BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Pro Moving & Storage?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Pro Moving & Storage

Phone: (970) 593-0909 Fax: (970) 635-3055 604 8th St SE Unit A, Loveland, CO 80537 http://www.prodeliveryandmoving.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pro Moving & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Pro Moving & Storage include:

  • 7 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Pro Moving & Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pro Moving & Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 02, 2007 Business started: 07/20/1991 Business started locally: 07/20/1991 Business incorporated: 07/13/2006 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

FMCSA-Federal Motor Carrier Safety
1200 New Jersey Ave SE, Washington DC 20590
www.safersys.org
Phone Number: (800) 832-5660

DORA - Colorado Public Utility Commission
1560 Broadway Ste 250, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/
Phone Number: 303.894.2904
Fax Number: 303.894.2065
cliff.hinson@state.co.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gene Prather, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gene Prather, President
Business Category

Movers Office Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Packing and Crating Companies Piano Movers Safe Vault Movers Storage Units Merchandise Warehouses Warehouses Transportation Companies Relocation Companies Moving & Storage Company Delivery Companies

Alternate Business Names
B and Me Inc

Additional Locations

  • 604 8th St SE Unit A

    Loveland, CO 80537 (970) 593-0909

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pro moving and storage handled a move for me on 6/28/14. We hired them because on their web page they say they are experts in moving antique furniture. First issue is they were suppose to arrive at 11:30 and they didn't show up until 3:00. The bigger problem is out of pure negligence they damaged an 80 year old antique dinning room table. My wife expressed to them this was the one piece of furniture that she wanted handled extremely well and they damaged it. One of the mover turned it upside down (on the table top) and slide it down the bed of their truck with my wife watching. My wife is devastated to say the least. I talked with **** and he said he would call me back and he never did.

Desired Settlement: I would like this company to live up to what they advertise on their own web page (Pro Moving & Delivery has experience with antiques and pianos. You can trust your most cherished possessions will be treated with the care that is required to move them safely to your new home). I would like this company to pay to have the table returned to the condition it was in prior to the move.

Business Response:

This customer hired Pro Moving and Storage to make a “small” move from Firestone to Windsor.  He didn’t want a quote but wanted Pro Moving to start the move midday because he was certain it wouldn’t require more than three or four hours. I will answer each statement of his complaint in order!

 

We hired them because on their web page they say they are experts in moving antique furniture.

 

Our website is www.promovingandstorage.com

I’ve checked it over thoroughly and although we’ve moved countless antiques in the completion of hundreds of moves per year over the past nine years of current ownership, there is no specific mention of antique furniture expertise.  This can only indicate this customer’s willingness to create data where none exists.

 

First issue is they were suppose to arrive at 11:30 and they didn't show up until 3:00.

 

As previously stated, he asked for a midday start.  Every time a customer requests this, they are told we will do our best to meet that need.  However, we will also book another small job prior to theirs so the crew can get a full day of pay and we can never guarantee the exact time those jobs will end and we will have to call when the team is on their way.  Pro Moving and tentatively set a start time but exact start time depends on the previous job!  In this case, the drive time from the previous job to Firestone added to the time needed to begin that team’s second job.

  

The bigger problem is out of pure negligence they damaged an 80 year old antique dinning room table.

 

Our teams are trained and experienced.  However, they are also only human and mistakes can be made.  Furniture was never engineered to be stacked in a truck and driven down the road or it would look much more industrial than it does. Quilted furniture pads and tight stacking techniques can usually mitigate but occasionally there can be an accident and that’s why Pro Moving offers damage valuation (insurance) options.

 

My wife expressed to them this was the one piece of furniture that she wanted handled extremely well and they damaged it.

 

Unfortunately, if there is an accident with a piece of furniture,  Pro Moving employees can’t choose which one.  Every piece is handled as if it’s the most important piece.

 

One of the mover turned it upside down (on the table top) and slide it down the bed of their truck with my wife watching.

 

This statement is hearsay and differs from the original account communicated over the phone, the first time the customer called to report the problem.

