Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hurr/Vasa Sprinkler & Landscape

Phone: (970) 613-0225 Fax: (970) 613-0180 127 East 8th Street, Loveland, CO 80537 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.hurrcolorado.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Hurr offers custom design, installation, and maintenance of your landscaping and sprinkler systems for both residential and commercial properties.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hurr/Vasa Sprinkler & Landscape meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hurr/Vasa Sprinkler & Landscape include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hurr/Vasa Sprinkler & Landscape
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 19, 2010 Business started: 07/09/2002 in CO Business started locally: 07/09/2002 Business incorporated 07/09/2002 in CO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Graham MacGregor, Managing Member Mr. Jason Vasa, Owner Mr. Nick Vasa, Owner Ms. Tanya Witt, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Graham MacGregor, Managing Member
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Maintenance Landscape Designers Lawn Care Companies Tree Service Patio & Deck Builders

Service Area
Northern Colorado
Alternate Business Names
Hurr Sprinkler & Landscape
Products & Services

landscape architecture, design, and maintenance, sprinkler installation and maintenance, snow removal, holiday lighting, water features

Industry Tips
BBB Offers Tips for Hiring Arborists How to Hire Landscape Pro Tips on Hiring Lawn-Care Professionals

Additional Locations

  • 127 East 8th Street

    Loveland, CO 80537 (970) 613-0225

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We spent $25k having Hurr put in a back patio, in the process they needed to move the sprinkers out, which is fine we use them for mowing, starting and blowing out our sprinklers anyway. Long story short, they created a problem during the patio build in April, we did not discover to summer, and our .6 acre lot has not had a sprinkler working for nearly a month, not to mention the pavers they but in two months ago look horrible due to the flooding on the sprinker line they clipped. I have not even brought that up, because my grass is dying now. Thank god we had a wet spring. I am near the point of litigation spent way to much time addressing them to get our sprinkler system working, I am now being left with few alternatives but litigation and going to another company.

Desired Settlement: Call by business owner, and addressed ASAP

Business Response:

Please see attachment for response

We did install a new paver patio for this customer in April.  We activated his sprinkler system on May 12th and at that time there were no signs of an issue.  This is not unusual if there is a small leak in the system, they can take time to show themselves.  We then received an unusual amount of rain for the month of May and June.  The first call into our office regarding the leak with the sprinkler was on June 22nd.  At that time, the customer reported that he had just turned his system back on, which he turned off shortly after our turn on, due to the rain.  Our first visit out to his property was June 29th, this 5 day delay was due to scheduling issues with the customer.  Our tech discovered the leak, repaired it and ran through the system over a two day period.  All was working well.  We then received another call that they were having issues with their system and it was determined that the clock was malfunctioning.  However, after a new clock was installed they continued to have issues with their system.  All issues have been looked at and the issues are unusual.  We have two techs working on this situation to try and solve the mystery.  We have been out to this customer’s house 5 times in the last month trying to resolve this issue.  We by no means have been ignoring this customer and we are doing all that we can to resolve this issue for them.  We have been communicating and scheduling appointments to come out with his wife.  As for the “purchase price”, the repairs on this are not $25,000.  We repaired the leak at no cost to them because it was due to damage caused when the patio was put in.  The issue with their clock and zones not firing correctly has nothing to do with the install, and as stated above we are working diligently with this customer to get it resolved.  We are currently in the middle of this issue.  If this customer would like us to stop working on this, then they need to let us know. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

The net,  All I want is the patio pavers that look horrible fixed also, this is due to the leak they caused  fixed, and I think a month without sprinklers would be a problem for anybody.  My grass is dying and there seems to be no urgency.   I want to clarify the old box worked, just some zones due to the damage they acknowledged, and now nothing works, very frustrating to be told 3 times it is fixed and then come home to it being dead?  I then have to reschedule them back.  Is it unreasonable to be waiting a month during the summer for the sprinklers to come on?  I think a week or two is fair, and if they do not get it , get the resources to fix it.  I will give them one last chance.

Regards,

**** ******

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a customer with Hurr Sprinkler for almost 1.5 years, my issues originally began with numerous scheduling errors to evaluate my entire sprinkler system and hiding emails to the owner from a past office manager (fall/winter 2012). I was told months later that my concerns had been resolved as they had replaced the employee. However, I continued to have appointment issues; I waited for two hours for a tech to show, the other involved a worker showing up an hour early. After speaking with the owner, office manager and sprinkler tech, I was lead to believe they were working on improving their communication and customer service. Once again disappointment won (May 2013), I had left the tech to work on my sprinkler system after discussing what should be fixed, repeating what was communicated a few months prior. Half of the issues were not fixed. I had called to have him return to complete the job. During this visit, he had stated sprinkler attachments were left for me to add as needed, nothing was left for me. I ended up purchasing my own attachments for half of my system. After running my sprinklers, I had sent an email to the owner with pictures showing all of the issues, including several leaks. I did not receive a reply, until three months later when a collection notice was mailed to me. I then called the office, left a voicemail and sent an email. The owners reply to the email four business days later. (they (sprinkler photos from previous email) are either not in relation to the work that we were asked to do or are normal sprinkler system functions..We at HURR strive to provide exemplary customer service, but at this point I think that we have done all that we can do. I will advise ***** that your account is delinquent and send it to collections. An obvious example Hurr Sprinkler continues to lack communication for any company to run efficiently and continue to lack customer service as all of the photos were taken of projects they worked on. I also have yet to receive a phone call from the owner, Graham to discuss all of the inaccuracies. I highly encourage anyone looking for a professional sprinkler company to look elsewhere and complete as much research as possible.

