Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Boyd Lake Marina Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 663-2662 Fax: (970) 663-2797 4430 N County Rd, Loveland, CO 80538


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Boyd Lake Marina Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Boyd Lake Marina Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Boyd Lake Marina Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 21, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1993 Business started locally: 01/01/1993 Business incorporated 01/01/1993 in CO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Robin Skoog, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Robin Skoog, President
Business Category

Marinas Camping Equipment Companies Bait Stores Tackle Shops Retail Grocers Boat Renting & Leasing Docks


Additional Locations

  • 4430 N County Rd

    Loveland, CO 80538 (970) 663-2662

  • PO Box 1445

    Loveland, CO 80539

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Boat rental advertised on web: 4 hours speed boat rental $150. They charged us $195. I reserved the boat in advanced and was not about increase. Reserved boat last week for yesterday (7/13/13). Checked the web for pricing **********************************************************************************************************Brochure.pdf At that time it showed $150 for 4 hour speed boat rental. When I went to pay for the boat they charged us $195. They said they raised the rates and are not responsible for the prices on the web and refused to honor them. We paid the increase, but the cashier took no responsibility at all and refused to honor the web price. She was emphatic and showed terrible service. She just kept repeating the policy. In addition, they charged us for the 4 hours yet 1) the morning rental came back at the time we should have already had the boat 2) the check out person took so long we lost about 30 minutes of the rental.

Desired Settlement: I would like $45 plus 1/2 hour rental cost.

Business Response:
***** Sharf 

VP/ Dispute Resolution and Operations 
Better Business Bureau 

Re: Case # ******** 

In response to Ms. ****** ******* complaint regarding rental pricing. All renters are informed of rental pricing and how the deposit works when reservations are made. She stated that the web advertised a 4 hour rental of $150. First, Boyd Lake Marina, Inc. does not have a website, we have never posted our brochures on the web. The Ski/Wakeboard boat in which Ms. ****** ***** reserved has always been $65 per hour or $195 per 4 hours (buy 3 hours, get the 4th hour free). Mr. ***** ***** rented the boat in question. At the time he was told the price of a 4 hour rental was $195 plus gas and oil, he stated he thought the price was $150. We informed him the price is $195 and gave him the option of canceling the reservation with no cancellation fee if he so chose. He stated he wanted to talk to the rest of his party. He came back in and said YES they still wanted the boat and knew it was $195. Second, regarding the morning rental returning late. Yes, the morning rental did return late, however this didn't cut into Ms. ****** ******* rental time, it only delayed there departure by approximately 10-15 minutes. Third, regarding the check out person took so long we lost about 30 minutes of the rental. We gave adequate time for the safety and operation instructions. The 5 minute delay was due to the fact that Ms. ****** ***** had left the staging area before the safety and operation instruction was completed. Ms. ****** ***** was signed up as a driver and therefore is required to be present during the entire instruction period. This caused a slight delay in departure. When the ***** party returned the boat approximately 15 minutes early, Ms. ****** ***** was asked if they had a good time, and she said yes, they had a good time. It wasn't until we were adding up the gas and oil charges that she said "your website said the price is $150". Again we informed her that we don't have a website, and we didn't post our brochure, we attempted to hand her a copy of our brochure but she refused it. She handed us a different card then her husband did to charge the rental fee, as soon as we charged the card she immediately told us she didn't want to use that card and very forcefully told us to refund it immediately. We tried to explain to her that even though we'll void the transaction immediately, the credit card processing center may take several days before they release it. She then yelled at the employee to CREDIT MY CARD NOW. While voiding the transaction on one card and re-doing the transaction on another card she was talking to her friend that she'll just dispute the charges. It is unfortunate that Ms. ****** ***** felt the need to complain to the BBB however, Boyd Lake Marina, Inc. isn't responsible for the information posted by others on the web. We feel we adequately relayed the correct pricing to the customer prior to rental, gave them the option of renting, and therefore no refunds will be given. Attached are copies of the Rental Contract with customer signatures and copies of the lost 2 years brochures which show the ski/wakeboard price at $195 per 4 hours. If required, we have copies of all financial transactions.