Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Green Thumb Landscaping LLC

Phone: (970) 686-1278 33129 May Dr, Windsor, CO 80550 http://www.greenthumbnow.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Green Thumb Landscaping LLC include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Green Thumb Landscaping LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Green Thumb Landscaping LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 22, 2007 Business started: 03/01/1978 Business started locally: 03/01/1978 Business incorporated 03/08/2008 in CO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Rob Anzulewicz, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rob Anzulewicz, President
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Maintenance Landscape Designers Tree Service Patio & Deck Builders Fountains - Garden, Display Water Garden Fountain Suppliers Sprinkler System Dealers Garden Pond Dealers Landscape Lighting Companies Stone Paving Companies

Service Area
Northern Colorado
Industry Tips
BBB Offers Tips for Hiring Arborists How to Hire Landscape Pro Tips for Hiring a Lawn Irrigation Installation Contractor

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    33129 May Dr

    Windsor, CO 80550 (970) 686-1278

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Green Thumb did a landscaping project for me in fall of 2013 and spring of 2014. In the fall they installed three Blue Spruce trees. I took care of them as told by Green Thumb. In the spring of 2014 one of the trees died. They replaced it as I still owed them money. Later in the summer a second tree died. I had paid in full for the project so they would not replace it or refund money. It is now 2015 and the tree that was initially replaced is dead. So out of four trees total I have 1 left and Green Thumb refuses to do anything about it. I took care of these trees exactly as specified by Green Thumb and feel they were defective when planted. None of the trees was even a year old when they started dying. I have since had a master gardener tell me that Blue Spruce and Aspen ( which he also sold me do not do well in our climate. I trusted him to plant the proper trees as he is supposed to be the expert. Trying to get Green Thumb to come back in 2015 to finish the job they started in 2014 was a struggle. Numerous phone messages unanswered. Many times I could not leave a message as his message box was full. When he finally did come back I had to have him back three times to fix sprinkler control which he wired wrong. He and his crew were very messy. We had to clean up trash after them many times. He did not furnish water for him self or his men, I had to do that, glasses, ice and all. Generally a very unprofessional company.

Desired Settlement: Money back for at least one of the dead trees.

Business Response: In regards to ***** ********* complaint about our Co.
#1/ In may of 2014 job was completed in its entirety, we have always prided ourselves on cleanliness.
#2/ Sprinkler System was upgraded in garden area w/state of the art equipment.
#3/ As far as the wiring being done wrong,  this is also a false statement, as we found the timeclock to be defective , we even upgraded the timeclock at no additional charge.
#.4/We were contracted for additional work in July 2014 Ck. **** deposited 7/21/14..there was no mention of any trees struggling at this time.  Futhermore when contracted work completed
in May of 2014, ***** ******* was told and agreed all plant material was healthy and new growth was visible on every piece of plant material and Green Thumb will assume no responsibility for anything.
Mr. ******* contacted us in June 2014 as he had a random sprinkler system audit done and we were commended for excellence.
When job was completed we were paid in full as contract states, final balance due upon satisfactory completion!  We assume no liability and debris can blow in via nature!

Sincerely,
Green Thumb Landscaping

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: This is not a satisfactory resolution. Green Thumb did put in 2 new sprinkler timers,(because that was the easiest fix) but neither one fixed the problem. After the second timer did not fix the problem he finally checked the wiring and found the problem. This problem did finally get fixed after many unanswered phone calls and much frustration. I did pay in full trusting that he had sold me healthy trees and shrubs. 2 trees and 1 shrub died or started dying 2-3 months after he was paid. He replaced one dead tree while I still owed him money, but once he was paid he did not stand behind his plants. I feel if they were healthy to begin with they should have lived. We took care of them as per Green Thumb instructions. As for the trash, cigarette butts did not blow in from somewhere else. There were probably30-40 of them all over my lawn. Once before he left he stacked his trash by my back door for me to dispose of, Very unprofessional.

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response: we must reiterate prior to leaving jobsite customer was informed that all plant material was healthy and all plantings were blooming blossiming and showing signs of new growth, customer was informed prior to final bal. due upon satisfactory completion that obviously all plant mat. specificallly was all very healthy and we at green thumb assume no liability and were paid in full. the timeclock was found defective after a short while and re placed with an upgraded one there were no other defects, see audit previous response, MR ******* had nasty woords to us if not vulger, and certainly cut all ties with ludicrour threats.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Green Thumb is having trouble remembering the timer issue properly. No timer was ever bad, it was his wiring that was defective, but that was not the easy fix, so a new timer was installed. That did not fix the problem, it was wiring and I will reiterate that after much frustration and many unanswered calls he finally came and fixed the wiring. Green Thumb informed us, after we complained, that ,in his opinion, when he left the job site all plants were in good shape. He took no responsibility for the plants once he was paid, even though three of them began to fail a short period later(we took care of the plants as per Green Thumb instruction) and are now dead.