Desired Settlement: Account written off and apology from owner.

Business Response: We have worked on Ms. **** sprinkler system three times over the last year, Oct. 2012 and April 2013.  The first time for a sprinkler blow out.  Shortly after her blow out, she requested that we come out and install a drip system for her.  She requested that the drip system replace some existing sprinkler heads.  She also wanted some existing heads removed, a couple moved and some leaks repaired.  The work was done. Due to the time of year and the water already being turned off, the work could not be checked and we told her we would come back out in the spring to ensure everything was working correctly with water flowing through it.  We returned in April, activated her system and ensured everything was working properly.  

At the beginning of May she was then asked to pay her bill for the services rendered in Oct. 2012 and April 2013.  At that time her bill was also discounted $150 for communication issues she had with a prior employee.  Payment was not made and no communication from Ms. ** was ever made.  A second request for payment was made in July.  At this time Ms. ** responded with an email with pictures of her sprinkler system and concerns that she had.  After reviewing her email, the pictures did not appear related to the work that we did.  In immediate response to her email, one of our owners tried calling Ms. ** on several occasions, with no response.  He indicated to her that he would like to come out and personally walk through her system and address her concerns.  We were willing to make adjustments as needed, even if it wasn’t related to our work.  

In October 2013, a final notice for payment was made.  Again she responded via email and a phone message left at 730 pm after the office had closed.  In her message she indicated she would only talk to **  ** was unavailable and responded as soon as he was available.

We have apologized for the poor communication of a past employee, discounted her bill, completed the work she requested, tried to reach Ms. ** regarding her concerns and carried her balance for a year with no penalty.

We do pride ourselves on our customer service and addressing any concerns a customer may have in a timely manner; when they are brought to our attention.

Hurr Sprinkler and Landscape

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

 

In response to Hurr Sprinklers reply: my original contact was June 2012 where I received a visit and quote to complete an entire system repair. My second appointment was in October 2012: when complete repair and blowout where to occur, only the blowout was accomplished.  

Per phone and email records; I had to send two emails in order to receive any sort of reply from the company over the last year.  I have one missed phone call from Hurr in April 2013, this was to schedule sprinkler startup and the phone call was promptly returned. Not a single other missed phone call.  Please refer to my previous message regarding the two April visits from the tech and incompletions. As far as the communication issue with a prior staff member, the details include her hiding emails from the owner, no error on my end. There was one conversation regarding my bill prior to November 2013, back in 2012, miscommunication on their end yet again as the owner was under the impression the tech had completed the job when in fact he had blown out my sprinklers without completing repairs per original quote, I then informed the company payment would be prompt when services were rendered, I am still waiting on repairs to be completed.  I did pay the balance in full after receiving threats of collection submission from the owner. Issues continue to remain with Hurr as they have collected money for services incomplete and initiated new concerns with my sprinkler system per proof of photos and emails.

This company has remained extremely unethical and unprofessional. To threaten a customer with collections without completion of a job discussed and causing new issues then to not accept responsibility does not earn a Better Business status. Based on the previous reply from Hurr and incorrect dates and lacking information, I’m lead to believe they have tangled my account with another. 


Regards,

******* *****

Business Response:

In response to Ms. *** rejection to original response:

It is correct that we were out in Oct. to complete a blow out on her sprinkler system.  She did not mention the fact that we then returned a week later to complete the repair on her sprinkler system.  Due to scheduling, the blow out and the repair could not be completed in the same visit.  Due to the fact that the water was already off and the system could not be tested fully, she was told that we would return in the spring to complete.  We have already stated that there was a serious communication issue between Ms. * and a prior employee.  It is policy that estimates are not given on sprinkler repair and never over the phone.  There is a per hour charge and a charge for parts.  Due to a prior employee breaking policy, a significant discount was applied to Ms. V’s account.  It is also correct that Ms. ** had to call the office in the spring to schedule.  This is when many of the issues with the prior employee were discovered and this is also when we thought we made things right with her system and account.  We did not ever hear that she had issues until a third notice was sent for payment.  At that time she only sent an email response and did not respond to our attempts to come out and address her concerns.  As addressed earlier, the pictures she sent did not show issues that related to the work we had done.  It is also fact that we did have to send a final notice for payment for the work done and parts used.  Ms. * chose to not respond to our attempts to contact her until that notice was sent.

Hurr Sprinkler  and Landscape

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Hurr/Vasa Sprinkler & Landscape
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)