 

I talked with **** and he said he would call me back and he never did.

 

The initial discussion ended with agreement that the level of coverage the customer signed for was the base priced $0.60/pound.  The industry standard estimated weight for a dining table, used for determining damage claims is 210 pounds.  (30 cubic feet multiplied by 7 pounds per cubic foot)  At $0.60 per pound, this results in a claim of $126.00.  This amount was deducted from the customer’s total move cost.  At this point, the customer said that wasn’t enough and demanded a higher payout.  Pro Moving agreed to have another discussion on the matter after speaking with the team that worked on this job that day to determine how the damage occurred.

 

It took a few days to make contact with each of the employees on that team and in the meantime the customer called again and threatened to smear the company on every website they could find if Pro Moving and Storage didn’t agree to pay out more than the coverage they originally signed.  At that point, Pro Moving cut off communication.

 

Pro Moving is sorry for any “devastated” emotion caused by this situation.  However, remuneration is commensurate with the amount of coverage purchased and Pro Moving does NOT pay people off simply to protect the company from threats and bully tactics.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

This business never once called me. I had to make an appointment to even have an opportunity to talk to Gene (President. Once I did talk to Gene he assured me he would not charge my credit card because I wanted to pay with a check after the issue was resolved. They wouldn’t even come out to look at the damage they caused to the dining room table.
From a customer service standpoint I give Pro Moving and storage an F. Horrible communication and absolute failure to go the extra mile for the customer!  Regards,

***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told all three of the trucks that could be used were available. Not true, two of these trucks were in the shop being repaired. Also, on packing day the truck being used broke down, or so I was told. On moving day, there was an almost 5 hour delay in finding a truck since the one truck would not run. As a consequence, a U-Haul from Ft. Collins had to be rented. The packing was not completed the day before moving so, a lampshade that was not boxed as torn in several places. And, the hide-a-bed still will not open because the mechanism was jimmied, I do not know what happened to the mechanism. I was told by the owner the packing would take only about 4 hours, at most. But it took over 7 hours all told. This is the most unprofessional move I have ever experienced. One last comment, in one of the boxes from the kitchen, the corn starch spilled out all over the bottles and jars. As a consequence it took me over an hour to clean those things so they could be put on shelves.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed, at least partially, for this move since nothing happened the way the owner said it would be. I do not normally stress out from issues like this, but this time has been way too much.

Business Response: This move happened January 31, 2014.  It’s highly unusual to receive no information in person for three months after the move was completed and then receive these remarks through the BBB.  Pro Moving completes from 400 to 500 moves per any given year with a perpetual A rating from the BBB.  Pro Moving cannot be as “unprofessional” as this customer states in this complaint.
 
Many of the statements made in this complaint that are represented as “facts” are not accurate.  This customer is a very genteel, older lady who thanked Pro Moving profusely in phone conversations and in person leading up to, during and subsequent to this moving project.  The move took place during a very cold and inclement winter weather season and the truck issues were discussed at length at that time.  The customer was very nice and understanding throughout the two days of packing and moving.
 
Twelve days after the move completion, the customer called to report one missing box of “sanitary supplies”.  Since this item was not communicated as either valuable or of extreme importance, Pro Moving assumed it would likely be found once all boxes were opened and the contents put away.  The customer was told Pro Moving would reimburse her for this box if not found.  Pro Moving never heard from the customer again until this BBB complaint was brought to our attention.
 
“. . . all three of the trucks that could be used were available.  Not True.”
This was likely a statement made on the day the quote was given.  On that day, there must have been three trucks available on the future date the customer was planning to move.  This sounds like a statement the Pro Moving estimator used to illustrate availability in the schedule for the customer’s upcoming relocation.  However, as is normally true, this was not the case by the time the move date arrived.  One was in the shop for the annual DOT inspection. Another was busy on another project that day.  This had no bearing on this customer’s move, though, since she only needed one truck.
 
The truck scheduled for this customer’s move on January 31 wouldn’t start on this very frigid morning.  This was a problem experienced by many that morning and it did take some time for the rental company to locate a rental truck that was running.
 
