BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Hurr Sprinkler & Landscape?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hurr Sprinkler & Landscape

Phone: (970) 613-0225 Fax: (970) 613-0180 127 East 8th Street, Loveland, CO 80537 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.Hurrcolorado.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Hurr offers custom design, installation, and maintenance of your landscaping and sprinkler systems for both residential and commercial properties.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hurr Sprinkler & Landscape meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hurr Sprinkler & Landscape include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hurr Sprinkler & Landscape
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 19, 2010 Business started: 07/09/2002 Business started locally: 07/09/2002 Business incorporated: 07/09/2002 in CO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Graham MacGregor, Managing Member Mr. Jason Vasa, Owner Mr. Nick Vasa, Owner Ms. Tanya Witt, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Graham MacGregor, Managing Member
Customer Contact: Ms. Tanya Witt, Office Manager
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Maintenance Landscape Designers Lawn Care Companies Tree Services Patio & Deck Builders

Service Area
Northern Colorado
Products & Services

landscape architecture, design, and maintenance, sprinkler installation and maintenance, snow removal, holiday lighting, water features


Additional Locations

  • 127 East 8th Street

    Loveland, CO 80537 (970) 613-0225

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a customer with Hurr Sprinkler for almost 1.5 years, my issues originally began with numerous scheduling errors to evaluate my entire sprinkler system and hiding emails to the owner from a past office manager (fall/winter 2012). I was told months later that my concerns had been resolved as they had replaced the employee. However, I continued to have appointment issues; I waited for two hours for a tech to show, the other involved a worker showing up an hour early. After speaking with the owner, office manager and sprinkler tech, I was lead to believe they were working on improving their communication and customer service. Once again disappointment won (May 2013), I had left the tech to work on my sprinkler system after discussing what should be fixed, repeating what was communicated a few months prior. Half of the issues were not fixed. I had called to have him return to complete the job. During this visit, he had stated sprinkler attachments were left for me to add as needed, nothing was left for me. I ended up purchasing my own attachments for half of my system. After running my sprinklers, I had sent an email to the owner with pictures showing all of the issues, including several leaks. I did not receive a reply, until three months later when a collection notice was mailed to me. I then called the office, left a voicemail and sent an email. The owners reply to the email four business days later. (they (sprinkler photos from previous email) are either not in relation to the work that we were asked to do or are normal sprinkler system functions..We at HURR strive to provide exemplary customer service, but at this point I think that we have done all that we can do. I will advise ***** that your account is delinquent and send it to collections. An obvious example Hurr Sprinkler continues to lack communication for any company to run efficiently and continue to lack customer service as all of the photos were taken of projects they worked on. I also have yet to receive a phone call from the owner, Graham to discuss all of the inaccuracies. I highly encourage anyone looking for a professional sprinkler company to look elsewhere and complete as much research as possible.

Desired Settlement: Account written off and apology from owner.

Business Response: We have worked on Ms. **** sprinkler system three times over the last year, Oct. 2012 and April 2013.  The first time for a sprinkler blow out.  Shortly after her blow out, she requested that we come out and install a drip system for her.  She requested that the drip system replace some existing sprinkler heads.  She also wanted some existing heads removed, a couple moved and some leaks repaired.  The work was done. Due to the time of year and the water already being turned off, the work could not be checked and we told her we would come back out in the spring to ensure everything was working correctly with water flowing through it.  We returned in April, activated her system and ensured everything was working properly.  

At the beginning of May she was then asked to pay her bill for the services rendered in Oct. 2012 and April 2013.  At that time her bill was also discounted $150 for communication issues she had with a prior employee.  Payment was not made and no communication from Ms. ** was ever made.  A second request for payment was made in July.  At this time Ms. ** responded with an email with pictures of her sprinkler system and concerns that she had.  After reviewing her email, the pictures did not appear related to the work that we did.  In immediate response to her email, one of our owners tried calling Ms. ** on several occasions, with no response.  He indicated to her that he would like to come out and personally walk through her system and address her concerns.  We were willing to make adjustments as needed, even if it wasn’t related to our work.  

In October 2013, a final notice for payment was made.  Again she responded via email and a phone message left at 730 pm after the office had closed.  In her message she indicated she would only talk to **  ** was unavailable and responded as soon as he was available.

We have apologized for the poor communication of a past employee, discounted her bill, completed the work she requested, tried to reach Ms. ** regarding her concerns and carried her balance for a year with no penalty.

We do pride ourselves on our customer service and addressing any concerns a customer may have in a timely manner; when they are brought to our attention.

Hurr Sprinkler and Landscape

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

 

In response to Hurr Sprinklers reply: my original contact was June 2012 where I received a visit and quote to complete an entire system repair. My second appointment was in October 2012: when complete repair and blowout where to occur, only the blowout was accomplished.  

Per phone and email records; I had to send two emails in order to receive any sort of reply from the company over the last year.  I have one missed phone call from Hurr in April 2013, this was to schedule sprinkler startup and the phone call was promptly returned. Not a single other missed phone call.  Please refer to my previous message regarding the two April visits from the tech and incompletions. As far as the communication issue with a prior staff member, the details include her hiding emails from the owner, no error on my end. There was one conversation regarding my bill prior to November 2013, back in 2012, miscommunication on their end yet again as the owner was under the impression the tech had completed the job when in fact he had blown out my sprinklers without completing repairs per original quote, I then informed the company payment would be prompt when services were rendered, I am still waiting on repairs to be completed.  I did pay the balance in full after receiving threats of collection submission from the owner. Issues continue to remain with Hurr as they have collected money for services incomplete and initiated new concerns with my sprinkler system per proof of photos and emails.

This company has remained extremely unethical and unprofessional. To threaten a customer with collections without completion of a job discussed and causing new issues then to not accept responsibility does not earn a Better Business status. Based on the previous reply from Hurr and incorrect dates and lacking information, I’m lead to believe they have tangled my account with another. 


Regards,

******* *****

Business Response:

In response to Ms. *** rejection to original response:

It is correct that we were out in Oct. to complete a blow out on her sprinkler system.  She did not mention the fact that we then returned a week later to complete the repair on her sprinkler system.  Due to scheduling, the blow out and the repair could not be completed in the same visit.  Due to the fact that the water was already off and the system could not be tested fully, she was told that we would return in the spring to complete.  We have already stated that there was a serious communication issue between Ms. * and a prior employee.  It is policy that estimates are not given on sprinkler repair and never over the phone.  There is a per hour charge and a charge for parts.  Due to a prior employee breaking policy, a significant discount was applied to Ms. V’s account.  It is also correct that Ms. ** had to call the office in the spring to schedule.  This is when many of the issues with the prior employee were discovered and this is also when we thought we made things right with her system and account.  We did not ever hear that she had issues until a third notice was sent for payment.  At that time she only sent an email response and did not respond to our attempts to come out and address her concerns.  As addressed earlier, the pictures she sent did not show issues that related to the work we had done.  It is also fact that we did have to send a final notice for payment for the work done and parts used.  Ms. * chose to not respond to our attempts to contact her until that notice was sent.

Hurr Sprinkler  and Landscape

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told my system controller was not working and that I needed to replace it. During my annual sprinkler activation I was told that my system controller was broken and needed to be replaced. It being a new system I had it checked by another company and they had no trouble getting it to work. What they did find was that the below ground unit was loose and the problem was corrected by merely tightening a few screws. I saw one of Hurr's workers, a new man, with a screwdriver working on the below ground unit. I don't know if this was intentional or incompetence but it could have resulted in a significant unnecessary expense. I am paying the $ 65.00 charge as billed for service, which I do not feel I received, and have terminated service with Hurr after registering my displeasure by phone with their company.

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/09) */ When our tech was out to activate Mr. ***** sprinkler system for the season, he was unable to get his current controller to work. He did continue through the activation manually and made sure his system was working well. Upon leaving he did suggest to Mr. ** that he would need a new controller because his was not working. At that time Mr. ** did not bring up any concern regarding the fact that the system was new and the controller should not have any issues. When Mr. ** called our office several days later, he expressed his anger regarding the controller. I offered to have our tech come back out, free of charge, to reevaluate his controller because people do make mistakes. He then informed me that he had already called another company and he didn't want us to come out. He then felt he should get a refund on the service that was done. We did not grant the refund, because the activation was completed and the offer was made to make it right for him. We apologize that Mr. ** was upset, but it is never our intent to mislead a customer. We stand by our work and pride ourselves on our customer service.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved