Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Massage Envy

Phone: (970) 488-3689 Fax: (970) 488-3686 1514 E Harmony Rd Unit 2B, Fort Collins, CO 80525 http://www.massageenvy.com/clinics/CO/Fort-Collins.aspx View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Massage Envy include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Massage Envy
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 09, 2006 Business started: 12/01/2005 in CO Business incorporated 12/01/2005 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Dave Michel, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dave Michel, President
Business Category

Massage Therapists Estheticians


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1514 E Harmony Rd Unit 2B

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 488-3689

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have requested to be reimbursed from the time that I sent in a letter showing that I am no longer using services and believe I signed a copy of their form at the time as well, this was October 2012. I kept calling and sent another email as my card was still being charged. I notified my card as well. I went in February to use a massage since they kept charging and a note was to be made again that I was no longer wanting to have the monthly service. I accepted a payment from Mar thru July based on ***** stating the Corporation would not reimburse any more because I went in February. A reimbursement was finally made in August, however after I was told it would be processed that day I had to call yet again to be reimbursed, over 22 days later. I have provided thorough documentation over three times showing that I requested cancellations over and over, yet this was not enough. I made a special trip to drop off documentation on the third time and signed their cancellation form again. I was told by staff that they had some trouble with prior managers and was apologized to. I remained very polite and nice to everyone throughout this process, but was continuously treated as though I was in the wrong. After all of this, they still charged my card again, for September 2013 after receiving a 5 month refund on August 30, 2012 and possibly October. Even though I did use massage in February, I feel that I am owed monies back to Oct 2012 less the February visit. The therapists are wonderful, underpaid, but wonderful. The paperwork tracking of their files, management and local ownership is lacking business etiquette, and could use some good old fashioned honesty. Be cautious of the monthly charges, and document, document document.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the most recent fee charged plus the ridiculous credit card fees that were charged for the hold and then late fee, as we do not use this card at all of $84. We now need to be refunded from Oct 2012 thru January 2012 which is from when I first cancelled contract and does not include my February visit, totally 5 months at $49, $245. 245+84=$329 via money order or certified check only. The credit card on file is no longer available.

Business Response:

****** ******

BBB Dispute #*******

We agree that there were difficulties and issues with the
communications with ******. 

In July we determined that we would make an exception and
refund the 245.00 in charges from July 18, 2013. The charges were in dispute
regarding the cancellation of the client’s membership.  The first time we attempted to refund the
charge there was an error. The error with the credit processing company was not
realized at that time.  The charges were
then credited back to the card on file on August 30, 2013.

The charge from September 18,2013 is completely our
fault.  We wanted to be sure that the
credit card credits from August 30 got properly refunded, and there was not
another error. We thought we had followed up and cancelled the account.  We did not realize until this dispute that
the charge had been processed. This was our fault and the $49.00 has been
refunded back to the original credit card when we received this complaint.

We are willing to work with your credit card company and the
BBB to see if we can lessen the hold and late fees.

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I have worked with Massage Envy for a year on trying to get my account cancelled.  There was different information provided in regards to cancelling the membership.  I was told it needed to be in writing and so I sent a letter.  This was all during my pregnancy and was not able to follow up as I would have liked and assumed that the business had cancelled my account.  They did not always bill my card monthly on occasion it would come in a lump sum, thus not knowing that my account was not cancelled.
Then again, Massage Envy did not follow through with the refund until I follow up yet again. I am only willing to accept refund for the ridiculous credit card fees of $84 that were charged for the hold and then late fees, as we do not use this card at all. Then refund from Oct 2012 thru January 2012 which is from when I first cancelled contract and does not include my February visit, totally 5 months at $49, $245. 245+84=$329 via money order or certified check only. The credit card on file is no longer available.

Regards,

******  

Business Response: Response to *******:
 
On August 30, 2013 a refund of $245.00 was processed.  Please see the attached receipt verifying the refund was processed as requested
As stated in our previous statement we will be happy to contact her credit card company and work with them and the better business bureau to determine if we can somehow mitigate the $84.00 in late/hold fees the credit card company is charging.  In order to mitigate these fees we will need a copy of the credit card statement reflecting the charges.

I have attached a copy of the credit receipt. If you did not receive it please contact me.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Massage Envy
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)