BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Jiffy Lube?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Jiffy Lube

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 226-5823 Fax: (970) 226-5839 View Additional Phone Numbers 3703 S Timberline Rd, Fort Collins, CO 80525 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.jiffylube.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jiffy Lube meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jiffy Lube include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jiffy Lube
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 14, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1978 Business started locally: 01/01/1978 Business incorporated: 09/01/2008 in CO
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Mindy Myers, Owner Mr. Mark Howell, Operations Manager Mr. Pete Myers, Owner Mr. Ken Stillwell, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Mark Howell, Operations Manager
Principal: Ms. Mindy Myers, Owner
Business Category

Car Lubrication Shops Auto Windshield and Glass Repair Shops Auto Services Auto Services - Oil & Lube Storage Battery Retailers Auto Repair Services

Alternate Business Names
Enitor Enterprises LLC Jiffy Lube - Service Center #17
Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Additional Locations

  • 121 Kensington Dr

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 282-0770

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1778 30th St

    Boulder, CO 80301 (303) 447-8040

  • 2549 S College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 482-4033

  • 3703 S Timberline Rd

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 226-5823 (970) 237-0102 (970) 214-8599

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (970) 214-8599(Phone)
  • (970) 237-0102(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 18, 2014 I went to Jiffy Lube ***** ** ******* for an oil change. At that time, I was told by the customer service person rep in the shop that I also needed my front and rear diff fluid changed as well as my transmission fluid. I was given a sheet that listed when these services were due that says "manufacturer recommendations." The invoice for this service is #**** *******, Transaction No ************** Employees: ***** ***** **** **** **** **** opted to have the oil change and the front and rear differential done at that time. I said to the customer service rep that checked me in "Do they know what they are doing with the differential? I know on a Subaru it can be tricky." He said yes, they knew what they were doing. I said "ok, because my husband has told me it's confusing." He assured me again they knew what they were doing.The next day, March 19, I was driving from my home in ********* Co to ********, WY for work. I was heading north bound on I-25 in northern Colorado when my AT Oil Temp light came on. I immediately pulled over and shut the car down, letting it cool off. While it was cooling, I looked up the closest Jiffy Lube which was store #** in ** *******, CO. I drove straight there.I explained to the customer service rep what had happened and showed him the pages I received the day before showing the work done and work recommended. He said we would ask them to check the diff fluid and said they could do the transmission fluid change. I agreed to have that done, based on the recommendations given to me the day before.He assured me the tech checked the differential fluid and they were fine. The tech then changed the transmission fluid. Invoice #** *******, Transaction No. ************** Employees: ***** ***** ***** **** ***** *****I left and finished my trip to ******** and back home. On Saturday, March 22, my family (me, my husband and 3 kids) left for *** *****. We were driving the Subaru. We were driving West on I70 and at around 8:30-8:45pm around mile marker 192 we were going up a slight incline when suddenly I saw my mpg indicator shoot all the way up and noticed that when I pushed down on the accelerator it was working. I immediately started pulling over to the shoulder. At some point during the initial noticing of the mpg surge and before I came to a complete stop, there was a thunk. We pulled over as far as we could onto the shoulder and put the car into park. The car was still running, but when put into drive, it would not move.We called for the nearest tow truck in the nearest town which was ***** *****, Utah. Our main concern was that I had 3 children sitting in a car on the side of a freeway with no lights, no buildings around and semi trucks speeding past at 80mph. We were able to reach ***** ***** Towing ***** ******** and have the car towed (and us transported) to *** ****** Auto in ***** *****. The tow truck driver told us that *** ****** Auto would not be able to work on a 2012 Subaru. But we left it there because there was no where else to go in ***** *****. We stayed at a hotel that night in ***** *****. The tow charge to *** ****** Auto was $200. During this tow (and possibly the next) my car's skid plate was scratched and the front bumper was damaged. There is yellow paint and scratches that were not there previously. We know it was not there because my husband regularly checks my car for leaks because I drive so much.Since *** ****** Auto could not service this 2012 Subaru, we arranged to have the car towed to ***** ******** Subaru. The nearest Subaru dealer. This tow was $525. We had to hire a shuttle to take us to ***** ******** ($200) to rent a car. There was nothing open on Sunday to wait for the car to be repaired. We rented a car in ***** ******** ($387).The car was towed to ***** ******** Subaru and upon doing the initial inspection, they discovered the front differential was empty and now the CVT transmission needs to be replaced. Further, I found out that my transmission fluid should NOT have been replaced until 100,000 miles. The "manufacture's recommendations" given to me were wrong.

