Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Jose's Landscaping

Phone: (303) 523-1879 Please Call or Email, Firestone, CO 80504

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jose's Landscaping meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jose's Landscaping include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Jose's Landscaping
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 19, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1998 Business started locally: 01/01/1998
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jose Soto, Owner Mr. Sam Soto, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jose Soto, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Sam Soto, Co-Owner
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Maintenance Landscape Designers Lawn Care Companies Patio & Deck Builders Patio Design Patio Builder Sprinkler Companies Landscape Lighting Companies Irrigation Systems & Equipment Stone Paving Companies

Industry Tips
How to Hire Landscape Pro Tips for Hiring a Lawn Irrigation Installation Contractor Tips on Hiring Lawn-Care Professionals

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Jose's Landscaping has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • Please Call or Email

    Firestone, CO 80504


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Jose's Landscaping in October 2013 at the advice of a neighbor. We paid ~$23000 for Jose's to install landscaping including sod, sprinkler, garden, retaining wall, firepit and flagstone patio. Sam from Jose's was very eager to earn our business, making multiple calls & visits to lock it. Upon locking, the crew began work. Upon completion of the ~2 week project, we immediately began to notice several problems. Notably: - sinking of flagstones on raised patio almost immediately + unlevel flagstones across patio - Garden beam bent upwards / not secured down - missing flagstones - poor flagstone detail work particularly around firepit - no inspection from city suggesting permits were not pulled for gaseline/firepit - pooling of water in one corner of yard - ~1" of standing water due to poor grading - un textured blocks used in firepit bench We contacted Jose's multiple times on these issues, which were ignored. We finally found Jose' doing work in our neighborhood and asked him to come look. He referred to the "beautiful work" and suggested it would be fixed. Months went by, with multiple followup we were able to get 1-2 blocks fixed with the wrong color block. These of course took multiple followup to get replaced. We have tried to get Jose's back out but cannot get a response from Sam or Jose'. The last straw came this summer when our 4 year old stepped on a loose block, knocking it over and falling. Furthermore, the retaining wall has begun to sink into the spot where the drainage issue is. it is clear Jose's is eager to take money, but not live up to their "1 year warranty"

Desired Settlement: - repair sunk areas of patio - repair drainage issues - repair poor workmanship around firepit - replacement of firepit bench with proper blocks - repair garden - confirmation of city permits on firepit

Business Response: This is the first time we here from the homeowner this year. Pavers are set on aggregate not on a solid surface so if the earth moves so will the pavers. We are still willing to work with Mr. ******* on the loose bricks on the patio if he is willing to contact us. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

We are asking for the elevated part of patio to be repaired - this was done improperly and was noticeable sunk in with a week of work completion.  The rest of patio we understand there will be minor imperfections due to slight ground shifting.

Business has also not addressed other claims.  loose stones are one of many outstanding issues we've been seeking resolution on for over 1.5 years:
- gaps in patio around firepit / incomplete
- garden beams not secured
- drainage / grade in sod creating standing water / retaining wall sinking
- ensure proper permits used in fire pit

Additionally, the glue the contractor uses washes away in the rain leaving a white stain on the stones.  Request proper / weather proof glue to be used.


******* *******

Business Response: We agree to repairing top paver patio that is underneath deck even though as stated before pavers settle and move if the ground under neath settled. We will also secure garden beams and fix the gap areas the customer stated. The glue used is contractor grade as is provided by the stone manufacturer where the pavers were purchased and is recommended to use by them ******** block. If caps are loose we will re glue. We will not make any repairs to wall or drainage since it was approved and done properly at the time of completion. The gas line was to code and no permit was pulled and Was stated at the time the work was started with the homeowner. This project is close to 2 years since it was done but we will accommodate the homeowner to try and make them satisfied.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Jose's also needs to agree to finish the detail work around the fire pit (blocks missing / very visible sand).

In addition to the mentioned fixes, need Jose's to explain the drainage structure within retaining wall as we will need to hire another company to fix the grade/drainage issue Jose's will not fix and need to understand how they are currently draining water behind the wall (if at all).


******* *******

Business Response: I agree to make the repairs around the firepit section and address loose sand issue. I would like to look at drainage and come to an agreement on repair with homeowner but this will not be free. Customer had previously contacted me about getting an estimate to correct drainage. I'm willing to give him a fair price to settle the issue

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


******* *******

5/20/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I unfortunately hired Jose's Landscaping to install a flagstone patio and stone wall in our new home last September. The job was completed on October 1, 2013 at **** ****** ****** ** ****.The flagstones are loose and wobble. The loose flagstones are dangerous and are a tripping hazard now. Additionally, the sand has just disappeared between the stones leaving empty gaps between the stones. The mortar has cracked out and fallen out.We paid over $8500 for this project and *** tells us he will not fix the defective installation. *** has not returned our numerous call and text messages except one to say he will not fix this defective installation. We were scammed as 2 other landscapers will attest to. One said he could remove the sand and put a sanded epoxy to somewhat seal the stones together and keep them from wobbling and falling out, however, the epoxy will also crack out with time. This would cost $500. The other landscaper said he was familiar with another flagstone patio done my Jose's that had the exact same problem. He said the proper installation should have required the flagstone to be laid into wet concrete and the only way to fix this correctly is to tear it all out and start over for approximately $9000. guarantee. There were other issues with this crew in regards to improper clean up and sand damaged our lawn. *** and his crew were very rude and sloppy workers leaving their garbage and cigarette butts everywhere. *** also kicked in my front door when he thought I wasn't home one day. We cannot afford to have this project removed and redone correctly. We feel totally cheated by this man and his company. I have only asked to have it repaired properly and for *** to stand behind his guarantee that we would be taken care of and be happy. This whole experience has caused us great stress and worry over trusting a company to do what they say they will do.

Desired Settlement: We want the old sand and cracked out mortar removed and the sanded epoxy or grout installed. IIn addition, we would require a worker to respect my time and property and to not cause any further damage to my property as they are working on it.

Business Response: I want to first start off by saying I did not kick the customers door in. I'm sure if that works have happened there would have been visible damage I would have had to fix. As far as the flagstone patio is concerned when I went out to bid the project I suggested concrete because of the expanding soil around the foundation of new homes. I took the proper steps while constructing the patio such as excavating existing dirt and bringing in roadbase and compact it. Also built a concrete footer around patio retaining wall to prevent Any movements from wall. As far as the joints in between the flagstone we used sans in between. I have done many patios this way and only offer polymeric sand when customer us interested. We do not warranty movement of flagstone when it's set on top of aggregate since we can't control movement of sharing of the ground. However I am willing to go out one time at no cost to the customer and adjust any pieces that have moved and install polymeric sand in joints like she would like. There is no guarantee stone will not move again since it's not set in concrete so this would be a one time repair. I believe the polymeric sand will bond the pieces together thus creating less movement.

Consumer Response: We need to be clear on the product and process for correcting our flagstone issue. We have attached the link regarding the polmeric sand to make sure we are talking about the same product and application process that you are. Polymeric SandPolymeric SandPolymeric Sand; What It Is and How To Use It Polymeric sand is a granular material placed between the joints or seams in brick pavers or stone in patios...

Please confirm in writing that you are agreeing to remove the old sand from the grout areas in between all the stone and repair the edge stones that are loose due to cracked mortar and replace with the polymeric sand application as detailed in the link above, and that you also agree to bear the expense.

We hope you agree since this appears to be a standard process for this type of stone application. We have several neighbors who have had this done by their installers and it seems to work nicely.

Business Response: I agree to meet the requirements the homeowner is asking for. Please let me know what are the next steps to resolve the issue