Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Wilburs Total Beverage

Phone: (970) 226-8662 Fax: (970) 226-1969 2201 S College Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80525 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wilburs Total Beverage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Wilburs Total Beverage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Wilburs Total Beverage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 30, 2000 Business started: 10/16/2000 Business started locally: 10/16/2000
Business Management
Mr. Matt Dinsmore
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matt Dinsmore
Business Category

Liquor Stores Wines - Retail

Additional Locations

  • 2201 S College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 226-8662


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/29/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing to advise you of an issue I have experienc** with Wilbur's Total Beverage in Fort Collins. I am hoping that through your intervention, a resolution to the problem can be attain**. I purchas** wine on two occasions at Wilbur's Total Beverage in Fort Collins, CO with promotions advertising a rebate with purchase (******* ***** *** ****** **** *****). The offer was limit** to one rebate offer per address, but Wilbur's staff advis** me that if I want** to buy more of the wine, I could use more than one address to receive the same promotion. I us** two addresses in each of the promotions, one for my home, and one for a relative. One purchase was in February, 2015 and the other in March or April, 2015. I was due four rebates totalling $120.00. I receiv** one rebate for $36.00 shortly after my initial purchase, but to date I am still due the remaining three rebates, totalling $84.00. I contact** "Andy" of the Wilbur's staff in person in approximately March, 2015 and provid** him all pertinent information relat** to the rebates. I receiv** no follow up whatsoever from Andy after this , so I contact** him again in person a month later, at which time he referr** me to "Morgan" of the Wilbur's staff. I gave Morgan all the information (the same information that I had previously given to Andy four weeks earlier) regarding the outstanding rebates that I had still not receiv**. I receiv** no follow up from Morgan either,, so at the end of May, 2015 I contact** the General Manager of Wilburs, Mat D*******, in person and he advis** me to send him an email with all relat** information. This would make the third time that the information was provid** to Wilbur's. I told Mat that if I had known there would be this much of a problem getting reimburs** by the rebates, I never would have purchas** the cases of wine in the first place. Mat assur** me during our conversation that regardless of what he found, he would make it right for me and get me the reimbursement I was due, and specifically in his words, "make you whole." I heard nothing back from him, so on July 6, 2015, I follow** up with another email to Mat, requesting the status of the rebates. Once again, I heard nothing back from him, or any of the staff involv** in this issue. On July 10, 2015, in an effort to resolve the issue before I contact** the BBB, I made a telephone call to Mat. I was told by the person answering the phone that he was in a business meeting. I left a voice message for Mat to contact me. As of today, I have still not receiv** a response from any of the above requests. As outlin** in the information above, I have made a total of seven contacts to the staff of Wilbur's and have still not been made whole, as promis**. This seems to fly in the face of responsible customer service, and quite frankly, I have been surpris** at how the matter has been handl**, especially in a community such as Fort Collins, where business matters are normally handl** professionally and exp**itiously. I have been a steady customer of Wilburs over the years and have always enjoy** shopping there, but this situation has obviously been very poorly handl** from the top down. This matter could easily have been taken care of in a very simple manner on many occasions by the staff of Wilbur's, in the spirit of good customer service. Instead, I feel that I was given the run around and pass** from one person to another, all to no avail. I delay** making a formal complaint against Wilbur's for many months, but I feel at this point it is my only option in order to receive the promis** reimbursement. Thank you for your time in this matter and please feel free to contact me if you have any questions or ne** further information.

Desired Settlement: Refund in the amount of $84.00 and apology. Assurance that all employees are advis** that customer service should be a priority, and they should not simply ignore customer inquiries.

Business Response: from: Mat D******* <>
to: **********************
date: Tue, Jul 28, 2015 at 5:51 PM
subject: FW: Rebate Offers 

Case #********

This in regards to case #********.  Please see the e-mail that I sent to ** * ***** ******** this afternoon in regards to their complaint fil** with the BBB about Wilbur’s Total Beverage.  A gift certificate for $120 will be mail** to their address on W**nesday morning…  To be quite frank, we did not communicate with them about the status of their rebate and I understand their frustration.  I would also like to make it clear that all rebates are clear** by a third party clearing house that Wilbur’s Total Beverage has no relationship with, although we try very hard to make sure that all rebates are paid in a timely manner…  If you have any questions, please contact me any time at ************.

Thank you!
Mat D*******

From: Mat D******* [] 
Sent: Tuesday, July 28, 2015 5:49 PM
To: '** *** ***** ********'
Subject: RE: Rebate Offers

Hey **, please accept my apology on not getting back to you a bit more promptly…  Since we have first spoken in either late May or early June I have reach** out to the clearing house for both of these rebates an received nothing in response multiple times.  With that said, there is not excuse for not getting back to you and your wife more promptly with an explanation of what I had been working on!  With that said, I’m still running into a brick wall with the clearing house’s and understand your frustration.  If it is ok with you, I’m going to mail out a $120 gift certificate to you, and ask that if the rebate ever does arrive, please just let me know.  I read through your letter to BBB, and completely understand where you are coming from and apologize for how we have handl** this issue.  There is simply no excuse for our lack of communication and I appreciate your patience (we blew it!) and want to thank you for your continu** support over the years.  Although I have let you down this time, if I can ever be of service, please don’t hesitate to contact me!

Thank you again for your business!

Mat D*******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have review** the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


****** ********

11/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I came in to this store tonight with my pregnant fiancee and were ridiculed by a customer and a staff member. This is absolutely unprofessional and unacceptable. My fiancee is very hurt by the way she was treated and we would like the way this business views people known to the general public, I am DISGUSTED at the way we were looked at and treated.

Desired Settlement: I would like a letter of apology from the employee and some sort of proof that this type of behavior is unacceptable from employees.

Business Response:

Thank you for your message ********… My name is *** ******** and I’m the general manager here at Wilbur’s, and I’d very much like to talk with you about your most recent experience. I would love to respond via e-mail but have found that e-mails can sometimes be a bit insincere and impersonal. Having had a pregnant wife spend a lot of time here at Wilbur’s and having my 3 & 6 year old work with me on many Sunday’s I completely understand where you and your fiance are coming from and want to apologize either over the phone or in person for your bad experience. For over 13 years my father & I have tried very hard to make Wilbur’s a very family friendly establishment, and I look forward to speaking with you. I can be reached here at the store at 970-226-8662 or on my personal cell phone at 970-290-1001. Thank you in advance for your time!
*** ********


I am ***** Father and was very upset at the situation you described. After spending a great deal of time going over who was working at the time and talking with the staff that was upfront that night I have the following information:

*****, the person you posted the message to, was upfront and has no idea of the situation happening. No one recalls any situation as you described and all are very sorry that you and your fiance left with the impression that we would condone or allow anything like described. We have the great fortune of dealing with multiple pregnant ladies each week and no one here would make any  comments, as that is just not who we hire or would allow at the store.

It is my feeling that any comments made were about something totally different than what it seemed. Our records show multiple kegs shells coming in for deposit return and several orders being picked and placed at the register. We also have multiple questions asked about displays or items on register stands, all of which might have been the cause for such conversation. I assure you that my staff is mature and professional, and would not last one moment if they were inclined to such comments.

I don't know how to make amends except to apologize for any misunderstanding and know that ****** was genuine in his response to you on our web-sight when he asked you to call him.