Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Madwire(r)

Phone: (888) 872-3734 Fax: (970) 962-8502 View Additional Phone Numbers Please call or email, Loveland, CO 80537 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.madwiremedia.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We're a full-service, full throttle, full of life creative online marketing & design agency founded in mid-2009 and located a mile high in the Rocky Mountain sky, Colorado. We are focused on driving you conversions, because that is all that matters when it comes to helping you grow your business. Our talented team has a passion for great design, inbound marketing, growing brands and establishing long-term partnerships with our clients. We call Marketing And Design…”Mad”. We love Mad.™ We eat Mad, sleep Mad, teach Mad and preach Mad. Mad is in our blood, our manifesto, our calling. Hear from clients we've worked with by reading the Madwire Media reviews located under the Customer Reviews tab above. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Madwire(r) meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Madwire(r) include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 26 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

26 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 15 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 26

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

155 Customer Reviews on Madwire(r)
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 150
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 5
Total Customer Reviews 155

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 19, 2011 Business started: 06/10/2009 in CO Business incorporated 06/10/2009 in CO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Joseph Kellogg, CEO Mr. Jerry Kelly, CMO Mr. JB Kellogg, COO/Founder Ms. Rachel Lafollette, CCO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph Kellogg, CEO
Principal: Mr. Jerry Kelly, CMO
Customer Contact: Ms. Rachel Lafollette, CCO
Business Category

Marketing Agencies Marketing Software Web Design Marketing - Dental Advertising Agencies & Counselors Advertising - Internet

Service Area
Global
Alternate Business Names
Madwire Media LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Madwire(r) has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • Please call or email

    Loveland, CO 80537

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/28/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
11/24/2015 Delivery Issues
11/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
11/2/2015 Delivery Issues
10/7/2015 Delivery Issues
8/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/7/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
6/25/2015 Delivery Issues
6/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/24/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/24/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Company is ******* *** **** ******** *** We had find MadWireMedia while looking for other plumbing web pages we found them on the bottom of the company's web page called them told them we have a website which is ****************** we needed more traffic the said we can get all the customers you can handle around 09/16/2013 Money was taken from our debit card $1460.00 a month which was fine as long as they delivered on what they promised. in october we started to noticed that on our web pages we had a video and pricing and prices on agreements you would try to click on the different parts of the site and they we locked ***** had called ******* ***** who is the marketing director and on numerous times was told he would have to check with his staff All the calls that we have received were fax numbers and international calls no clients we are in the heating season and not one call for service have we received Plus we have had alot of customers that have my personal cell phone tell me that when you go on the site everything is locked.

Desired Settlement: 10/12/2013 $1460.0011/12/2013 $1460.00

Business Response: I was able to connect with ***** from ******* *** on December 12 about his concerns. He is three months into a six month Marketing program/commitment. Here is a review of the results he had gotten thus far from our Marketing efforts.

UXi Website Design:
We created Diamond ***** current web site. ************************* 

My Click to Calls(tm) Program:
Below are the calls he received through our My Click-to-Calls(tm) number:
*         10 Fax (We released a patch to the program a couple weeks ago to reduce/eliminate fax spam calls)
*         3 Spam
*         9 Potential Customers, calls answered
o   ******* ***** (Customer) Install conversion
o   ***** (Customer) Leaky valve in kitchen sink
o   (Customer) Hot water heater repair
o   (Customer) Gas heating system inspection
o   (Customer) Cracks in the piping
o   **** ******* (Customer) Heat upstairs isn't working
o   **** (Customer) Pressure test on gas lines
o   ****** **** (Customer) Part for heater
o   (Customer) Problem with sink in basement
*         6 Potential Customers, calls not answered
o   Voicemail: ***** (Customer) Question about water piping

Natural Listing Ad(tm) Program:
The onsite conversion rate optimization was completed. Looking at the last month compared to the month prior, which is as much time as we have been tracking site analytics, the organic traffic has increased 36%. ************************* 

Top Placement Ad(r) Program:
All funds for Google were spent. 117 of the site visits have come from our Top Placement Ads(r), which accounts for 41% of the site's overall visits. ************************* Five mobile click-to-calls came directly from the Top Placement Ads(r), which means those were people who were searching from a mobile phone and clicked directly on the phone number in the ad. ************************* 

Conversion Rate Optimization:
Looking at the last month compared to prior time period, all web site statistics have improved, with the exception of % New Visits. The fact that the site is receiving more repeat visitors is not necessarily a bad thing, though. ************************* You can see from the traffic flow the site didn't ever experience any time period where it was locked or unavailable to site visitors. http://prntscr.com/2bv4ox 

There were other efforts, which we did not get to launch, because the six month program was not completed. For example, Google requires we build up so many IP addresses within the list before we
can start running Retargeting Ads(tm), which we did not reach before ***** stopped the Marketing.

