Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of McCrary and Sons LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

McCrary and Sons LLC

Phone: (970) 532-7787 Fax: (970) 532-5855 275 Weld County Rd 48, Berthoud, CO 80513 http://www.mccraryandsons.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

McCrary and Sons LLC is a landscape company dedicated to providing a complete solution to lawn care needs. Whether it is a one time service for mow and trim or a custom landscape design.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that McCrary and Sons LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for McCrary and Sons LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on McCrary and Sons LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 13, 2001 Business started: 06/01/1994 in CO Business incorporated: 12/30/1999 in CO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Ian M McCrary, Managing Partner Mr. Amon McCrary, Partner Mr. Craig McCrary, Partner Ms. Susan F McCrary, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ian M McCrary, Managing Partner
Business Category

Lawn Care Companies Weed Control Service Outdoor Kitchens Design & Build Contractor Walkway Design Patio Design Patio Builder Pavers Sprinkler Companies Property Maintenance Companies Landscape Lighting Companies Irrigation Consultants Irrigation Systems - Install/Design Irrigation Systems - Maintenance/Repair Snow Plowing Companies Snow Removal Service - Commercial Irrigation Systems & Equipment Lawn & Tree Care Lawn Installers Stump Grinding Landscape Contractors Landscape Maintenance Landscaping Clean-Up - Spring & Fall Landscape Designers

Service Area
I-25 corridor - Berthoud to Fort Collins
Alternate Business Names
McCrary & Sons LLC McCrary and Sons Lawn and Landscape
Products & Services

Spring/Fall cleanups Sprinkler winterization Snow removal Aeration Fertilzation Gutter cleaning Shrub/bush pruning Landscape design/renovation/installation Water features/pond installation Holiday lighting

Industry Tips
How to Hire Landscape Pro Tips for Hiring a Lawn Irrigation Installation Contractor Tips on Hiring Lawn-Care Professionals Tips to Ensure Your Summer Party is a Success