Desired Settlement: I am now out:$200 initial tow$200 shuttle service to ***** ********$387 car rental$525 second tow$241 for the transmission fluid change that did not need to be done for another 40,000 miles$1553PLUS the initial estimate of $8855 (attached) to repair the car. PLUS the damage done to the skid plate/bumper.

Business Response: To whom it may concern, 

I have already been informed of this claim and have been working closely with the manager of store ** to get all the details. Unfortunately, this claim is NOT related to the service we performed. We simply replaced the transmission fluid. The fluid in the transmission is still full and the reason the transmission needs to be replaced is because the final drive was never filled properly by the first Jiffy Lube service center to work on it the day prior. This store is not part of our franchise, and therefore this claim needs to be forwarded to them. The final drive can not be replaced without replacing the entire transmission on these vehicles, but again we had nothing to do with the front differential or the service of it. Please forward this BBB complaint to: ******* **** **** ***********. They are franchise owner of the location that did not fill the differential up when they serviced in the day before it came to us. 

I am very sorry that we can not help you further with this claim. 

Sincerely, 

**** ******

Consumer Response: Had this location in Fort Collins checked the front differential fluid like they said (and like I asked them to) this situation would have ended there. They obviously did not check it or some how drained it. They were the LAST place to touch the car.

Business Response: The customer came in after only driving 90 miles since the service was done at the prior Jiffy Lube and complained that the check engine light was on. She asked that we check it (which we did) and asked us to check the differential (not the final drive). We did check the rear differential which was full. Beyond that, it was NOT our responsibility to check anything above and beyond the transmission after we serviced it. Obviously, there was an issue with the original service hence the reason the check engine light came on. Why would we do anything when we were not the people to create the mistake? How does that make any sense? The original Jiffy Lube did not fill your final drive enough or at all, and it burned up as you drove. They were the ones to completely drain it and were supposed to fill it back up to a certain level (which is where I believe the mistake was made). We can not accept responsibility for their error. This is where we stand on this situation- and our position is firm. This NEEDS to be taken to someone in a higher level position in the ******* **** **** ***********. 

Regards, 

**** ******

Consumer Response: If only I could get SOMEONE to talk to me there!! Their response is attached.

Both locations blame each other. Corporate is impossible to communicate with.

I will be contacting a litigation attorney and naming both locations today.


BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 1992 Honda Civic into the Jiffy Lube for an oil change, and they recommended I have the radiator flushed which I agreed. This was done on July 1, 2013. After one month the car started over-heating. I took the car back, and they reflushed the radiator. After another month the car started to over heat again. I took the car in again and they said the car was low on coolant. They added the necessary coolant.After another month the car started over-heating again. I took the car to Fort Collins Collison and Radiator Repair, and they checked it and said the overflow tubing was disconnected and replaced it for around $111.I drove the car for three weeks, and it started over-heating. I took the car back to them, and they found the head gaskett had failed.They repaired the car and charged $1277. When I picked the car up, they stated they thought, when Jiffy Lube flushed the system, they left an air pocket in the system and it led to the head gasket failure. I contacted Jiffy Lube and they were not willing to do anything for me as to the cost of this expensive repair. I feel Jiffy Lube was negligent in the process of flushing the system, since I had had no problems with the car over-heating before I had it flushed at their business. I believe they should have to take responsiblity for their mistake and pay for the cost of the repair.Respectfully****** ** ******

Desired Settlement: I request Jiffy Lube to pay for the expensive cost of this repair.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

When we investigated this claim a month or so ago we called an ASE master mechanic and asked him his opinion regarding our cooling system service and whether or not it could lead to a head gasket failure. We explained that our service is simply a fluid exchange- not a flush- so there is only 18-20psi used to pull coolant from the system through the radiator cap. The machines we use will not allow a system to under fill or leave an "air pocket" after service. If coolant is being lost it is from a leak (sometimes a leaking head gasket) or the radiator cap is no longer functioning to its proper rating. 

An internal combustion engine produces over 200psi while its running- that is the constant pressure that the head gasket is under EVERY time the engine is turned on and running. Our machine running 18-20psi will NEVER create head gasket failure. The only thing that can happen is that our service can uncover pre existing head gasket issues when coolant is removed and sludge/varnish deposits are freed from the head gasket. Our service is preventative maintenance- and the cooling system should be serviced every 2 years or 30,000 miles (whichever comes first). If these regular services are not done, this sludge can build up over time. Any cooling system service would have uncovered the problem that was already there. Again, we are not a repair facility- and we can not look inside an engine or cooling system to see any pre existing issues before we perform a service. 

Unfortunately we can not accept any liability in this claim when an unbiased 3rd party professional mechanic stated and provided us documentation that our service simply COULD NOT cause this type of damage, only uncover something that would have failed in a matter of time. 

Please contact me if you need any further information.