After ***** and I spoke, we came to an agreement. We cancelled his services and voided his remaining financial commitment, which is outlined in his contract. ************************* He signed a General Release, outlining this agreement. ************************* We also provided a free month of hosting, which will carry him through 1/13/2014. ************************* 

***** **** ****** ********** * ***** ******** ******* ******* ***** * ** **** ******** ******* ********************************** ******* ************ *****

11/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would need several pages to list all of the problems that we have had with Madwire. Besides the two month delay on building our site and the problems that existed after that. I can only attribute this to them being a bad business with incompetent employees - with a "I don't care attitude". The complaint involves two major issues. First we were promised a free month because of the numerous errors and delays. We never got this (they lied to us and said they did- but we found out through Google Analytics that they had just stopped the advertising campaign instead). Second is the nature of the contract. We signed up for advertising packages - thinking the moneys are going to advertising when in fact up to 40% was going to admin fees. This was never disclosed until the rep admitted this to us at the final meeting. This company should be selling used cars on the side.

Desired Settlement: We were definitely cheated out of several thousands of dollars?

Business Response: Hi, 

 
I don't find this person as one of our clients.
 
Thanks,
~****** **********
********************************** 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: BBB; I reject the response from Madwire. Please have them search under our business name. Thanks

*** *******
*********** ***** ** ********
** ************
************************

Business Response:

We have reached out to this client, and spoken with him about his concerns. We provided clarification and proof of the work which was completed in full.

 

We’ve had a couple different points of contact for this company. Regarding the free month that was referenced: the offer that was made in June was for a credit of $800, which was a majority portion of the account’s monthly plan. This credit was given in response to a conversation the main point of contact had with our COO about their web site development. $800 was deducted from the client’s next invoice as you can see here: *************************.

 The full payment, including the correct number of Top Placement Ad Credits was logged in our system at the time the payment was made, as can be seen here: *************************.

 The ads ran during July as can be seen here: *************************, and some rolled over into August. In the middle of the month we were making optimizations for the campaigns, and were also low on budget – so the ads ran at a lower rate until a little later in the month when the client provided us with additional funds, optimization had been done, and we ran the ads at a higher daily budget through the end of August. During the middle of July we were setting up new Product Listing Ads with specific maximum budgets, as requested by the client. Setting up Product Listing Ads required setting up a large feed which includes every product on the site, and then waiting for Google’s approval before the ads will run. Our point of contact also had us rewrite certain ad copy to include “Denver’s Largest Motorcycle Shop” instead of marketing the products themselves. We re-uploaded multiple versions of the feed, featuring specific products and brands for more effective acquisition of conversions. Running the ads at a higher daily budget provided the client with a higher impression share; their conversion rate went from .66% to 1%.  All Credits roll over if not used within a certain billing period; our goal is not just to spend the dollars with Google, but to spend them in the most effective manner possible. This is why we focus on Conversion Rate Optimization and Onsite Optimization, in addition to the management of the Top Placement Ads.

All funds that were provided for Top Placement Ads, including the Credits that were given for free were spent. All time to spend for Google totaled $3525. All time spent with Google, as can be seen here ************************* was $3530.34.

All dollars included in our Marketing plans get allocated to Marketing activities. Included in each plan is a certain number of Natural Listing Ad Posts, Top Placement Ad Credits, as well as other services which are outlined in all our contracts. There are no administrative fees.

Performance Cycle’s Marketing investment drove them the following Conversions:

(34) Conversions from the Top Placement Ads, which can be seen here: *************************.

(18) View-through Conversions from the Top Placement Ads, which can be seen here: *************************.

(5) Conversions from visitors that originated from the Top Placement Ads, and then came back to the site’s URL directly, and so wouldn’t be counted above. These can be seen here: http://prntscr.com/1z0lpu. If their average sale from the TPA was $140.90 (as is provided by Google Analytics) then the revenue generated from 57 trackable Conversions would equal $8,031.30. This represents a 138% return on investment for the Marketing.

According to Google Analytics there was also $11,365.17 in revenue generated from organic searches between April and August, which would have been assisted by our efforts to maintain and improve their organic ranking.

We offered resolution, which was declined. During our phone conversations with the client, he recognized our efforts, that all funds provided for Top Placement Ads were spent and that revenue was generated from the Marketing.

 Thanks,

~****** **********

Chief Customer Officer

Madwire Media – Mad360

Phone: 888-872-3734 ext. 1231

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: We have proof from Google Analytics that Madwire cheated us. This is a very "slippery" company and they have manipulated the books to try to cover up the deception. All along the way there were numerous delays and countless errors with our website development. We have lost thousands of dollars with this company and are now left to find another company to fix Madwire's mess.

