Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Exodus Moving and Storage

Find a Location

Phone: (970) 484-1488 Fax: (970) 484-4388 View Additional Phone Numbers 120 NE Frontage Rd , Fort Collins, CO 80524 http://www.exodusmoving.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Exodus Moving and Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Exodus Moving and Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Exodus Moving and Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 25, 1997 Business started: 10/01/1996 Business started locally: 10/01/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DORA - Colorado Public Utility Commission
1560 Broadway Ste 250, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/
Phone Number: 303.894.2904
Fax Number: 303.894.2065
cliff.hinson@state.co.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ilan Levy, President Ms. Lisa Bernhardt, CFO Ms. Suzanne McClellan, HR Specialist/Claims Specialist
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ilan Levy, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Suzanne McClellan, HR Specialist/Claims Specialist
Business Category

Movers Office Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Equipment Suppliers Packing and Crating Companies Piano Movers Safe Vault Movers Storage Units - Household & Commercial Paper Box Suppliers Packaging Material Companies Warehouses Packaging Machinery Suppliers Transportation Companies Vehicle Transporters Moving Equipment Rental Office Record Storage Services Relocation Companies Moving & Storage Company

Service Area
Colorado and Wyoming
Alternate Business Names
AAA Exodus Moving and Storage Inc Brians Moving and Storage

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Exodus Moving and Storage has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I understood that I was insuring my most valuable posessions. Prior to the move, I made them aware of the value both sentimental and monitary of the items . I was not aware that what I was paying for was not actually insyrance at all. They were paid an extra 300 $ to insure these items. Both items are damaged. They claim that I only insured one out of two( they are identical). I have come to find out that the mover , who is protecting his owninterests, not a neutral 3 rd party insurance company collected the money, misrepresented what I was buying, damaged both stoves and have left me with no recourse. Also, they were the only ones present when these incidents occurred and they claim they were broken before. I have photos of them intact. t=This is a complete scam. The bill has been paid in full including a 300 $ tip because I was not made aware until after the fact.

Desired Settlement: repair or replace. I also should receive back the money I paid for insurance since this wasn't insured, no one outside their company can asses the damages and they have every reason to protect their interests.

Business Response: We believe there is a misunderstanding by Mrs. **** with regards to the Valuation Option chosen for the move.  Moving companies are not licensed to sell insurance.  We are able to offer "valuation" to our shippers which allows them to value their items against loss or damage.  No where on any document or contract printed or presented by Exodus Moving & Storage, Inc. is the word "insurance" printed.  They may choose to value their entire shipment (called Option A Valuation by Exodus) or select up to 10 items (called Option B Valuation by Exodus).  If neither Option A or B are chosen, then the entire shipment is covered by Option C which values each piece at 60 cents per pound per item.  When either Option A or B is chosen, Exodus reserves the right to attempt repair on any damaged item before replacement.  

Mr. **** worked with our movers and selected Option B.  Their inventory list is attached.  You will see he chose to value 8 items, listing each with their individual values, for a total value of $33,500.  One of these items was a ceramic stove located in an upstairs room.  This stove he valued at $3000.  

There was also a second identical stove in the basement which was not included.

When our movers went into the basement to move the items, this second stove was there with the main body wrapped in bubble wrap.  The three legs were not attached and were lying loose on top of the stove.  One of the legs was broken.  Neither Mr. nor Mrs. **** were at the home at the time this was discovered, so our movers were not able to show them personally.  However, the owner of our company, Ilan L*** happened to stop by to see how the move was going and called Mr. **** himself to let him know the leg was found broken and that all three were wrapped in brown paper and placed with the bubble wrapped stove for transport.

Exodus is committed to 100% customer satisfaction and we are willing to repair the leg even though we did not break it, nor was it part of their Option B Valuation. 

5/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was given an estimate for movi** my household furniture that came to a total of $2250. The total actual charges came to about $3350. Over $1100 about more than the original estimate. They tried to charge me $400 for boxes, when in reality it was only $169 worth of boxes at best. That was resolved, but I still ended up payi** 40% more than the estimate. When the movers came to pick up my items they did not have (nor were they intendi** to put down) floor protection. They did put down protection eventually on the hardwood only. At some point one of the movers tracked grease onto the carpet. I was notified by my mom who was watchi**. I hired *** ***** to get the stain out for a cost of $82. I notified my contact of the issue. He then later called me to tell me the "other side of the story" which was that the movers blamed my parents for the grease on the carpet. I talked again to my parents who were adamant that they did not track the grease and that the story the movers told was incorrect and had no substaniati** evidence as the movers claimed (there was no "grease" near where my parents parked their car or on their shoes). The grease incident, and havi** to have the grease cleaned immediately meant the movers had to move the furniture ASAP. My mom was concerned that the movers seemed to be movi** slowly (she has handled over 10 moves in her life time and so she is knowledagable). The movers charged me for all of their lunch breaks and "take 5 breaks" at a rate of $149/hr. I was charged an enormous amount for travel time alone as well by the movers. I personally can drive to and from the locations in 1.25 hours (that is to their place of business). I understand the movi** truck must go slow and that there is traffic at times and that was accounted for in the original estimate with 2hrs each way alloted. However an additional 3 hrs of "travel time" was charged at $149/hr. Consideri** the time the movers were scheduled to arrive was such to avoid any and all traffic (10 am) and the movers should have been finished well before the start of rush hour per the estimate for returni** to their place of business, the travel time charges were excessive. Finally, duri** the move of putti** furniture into my home, scratches and dents were noted on items, which I am aware is to be expected when movi**. However, the mover dropped a dresser duri** the move and damaged the banister on the stairs. They have agreed to fix the banister. My complaint is that I was expecti** to pay close to $2250 for my move. Had I known that the move was goi** to cost $3350, I would have moved my thi**s myself. I personally moved 6 full car loads of items (includi** TVs, computers, etc) so that the movers would not have to move as much, in hopes of keepi** costs down (and those items that I moved were part of the original estimate). Granted I added a snow blower to the load after the estimate, the 6 car loads of thi**s I moved should have more than compensated for that. I understand that estimates are just that, estimates. I understand that circumstances can add additional charges to thi**s. However, 40% more than the original estimate is absurd. Damage to carpet duri** a move (which should have been protected in the first place by the movers is absurd). And damagi** a banister by droppi** furniture should not have occured (and I find it especially disturbi** that I was not aware of this until my friend pointed out that the movers dropped the furniture and damaged the banister). The movers failed to inform me of the damage they did, which I find unprofessional.

Desired Settlement: I believe that the amount I should be charged should not have exceeded 20% of the estimate as I should not be charged for breaks, lack of carpet protection, carpet damage, excessive travel time, slow movi**. The estimate was $2250 and there was a charge of $169 for boxes. 20% of $2250 is $450 which is an additional 3 hrs of labor. My total amount charged should not have exceeded $2250 + $169 + $450 = $2869. I demand the difference in what I paid (about $3350) vs. $2869 to be refunded to me on my credit card. I believe that is a fair and reasonable amount. I still also insist the bansiter be repaired of course at their cost.

Business Response: Our owner, **** ****, called and spoke to ******** on 5/12/14 about the move. They arra**ed a meeti** for 5/27/14 at 8:30 a.m. to have the banister repaired and discuss the estimate so they could reach an agreement. We were surprised to have ******** agree to the meeti** and then file a BBB complaint when we were worki** to fix her concerns.

Concern 1 - the banister. This damage will be fixed by ** ******** *********** on 5/27/14 at 8:30 a.m. and Exodus will pay for the repair in full.

Concern 2 - the estimate. The estimate went over due to the crew havi** to move the items multiple times for the customer. However in good faith we would like to offer two hours back on the estimate and we would like to offer 45 minutes back for breaks taken by the crew. 2 hours and 45 minutes at the hourly rate paid of $145 per hour = $398.75. The crew took 3 fifteen minute breaks on the load. When they took a break on the unload to eat they removed that time from the drive time.

If ******** agrees to the refund of $398.75 we can get this refunded immediately receivi** agreement on it. Our owner **** did call ******** this morni** to offer this over the phone and did not receive an answer.

Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******** **


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Exodus Moving and Storage
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart