BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Green Thumb Landscaping LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Green Thumb Landscaping LLC

Phone: (970) 686-1278 33129 May Dr, Windsor, CO 80550 http://www.greenthumbnow.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business designs and installs landscaping.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Green Thumb Landscaping LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

This business was accredited from 2007 to 2010.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Green Thumb Landscaping LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Green Thumb Landscaping LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 22, 2007 Business started: 03/01/1978 Business started locally: 03/01/1978 Business incorporated: 03/08/2008 in CO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Rob Anzulewicz, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rob Anzulewicz, President
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Maintenance Landscape Designers Tree Services Patio & Deck Builders Fountains - Garden, Display Water Garden Fountain Suppliers Sprinkler System Dealers Garden Pond Dealers Landscape Lighting Companies Stone Paving Companies

Service Area
Northern Colorado

Additional Locations

  • 33129 May Dr

    Windsor, CO 80550 (970) 686-1278

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/1/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The business owner of Green Thumb Landscaping placed 5 new trees in our yard, and completed a very large and tremendously expensive landscaping project, over $30,000. The work was completed between August and October of 2012. He placed large, mature trees in our yard and repeatedly stated that he offers a one year warranty with all of his trees during his sales pitch and estimating process. He stated that he uses the highest quality trees and materials and claimed that these trees were the very best and from the best local nursery. After all of this, only two of the 5 trees planted have survived, a pretty poor showing. He gave instructions regarding watering and installed an irrigation drip line to ensure that the trees receive adequate water. He stated that the trees have to be watered throughout the winter, which we did. He stated that the drip line would be adequate to water the trees during the summer months. In the spring of 2013, two of the trees, despite having followed all of his instructions, failed to revive from the winter. We began trying to contact the owner of Green Thumb Landscaping in the end of May when some of the trees began getting leaves, and two of them did not. At about the same time, an evergreen tree started looking ill. I repeatedly called the owner of Green Thumb Landscaping to attempt to get the trees in question replaced under the warranty. He was difficult to contact, and for a period of time his phone number said that it was disconnected. Many times I tried to call him I was unable to leave a message due to his message box being full. During this time I also became aware that the drip line that he had installed was not working as well. He told us this was all our fault, and that we had no warranty. There is a longer story to go with this that I would like to discuss with the BBB, but there isn't adequate room here. This business owner uses a warranty as a sales tactic, but won't back it up at all, saying I can't prove that I followed Instructions.

Desired Settlement: the best settlement would be for the owner of this company to make good on his promises of a warranty and come replace the trees that he placed and assured us were under warranty. Another acceptable settlement would be a refund on the trees to allow me to hire a new landscaper to redo the project.

Business Response: from: **** * *************************>
to: **********************
date: Wed, Sep 25, 2013 at 11:51 AM
subject: Re: You have a New Message from BBB Regarding Complaint #*******
 
In regards to complaint by **** ******,we rec a call on 6-11 13 I spoke to **** a few days later and said I would get there as soon as possible.on sun. 6-16 13 fathers day i did arrive to res. , no ans. at dr. inspected 3 trees and all were dead. He did tell me that the pine dropped most all needles suddenly. I did inform him of how important winter watering may have contributed to loss. when job was sold all plantings were gauranteed to take and winter watering was there responsibility, we were not paid to moniter this  hoever did strees that this was a critical factor. and if any concerns to call us asap so we might be able to correct something, ie. sprinkler system malfunction,varmints, etc. If this so called 1 yr. gaurantee was a deal maker upon signing a contract then he should have gotten this in writing. This is something we never have offered in this bussiness due to acts of GOD, unforseen circumstances beyond our control imperative winter watering etc. I do suspect among other things that winter water was not sufficient. Secondly on 5-1-13 the largest snowfall and storm of the season took its toll on thousands of plants and trees in larimer and weld ctys. this storm shocked plants and trees with new growth and budding, even established trees. Initially all plants and trees were backfilled with premium soil amendment as well as fertilizer, root starter stimulator. All plants and trees were inspected prior to winter setting in and were all doing well and healthy! They both ******s indicated super satisfaction of job and workmanship, also received numerous compliments and would surely have us back. In regards to sprinkler system drip line malfunctioning this is truly our 1st. notice, we do know another co. supposedly winterized this system, however latter in the season as we were in the neighborhood we courteously stopped by to offer SS WINTERIZING we noticed that the new drip valve manifold inc. manual drain, drain was not open for winter at valve box. We had offered to settle this at a cost as amicable as possible but the ******* seemed adament about 1 yr gaurantee, perhaps they heard this offer from someone else.  EARNESTLY YOURS *** ********** GREEN THUMB LANDSCAPING.                      

P.S. All trees were custom staked and guyed, the ******s have our e-mail address for communication.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

 
What the owner of this company has offered is not an attempt to resolve a situation.  It is nothing other than the attempt of a charlatan to excuse himself from resolving a situation.  The owner used his warranty as a sales tool, touting the quality of his products, in order to draw us in.  His words to me were "I'll replace any tree once if it doesn't make it."  I did not press him for it, it didn't seem like something that was out of the ordinary.  It is not my job to know what is commonly offered in his business and what is not.  His response was as readily spoken as if I had asked him what color the grass was.  However, once there was an issue and the warranty was invoked, he has resorted to the tactics that one would expect from a cheat: "this is your fault", "he must have heard that from someone else", "I wasn't paid to monitor", "we don't offer a warranty", "The warranty has certain limitations", "You should have gotten that in writing", "I suspect...", etc.  
 