Regards,

*** *******

10/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid for two months of Search Engine Optimization & AdWords for our company website through Madwire Media. We never reached the top of the search engines, we received 1 potential customer who filled out our "Contact Us" form, that was it. We paid $750 a month for a total of $1450.00 plus Madwire has tried to pull more money out of our account without authorization. They have added all these additional fees and now are threatening to take us to collections. They promised us a "free" website, they put it up for us but once we cancelled our marketing through them, they posted our website as "ACCOUNT SUSPENDED" which reflected horribly and lost us potential customers from consumers that were directed to our site through our own advertising means. We called them and asked them to put the website back up but they said they wouldn't unless we paid for the hosting through them but it was a ridiculous amount. The website was supposed to belong to us but they wouldn't give it to us without paying for their hosting (we already have hosting through someone else). We were offered so much and received nothing but headaches.

Desired Settlement: My desired settlement would be a refund of all money paid, $1450. They didn't deliver on ANY of their promises. They said we would be on the top of the internet searches, which didn't happen.Also, we didn't get to keep the website. We were much better off than before we ever started with Madwire. From what I have read on the internet, we are not the only company that Madwire has scammed. Since internet marketing is so vague, they are able to take advantage of many consumers.

Business Response: Attached is the contract for reference and a receipt of refund. I talked with the client about the contract and services that we provided. We have already made a refund in the amount of $720.00 and we are not moving forward with collections on the remaining part of the contract. 

Business Response: An email was sent to '*********************' on 8/21 outlining the details of the contract as well as additional. Also an email was forwarded to ****************** on 8/23.

 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: they did NOT give me a refund, they just didn't charge me after I cancelled my account. It's not that I MISUNDERSTOOD anything (like Jerry's letter refers), it is that they are rude, did nothing with all the money we gave them and used our "credits" on what? We don't know! They are a scam and I am demanding full refund. I will keep  on warning other potential customers  about their misdeeds b/c no one deserves to lose $1500 on absolutely nothing, especially when you are a small business, like us.

Regards,

******** ******

Business Response:
That should do it. One is the contract which speaks to what the consumer was complaining about. All of the information is in there. And the other is an invoice for a refund. This client signed 6 month contract to which we were going to send to collections for early cancellation 2 months in on the contract. Upon receiving the email they filed a complaint with the BBB. In addition we invested $3K dollars of time on a website as part of the agreement. Outlined within the contract it talks about early cancellation with the option of hosting. They disregarded all emails. We took the site down that we own for nonpayment. Not only did we not pursue collections for breach of contract after speaking with ******** we also gave them a refund. It is unfortunate how this process works.
 
15 Day Collection Letter sent 7/31/13
30 Day Collection Letter sent 8/15/2013
 
 
If you have any other questions please feel free to reach out to me.
 
Thanks.

9/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In June of 2013, Madwire Media Reviews contacted me and performed high pressure sales tactics to get me to sign a contract with them. They asked me to give them a large sum of money to start the campaign, which included web design, marketing, seo, and pay per click ads. They made all kinds of promises to which they were not able to hold up to. They promised a good web design and I get a mediocre, at best, design. Their site is beautiful and they said mine would be similar. They lied. They also told me that I would have 100% control of my website and be able to host it on my own server. Another lie. They have control of my website and I can't make changes because I can't access the backend. Madwire Media promised me 15-20 calls per day, based on my budget and the keywords targeting for my niche. Another lie. My campaign has been running for over two months and I have received two calls in that time period. Once call I actually booked the job, a $60 job, 45 miles out of my territory. I did the job anyway because my business, my name, and my reputation are at stake. They filled me full of their lies and promises in order to get me sign a contract and give them my payment info. I have done one job in the two months since my campaign started with Madwire Media and when I asked for a refund, they refused. They are not familiar with my industry and are targeting the wrong keywords that aren't remotely targeted to my industry and they are charging me a premium rate and expect me to keep paying them $2500 per month for services NOT rendered. This fraudulent company needs to be exposed for who they are.

Desired Settlement: I want 100% of my money back. In my business, if a customer is not happy with the work, I redo it for free. If they are still not happy, I refund their money because my reputation is at stake. They promised me I could get my money back yet they refused to refund it when I asked.

9/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told that there was NO contracts by several people, several different times before starting my marketing and web design with Madwire Media. **** ******** and ******* ***** both had stated that there is no contracts, until we no longer wanted to use there services after three months of very poor results and NO service. They told us one thing and had us sign documents that were supposedly forms that gave them permission to edit and change our current webpage, little did we know in the small print they lock you into a 6 month contract. This is the most dishonest and rude company that I have ever come across. We would like this matter resolved before we have to hand things over to our lawyers. Please Advise

Desired Settlement: I would like this to be resolved quickly and professionally, I would like for the remaining time and money in our contract to be wiped clear and the harassing phone calls and emails to STOP. I cant believe that there are companies out there like this that LIE and DECIEVE people to make a living.

Business Response: I spoke with ****** and addressed the concerns over the contract and client was satisfied. 

8/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service