“. . . 5 hour delay”
Pro Moving doesn’t have the detail in our records over three months back to check this claim against the actual delayed start time but it is very likely an exaggeration to make a point.  The more salient point is, even with uncontrollable weather/equipment issues, the customer’s move was completed on the day promised and within quoted price.
 
“. . . was told it would take 4 hours to pack and it took 7 hours”
This Pro Moving quote was a “not to exceed” quote.  The estimating process for packing can be inaccurate in the best of circumstances for any moving company.  This is likely another exaggeration of fact to make a point.  The important issue here is, the customer was not charged any more than the quoted price for packing services, even though it took a little longer than estimated.
 
“torn lampshade” – “corn starch spilled”
Pro Moving will reimburse packer wages for the stated “one hour” the customer spent to clean up the items.
Pro Moving will reimburse the lampshade at the damage insurance rate paid for in the move.
 
“Hide-a-bed jimmied”
Pro Moving will be glad to inspect this issue to determine the cause.  If the customer will call and set up an appointment for Pro Moving to inspect the item, this can be done very quickly.
 
The Pro Moving salesman is not the person named in this complaint.  There has never been anyone on the sales staff at Pro Moving by the name of Steve.
 
 
Pro Moving is sending reimbursement as outlined above immediately. 
Pro Moving will await an invitation from the complainant to inspect the hide-a-bed malfunction.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Extensive furniture damage b/c negligence, theft of two TV's & many other items. ****** the owner stopped all communication after police report was made Pro Moving & Storage on Aug 29, 2012 moved all of my household items to ******* ******** Storage because my new house was not finished yet. During the move into the storage unit my furniture was not handled properly. Antique glass lamps were destroyed, leather and cloth furniture were stained and ripped, wrought Iron chairs were crushed, etc. The storage property manager, Mark witnessed the carelessness of ******'s employees while they moved my stuff into the storage unit and later saw them dispose of broken glass and furniture before they locked up the unit that night. Mark even wrote down Pro Moving & Storage's name as a company not to recommend. On December 10, 2012 Pro Moving & Storage then moved my household items from my unit to my new house. Upon opening my storage unit the Pro Moving employees called ****** and told him that the unit was nothing they had ever seen before with most furniture just thrown into the unit and there was broken or damaged items visible everywhere. With that, ****** met the truck at my house to see them unload all of the damaged furniture. ****** told me that he had never seen damage like this in all of his years in business. As I unpacked the next day I realized that my two flat screen TV's were missing and since then several other items. ****** after the move on Dec 10th told me that we had time to settle this but as I read the fine print on the contract and realized I only had 10 days to formally notify ****** of my complaint. With that, I emailed ****** a complete damage and missing item report on 12-19-12. ****** in regards to the furniture damage sent out ****** from Furniture Medic on X-XX-XX from 9:00 AM to 11:00 AM to photograph and document all of my furniture damage. Meanwhile, it's been over two months I had not heard anything from either ****** or ****** about resolving the damaged furniture. When I called ****** today, 3-25-13, she told me she gave ****** all of the photos and repair estimate a long time ago and she thought he was handling my repairs. I also filed a police report in January 2013 regarding my two missing flat screen TV's, 2/bed frame hardware sets, mirrors, Venetian Italian Masks, etc because ****** refused to and detective ******* who was assigned to my case said for a couple of months ****** did not return his calls but did recently give the him a list of employees involved in my move (all not employed any longer) and he is following up with pawn shops but nothing is turning up yet.

