Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Days Inn Carbondale

Phone: (970) 963-9111 Fax: (970) 963-0759 950 Cowen Dr, Carbondale, CO 81623


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Days Inn Carbondale meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Days Inn Carbondale include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Days Inn Carbondale
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 14, 1998 Business started: 06/01/1992 Business started locally: 06/01/1992 Business incorporated 05/20/1992 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ted Miernicki, Vice President Mr. Michael Miernicki, Gen Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ted Miernicki, Vice President
Business Category

Motels Hotels

Alternate Business Names
Rux Investments Inc
Products & Services

hotel, motel, lodging in Aspen, Carbondale, Glenwood Springs, skiing, golf, fishing


Additional Locations

  • 950 Cowen Dr

    Carbondale, CO 81623 (970) 963-9111

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I stayed at this hotel in January and was subject to noisy and disturbing neighbors. Worse than that, the hotel blamed the issues on me. The room next to us had lots of people in it but the hotel got confused and charged my room an "additional adults" fee of $55.20 even though we only had the maximum number of people allowed (two: one male, one female). They refuse to reimburse me for the fee because they are convinced that it was our room who was loud, even though this is impossible. It would be very easy for them to check who was staying in the room next door and charge the correct noisy room. Furthermore, I never signed any paperwork stating that I approved the additional charge and yet they still issued it to my credit card on file.

Desired Settlement: I insist that they refund me for the $55.20 that was not deserved.

Business Response: Reservation was made on ********* for 2 adults. You had a total of 7 people in this room. Room charges are $10 per person above 2 adults. The room charge of $55.20 includes tax. You did sign a registration card that stated our policies. We also had to call the police to settle you down in this room till late into the night. We realize it is * ***** weekend and a little partying is ok, however we house many athletes during the games and they were the ones that alerted us to the late night noise. These charges are valid. 

Consumer Response:

***** ***** *********** ************************ *** ************************ ************************ ***** **** *** *** **** ** ***** ** ******** *** ******** ** *********

I also just tried calling ******* back to discuss this but he yelled at me and said "oh well whatever" and then hung up.

Sent from my iPhone

***** ***** *********** ************************ *** ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** ******** ** ********* 

Hello,

I am responding to the below complaint because the business does in fact lie in his response and I find it entirely unacceptable. Yes, the reservation was for 2 adults and no we did not have 7 adults. We had 2 adults (one male, one female). Yes, I signed a notice that I agreed to pay these charges IF I overstayed my welcome but I did NOT invite extra guests into the room therefore I never signed the final bill agreeing to pay the fees. I have attached the final bill without my signature on it agreeing to the charges. 

The “Owner”/Manager of this hotel was constantly confused and unaware of what was happening in his hotel. There were in fact many loud rooms in the hotel, and on our floor, and we had to deal with the noise unfortunately as well. We had a very loud, unpleasant stay but finally went to sleep. Therefore, of course we did not answer the door when the “supposed police” were sent to the room. If he says we spoke with the police or that they had to “settle us down”, it is also an obvious lie because we never once spoke to a policeman because we had no knowledge of any policeman at our room because we were silent and sleeping late at night. I’m sure that the manager was confused as to which room was causing the noise so he decided to just charge whichever he liked with no proof of who it was. I would like the full $55.20 reimbursed to me immediately and a permanent complaint held against this hotel and his manager (whose name is *******). Certainly a small fee of $55 should not matter to a large hotel like the **** Inn, and if they were a properly run and courteous business then they would have stopped this ongoing argument with me. I am one customer, and the fact that I continue to take this up with him, my credit card company, and the BBB shows how adamant I am that this man is lying. I refuse to let him get away with such poor business etiquette in case he continues to take advantage of other guests by stealing money and making up lies like this. 

*****

Business Response: I never yelled at this person. After repeatedly being cussed at I simply hung up the phone. Charges are valid. Customer had 7 adults in the room. Extra charges are valid. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I spoke with their corporate office today and they have reviewed the case and agreed that he was rude to me at the least, regardless of what other stories he has spun. For that reason, the Days Inn is reimbursing me the charges because they agree that they are invalid and that the management is handled poorly at this hotel. 

Regards,

********* ***********

Business Response: Customer was observed by staff to have 7 adults come out of room. Additional charges of $10 per adult were applied. Customer signed registration card with additional charges specified. Customer was evicted for excessive noise. Charges are valid and will not be refunded. Customer is not allowed back on premises. 

Consumer Response:

***** ******** ******************** *** ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** *** *** **** * *** ******* **** *** ********* ********* ********* 

Response to BBB and the business in question:

This has been resolved and, despite the manager’s attempt to refuse to reimburse me, their corporate office acknowledged that he was extremely rude and out of line so I have been fully reimbursed the fees.

Thank you for your help,

Katie