Green Thumb is also having trouble remembering the end of our relationship. Although I am sure I made him aware that I was unhappy with his work I do not think I made vulgar remarks or ludicrous threats.

This seems to be going nowhere. Green Thumb is determined not to stand behind their work  so we can end this discussion, but , for the record I will not let Green Thumb on my property for any reason and would certainly not recommend him to anyone.
Regards,

***** *******

9/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed a contact for a sprinkler system and landscaping services on 4/25/14, and paid a deposit of 50% of the estimate. The business owner stated that he would return over the weekend to spray grass killer as the first step in the process. He did not return - this was the first of many no-shows, delays & excuses. On June 19, we contacted the business owner to confirm that he would arrive to begin work the next day, as he had stated earlier in the week. The business owner stated that he had another large contract, had experienced difficulty hiring help, had been delayed by weather...excuse after excuse. At that time, the business owner stated that he felt the best thing to do would be to offer us a refund, and stated that he would put a check in the mail the next day. We still have not received a refund. We contacted the business owner in early July to follow up. He said he would check with his bank, and stated that the check had not cleared his bank and he would send another check. On July 7, we received a follow up call from the business owner, and in this call he said he had verified with his bank that the original check had still not cleared - but did not indicate that he had sent a second check, as promised. Since then, we have been attempting to contact the business owner at both his business phone and cell phone, but his voice mail is full. We have also attempted to contact him by email.

Desired Settlement: We would appreciate the refund promised to us.

Consumer Response: **** **** **** ******************** *** ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** ****** ********* ********* *********

This issue has been resolved.  I would like to add the following narrative to the status of the issue. 
Thank you,
**** ****
 
On July 21, the business owner finally contacted us with yet another excuse as to why his voice mail had been full for the previous two weeks.  He agreed to meet us in Loveland to deliver our refund check.  Shortly after we agreed on a time and place to meet, the business owner called stating that he wouldn't be able to meet at that time (2:00pm) and stated that he would call to arrange another time.  At 4:30pm, we contacted him to see if he was still planning to deliver the refund check.  We again agreed upon a time and place to meet.  Upon our arrival at the meeting place, the business owner delivered a check to us, but then stated that he probably should have brought the original check that he had written us so we could see that it had been returned to him in the mail.  At no time in our previous contact with him did he say that he had received the original check via return mail, so of course we seriously doubt the truthfulness of that statement.  At any rate, we have deposited the check, and it appears to have cleared the business owner's account so this issue can finally be considered resolved. 

11/1/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The business owner of Green Thumb Landscaping placed 5 new trees in our yard, and completed a very large and tremendously expensive landscaping project, over $30,000. The work was completed between August and October of 2012. He placed large, mature trees in our yard and repeatedly stated that he offers a one year warranty with all of his trees during his sales pitch and estimating process. He stated that he uses the highest quality trees and materials and claimed that these trees were the very best and from the best local nursery. After all of this, only two of the 5 trees planted have survived, a pretty poor showing. He gave instructions regarding watering and installed an irrigation drip line to ensure that the trees receive adequate water. He stated that the trees have to be watered throughout the winter, which we did. He stated that the drip line would be adequate to water the trees during the summer months. In the spring of 2013, two of the trees, despite having followed all of his instructions, failed to revive from the winter. We began trying to contact the owner of Green Thumb Landscaping in the end of May when some of the trees began getting leaves, and two of them did not. At about the same time, an evergreen tree started looking ill. I repeatedly called the owner of Green Thumb Landscaping to attempt to get the trees in question replaced under the warranty. He was difficult to contact, and for a period of time his phone number said that it was disconnected. Many times I tried to call him I was unable to leave a message due to his message box being full. During this time I also became aware that the drip line that he had installed was not working as well. He told us this was all our fault, and that we had no warranty. There is a longer story to go with this that I would like to discuss with the BBB, but there isn't adequate room here. This business owner uses a warranty as a sales tactic, but won't back it up at all, saying I can't prove that I followed Instructions.

Desired Settlement: the best settlement would be for the owner of this company to make good on his promises of a warranty and come replace the trees that he placed and assured us were under warranty. Another acceptable settlement would be a refund on the trees to allow me to hire a new landscaper to redo the project.

Business Response: from: **** * *************************>
to: **********************
date: Wed, Sep 25, 2013 at 11:51 AM
subject: Re: You have a New Message from BBB Regarding Complaint #*******
 
In regards to complaint by **** ******,we rec a call on 6-11 13 I spoke to **** a few days later and said I would get there as soon as possible.on sun. 6-16 13 fathers day i did arrive to res. , no ans. at dr. inspected 3 trees and all were dead. He did tell me that the pine dropped most all needles suddenly. I did inform him of how important winter watering may have contributed to loss. when job was sold all plantings were gauranteed to take and winter watering was there responsibility, we were not paid to moniter this  hoever did strees that this was a critical factor. and if any concerns to call us asap so we might be able to correct something, ie. sprinkler system malfunction,varmints, etc. If this so called 1 yr. gaurantee was a deal maker upon signing a contract then he should have gotten this in writing. This is something we never have offered in this bussiness due to acts of GOD, unforseen circumstances beyond our control imperative winter watering etc. I do suspect among other things that winter water was not sufficient. Secondly on 5-1-13 the largest snowfall and storm of the season took its toll on thousands of plants and trees in larimer and weld ctys. this storm shocked plants and trees with new growth and budding, even established trees. Initially all plants and trees were backfilled with premium soil amendment as well as fertilizer, root starter stimulator. All plants and trees were inspected prior to winter setting in and were all doing well and healthy! They both ******s indicated super satisfaction of job and workmanship, also received numerous compliments and would surely have us back. In regards to sprinkler system drip line malfunctioning this is truly our 1st. notice, we do know another co. supposedly winterized this system, however latter in the season as we were in the neighborhood we courteously stopped by to offer SS WINTERIZING we noticed that the new drip valve manifold inc. manual drain, drain was not open for winter at valve box. We had offered to settle this at a cost as amicable as possible but the ******* seemed adament about 1 yr gaurantee, perhaps they heard this offer from someone else.  EARNESTLY YOURS *** ********** GREEN THUMB LANDSCAPING.                      

P.S. All trees were custom staked and guyed, the ******s have our e-mail address for communication.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

 
What the owner of this company has offered is not an attempt to resolve a situation.  It is nothing other than the attempt of a charlatan to excuse himself from resolving a situation.  The owner used his warranty as a sales tool, touting the quality of his products, in order to draw us in.  His words to me were "I'll replace any tree once if it doesn't make it."  I did not press him for it, it didn't seem like something that was out of the ordinary.  It is not my job to know what is commonly offered in his business and what is not.  His response was as readily spoken as if I had asked him what color the grass was.  However, once there was an issue and the warranty was invoked, he has resorted to the tactics that one would expect from a cheat: "this is your fault", "he must have heard that from someone else", "I wasn't paid to monitor", "we don't offer a warranty", "The warranty has certain limitations", "You should have gotten that in writing", "I suspect...", etc.  
 
The business owner contradicts himself within the body of his response, stating that the trees were guaranteed to take root, and in the very next sentence stating that a guarantee is never offered.  He neglects the fact that he has put his warranty in writing on his own website, Located at www.greenthumbnow.com/warranty.html.  His site states, "Our work carries with it a full warranty."  The business owner volunteered the one-year time frame to us, and both my wife and I were present when it came up.  We did not ask him to make it a one year time frame, and we did not press him for details, since he assured us that he would "take care of us."  By definition and law, a full warranty  requires the warrantor to provide, at the consumer's choice, either a replacement or a full refund if repair is not possible.   Also, by law, ambiguous statements of warranty are construed against the draftor of the warranty.  We do feel adamantly about the warranty, since the cost of the trees was considerable, and since only two out of five trees survived.  I am also adamant that I followed the instructions that were given to me, as ridiculous as it seemed to drag a hose out in the winter to water a tree.  However, I did it because of the large investment that I had just made.  By the time the business owner came out to look at the trees, it's no surprise that they were dead.  Two of them had never revived from the winter, and one had suddenly lost all of its needles, even in the presence of watering as recommended.  

