime, two of the four original crew members had left Pro Moving and one was fired for stealing money from ****** ******, the owner of Pro Moving. When the new crew recovered Ms. ******'s items from her self storage unit, there was an inordinate amount of damage to her goods that was caused by the original crew that placed them in storage in August. The new crew recognized the problem as soon as they opened the storage unit door and called the Pro Moving office to report what they found. Ms. ****** was informed of the problem immediately when the new crew arrived at her new home. The owner of Pro Moving arrived at the new ****** residence while the move in was in progress and assured Ms. ****** there would be a damage claim filed as soon as he and Ms. ****** could put together a master list of the damaged goods. The next day Ms. ****** called and stated she was missing two flat screen TV's (one big one and one small one). The owner of Pro Moving met with Ms. ****** at her home one evening shortly after that to go through the home and peruse the damage. A friend of Ms. ****** was present as well. At the start of the conversation, Ms. ******'s friend stated she was only missing one TV and Ms. ****** refuted that statement and again stated she was missing two of them. Pro Moving wasn't allowed at that time to do a walk through as Ms. ****** said it was too extensive and there just wasn't time between her schedule and the Pro Moving representative's schedule. It was during this initial conversation that Pro Moving pointed out the 60 cents per pound limit to their liability as signed by Ms. ****** on the initial bill of lading. She and her friend were not happy with that news at all and stated that wouldn't be enough. Pro Moving and Storage subsequently made another appointment to come out and bring new hardware to get the two extra beds set up as the hardware had been lost by the original moving crew. When Pro Moving arrived, Ms. ****** was not home and a phone call uncovered that she had forgotten the appointment and she was leaving for vacation over the holidays in two days so she would contact Pro Moving when she returned the 7th of January. Subsequently, Pro Moving and Storage was not able to complete an appointment to assess the damage and some time later, hired *************** to set an appointment with Ms. ****** to make the assessment. This was completed as planned and the report was received at Pro Moving via email and immediately forwarded to the claims adjuster assigned to this damage claim. At that point, Pro Moving and Storage had recognized the claim, filed the claim with the insurance company, hired a third party to make the damage assessment and forwarded all material to the claims adjuster. A few weeks later, Pro Moving and Storage was contacted by *************** and informed Ms. ****** had not heard from the claims adjuster. At that time, the report was re-sent as the claims adjuster indicated she had never received it. A conversation between Pro Moving and the claims adjuster revealed Ms. ****** had refused to speak with the adjuster when contacted because she was going to ''take care of this through Pro Moving and Storage and the $0.60 per pound was not enough''! This claim MUST be handled through the insurance company, not directly with Pro Moving and Storage. Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2013/04/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do NOT accept the response from ****** ****** at Pro Moving & Storage for several reasons. First, the "estimate/order of service" I never saw until after December 10, 2012 when I told ****** several items were missing/stolen including my 2 flat screen TV's. Secondly, I never was aware that the two TV's were placed in ******'s storage facility in Loveland and was told on August 30, 2012 that only some gardening tools and other garage items were being kept at ******'s business. Furthermore, ****** met with ***** and I shortly after my move on December 10, 2012 and he told us that he would see to it that everything that was damaged would be repaired or he would replace it. With that, ****** suggested *************** (industry repair specialists) come out because they would be the one's repairing my damaged furniture. ****** (***************) came out in January and spent two hours taking detailed inventory and photographing all of my damaged items. Since mid-December ****** has refused to have any contact with me. The first time he tried contacting me (four + months) was after he received my BBB complaint and that was only to request that I rescind it. After four months time, ******, ********** Insurance and *************** were not communicating with me and all refused to give me a copy of ***************'s repair estimate. With no one communicating or giving me the information I was requesting I was forced to file in small claims court to come to any kind of resolution regarding this matter. "Only" after ****** was served to appear in court by a police officer did I eventually hear from ******'s insurance claims adjuster at **********. Our court date is May 23, 2013.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Moving-scheduled services; the day of move no one showed up after a call I was told "looks like we forgot about you". On March 20, 2013 I called & spoke with ****** at Pro Moving and Storage. I scheduled a move for Friday March 22, 2013 at noon, it should take only an hour he stated. My bedroom set and a computer desk was all that needed moved. I explained that I needed moved out no later than 3pm, he understood. On Friday after waiting sometime, I finally called at 12:40. I was told someone would be there in 5-10 minutes. Another 30 minutes went by and I called again and was told this time, "who is this" I gave my info & the response was "oh, we dont have you on the schedule, we forgot about you". By this time it was 1:30. After ****, (crew manager) checked into it,the explaination was that it happened to be the computers fault(for not manually entering my information itself!!). My motto "no excuses and take responsibility" ****** with whom I originally spoke with did not enter my information. By 1:45, I was told that someone would be there in 30-45 minutes. Which meant 2:15 to 2:30. Remember, I needed to move out by 3pm as other renters were on the way. Approx 2:20pm ** & ****** arrived. I explained the situation and recieved an apology. ** & ****** were able to have my belongings loaded by 2:50 and delivered to my new home by 3:30. Their customer service was outstanding and they should be commended for it. The move itself was a very stressful situation and Pro Moving made it an absolute miserable situation. Ironically, a few days later I had called to see if my vacuum wand by chance was left in the truck, and again was told "you aren't in the system, are you sure we moved you last Friday". Had to laugh at that one. So basically, they received services and did not account for it. I will not refer Pro-moving or obviously use their services again. ** & ****** saved the day, thank you to them.