Desired Settlement: What I am asking for from ****** is to either repair or replace all furniture and stolen/missing items from my move on August 29, 2012 that was clearly due to gross negligence of his employees.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/04/18) */ Ms. ****** hired Pro Moving and Storage to move her household goods to her self storage unit last summer, August 29th, 2012. The quoted price was based on the inventory in the quote file already sent to **********. This quote file includes one 25 to 27 inch regular TV (not specified as a flat screen TV). At that time, Ms. ****** stated she didn't want her nice big flat screen TV to go into storage and would deal with that herself. The crew that moved her goods into storage were not able to stack everything into the storage unit. They brought the overflow to the Pro Moving warehouse. Since these goods were only supposed to be stored for a few weeks and then delivered to Ms. ******'s new condo, the goods were stored loose along one wall of the warehouse and not placed in storage vaults. Other members of the Pro Moving staff remember the 25 to 27 inch TV sitting on the floor with that group of items. Ms. ******'s second move into her new condo was postponed and she eventually hired Pro Moving to recover all her goods from storage and place them in her new home December 10, 2012. In the meantime, two of the four original crew members had left Pro Moving and one was fired for stealing money from ****** ******, the owner of Pro Moving. When the new crew recovered Ms. ******'s items from her self storage unit, there was an inordinate amount of damage to her goods that was caused by the original crew that placed them in storage in August. The new crew recognized the problem as soon as they opened the storage unit door and called the Pro Moving office to report what they found. Ms. ****** was informed of the problem immediately when the new crew arrived at her new home. The owner of Pro Moving arrived at the new ****** residence while the move in was in progress and assured Ms. ****** there would be a damage claim filed as soon as he and Ms. ****** could put together a master list of the damaged goods. The next day Ms. ****** called and stated she was missing two flat screen TV's (one big one and one small one). The owner of Pro Moving met with Ms. ****** at her home one evening shortly after that to go through the home and peruse the damage. A friend of Ms. ****** was present as well. At the start of the conversation, Ms. ******'s friend stated she was only missing one TV and Ms. ****** refuted that statement and again stated she was missing two of them. Pro Moving wasn't allowed at that time to do a walk through as Ms. ****** said it was too extensive and there just wasn't time between her schedule and the Pro Moving representative's schedule. It was during this initial conversation that Pro Moving pointed out the 60 cents per pound limit to their liability as signed by Ms. ****** on the initial bill of lading. She and her friend were not happy with that news at all and stated that wouldn't be enough. Pro Moving and Storage subsequently made another appointment to come out and bring new hardware to get the two extra beds set up as the hardware had been lost by the original moving crew. When Pro Moving arrived, Ms. ****** was not home and a phone call uncovered that she had forgotten the appointment and she was leaving for vacation over the holidays in two days so she would contact Pro Moving when she returned the 7th of January. Subsequently, Pro Moving and Storage was not able to complete an appointment to assess the damage and some time later, hired *************** to set an appointment with Ms. ****** to make the assessment. This was completed as planned and the report was received at Pro Moving via email and immediately forwarded to the claims adjuster assigned to this damage claim. At that point, Pro Moving and Storage had recognized the claim, filed the claim with the insurance company, hired a third party to make the damage assessment and forwarded all material to the claims adjuster. A few weeks later, Pro Moving and Storage was contacted by *************** and informed Ms. ****** had not heard from the claims adjuster. At that time, the report was re-sent as the claims adjuster indicated she had never received it. A conversation between Pro Moving and the claims adjuster revealed Ms. ****** had refused to speak with the adjuster when contacted because she was going to ''take care of this through Pro Moving and Storage and the $0.60 per pound was not enough''! This claim MUST be handled through the insurance company, not directly with Pro Moving and Storage. Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2013/04/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do NOT accept the response from ****** ****** at Pro Moving & Storage for several reasons. First, the "estimate/order of service" I never saw until after December 10, 2012 when I told ****** several items were missing/stolen including my 2 flat screen TV's. Secondly, I never was aware that the two TV's were placed in ******'s storage facility in Loveland and was told on August 30, 2012 that only some gardening tools and other garage items were being kept at ******'s business. Furthermore, ****** met with ***** and I shortly after my move on December 10, 2012 and he told us that he would see to it that everything that was damaged would be repaired or he would replace it. With that, ****** suggested *************** (industry repair specialists) come out because they would be the one's repairing my damaged furniture. ****** (***************) came out in January and spent two hours taking detailed inventory and photographing all of my damaged items. Since mid-December ****** has refused to have any contact with me. The first time he tried contacting me (four + months) was after he received my BBB complaint and that was only to request that I rescind it. After four months time, ******, ********** Insurance and *************** were not communicating with me and all refused to give me a copy of ***************'s repair estimate. With no one communicating or giving me the information I was requesting I was forced to file in small claims court to come to any kind of resolution regarding this matter. "Only" after ****** was served to appear in court by a police officer did I eventually hear from ******'s insurance claims adjuster at **********. Our court date is May 23, 2013.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Moving-scheduled services; the day of move no one showed up after a call I was told "looks like we forgot about you". On March 20, 2013 I called & spoke with ****** at Pro Moving and Storage. I scheduled a move for Friday March 22, 2013 at noon, it should take only an hour he stated. My bedroom set and a computer desk was all that needed moved. I explained that I needed moved out no later than 3pm, he understood. On Friday after waiting sometime, I finally called at 12:40. I was told someone would be there in 5-10 minutes. Another 30 minutes went by and I called again and was told this time, "who is this" I gave my info & the response was "oh, we dont have you on the schedule, we forgot about you". By this time it was 1:30. After ****, (crew manager) checked into it,the explaination was that it happened to be the computers fault(for not manually entering my information itself!!). My motto "no excuses and take responsibility" ****** with whom I originally spoke with did not enter my information. By 1:45, I was told that someone would be there in 30-45 minutes. Which meant 2:15 to 2:30. Remember, I needed to move out by 3pm as other renters were on the way. Approx 2:20pm ** & ****** arrived. I explained the situation and recieved an apology. ** & ****** were able to have my belongings loaded by 2:50 and delivered to my new home by 3:30. Their customer service was outstanding and they should be commended for it. The move itself was a very stressful situation and Pro Moving made it an absolute miserable situation. Ironically, a few days later I had called to see if my vacuum wand by chance was left in the truck, and again was told "you aren't in the system, are you sure we moved you last Friday". Had to laugh at that one. So basically, they received services and did not account for it. I will not refer Pro-moving or obviously use their services again. ** & ****** saved the day, thank you to them.

Desired Settlement: Since my move should have been completed by 1pm and wasn't until almost 3pm because I was "forgotten" about. Along with the amount of stress not to mention the additional 2 hours of MY time wasted I'm requesting a refund. $95.00. I certainly hope no one else has this same experience.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/08) */ There were never any excuses stated or otherwise logged. It sounds like the customer was told the truth at every turn. There was a very real computer error in taking the information down and then finding out it was not in the computer system on move day. Therefore this move was not communicated to the crew by the supervisor that morning. One employee communicated it as a forgotten move, another employee communicated it wasn't on the computer and therefore must be a computer error. That was, unfortunately, an accurate explanation. There were also three quotes for other people that were wiped out that same day when the software database had become corrupted during the week just prior to this move. One can understand the customer's perception that Pro Moving employees were responding inappropriately but all responses are understandable in hind sight and she was NEVER lied to about the situation. In the end, Pro Moving took the situation VERY seriously and freed up one of our stellar crews to respond as quickly as possible. The actual customer experience was during the move was excellent as is usually the case and is documented by many, many customer reviews on several sites online. The original goal of being out of the apartment no later than 3:00pm due to an "ex" returning at that time was met and the customer was only charged for the time actually spent on the move. Pro Moving did not charge for travel time or fuel and waived the usual two hour minimum fee. The $95 fee covered the two movers wages, the cargo insurance and the workmen's comp insurance carried on the crew. Pro Moving has treated this customer VERY FAIRLY already.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called ****** (owner) to get a quote on moving a large hot tub. He quoted me a max price and then then his worker charged me 117 more. I provided two helpers to move the hot tub, this was supposed to be considered in price. ****** quoted me 20.00 for fuel, we got charged 30.00 instead. No consideration was taken for the two gentlemen I provided to help move, and my verbal agreement with ****** was not honored (max 350.00).

Desired Settlement: I would like them to refund 117.00, I believe that is more than fair especially since I provided helpers.

Business Response: Consumer Response /* (-5, 5, 2012/12/03) */ I also called ****** last Monday and told him my concerns, he said he would get back to me, then I waited and called on Wednesday and no one answered. I left a message stating that if I did not hear back by Friday morning that I would unfortunately have to contact BBB. I did not want to, but I did not want other customers to experience the same. I have heard this complaint by one other customer as well. I just believe that businesses should honor what they say (quotes, calling you back etc.). Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2012/12/04) */ The customer called Pro Moving and Storage to inquire about charges for moving the hot tub she had just acquired. The seller had given her our name since we moved this hot tub from their back deck to their storage shed. Pro Moving discussed this move briefly. The customer was informed this was the heaviest hot tub our team has ever moved. It's very large and has a very heavy motor in it. We discussed the unload location as no one at Pro Moving had seen the home where the tub was to be placed. The tub was to be placed on the deck at the back of the home. Since there was gravel on one side of the house and grass on the other side of the house, we speculated it might be best to try to roll the hot tub on four wheel dollies and plywood over the grass. However, the truck would have to park on the side of the home where the gravel is located and could not drive on the gravel, making that the longer way to the final location. We agreed we would leave it to the crew leader to make final determination once he was on site. Pro Moving told her we would need 5 or 6 men to ensure we could handle this extremely heavy tub if it had to be carried and could not be rolled on dollies. We moved it the first time with 4 men but were able to roll it and didn't need to load it on a truck. The Pro Moving team reported they would not have been able to complete that move with only 4 men if they needed to lift the hot tub and carry it or lift it onto the flatbed truck to move it. The Customer did not want the hourly price to be that high and offered to send two men (her husband and a friend) to help so she would be only paying for four men. Pro Moving agreed to that. She was given a verbal (non-binding) estimate over the phone of a two hour minimum at $175 per hour or $350 plus $20 fuel. The rough estimate was based on 15 minutes to load, 15 to 30 minutes to unload and approximately 30 minutes of travel time each way. That would get the job done right around the two hour minimum. On move day, Pro Moving sent 5 men for safety since the abilities of the two extra helpers the customer was sending were unknown to Pro Moving and we wanted to be sure the job could be done safely. However, Pro Moving only billed the customer for 4 men as discussed in our original phone call. The Hot Tub was difficult to load on the flatbed even with 7 men. Then, at the destination, it had to be carried the whole way around the house to be placed on the deck. The job actually took 2.5 hours. At $175 per hour (four men and one truck hourly rate) this came to $437.50. Pro Moving charged the customer $30 for fuel and this charge should have been $20 as originally discussed over the phone. This brought the final bill to $467.50. Pro Moving definitely owes the customer $10 for the fuel fee. It bears noting, the actual moving charge, if billed for the extra Pro Moving employee, would have been $100 higher ($40 x 2.5 hours). It's Pro Moving's position that the customer received a VERY GOOD price, considering the size and weight and logistics of this hot tub move. Pro Moving did not do ANYTHING to earn a negative review from this customer. All was discussed thoroughly in advance. The customer merely considered a verbal estimate over the phone was a binding agreement and the size, weight and logistics required an extra 30 minutes to complete the job. This could not have been predicted through a phone conversation, and is more than offset by Pro Moving adding an extra man to the job without charging for the extra labor. However, in the interest of soothing the customer's feelings over this perceived unfair billing, Pro Moving is willing to split the extra cost with this customer. $350 plus $20 fuel = $370 (estimated over the phone) $467.50 less $370 = $97.50 $97.50 divided by two = $48.75 A check for this amount will be mailed 12/4/2012 Consumer Response /* (-5, 7, 2012/12/04) */ I received a call yesterday, minutes after the complaint said that it went through to the business. The lady that called said that they noticed I called and wanted to call me back. I told her that I had already left a message and restated my concerns. She said she would pass it along to ******, the owner

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer accepted

8/10/2012 Delivery Issues
7/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service