Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are You the Business Owner of The Grant Motel?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This Business is not BBB accredited

The Grant Motel

Additional Locations

Phone: (303) 816-0542 49578 Highway 285, Grant, CO 80448 http://www.thegrantmotel.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Grant Motel include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Grant Motel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 19, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2010 Business started locally: 01/01/2010 Business incorporated: 01/01/2010 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Donald Schauer, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Donald Schauer, Owner
Business Category

Motels Liquor Stores


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    49578 Highway 285

    Grant, CO 80448 (303) 816-0542

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 20

    Grant, CO 80448

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 6/24/14, I and 2 other women rented a room from Grant Motel to stay for 3 nights. We brought all of our things into the room to stay overnight with our 2 shelties and a cat. That night while we were sleeping one of us woke up in the middle of the night with bed bug bites all over her leg. We knew they were bed bug bites because she is highly allergic to bed bugs and these bites were very characteristic of bed bug bites. They were also verified by a dermatologist. I further have pictures of these bites and showed them to *** ******* owner of the Grant Motel at around 3am when we woke him up that night insisting on leaving and getting our money back. After seeing the bites, he refunded our money. We then returned home bathed our dogs, showered and washed our clothing and checked as best we could to see if there were any bed bugs in our belongings. Since then my house has been infested with bed bugs. We continue to sustain bed bug bites on all over our bodies. We have sprayed multiple times but the bed bugs continue to reside in my house and I have been unable to get rid of them. I called *** ******* today 7/11/14 asking him to pay for an exterminator to spray my house since the bed bugs came from his Motel. He refused to pay for this saying he had no bed bugs but at the time we left his motel he said he had already had an exterminator there previously and would need to pay $1000 to have the room sprayed again to have it certified.

Desired Settlement: I would like reimbursement for all expenses, time, and exterminator services related to getting the bed bugs out of my house.

Business Response: Better Business Bureau
 
THE GRANT MOTEL
****** *******
P. O. BOX 20
49578 HIGHWAY 285 
GRANT, CO 80448
************ 
 
re: complaint id#******** 

Sony it has taken so long to respond, but Ms. ****** also opened a complaint with the Health Department and I was waiting for that to be closed before responding. You can contact ****** ***** with Park County at ************ for that disposition. 

My response to the complaint: 

Ms. ****** and her party did wake me up at 3:30 am on 6/25/14 telling me that my room was filled with bed bugs and they wanted their money back. I refunded their money, but in no way confirmed their claim that there were bed bugs in my room or that they had been bitten. Having no knowledge of bed bugs, I spent the day on the phone with numerous extermination 
companies. I also spent hours on the web informing myself with the various treatments. I settled on ******** and they came on 6/26/14 to treat my room. I have included their invoice and 
report. No evidence of bed bugs were found in the room, but it was still treated as I paid for that service to have them come to my motel from ******. Ms. ****** did call me on or around 
7/11/14 demanding money from me. I told her I had a report from ******** that showed I didn't have or ever had bed bugs- which I gave to her. She said the report didn't prove anything and that if I didn't give her money, she would destroy my Motel's reputation. I told her that she had already cost me over $800.00 and I wouldn't give her anything. I had ******** come again to my Motel on 7/31/14 to check for bed bugs because of the complaint Ms. ****** filed with the health department. I have included a copy of that report. No evidence of bed bugs was ever 
found in room #1. I'm not sure what Ms. ****** is referring to at the end of her complaint. I've paid for a 90 day guarantee with ********. I wouldn't have to pay $1000.00 for ******** to 
come back and get rid of any bed bugs. They don't need to come back because I don't have any bed bugs.