The business owner states that all trees were prepared in a premium fashion.  However, just as he states that he suspects that the trees were not cared for in an adequate manner, I am led to believe that they were not planted in an adequate manner.  It is true that we had some large, late season snow storms during 2013.  However, I have over 20 trees on my property.  I watered only 5 of them during the winter months, as instructed by the business owner.  Of all the trees on my property, the only ones that died were the ones that were put in place by Green Thumb Landscaping.  They placed 5 trees in my yard at an expense of thousands of dollars, and only 40% of those trees survived.  That is a pretty poor showing by any standard.    

The business owner states that "someone else" serviced the sprinkler system, which is true.  However, at no time was I advised that our warranty was dependent upon having our sprinkler system maintenance performed by the Green Thumb.  I was unaware that this company even performed these services, since they never informed me that they did.  I tried several times to tell the business owner that the drip line was not working, but, as was common during our conversations, he refused to listen, instead talking over me and refusing to acknowledge my concerns.  

It's true that as the job was finished, we were pleased with the look of it.  However, the measure of quality is definitely not in the way it looks when it is brand new.  Many products are shiny and flashy when they are new, but not all weather the test of time the same.  Green Thumb Landscaping has proven that neither their work, nor their customer service can pass that test.  He states that we said we would do business again, but that has definitely changed.  At this time, I cannot make any positive recommendation of this companhy, nor would I take the risk of spending money with this company again, knowing how I would be treated.  

The business owner states that he attempted to resolve this in an amicable fashion.  What he means is that he told me that I should buy new trees from him and have his company do the work.  I cannot imagine why I would subject myself to the possibility, even the likelihood, that I would have to undergo the same experience a second time.  As the adage goes, "Fool me once, shame on you.  Fool me twice, shame on me."

I have resigned myself to the fact that this business doesn't care about me as a customer.  He was interested in collecting my money and forgetting about me, unless it was to collect more money.  I have resigned myself to the fact that he isn't likely to return to rectify the situation.  If this were the case, I would happily accept it and forgive the offense, whether that took the form of a refund or replacement.  However, since this doesn't seem likely to happen, my primary wish is that this exchange become public, so that others can learn from my experience, and know what type of treatment to expect prior to investing a large amount of money.  I, as a consumer, am now faced with a yard full of expensive, dead trees.  I will have to find a way to remove them and try to replant or hire another landscaper to do the work for me.

As a precursor to this fiasco, about a month after the work was finished, the business owner began demanding more money from me, stating that I had underpaid him, which I was certain I had not.  He arrived at my house in my absence and pressured family members who were present that I should pay him nearly $6000 more.  Upon my return from a work trip, he arrived at my house again, aggressively demanding the money, stating that he doesn't make mistakes, and stating that I shouldn't mess with him.  He refused to believe me, acting very aggressively, until I showed him copies of cancelled checks for the work that I had been billed and quoted for.  When he states that he visited to check on things, this is the real reason that he visited.  He pressured me to make him a payment immediately, offering to make me a "sweetheart of a deal" if I wrote him a check on the spot.  He was very resistant to my insistence that I should be given time to check my records.  

This business owner has proven to me that he doesn't care about his customers, and that he is not an A+ business.  He could change that, but I sincerely doubt he will since it would not yield any dollars for him.  He is shortsighted in his philosophy, since I would have been likely to hire him again and again in the future if he had bothered to take care of us, as he assured us during his sales pitch.  
Regards,

****** ******

Business Response:

in response to paragraph 1 we never claimed it was all customers fault trees died. although we doubt winter watering was done properly as instructed. secondly the late may 1st. once again the largest storm of the 2012/2013 snow season shocked and devastated thousands of trees in northern co. including ourselves, municipalities golf courses etc, many trees were in bud form inc. the ******* as they were inspected early spring, they were not avaliable. in response to paragraph 3 customer was informed to purchase more hose and water all plant material inc. exis. for proper health, basically implying they would be doing themselves well. in response to paragraph 4 we were never informed of a malfunctioning drip line and definitly informed customer of our svcs. when fall 2012 we showed up to winterize, which at that time learned that a drain installed by us was not properly set for winter by someone else who interviened. re paragraph 8 customer was never threatened in any way shape or form and or treated aggressively and certainly apoligized for the acct. error on our part although there was still a bal. due, i am sad that the ******* will not settle wit us in an amicable fashion which certainly and likely may be assoc. due to an ACT OF GOD. at the time of installation numerous other contractors were at premises as well as after and feel the ******* may have gotten thier infomatin misconscrued! we are not cheats we have heart enough to have given thier daughter a birthday gift for new sandbox which we completed and a holiday gift at CHRISTMAS!

 

-Sincereley *** **********