This business is not BBB accredited.

Pro Moving & Storage (Former Owner)

Phone: (970) 593-0909 Fax: (970) 635-3055 604 8th St SE Unit A, Loveland, CO 80537

! There is an alert on Pro Moving & Storage (Former Owner) !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pro Moving & Storage (Former Owner)
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 02, 2007 Business started: 07/20/1991 Business started locally: 07/20/1991 Business incorporated 07/13/2006 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DORA - Colorado Public Utility Commission
1560 Broadway Ste 250, Denver CO 80202
Phone Number: 303.894.2904
Fax Number: 303.894.2065

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Gene Prather, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gene Prather, President
Business Category

Movers Office Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Packing and Crating Companies Piano Movers Safe Vault Movers Storage Units - Household & Commercial Merchandise Warehouses Warehouses Transportation Companies Relocation Companies Moving & Storage Company Delivery Companies

Alternate Business Names
B and Me Inc
Business Management

BBB was notified on 10/23/15 that this company has sold and is now under new ownership. 

Additional Locations


    604 8th St SE Unit A

    Loveland, CO 80537 (970) 593-0909


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/25/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My girlfriend and I scheduled a move with Pro Moving and Storage for 7/21 (packing) and 7/22 (moving into their storage facility). Packing crew of 2 arrived at 10:30 a.m. on the 21st. Within 10 minutes the crew leader was on the phone trying to get extra crew members to help. Two additional members arrived between 11:20 and 12 noon the third by 12:30. Around 2p.m. they announced that they were done for the day and would return the next day to finish. When they left only 30% of the packing had been completed. Next morning 5 movers showed up. We had been scheduled for 4, and were not informed in advance of the extra charge for a 5th mover @ $50 an hour including extra travel time for that man. A courtesy call as to why they needed the extra man would have given us the choice since it was our money paying for him. While 2 men began moving items onto the 1st truck, 3 man began packing the items that were not packed form the day before. When the crew had finished packing and loading the trucks the crew leader informed my girl friend that the estimate would go over maybe a couple of hours and that he would call when they were done with a final tally. No one ever called. Not that day or in the proceeding days. Imagine our surprise when my girlfriends credit card was charged $3914 on a $3296 estimate. We called on 7/29 with a request for copies of the final bill and the original estimate. Mr. P****** the President of the company and the person who did the original estimate delivered those to my place of business and we sat down to talk about why the estimate and the final bill differed so much. I told him that it looked as if we had been overcharged with $1439 being charged for the packing day, which couldn't be accurate because they only packed 30% of the house and then being charged $250.00 an hour for 5 men for 8.5 hrs. when that estimate was for 4 men at $200.00 an hour for 7 hrs. He agreed and told me he would talk to his crew leader and get back to me Next day no call. The day after no call. I reached him on his cell phone I believe on Aug. 5th and asked him if he had found an explanation as to what had happened. He wasn't really able to give me an answer so I asked him to call me back when he had the paperwork in front of him. He said that he would. No call was ever returned. Monday Aug. 10th I called and asked his receptionist to have Mr. P****** give me a call. No call. Tuesday Aug. 11th another call to the receptionist requesting Mr. P****** to call. No call. On Wednesday Aug.12th I called and told the receptionist that if I did not hear from Mr. Pr***** by the end of the business day I would be filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. Three hours later he walks into my place of business and the first words out of his mouth are "Why are you threatening me?" I told him that I wasn't threatening him I was promising him that I would file a complaint, and that I was sorry that it took that position to get a response out of him. We sat down again. Again he did not have a real reason to explain why things had gone over except to say that it looked as if we had about 30 boxes more than he had estimated for and that we had only used 2 wardrobes instead of the 4 he had estimated. We actually used 4 that they had provided and we had packed. He agreed that the moving estimate had gone over and offered me a free months storage to compensate. I told him that I did not feel that that was fair compensation. Mr P****** briefly showed me a form that my girlfriend had signed on the day of the estimate that seemed to be a packing invoice, but had nothing on it except her signature. There was also a white letter sized piece of paper with lines on it indicating number of boxes in different sizes. Why weren't these included in the papers I had requested when I asked for the bills and the estimates? Had I been thinking at the time I would have asked if I could make copies of them, but did not. So here we go again. The next day I call and leave a message for Mr. P****** to get me copies of the papers that I did not originally receive. "Yes I'll give him the message" . No call. Next day same thing "I'll give him the message". No call. That is where things stand. Original estimate for packing billed on 7/21/15 with additional charges for fuel, mattress bags, storage pads ,and shrink wrap was $1306 Final bill was for $ 1439 $139.00 difference. Problem is that estimate was printed and signed on 7/29/15, twelve days after the original estimate and seven days after the move was completed. We never saw a copy of that estimate until 7/29/15. The original moving estimate was for $1106.00 was for $2125.00. Because of the extra man @ $50.00 an hour and an extra hour of travel time, and that much of that time most of that days crew were packing for time that we were already charged it came over by $1091.00. We do not believe that Pro Moving and Storage or Mr. P****** *** President have made a good faith effort to resolve this matter. From the figures we believe that we have been grossly overcharged by this company. We also believe that Mr. P****** has avoided contact with us and has not made a realistic effort to get to the bottom of our concerns as to why we were charged so much. Having been involved in the moving industry in the past for seven years as a mover and the as an estimator I understand that estimates can go under or over. In some cases it is the fault of the customer, in some the fault of the moving company. In all of my years in the business I have never seen a job so messed up a this one, and I have never dealt with an owner of a customer driven business such as this be so unwilling to resolve a customer concern.

