Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bank of Colorado Mortgage Division - Johnstown

Phone: (970) 663-2999 Fax: (970) 461-9777 4848 Thompson Pkwy Ste 200, Johnstown, CO 80534

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bank of Colorado Mortgage Division - Johnstown meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bank of Colorado Mortgage Division - Johnstown include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bank of Colorado Mortgage Division - Johnstown
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 28, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1910 Business incorporated 01/01/1910 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Real Estate-Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 295, Denver CO 80202
Phone Number: (303) 894-2166

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Clark Johnson, Branch President Mr. Tom Goding, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Clark Johnson, Branch President
Business Category

Mortgage Bankers Mortgage Brokers

Additional Locations

  • 4848 Thompson Pkwy Ste 200

    Johnstown, CO 80534


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/12/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: A loan officer who processed our mortgage over a year ago emailed asking if we would like a quote for the new mortgage insurance rates because it would be a great savings to us. I said sure, and that is all that was said. Within a week, we received a notice in the mail saying that our application for refinance was denied based on the credit check they did. Because we did not fill out any application, or even know that one had been filled out for us, I contacted the loan officer twice to get a copy of whatever had been filled out. After no response both times, I contacted the main mortgage department and finally got a copy of the application. Information filled out was incorrect, personal information such as SS # was used, closing costs had been estimated, etc. It was also not signed because we had not approved it, or known about it. It was not disclosed to us that a credit check or application would be filled out before they were done. If we had known about either, we would have said no to the "quote". Our credit now has an inquiry for a refinance that was done without our permission. I have saved all emails, the denial letter and the copy of the application.

Desired Settlement: Policy needs to be changed. Clients should be aware of any credit checks or applications filled out with or without their permission. When offering a "quote", there needs to be disclosure of any procedures taken. After initially questioning her about the credit check, she did not seem to understand that were weren't upset about being denied the loan, but about misuse of our personal information. We would like the credit inquiry removed and have asked that our personal information is no longer used.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern: 

This letter is in response to ****** and/or ****** ********** Better Business Bureau complaint regarding their loan with Bank of Colorado, dated 1-22-15 (per the complaint). 
Approximately one year ago I completed a mortgage loan for ****** ********. The loan with Bank of 
Colorado is under ******'s name. ****** is not part of the mortgage loan, nor does her name appear on their loan documents. On January 20th, 2015 I contacted the ***********, via email (the only email 
address I have is listed to ******), to inform them that the FHA Mortgage Insurance Premium was 
changing, effective January 26, 2015 and asked if they would be interested in having a quote since the rate change would be a cost savings for them. The response I received on January 20th, 2015 at 5:11PM was "Sure." 
Pursuant to their response, I proceeded with preparing a quote which includes knowing the balance of the original loan and the credit score. I pulled up the documents from the original loan which gave me the SSN and other pertinent information to enter into the computer for the quote. A signature on the application is not required for this process. A signature is only required once the application is 
submitted for upfront pre-disclosure approval. Protocol for this process is to verify whether or not the applicant (****** ********) is eligible for the loan and the rate reduction. 
On January 22nd, 2015 I sent an email to the address I have on file stating the quote would not apply to them and the loan would be denied due to the credit score. In response, I received an email from 
******'s email address which stated they were not aware they were applying for a new loan or that the• credit score would be checked. I responded, saying the balance of the loan had to be verified before I could proceed with a quote, which I was instructed to do based on the response of "sure." (Email from January 20th, 2015) 
Furthermore, I disclosed a copy of the application (which doesn't require a signature) on an email dated February 4th, 2015 with an explanation as to why the quote, and ultimately, the loan, would not proceed based on the credit score. 

Should any additional information be required, please let me know. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: 10431356

I am rejecting this response because:

"Pursuant to their response, I proceeded with preparing a quote which includes knowing the balance of the original loan and the credit score."

This information was NEVER disclosed. If it had been, we would not have agreed to a "quote". The process should have been disclosed before proceeding. A quote is an estimation of cost. That is not what we received. This "quote" also ended up being an application for refinance, not just an inquiry about the loan balance and credit score. (copy attached, minus personal info) If any of my information, including SS#, is being used I need to know. I now have an inquiry on my credit that I did not know about until after the fact. We believe this to be a form of predatory lending and needs to be dealt with accordingly. (Predatory lending is any lending practice that imposes unfair or abusive loan terms on a borrower. It is also any practice that convinces a borrower to accept unfair terms through deceptive, coercive, exploitative or unscrupulous actions for a loan that a borrower doesn't need, doesn't want or can't afford.) We did NOT want to apply for a refinance. We were NEVER told that a "quote" included applying for a refinance, or even a credit check. Why would we want to pay thousands of dollars at another closing just one year into our loan for roughly $100 a month savings? We feel tricked into applying for something we never intended to apply for. Our privacy was violated in the use of personal information without our knowledge. (Some of the info in the application was also incorrect.) We asked the loan officer TWICE for a copy of whatever application was filled out, with no response both times. We had to contact the main mortgage department before one was finally sent. The loan officer never acknowledged any wrongdoing, only a reason as to why the loan was denied. We explained that we were not upset because the "loan" was denied, but that personal information was used inappropriately. And yes, the loan is only in one name, but both names were on the original loan application on file and both are on the deed. 

There needs to be much more transparency when using clients' information. A client should never feel tricked or in the dark. A client should know when and if their personal information is being used, for any reason. Pulling up an old file is NOT an acceptable way of getting a client's personal information, especially without them knowing. A SS# is not something to just throw around. Who else has access to my info now? Saying "sure" in an email to a quote offer is not approval for a full loan application. This whole experience from the beginning has felt very misleading, which led us to closing our accounts with BOC. (Also had problems when trying to close, but that's another issue.) We are so tired of the excuses and deceit, which is all we seem to get from this lender. Definite lack of professionalism. Policy NEEDS to be changed if predatory lending is a regular practice at BOC. 

Our original loan was also handled in this manner. We had several issues, such as no good faith estimate until pre-approval a month after applying (the itemized fee worksheet received then even says "this is not a good faith estimate"), over payment for the appraisal (asked if we would be refunded the difference and never got an answer), several other questions not answered or in a confusing way, closing costs more than doubled by closing, important information was not relayed in a timely manner (we had to call days later to find out), the type of loan changed without us knowing, among others. After a month with no progress, we started working with another lender and were then magically pre-approved with BOC. (FYI the other lender sat down with us in person and explained every step of the lending process. He was amazing!) If they had pre-approved us first, we would have switched. Unfortunately we were on a very tight schedule to get moved and took the first pre-approval we got. HUGE mistake on our part. We never did meet our loan officer in person until closing. We were even asked to bring in some personal paperwork, and ended up having to leave it with another employee in the lobby. Our realtor also had to contact the loan officer to get a different fee worksheet that made sense. Easily the most frustrating experience we've ever had as a client/customer. 

If this is an example of an average loan experience with BOC, we would definitely not recommend their services.  


****** & ****** ********

1/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bank of Colorado disclosed that the cost of our appraisal would be $450 and collected that fee from our Credit Card. Then contracted with an appraiser for $625. They failed to disclose that there was going to be a greater cost to me when they made the agreement with the appraiser. When our loan was canceled because we couldn't provide the documentation that they were requesting, the appraisal was already in process and the appraiser was going to charge us $325 for the work he had already done. On 8/7/2013, *** ****** who was handling our loan while our Mortgage Loan Officer was out of the office indicated that our credit card would be credited $125 which was the difference between the amount they collected and the amount the appraiser agreed to charge for the work completed.On 8/23/13, we emailed ********* ****** requesting information about the refund. She said she wasn't aware that she needed to request the refund and that she would take care of it. On 8/30/13 I sent another email requsting the status of our refund and I was told it would take two weeks to issue. Finally on 9/6/13 we received a check in the mail, however it was only for $75. I have made several phone call to Bank of Colorado with a promise that they were issuing another check for $50 to cover the difference.As of 9/27/2013 I have yet to receive the other $50 in a refund.In addition to the BBB, I am also filing a compliant with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, Colorado Division on Banking and the FDIC.

Desired Settlement: I believe it is only right that due to the deceitful nature under which Bank of Colorado has acted that they should refund the entire amount of the collected $450.00 for the Appraisal. I have spent more time trying to contact and work this out without having to file a compliant through emails and phone calls that I can count. I have numerous emails regarding the refund, and yet nothing has been sent.

Business Response: Our company did disclose $450 for the cost of the appraisal.   The quote we received back from the appraiser because the property was a 4-plex was $625.   Under no circumstance would the borrower have been charged the $625.   If the appraisal would have been completed we would have only charged the borrower $450.    The loan was cancelled but the appraiser charged $325 for the work that already been completed on the appraisal.    Because the borrower had paid $450 they were due back a refund of $125.    However because of an oversight in our finance department, only $75 was refunded.    Once we became aware of the oversight we refunded the borrower another $75 which was $25 higher than the actual $50 the borrower was requesting.