The business owner contradicts himself within the body of his response, stating that the trees were guaranteed to take root, and in the very next sentence stating that a guarantee is never offered.  He neglects the fact that he has put his warranty in writing on his own website, Located at www.greenthumbnow.com/warranty.html.  His site states, "Our work carries with it a full warranty."  The business owner volunteered the one-year time frame to us, and both my wife and I were present when it came up.  We did not ask him to make it a one year time frame, and we did not press him for details, since he assured us that he would "take care of us."  By definition and law, a full warranty  requires the warrantor to provide, at the consumer's choice, either a replacement or a full refund if repair is not possible.   Also, by law, ambiguous statements of warranty are construed against the draftor of the warranty.  We do feel adamantly about the warranty, since the cost of the trees was considerable, and since only two out of five trees survived.  I am also adamant that I followed the instructions that were given to me, as ridiculous as it seemed to drag a hose out in the winter to water a tree.  However, I did it because of the large investment that I had just made.  By the time the business owner came out to look at the trees, it's no surprise that they were dead.  Two of them had never revived from the winter, and one had suddenly lost all of its needles, even in the presence of watering as recommended.  

The business owner states that all trees were prepared in a premium fashion.  However, just as he states that he suspects that the trees were not cared for in an adequate manner, I am led to believe that they were not planted in an adequate manner.  It is true that we had some large, late season snow storms during 2013.  However, I have over 20 trees on my property.  I watered only 5 of them during the winter months, as instructed by the business owner.  Of all the trees on my property, the only ones that died were the ones that were put in place by Green Thumb Landscaping.  They placed 5 trees in my yard at an expense of thousands of dollars, and only 40% of those trees survived.  That is a pretty poor showing by any standard.    

The business owner states that "someone else" serviced the sprinkler system, which is true.  However, at no time was I advised that our warranty was dependent upon having our sprinkler system maintenance performed by the Green Thumb.  I was unaware that this company even performed these services, since they never informed me that they did.  I tried several times to tell the business owner that the drip line was not working, but, as was common during our conversations, he refused to listen, instead talking over me and refusing to acknowledge my concerns.  

It's true that as the job was finished, we were pleased with the look of it.  However, the measure of quality is definitely not in the way it looks when it is brand new.  Many products are shiny and flashy when they are new, but not all weather the test of time the same.  Green Thumb Landscaping has proven that neither their work, nor their customer service can pass that test.  He states that we said we would do business again, but that has definitely changed.  At this time, I cannot make any positive recommendation of this companhy, nor would I take the risk of spending money with this company again, knowing how I would be treated.  

The business owner states that he attempted to resolve this in an amicable fashion.  What he means is that he told me that I should buy new trees from him and have his company do the work.  I cannot imagine why I would subject myself to the possibility, even the likelihood, that I would have to undergo the same experience a second time.  As the adage goes, "Fool me once, shame on you.  Fool me twice, shame on me."

I have resigned myself to the fact that this business doesn't care about me as a customer.  He was interested in collecting my money and forgetting about me, unless it was to collect more money.  I have resigned myself to the fact that he isn't likely to return to rectify the situation.  If this were the case, I would happily accept it and forgive the offense, whether that took the form of a refund or replacement.  However, since this doesn't seem likely to happen, my primary wish is that this exchange become public, so that others can learn from my experience, and know what type of treatment to expect prior to investing a large amount of money.  I, as a consumer, am now faced with a yard full of expensive, dead trees.  I will have to find a way to remove them and try to replant or hire another landscaper to do the work for me.

As a precursor to this fiasco, about a month after the work was finished, the business owner began demanding more money from me, stating that I had underpaid him, which I was certain I had not.  He arrived at my house in my absence and pressured family members who were present that I should pay him nearly $6000 more.  Upon my return from a work trip, he arrived at my house again, aggressively demanding the money, stating that he doesn't make mistakes, and stating that I shouldn't mess with him.  He refused to believe me, acting very aggressively, until I showed him copies of cancelled checks for the work that I had been billed and quoted for.  When he states that he visited to check on things, this is the real reason that he visited.  He pressured me to make him a payment immediately, offering to make me a "sweetheart of a deal" if I wrote him a check on the spot.  He was very resistant to my insistence that I should be given time to check my records.  

This business owner has proven to me that he doesn't care about his customers, and that he is not an A+ business.  He could change that, but I sincerely doubt he will since it would not yield any dollars for him.  He is shortsighted in his philosophy, since I would have been likely to hire him again and again in the future if he had bothered to take care of us, as he assured us during his sales pitch.  
Regards,

****** ******

Business Response:

in response to paragraph 1 we never claimed it was all customers fault trees died. although we doubt winter watering was done properly as instructed. secondly the late may 1st. once again the largest storm of the 2012/2013 snow season shocked and devastated thousands of trees in northern co. including ourselves, municipalities golf courses etc, many trees were in bud form inc. the ******* as they were inspected early spring, they were not avaliable. in response to paragraph 3 customer was informed to purchase more hose and water all plant material inc. exis. for proper health, basically implying they would be doing themselves well. in response to paragraph 4 we were never informed of a malfunctioning drip line and definitly informed customer of our svcs. when fall 2012 we showed up to winterize, which at that time learned that a drain installed by us was not properly set for winter by someone else who interviened. re paragraph 8 customer was never threatened in any way shape or form and or treated aggressively and certainly apoligized for the acct. error on our part although there was still a bal. due, i am sad that the ******* will not settle wit us in an amicable fashion which certainly and likely may be assoc. due to an ACT OF GOD. at the time of installation numerous other contractors were at premises as well as after and feel the ******* may have gotten thier infomatin misconscrued! we are not cheats we have heart enough to have given thier daughter a birthday gift for new sandbox which we completed and a holiday gift at CHRISTMAS!

 

-Sincereley *** **********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1