Desired Settlement: Considering the difference between the original moving estimate and the final bill and that we were already charged for the packing of 7/21/15. we are seeking the difference of the moving estimate and the final moving bill from 8/22/15 of $1091.00

Business Response: Pro Moving and Storage will respond to this complaint in detail.  We take our customers very seriously and believe we've already gone above and beyond reasonable expectation to resolve this matter.
We will begin by detailing the list of principle parties in this concern.
Pro Moving and Storage does not and has never contracted with Mr. ****** for ANY services.  Pro Moving and Storage contracted with **** ****** to pack and move her belongings from her residence to Pro Storage.  Mr. ****** was not present during the quote and was not a party to any of the discussion resulting in the contract between Ms. ****** and Pro Moving.
During the quote process, Ms. ****** pointed out that she had many important collections of knick knacks and decorative items all around the home and was unclear about which ones she might have Pro Moving pack and which ones she might decide to pack herself.  The home was quite full of furniture and a plethora of the aforementioned "collections".  This resulted in an explanation that it would be very difficult to give her a solid binding quote since she couldn't say how much of these items would be packed and moved by Pro Moving.  Therefore, she was given a Non Binding estimate for the services she requested.
The estimate included just 60 boxes for Pro Moving to pack the first day and to move the second day along with some of the rest of her household goods.
On packing day, Pro Moving sent two men to pack 60 boxes.  Each man will average about 10 small boxes per hour; about 2-4 mirror cartons per hour; about 5 medium to large boxes per hour and approximately 1 dish pack box per hour.  This crew was adequate to complete the job that was estimated and arrived at Ms. ******** home with materials to complete the estimated job with a few extra materials, in case they were needed.
Upon arrival, the crew lead went on the normally prescribed walk through with Ms. ****** and was surprised to find the packing job had grown considerably since the estimate was given.  At that time, he immediately began calling more employees to get extra help to pack this home.  He was successful getting two employees who were just finishing a small job and one to come in from home.  They worked until they ran out of materials and determined one extra man would come in the following day and pack what was left while the other four (originally estimated) would load the trucks for the move.
The result of the additional work was as follows:  The pack (originally estimated at $1106) cost an additional $333; The move (originally estimated at $1840) cost an additional $285; Storage (originally estimated at $350/month) remained at that same price.

