BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming

This Business is not BBB accredited

Aspen Canyon Ranch LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 725-3600 13206 County Road 3, Parshall, CO 80468 http://www.Aspencanyon.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers lodging, snowmobile tours, water rafting, fishing and hunting.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Aspen Canyon Ranch LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • 1 complaint filed against business that was not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Aspen Canyon Ranch LLC include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Aspen Canyon Ranch LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 19, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2010 Business started locally: 01/01/2010 Business incorporated: 04/11/1994 in CO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Ryan Collins, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ryan Collins, Owner
Business Category

Hunting & Fishing Services & Supplies Snowmobile Dealers Guest Ranch Rafting Tours

Alternate Business Names
Summit Snowmobiles LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13206 County Road 3

    Parshall, CO 80468 (970) 725-3600

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 5015

    Frisco, CO 80443

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.facebook.com/aspencanyonranch?sk=info
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: added grat even though they said grat was included. Said 600cc rental only gave 550CC snowmobile. cheated for price & package. On 2/17 rented a snowmobile tour with this company that said it cost $400 for a all day tour with a 600CC snowmobile tax, tip, all inclusive including lunch. When arrived, they provided me with a 550CC (smallest motor they had) plus they automatically added a 18% grat which allowed me to pay 472. The business said they ran out of the 600CC snowmobile but still charged me a full day's ride as if I rented a 600CC snowmobile. In addition, they have unsafe practices when bringing up clients toward their rental spot. They had a young man driving a 15+ van that I know needed a commercial license but that young individual didn't have. Furthermore, the driver was speeding and driving on the wrong side of the road when going up to the rental point. Felt cheated because when I was booking the trip we asked specifically with the representative over the phone more than 3x if it was all inclusive for $400 for the high performance vehicles however nothing was delivered. They said what they said only to get me and my friends to take the purchase.

Desired Settlement: I do not mind paying for what was delivered. I am not asking for a full 472 dollar refund, I am just asking for what is promised. Although the customer service and safety was bad, I am willing to pay $300, which is what is advertised for a full day ride for a normal snow mobile. I am not willing to pay for $472 "high performance w/ gratuity added" when nothing was specified in that manner. This has happened to myself and 4 others in my party.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/04/03) */ Mr. ****, like the rest of his group that have filed complaints booked through a 3rd party. They were all aware of the price since they were charged and signed their credit card before the trip started. At any time they could have complained before the trip started. They chose to go on the trip and want money back via the BBB. If they would like to call and talk to a manager at Aspen Canyon Ranch they should have done so. We would be interested in talking to everyone on the trip except Mr. ****** ******** He physically assaulted one of our employees and charges are being pressed against him. The other members of the group may call our office. Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2013/04/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They have failed to address that they wrongfully sold us a package: 600CC high adventure package full day tour when I was on a 550CC vehicle for more than half the day. When asked why I couldn't get the 600CC they said they had booked it w/ another party. In addition talking to the representative over the phone (more than once) we asking MULTIPLE times if the total including grat would be $400.00. They said that we could tip OPTIONALLY if we felt the instructor was great. When we asked to speak to the manager all he could say was that they had been having problems with the representative talking the customers over the phone. They even admitted to that the person on the phone had promised customers that he would personally be the one taking them on the tour. They are just trying to get any customers through the door even if it means lying. They pick you up and drive you all the way there only to tell you that it costs more than expected. They never disclose it and they should have told us before they got us in a van and drove us an hour to the location. Terrible business practices and they'll do anything for a sale. On Yelp, there have been other individuals who have suffered the same fate (not in my party) that have put notes on the system. I am now going to reach out to them via Yelp and tell them to file a complaint through the BBB. I do agree that I do owe payment but for $472 I do not agree. The gratuity should not be in there and I feel that I should pay for a 550CC day's course not 600CC.

BBB's Final Determination: The business failed to resolve the complaint issues.

4/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: False Advertisement, Lies, Scamartist We booked a 7 hour performance tour for a price that was supposed to include all taxes, fees, and equipment rentals. We were picked up first thing in the morning by a young man representing their company from our cabin and raced at over 80 mph to the base camp (on icy roads with a posted speed limit of 45). After arrival at the base camp we were taken to the sales counter to pay and we were told that everything was included for the price that we were paying, but the price had gone up hundreds of dollars (at this point we had no other choice but to pay and ride since we were at their mercy). After arguing about the price we were told that we booked through a company they hire outside and we had been scammed, but they said it jokingly and said it happens all the time and still charged the higher price. We were then shuttled to the snowmobiles where there were only 2 high performance machines available for a group of 6 including the guide. We rode for the first half of the day then returned for lunch. At lunch we spoke to owner about the equipment and he stated that no high performance snowmobiles were being used because it was over 15 degrees outside, but when we told him we used two of them all morning he had no response other than saying 15 snowmobiles were ruined this season alone. After lunch, we used different snowmobiles again and rode up to a meadow where one of the snowmobiles got stuck, we then spent the afternoon waiting for the guide and one rider to dig the stuck snowmobile out and did no riding because the guide wouldn't let us all afternoon. Upon our return to the cabin we were told that the snowmobile that got stuck had a bent a-arm and we needed to pay $150.00 to repair it, and that he was giving us a deal although we rode it back safely and had no issues. The supposed broken part was also rusted which I don't think happens in a matter of minutes. Then the worst part was the ride back to our cabin. The same person that gave us a ride up gave us a ride back along with another family with small children. Upon our return the driver was speeding down the mountain and we were all very nervous, one of the guys in our group asked the driver to slow down because we didn't want to go over the edge and die, his response to that was "there are guardrails here to protect us so they will stop us from dying". We let it go and continued to ride as we had no cell phone service to get another ride. A few miles later the driver was playing with his phone and went into oncoming traffic. We all started yelling about how scared we were and his response was to swerve into the oncoming traffic and tell us that he was going to drive us all the way back to our cabin in the wrong lane. We then got him to calm down and drive normally, after our arrival at the house he started acting really nice, most likely to get a tip. My advice is to not let ASPEN CANYON RANCH ruin your vacation and waste your valuable time and money. I will never return to them or recommend them to ANYONE!!!

Desired Settlement: I expect a refund of the difference of the price for a high performance tour to a full day single rider tour. A refund of $172.00.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/04/03) */ This person booked through a 3rd party. We charged them for the trip they booked through this party. Any disagreement should have been handled with Summit Vacation Concierge in Breckenridge, CO. This group did not have to go on a snowmobile trip, but they did and now they just don't want to pay for it. They are scammers. They signed their credit card receipt and just want something free. I've attached ****** ******'s credit card receipt and waiver. If ****** had really wanted to discuss his trip he would have called and talked to a manager here at Aspen Canyon Ranch.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Price was not what was agreed upon. I booked my trip months in advance and was told that the total price of the trip was going to be $400 for everything. I was charged $472 without any notice and had no way of backing out.

Desired Settlement: I agreed on $400, I paid $472. I am requesting a $72 refund.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/04/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@aspencanyon.com This customer booked through a 3rd party. If there is a dispute about payment they need to take it up with ************************* in Breckenridge, CO. They were aware of the price and signed their receipt after taking the trip.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1