Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

The UPS Store #1565

Phone: (970) 223-6144 Fax: (970) 223-1626 1001 E Harmony Rd Unit A, Fort Collins, CO 80525 http://www.theupsstore.com/1565.htm


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

UPS shipping, USPS shipping, retail packing supplies and packaging services, mailboxes (physical address, not a PO Box), notary services, printing, laminating and binding.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The UPS Store #1565 meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The UPS Store #1565 include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on The UPS Store #1565
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 20, 2006 Business started: 01/01/2004 in CA Business incorporated 01/01/2004 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Colorado Secretary Of State
1700 Broadway Ste 200, Denver CO 80290
www.sos.state.co.us/
Phone Number: (303) 894-2200

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Danielle Phillips, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Danielle Phillips, Owner
Business Category

Mailing Services Public Notaries Freight Forwarding Services Paper Box Suppliers Shipping Room Supply Stores Printers Copy Centers Mail Box Rental Companies

Service Area
Fort Collins
Alternate Business Names
PacMountain Enterprises Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The UPS Store #1565 has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1001 E Harmony Rd Unit A

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 223-6144

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A nightmare. They were entrusted with packaging two $5000+ computers which were 75 pounds each. I took my packages to them because I thought they would do a better job than I could. They used 1" of packaging on each side (not conforming to UPS policy) and of course both packages were horrifically damaged in shipment (box looked like an accordion and computers took over $1000 in damage). I haven't had a problem shipping hundreds of computers elsewhere, but these guys do not know how to bubble wrap a package. The next time I tried to come in after finally receiving my claim check from UPS (it took them nearly two months to process my claim) I was told they were reserving their right to refuse service. What a joke. When I confronted them about it they would not so much as apologize for improperly packaging and rather than attempt to reach a resolution they told me to forward future correspondence to their lawyer. My own company hasn't received a 1 star review in over two years and as a result of this fiasco my own customer broke the streak as a result of this damage. I will now go out of my way to avoid these people and since as I understand it the owner has multiple locations in town I will now drive to Loveland to find a company that knows how to treat its customers. Their prices are also out of control. If you have problems with them, go straight to UPS corporate because otherwise, if your experience is anything like mine, good luck reaching a resolution.

Desired Settlement: I require them to accept my packages again and apologize for improperly packaging the packages the first time.

Business Response:

***** came into our store and requested we pack and ship a computer for him.  We packaged the computer he wanted to ship per UPS standards.  We recommended custom packaging to account for the size and weight of his computer, but he did not want to incur the additional cost.  His only concern was “is it covered”.  This concerned us we are aware that he has a history of claims for damage made at other The UPS Store’s.  Unfortunately, the computer was damaged in transit.  The damage incurred was internal to the machine (motherboard separating from the chassis) for which it is impossible for us to cushion and protect from the normal rigors of shipping transit as we do not open the machine.   ***** received an apology for the incident (as we do in all claims cases) and payment for not only the damage repairs but also the shipping and packaging charges from UPS.  Our store submitted and processed the claim.  We cannot control the timing of the process or reimbursement, but the claim was paid in March.  UPS would not have reimbursed if the package had not been prepared to UPS standards.  The UPS Store's are not exempt from UPS packaging standards as ***** implies.  Throughout the process ***** was belligerent, argumentative and difficult.  We were also concerned that he has a history of damaged products while shipping.  Lastly, he refused to pay the cost of custom packaging as we recommended.  As a result of the history we have with his computers getting damaged in transit, we politely informed him we did not want to bear the risk of packing and shipping any more computers.  We informed him that this did not prevent him from shipping his computers on his own UPS account or at the UPS Customer Service counter.  He became aggressive and hostile and threatened to write bad reviews and complain to UPS management unless we continued shipping computers for him.  He also refused to return multiple attempts to contact him by phone to discuss matters.  These behaviors made us more concerned and resolute in our decision not to ship more computers for him. 
It is difficult to believe that he complains about our service, as the below e-mails show he was insistent we continue to ship for him.  It is only after we refused to ship his computers that this issue arose,  nearly two months after the claim payment  was made, does he complain about the quality of our service.
We operate two The UPS Stores in Fort Collins.  We took ownership of our first store in 2004.  This is the first BBB, or other type of complaint, that I can recall in regards to our packaging.  We perform our services professionally and properly.  We have shipped tens of thousands of items for 11 years with very, very few problems.  This was simply a matter of a very troubled person with many issues lashing out in anger.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
I was at no time offered the aforementioned premium packaging upgrade which the store owner alleges, nor should I have required such packaging for the computer to arrive safely.  I did not receive the package back to me with enough packaging to conform to UPS standards, and any statements made otherwise by the store owner are false.  While it may have been permitted for UPS to let this one slide since the store bears the UPS name, it is not truthful that the actual specifications of the packaging conformed to UPS packaging standards.  As mentioned previously, I have shipped many hundreds of such computers before and the two computers which I shipped through this store on THE SAME DAY both took major damage as a result of their poor packaging specifications.  In my company's 11 years of business, the only other UPS store I have shipped through to have been returned to sender because of carrier damage was at the OTHER store (located on Magnolia) owned by the SAME PEOPLE, so for the store owner to make such a claim is not only erroneous... it points out the utter inability of the current management to instruct their personnel how to properly package large electronic items.  It is excusable with the volume of packages that my company ships out that one or two should be damaged in shipping, but what is not excusable is when the damage is the result of negligence on the part of "packaging experts" over at UPS store #1565 Harmony Road coupled with the lack of apology for such negligence.  Make no mistake, "I'm sorry for what happened," is very much a distinct statement from "I am sorry for my company's negligence."

I do not appreciate the personal jabs at my own character calling me "belligerent, argumentative and difficult," or the remarks stating that I am a " very troubled person with many issues lashing out in anger," or being called "aggressive and hostile"  as they are not only false but point to this store owner's own inability to practice good customer service as the UPS code of ethics would dictate.  It is true that I threatened to write bad reviews and write to corporate, which I don't think could possibly be considered outside of my rights as a customer.  It is false that I refused to take calls... what is closer to the truth is that I was and am presently traveling in South America and therefore unable to answer the phone... though my attempts at civil e-mail conversation have so far been met with a referral to the store owner's attorney.  

My resolution to the store owner's refusal of service, refusal to apologize for negligence, and grievous personal remarks is simple... accept service again, apologize for negligence, and apologize for making such insulting personal remarks.  Short of this, I will not consider this matter resolved.


Regards,

***** ********