Pro Moving was not negligent or unreasonable in any way, concerning this packing and moving work.  However, in the interest of customer service, Pro Moving offered one free month storage ($350).  Mr. ****** turned this down because, as he stated, "That doesn't require you (Pro Moving) to even reach into your pocket!"

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

First in response to Mr.P******* concern of dealing with me concerning this complaint. Ms. ****** and I have been together as a couple for many years. My items along with hers were packed and stored by Pro Moving. Mr. P****** has not made any attempt to contact Ms. ****** concerning the problems with our move, but has instead chosen to deal with me.

My concerns about this pack and move have not changed since Pro Moving responded to my initial complaint.
I still believe that we were overcharged. We were charged the full price for packing plus approx $253.00 over the original estimate.

I still haven't seen a packing invoice or a box count as I have requested twice from Pro Moving. So as of now the packing charges are an arbitrary number to me. 

If on packing day why were 3 more packers called in if the original crew only brought materials to pack 60 boxes "and a little extra". Mr. P****** told me after the move that the 2 man crew had been scheduled for 8 hrs. To pack our belongings that day.
they were there from 10a.m. Until 2 p.m. And then left.

The next day we were charged for 5 men at $250.00 per hour for 9.5 hours.
3 of those men packed for 3 hrs. While Mr. Prather states that only 1 man packed while the other 4 moved items onto the truck, I know differently because I was there for the whole day.

we are still asking for the original amount of compensation from our original complaint.

From my understanding Pro Moving has honored their offer of a free months storage. While I appreciate their commitment I would be willing to negotiate a settlement with Pro Moving for storage thru Oct.2nd and additionally no warehouse charges when we have our items removed from Pro Moving.


******* ******

Business Response: Pro Moving can do nothing more than reiterate the original response.
We have sent the original paperwork for the packing, moving and storage estimate to the BBB and requested they attach it to this response.
This is the proof Pro Moving rendered a Non Binding quote with expected hourly rates and packing rates.
The customer was billed actual hours and actual box counts on the packing, according to the records kept by the crew on the job.
Pro Moving has responded to the customer's boyfriend's complaint in good faith by offering and providing free storage for two months running.  This is a refund of $700.
This reflects no admission of guilt but an attempt to work with this customer to win back at least a small amount of respect.

Pro Moving believes this is more than fair as the reduction in storage expense exceeds the additional cost of the packing and moving by $82.

This is the limit of concessions Pro Moving and Storage is prepared to provide this customer.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Once again while we have asked repeatedly for an invoice for the packing portion of our move with Pro Moving we have still not seen one.

What Pro Moving has provided the BBB are the estimates, not the final invoice which would include a final box count and additional charges. An invoice is not an estimate, but the actual charges which we paid for. We paid for it and I think that we deserve an actual invoice instead of an estimate and an arbitrary number with no paperwork to back it up.

As far as Pro Moving saying that they have already given us two months of free storage, this is inaccurate.
our items went into storage on July 22 2015 and ****'s credit card was charged $350.00 for the first months storage which would have run thru August 21 2015. Pro Moving has covered the next months storage which I believe would run thru September 21 2015. I believe that that would be one months storage covered by Pro Moving not two.

What we are asking for to settle this dispute is for Pro Moving to continue to offer free storage thru October 3 2015 and to not charge warehouse charges when we have our items removed from storage on October 3 2015.
This would be less than the free months storage that Pro Moving has mistakenly claimed to have given us.


******* ******

Business Response: Pro Moving will accept the customer's offer to settle this dispute.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


******* ******

8/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pro moving and storage handled a move for me on 6/28/14. We hired them because on their web page they say they are experts in moving antique furniture. First issue is they were suppose to arrive at 11:30 and they didn't show up until 3:00. The bigger problem is out of pure negligence they damaged an 80 year old antique dinning room table. My wife expressed to them this was the one piece of furniture that she wanted handled extremely well and they damaged it. One of the mover turned it upside down (on the table top) and slide it down the bed of their truck with my wife watching. My wife is devastated to say the least. I talked with **** and he said he would call me back and he never did.