Regards, 

**** ******
Operations Manager- ****** ***********
********************

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  Number one their ASE Master technician, although they know a lot about car repair, they are not necessarily an expert in all cooling systems on all vehicles.  After the the first and second drain and fill of my cooling system, I experienced over-heating.  I paid Jiffy Lube for a new radiator cap.  The first time the vehicle started over-heating after the over-heating I took it back and they made no mention of a leak of any kind.  The second time it started tp over-heat, I took the car back and they said the over flow was low on fluid and topped it off with coolant,  They wanted to charge me for this, but I argued that I had had the service performed there, and they should not charge me.  After the vehicle started to over-heat again. I took it to a reputable radiator repair shop for an investigation of the problem.  They initially said the tubing to the overflow canister was kinked and disconnected from the cap, which Jiffy Lube should have seen during their inspection  They fixed this problem, but a few weeks later it began to over-heat again.  I took it back, and they said the head gasket had blown.  They replaced the head gasket and I haven't had any issues since.   I have a letter from the repair shop stating, in their opinion, the cause of the failure was due to an air pocket that occurred during the drain and fill process at Jiffy Lube.  Since I was not experiencing any over-heating problems before the Jiffy Lube service, I feel their inexperienced tech failed to make sure there were not air pockets left in the system which probably led to the head gasket failure.  For Jiffy Lubes ASE mechanic to state that there system of draining and filling the radiator could never lead to an air pocket formation is pure speculation at best.  I would put much more faith in an expert radiator repair shop which specializes in this type of repair than the inexperienced techs who are paid low wages to do this type of work.  It is just as possible for the air pocket to have blown the head gasket as for the sledge and varnish to have been the cause of the failure.  I, therefore, reject this unconfirmed explanation and request compensation for Jiffy Lubes negligence.

Respectfully,

****** ******

Regards,

****** ******

Business Response: Again, our service is NOT a drain and fill. We use a sophisticated machine that pulls the coolant and replaces only exactly what came out- making it impossible to leave an air pocket. I question the supposed radiator shop the customer went to if the only way they know how to service a cooling system is a 10 year outdated process. It is obvious that we are not going to resolve this issue in this forum. We are still denying any liability in this matter and that will not change. 

Regards,

**** ******



Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  Since your system of removing and replacing the coolant uses very low pressure, I seriously doubt that it would be strong enough to remove any sledge or varnish away from the sealed head gasket and create the failure.  Since I have spoken to several mechanics and done research on the internet, I have come to the conclusion there are many reasons for a head gasket failure.  One of those reasons is an air pocket, which would cause the engine to overheat, therefore, cause the gasket to fail.  Since I cannot prove this was the case, I will not seek relief in small claims court.  However, there is one action I can take, and that is to not use Jiffy Lube for any future services on my vehicles.


Regards,

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently had my car fixed with a pretty much a new engine, went to Jiffy Lube to change my oil. My car is a Jetta TDI diesel engine. I have taken my car to Jiffy Lube many times before with no issues. This time the technicians pulled my engine cover off without removing the dipstick first-this broke my oil dipstick tube. At the end they told me that a small "clip" was broken and that it was nothing to worry about. I got home and decided to check what small "clip" they were talking about. I look to find my oil dipstick tube completely broken off and leaking oil on the engine parts around. I called them immediately and explained with happened. The employee I talked to told me that "it was like that when you got here," and gave me instructions on how to clean up the mess the oil left. I felt lied to and cheated. I had just paid for high quality oil at $80 and got a broken car instead. I had to go to work the next day, so I had to buy a new part immediately. It was not an inexpensive part at all, about $8, however it was about the extreme lack of customer service and accountability for the issue. I called and filed a complaint and got a email about a week later. I regret to say that it was not a very professional email in the least bit. I explained what happened and sent them the bill for the part. I was told that the money would be reimbursed to me by mail, that was on 7/31/13. I never received my check for a whole MONTH and email them to "remind" them that I have not received it, but no email back( 8/14/13). This was very disappointing and not to mention, zero customer service! It is now 8/30/13 and still no call, no email, no check. Never going to Jiffy Lube again.

Desired Settlement: Good customer service is apologizing for what happened and taking care of the customer immediately and not ignoring them! I would like the part and service refunded, if reasonable and convenient ?

Business Response: I am the operations manager for this company and I want to apologize for the delay in my response. I have approved the reimbursement for this customer (and did some time ago). I will check with my office Monday morning to find out the status of her check. If it hasn't been sent, I will make sure it is sent on Monday, no later. We agree with the customers desired resolution, and this is simply a mistake on my part in not checking to see if our office had sent the check. Please accept my deepest apologies.