Desired Settlement: Since my move should have been completed by 1pm and wasn't until almost 3pm because I was "forgotten" about. Along with the amount of stress not to mention the additional 2 hours of MY time wasted I'm requesting a refund. $95.00. I certainly hope no one else has this same experience.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/08) */ There were never any excuses stated or otherwise logged. It sounds like the customer was told the truth at every turn. There was a very real computer error in taking the information down and then finding out it was not in the computer system on move day. Therefore this move was not communicated to the crew by the supervisor that morning. One employee communicated it as a forgotten move, another employee communicated it wasn't on the computer and therefore must be a computer error. That was, unfortunately, an accurate explanation. There were also three quotes for other people that were wiped out that same day when the software database had become corrupted during the week just prior to this move. One can understand the customer's perception that Pro Moving employees were responding inappropriately but all responses are understandable in hind sight and she was NEVER lied to about the situation. In the end, Pro Moving took the situation VERY seriously and freed up one of our stellar crews to respond as quickly as possible. The actual customer experience was during the move was excellent as is usually the case and is documented by many, many customer reviews on several sites online. The original goal of being out of the apartment no later than 3:00pm due to an "ex" returning at that time was met and the customer was only charged for the time actually spent on the move. Pro Moving did not charge for travel time or fuel and waived the usual two hour minimum fee. The $95 fee covered the two movers wages, the cargo insurance and the workmen's comp insurance carried on the crew. Pro Moving has treated this customer VERY FAIRLY already.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called ****** (owner) to get a quote on moving a large hot tub. He quoted me a max price and then then his worker charged me 117 more. I provided two helpers to move the hot tub, this was supposed to be considered in price. ****** quoted me 20.00 for fuel, we got charged 30.00 instead. No consideration was taken for the two gentlemen I provided to help move, and my verbal agreement with ****** was not honored (max 350.00).

Desired Settlement: I would like them to refund 117.00, I believe that is more than fair especially since I provided helpers.

Business Response: Consumer Response /* (-5, 5, 2012/12/03) */ I also called ****** last Monday and told him my concerns, he said he would get back to me, then I waited and called on Wednesday and no one answered. I left a message stating that if I did not hear back by Friday morning that I would unfortunately have to contact BBB. I did not want to, but I did not want other customers to experience the same. I have heard this complaint by one other customer as well. I just believe that businesses should honor what they say (quotes, calling you back etc.). Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2012/12/04) */ The customer called Pro Moving and Storage to inquire about charges for moving the hot tub she had just acquired. The seller had given her our name since we moved this hot tub from their back deck to their storage shed. Pro Moving discussed this move briefly. The customer was informed this was the heaviest hot tub our team has ever moved. It's very large and has a very heavy motor in it. We discussed the unload location as no one at Pro Moving had seen the home where the tub was to be placed. The tub was to be placed on the deck at the back of the home. Since there was gravel on one side of the house and grass on the other side of the house, we speculated it might be best to try to roll the hot tub on four wheel dollies and plywood over the grass. However, the truck would have to park on the side of the home where the gravel is located and could not drive on the gravel, making that the longer way to the final location. We agreed we would leave it to the crew leader to make final determination once he was on site. Pro Moving told her we would need 5 or 6 men to ensure we could handle this extremely heavy tub if it had to be carried and could not be rolled on dollies. We moved it the first time with 4 men but were able to roll it and didn't need to load it on a truck. The Pro Moving team reported they would not have been able to complete that move with only 4 men if they needed to lift the hot tub and carry it or lift it onto the flatbed truck to move it. The Customer did not want the hourly price to be that high and offered to send two men (her husband and a friend) to help so she would be only paying for four men. Pro Moving agreed to that. She was given a verbal (non-binding) estimate over the phone of a two hour minimum at $175 per hour or $350 plus $20 fuel. The rough estimate was based on 15 minutes to load, 15 to 30 minutes to unload and approximately 30 minutes of travel time each way. That would get the job done right around the two hour minimum. On move day, Pro Moving sent 5 men for safety since the abilities of the two extra helpers the customer was sending were unknown to Pro Moving and we wanted to be sure the job could be done safely. However, Pro Moving only billed the customer for 4 men as discussed in our original phone call. The Hot Tub was difficult to load on the flatbed even with 7 men. Then, at the destination, it had to be carried the whole way around the house to be placed on the deck. The job actually took 2.5 hours. At $175 per hour (four men and one truck hourly rate) this came to $437.50. Pro Moving charged the customer $30 for fuel and this charge should have been $20 as originally discussed over the phone. This brought the final bill to $467.50. Pro Moving definitely owes the customer $10 for the fuel fee. It bears noting, the actual moving charge, if billed for the extra Pro Moving employee, would have been $100 higher ($40 x 2.5 hours). It's Pro Moving's position that the customer received a VERY GOOD price, considering the size and weight and logistics of this hot tub move. Pro Moving did not do ANYTHING to earn a negative review from this customer. All was discussed thoroughly in advance. The customer merely considered a verbal estimate over the phone was a binding agreement and the size, weight and logistics required an extra 30 minutes to complete the job. This could not have been predicted through a phone conversation, and is more than offset by Pro Moving adding an extra man to the job without charging for the extra labor. However, in the interest of soothing the customer's feelings over this perceived unfair billing, Pro Moving is willing to split the extra cost with this customer. $350 plus $20 fuel = $370 (estimated over the phone) $467.50 less $370 = $97.50 $97.50 divided by two = $48.75 A check for this amount will be mailed 12/4/2012 Consumer Response /* (-5, 7, 2012/12/04) */ I received a call yesterday, minutes after the complaint said that it went through to the business. The lady that called said that they noticed I called and wanted to call me back. I told her that I had already left a message and restated my concerns. She said she would pass it along to ******, the owner

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer accepted

8/10/2012 Delivery Issues
7/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/26/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/12/2011 Delivery Issues
1