Desired Settlement: I would like this company to live up to what they advertise on their own web page (Pro Moving & Delivery has experience with antiques and pianos. You can trust your most cherished possessions will be treated with the care that is required to move them safely to your new home). I would like this company to pay to have the table returned to the condition it was in prior to the move.

Business Response:

This customer hired Pro Moving and Storage to make a “small” move from Firestone to Windsor.  He didn’t want a quote but wanted Pro Moving to start the move midday because he was certain it wouldn’t require more than three or four hours. I will answer each statement of his complaint in order!


We hired them because on their web page they say they are experts in moving antique furniture.


Our website is

I’ve checked it over thoroughly and although we’ve moved countless antiques in the completion of hundreds of moves per year over the past nine years of current ownership, there is no specific mention of antique furniture expertise.  This can only indicate this customer’s willingness to create data where none exists.


First issue is they were suppose to arrive at 11:30 and they didn't show up until 3:00.


As previously stated, he asked for a midday start.  Every time a customer requests this, they are told we will do our best to meet that need.  However, we will also book another small job prior to theirs so the crew can get a full day of pay and we can never guarantee the exact time those jobs will end and we will have to call when the team is on their way.  Pro Moving and tentatively set a start time but exact start time depends on the previous job!  In this case, the drive time from the previous job to Firestone added to the time needed to begin that team’s second job.


The bigger problem is out of pure negligence they damaged an 80 year old antique dinning room table.


Our teams are trained and experienced.  However, they are also only human and mistakes can be made.  Furniture was never engineered to be stacked in a truck and driven down the road or it would look much more industrial than it does. Quilted furniture pads and tight stacking techniques can usually mitigate but occasionally there can be an accident and that’s why Pro Moving offers damage valuation (insurance) options.


My wife expressed to them this was the one piece of furniture that she wanted handled extremely well and they damaged it.


Unfortunately, if there is an accident with a piece of furniture,  Pro Moving employees can’t choose which one.  Every piece is handled as if it’s the most important piece.


One of the mover turned it upside down (on the table top) and slide it down the bed of their truck with my wife watching.


This statement is hearsay and differs from the original account communicated over the phone, the first time the customer called to report the problem.


I talked with **** and he said he would call me back and he never did.


The initial discussion ended with agreement that the level of coverage the customer signed for was the base priced $0.60/pound.  The industry standard estimated weight for a dining table, used for determining damage claims is 210 pounds.  (30 cubic feet multiplied by 7 pounds per cubic foot)  At $0.60 per pound, this results in a claim of $126.00.  This amount was deducted from the customer’s total move cost.  At this point, the customer said that wasn’t enough and demanded a higher payout.  Pro Moving agreed to have another discussion on the matter after speaking with the team that worked on this job that day to determine how the damage occurred.


It took a few days to make contact with each of the employees on that team and in the meantime the customer called again and threatened to smear the company on every website they could find if Pro Moving and Storage didn’t agree to pay out more than the coverage they originally signed.  At that point, Pro Moving cut off communication.


Pro Moving is sorry for any “devastated” emotion caused by this situation.  However, remuneration is commensurate with the amount of coverage purchased and Pro Moving does NOT pay people off simply to protect the company from threats and bully tactics.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

This business never once called me. I had to make an appointment to even have an opportunity to talk to Gene (President. Once I did talk to Gene he assured me he would not charge my credit card because I wanted to pay with a check after the issue was resolved. They wouldn’t even come out to look at the damage they caused to the dining room table.
From a customer service standpoint I give Pro Moving and storage an F. Horrible communication and absolute failure to go the extra mile for the customer!  Regards,

***** *******

5/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told all three of the trucks that could be used were available. Not true, two of these trucks were in the shop being repaired. Also, on packing day the truck being used broke down, or so I was told. On moving day, there was an almost 5 hour delay in finding a truck since the one truck would not run. As a consequence, a U-Haul from Ft. Collins had to be rented. The packing was not completed the day before moving so, a lampshade that was not boxed as torn in several places. And, the hide-a-bed still will not open because the mechanism was jimmied, I do not know what happened to the mechanism. I was told by the owner the packing would take only about 4 hours, at most. But it took over 7 hours all told. This is the most unprofessional move I have ever experienced. One last comment, in one of the boxes from the kitchen, the corn starch spilled out all over the bottles and jars. As a consequence it took me over an hour to clean those things so they could be put on shelves.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed, at least partially, for this move since nothing happened the way the owner said it would be. I do not normally stress out from issues like this, but this time has been way too much.

Business Response: This move happened January 31, 2014.  It’s highly unusual to receive no information in person for three months after the move was completed and then receive these remarks through the BBB.  Pro Moving completes from 400 to 500 moves per any given year with a perpetual A rating from the BBB.  Pro Moving cannot be as “unprofessional” as this customer states in this complaint.
Many of the statements made in this complaint that are represented as “facts” are not accurate.  This customer is a very genteel, older lady who thanked Pro Moving profusely in phone conversations and in person leading up to, during and subsequent to this moving project.  The move took place during a very cold and inclement winter weather season and the truck issues were discussed at length at that time.  The customer was very nice and understanding throughout the two days of packing and moving.
Twelve days after the move completion, the customer called to report one missing box of “sanitary supplies”.  Since this item was not communicated as either valuable or of extreme importance, Pro Moving assumed it would likely be found once all boxes were opened and the contents put away.  The customer was told Pro Moving would reimburse her for this box if not found.  Pro Moving never heard from the customer again until this BBB complaint was brought to our attention.
“. . . all three of the trucks that could be used were available.  Not True.”
This was likely a statement made on the day the quote was given.  On that day, there must have been three trucks available on the future date the customer was planning to move.  This sounds like a statement the Pro Moving estimator used to illustrate availability in the schedule for the customer’s upcoming relocation.  However, as is normally true, this was not the case by the time the move date arrived.  One was in the shop for the annual DOT inspection. Another was busy on another project that day.  This had no bearing on this customer’s move, though, since she only needed one truck.
The truck scheduled for this customer’s move on January 31 wouldn’t start on this very frigid morning.  This was a problem experienced by many that morning and it did take some time for the rental company to locate a rental truck that was running.
“. . . 5 hour delay”
Pro Moving doesn’t have the detail in our records over three months back to check this claim against the actual delayed start time but it is very likely an exaggeration to make a point.  The more salient point is, even with uncontrollable weather/equipment issues, the customer’s move was completed on the day promised and within quoted price.
“. . . was told it would take 4 hours to pack and it took 7 hours”
This Pro Moving quote was a “not to exceed” quote.  The estimating process for packing can be inaccurate in the best of circumstances for any moving company.  This is likely another exaggeration of fact to make a point.  The important issue here is, the customer was not charged any more than the quoted price for packing services, even though it took a little longer than estimated.
“torn lampshade” – “corn starch spilled”
Pro Moving will reimburse packer wages for the stated “one hour” the customer spent to clean up the items.
Pro Moving will reimburse the lampshade at the damage insurance rate paid for in the move.
“Hide-a-bed jimmied”
Pro Moving will be glad to inspect this issue to determine the cause.  If the customer will call and set up an appointment for Pro Moving to inspect the item, this can be done very quickly.
The Pro Moving salesman is not the person named in this complaint.  There has never been anyone on the sales staff at Pro Moving by the name of Steve.
Pro Moving is sending reimbursement as outlined above immediately. 
Pro Moving will await an invitation from the complainant to inspect the hide-a-bed malfunction.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


****** ******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Pro Moving & Storage (Former Owner)
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)