Sincerely,

**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car to Jiffy Lube to get my oil changed and they broke my door handle. Now they are giving me the run-around. I took my car to Jiffy Lube to get my oil changed on 6/29/2013, and afterwards, I noticed that they had broken my door handle. I called them immediately, and set up a time the next day to have them look at it. They looked at it, and told me they would review the tapes, decide what they were going to do, and get back to me. However, since then, I have gone back to the store 5 times, and have called countless times, but I always get the same answer. The last time I went in I asked to speak to Cameron, the manager, and about 20 minutes later he came in to talk to someone he apparently knew (non-business related), ignoring me completely until I caught him on his way back outside. He tried to ignore me, knowing I wanted to speak with him, and I have no doubt he had every intention to leave me sitting inside waiting indefinitely. His response after talking for a while: "I talked with the mechanic and he confirms that the handle was not broken before." If it wasn't broken when I took it in, that logically proves that they broke it. I gave him the part number of the replacement handle (5102845AA), and had already priced it from the dealer at $120. He went away to the phone, and when he came back he said he'd ordered the part, but that they probably wouldn't pay for it. I asked for a order confirmation from the dealership, but of course he didn't have one. He said he would get back to me on Wednesday at the latest, but it's Friday, and even after calling again and leaving a message for him, he still has not contacted me. Since the time they first knew about the problem, it has been 28 days (and counting). They have admitted to me that it wasn't broken before, but when I got it back it was broken, leaving only one explanation. Every time I go in I am treated like they couldn't care less about this issue, and repeatedly lie to my face, telling me they will talk to their supervisors, watch the tapes, and get back to me. I have not received a single call from them. The way they have chosen to ignore me and this problem without giving me an answer has been extremely unprofessional and rude.

Desired Settlement: All I want from Jiffy Lube is to replace the part that they admittedly broke. They already have all the information they need, and supposedly asked the dealership to order the part, but I'm having trouble believing anything they tell me anymore because the majority of it has been direct lies. I have been patient and respectful in my interactions with the managers, and would like a little respect in return, as well as them to fix the part they broke.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: We are going to replace the door handle trim, but we will try to find it used first, as our obligation legally isn't to replace it with a new one. If we can't find a used one, then we will proceed with purchasing one from the dealership. Either way his handle will be in working order soon. Regards, **** ****** Operations Manager 

3/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Jiffy Lube conned my daughter into getting a rock chip fixed "without involving our insurance". They lied and immediately tried to make a claim. On Monday, November 19th, my 21 year old daughter took the car she drives for college to Jiffy Lube to get an oil change. Although the car is in her possession, the title and insurance are registered to me. Thinking they could get easy money, Jiffy Lube told my daughter they could fix a rock chip in her windshield for free, with no involvement from her insurance company. My daughter asked several times, " are you sure you aren't going to call my insurance company?" They reassured her. After service was completed they said they needed her insurance info. Confused, but young and naive, she provided the info. Her first lesson in nothing comes free. After coming home she notified us and we told her she had made a terrible mistake in believing they would not attempt to make a claim, which they immediately tried to do! I then called Jiffy Lube and spoke to Houston who did the con sell on my daughter. She passed the phone to Ken who said he was the manager. Neither employee felt they had done anything improper or deceptive by trying to sell an up service and lying about making unnecessary insurance claims. We would never want to make a frivolous claim to our insurance. I immediately contacted my insurance agent to let her know that had happened, and that we didn't authorize this action. Minutes later, I received a call from the claims department at my insurance company to let me know the claim was denied, because we did not have the coverage for the windshield. The claims department suggested I contact the BBB and the attorney Generals office concerning the matter. Then a second call from my insurance agent revealed that Jiffy Lube made a claim to our insurance company that the chip in the windshield was a result of an accident. Yet, another lie. This is abuse to customers and fraudulent insurance claims.

Desired Settlement: Not applicable, unless they attempt to contact me to pay for the rock chip fix.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 22, 2013/02/22) */ I called and left a message for the customer to contact me. We perform thousands of rock chip repairs through insurance per year and the service is totally free to the customer. Yes, it is considered a "no fault" claim, which will not raise rates for the customer. If by chance the insurance will not cover the repair, we STILL perform the service for free as a gesture to the customer. Insurance companies would rather pay us a very small fee to repair a windshield than to have to cover a portion of the cost of replacing one. We get the insurance company on the phone WITH the customer- and they verify the customers information so it is impossible for us to authorize any claim for a customer. This customers daughter got on the phone and authorized the repair with her insurance company- and the 3rd party we use has the phone call recorded. It was not one of our employees making a claim for her. Her insurance denied the claim anyway because they did not carry the coverage for it. We will not be doing anything further for this customer, and when he calls me back I will give him this same information.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1