Additional Locations

  • 275 Weld County Rd 48

    Berthoud, CO 80513 (970) 532-7787

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/29/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has been hired by me since 2006. The job descriptionwas to mow and maintain the yard at 2539 Anemonie. Snow Removal was to be done in the winter months. In 2010 the service bacame real poor. They broke my gate and left it hand open. That summer they brought riding mowers in and totally destroyed my landscape. The blades from the mowers took 3 large chunks of concrete from my back patio. They did repair part of the bricks however did nothing about my patio. I spend much of my time in SD as well as Colo. Last winter, 2011, I spent in Colo.. It was agreed upon not to do snow removal unless it was 4" or more. When we had 2" They would come at 3:00 pm after it had melted and charge me 25.00. I was here and watched them. In April 2012 I left until the end of May. When I came back they had they had charged me for several mows. I had a Letter from the homeowners Assoc stating how bad my yard was. I had weeds to my hips. I called them and canceled my service 6/2/12. On 7/26/12 I received a call from their secretary stating I needed to pay for June and July.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement My patio needs repaired as well as my gate before I pay them any more. I do not owe them $276.95. This company represents lies and I find them crooked.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2012/09/25) */ We began working for Mrs. ****** in April of 2009. On October 8, 2009 We had to leave a courtesy call to remind Mrs. ****** that we had not recieved a payment since June. Promptly, Mrs. ****** made a payment and no further action was taken. In the Winter of******31 2012 32******we provided snow removal service and Mrs. ****** kept her account current. In April of 2010, we again were contacted to provide mowing and trimming per Mrs. ******. On November 10, 2010 we again Left a courtesy call for her because her bill stood at $547.50. Over the next few months Mrs. ****** made several payments bringing her account current by April. Again in April of 2011 we began mowing and trimming as well as picking up after Mrs. ******* Dogs. Once on 6/3/11 we provided weed control in the off lawn (rock areas) as our crews had asked us to contact Mrs. ****** and ask her permission to get the weeds sprayed. Please keep in mind this is an extra service that is only done at the request of the customer. Around 7/10/2011 Mrs. ****** reported that her Landscape blocks had sunken on the front edge as a result of being run over by our lawn mowers. We agreed that we would fix them and that the job would be scheduled in our landscape crews schedules, Mrs. ****** stated at that time that she would not make a payment on her account until things had been fixed to her satisfaction. On 10/21/11 the crews fixed the sunken blocks and an invoice was sent showing the repairs and asking that Mrs. ****** bring her account to current status. Promptly, Mrs. ****** made a $150 payment. Also, Beginning in Nov. of 2011 we again began providing snow removal service per Mrs. ******. Throughout the winter we visited the property eight times (8) of which she was charged six times (2). Two times the snow had either melted or was not enough snow to warrant service, or had already been done by someone. Mrs. ****** stated in her complaint that we never came until 3:00 pm. Our service times were as follows (recorded in our daily log sheets). 11/2/11 8:09 Am, 12/1/11 - 2:00 PM (we started service on this storm at 6:00 am as there was only 2" of snow at that time and most of our accounts require 2" to service their property, also it takes about 9 hrs. to complete our routes in a normal 2-6" storm). On 12/3/11 we serviced the property at 10:11 Am, On 12/22/12 the snow had been removed when we arrived, 1/17/12 - we started at 5:51 AM, on 2/3/12 we arrived at 12:15 PM (in this storm loveland had recieved about 12 " of snow which makes our job take longer. On 2/4/12 there was not enough snow to warrant service. Lastly, on 2/11 we were at Mrs. ******'s property at 8:02 am. As our records indicate, we were always there within a reasonable amount of time. Also, in the snow removal business the snow never starts at the same time or falls at the same rate which is the reason for varying service times. If there was an issue with our snow service we were never made aware of it. Also, for the record, we have never had a slip / fall claim that has gone against or company beecause we are very dilligent about taking care of our accounts. Bewteen Nov and May, We did not recieve any payment from Mrs. ******. In April we again made a courtesty call requesting Mrs. ****** make a payment. At the end of April, Mrs. ****** contacted our office and requested that we begin mowing again; our office manager told her that we could do that but we needed a payment for past services. On 5/3/12 Mrs. ****** made a $400 payment (at no time did she say anything about her patio.) We mowed on a weekly basis in the month of May and again on 6/5/2012. On Sunday 6/10/12 Mrs. ****** called and left a extremely nesty message on the office answering machine. Our crew was then given a Carbon copy nete that requested they stop servicing the property. Unfortunately, Mrs. ****** was not removed from a memorized trasaction list in our billing program and continued to be billed until the end of July. On 8/2/12 a Past Due courtesy call was given to Mrs. ******. On 8/4/12 Mrs. ****** called our office and was "Nasty, disrepectful, angry, and foul mouthed." She claimed we had broken her gate but again, nothing was mentioned about concrete. She said she was "not going to pay for bad service". She also noted, that she had been charged for the rest of June and July. At that time, we deleted all charges from 2012 back to the beginning of March including May and the first week of June, which were correctly billed. Mrs ****** was notified she was still expected to make good on her snow removal service. She again stated that she was not going to pay for our sh**ty service. We asked our crew asked about her gate, They stated that the gate had been tie shut with a dog leash for as long as any of them had been working on Mrs. ******* property. Since no payment had been received for services rendered prior to mid-February and the account was 120 days past due, and it was apparent we would not receive further payment, the account on 8/31/2012 was turned over for collection. Then, on 9/14/12 Mrs. ****** called our office and was again extremely nasty and vulgar. She swore at both the office manager and one of the owners. She claimed that we did not provide any service to her account for the 2012 season and that she had pictures to show it. She also claimed to have a letter from her Homeowners association complaining about the weeds on her property. These weeds definitely were "not up to her hips" if they were in the lawn as the lawn had been mowed on a weekly basis until the time at which Mrs. ****** stopped service. It should be noted again, that our crews do not provide service in the border areas without the directive of the homeowner as these are seperate services and are additional charges. It should be noted that we keep detailed records for snow removal as required by our insurance company for liability against slip and fall accidents. Because our company already deleted roughly $140 in charges and due to the collection agencies policies and fees we will lose another $110 plus on this account. We ask that Mrs. ****** pay her bill and all parties will go in their own directions. The account is past due, the services were rendered,and Mrs. ****** did not address her issues in a timely manner. Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2012/10/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When service was agreed upon I explained I was not availavle in one location and did not have my mail forwarded to send the billings to SD address, therefore causing delayed pay at times. I did not think this was an issue. I did spend 2011 in Colo. This is when my patio was destroyed.(I did call dispatcher at the time) My gate and locks were broken twice. I did call dispatcher each time. The snow removal was suppose to be 4" or more-not 2. I did personally watch them arrive at 3:05pm get out of truck ,scoop 2 scoops on west side and leave--the rest had melted. I disagree with their description of our conversation on the phone. I feel this is just another cheep shot from this Co. to enable them to continue on without being responsible and fair with their work ethics. ****** ****** Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2012/10/16) */ Yes, we were aware that Mrs. ****** was living in two locations. However, were were not aware that her mail was not forwarded to her in South Dakota. Unfortunately, it is not ourt responsibility to make sure that our customers pay their bills in a timely manner. As far as damage to the property goes. Mrs. ******'s gate has been tied shut with a dog leash for 2-3 years. So I find it hard to believe that we damaged her latch on the gate two time in 2011. We were made aware that our crews had been accessing the back yuard by going over 3-4 retaining wall blocks which caused them to sink on the front edge. We subsequently took care of that issue and reset the blocks. At no time were we made aware of damage to her patio. Regarding snow removal at no time were we at Mrs. ******'s property at 3:05 PM. We keep very detailed record with the time of service and the depth of the snow at that time. We do this in case there were ever a slip / fall claim against our company due to our neglegence. Because of these detailed records, we have never had a claim in which we have had to pay out. Mrs. ****** must be confused about the time, but refering to the service on 2/4/12 in which our crew reported that the snow was melting and did not meet the trigger depth of 2". Our records show that Mrs. ******'s Snow removal was set up for 2" (which is standard for most accounts), not 4" as she claims. Mrs. ****** may disagree with the manner of our conversations; however, she seems to forget that there were more than one person with whom she had conversations with. Both of which felt she was extremely nasty and / or rude. We will gladly fix Mrs. ******* latch on her gate, as well as fill in the "gouges" in her patio. However, we feel that at that time we should be able to then charge Mrs. ****** for the mowing services rendered up until 6/10/12. These services were removed from the bill to help negate any issues.

7/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service