Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Brynwood on the River

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 586-3475 Fax: (970) 203-0077 710 Moraine Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517 http://www.brynwood.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Brynwood on the River meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Brynwood on the River include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Brynwood on the River
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 07, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1979 Business started locally: 01/01/1979 Business incorporated 01/01/1979 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Ms. Cindy Oliver, Owner Ms. Lucy McFate, Manager Mr. Gary Oliver, Owner Ms. Cama Patterson, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Cindy Oliver, Owner
Business Category

Hotels Motels Vacation Rentals Travel Agencies & Bureaus


Additional Locations

  • 710 Moraine Ave

    Estes Park, CO 80517

  • PO Box 1929

    Estes Park, CO 80517 (800) 279-4488

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unit represented on website did not contain furniture as represented by pictures. unit had broken refrigerator shelf, thermostat, and shower ***** fell off. bed bugs or another biting insect was present in the unit and bit me each night. the owner lied in a review on travelocity and quoted me with comments I did not make.

Desired Settlement: When contacted with pictures and a request for a refund of service the owner denies request . the owner stated that we should have left the day after I was bit. I couldn't believe i had actually been bit and stayed the next night. bites occurred on this next night as well. we bagged all belongings and left the next day. i no longer care about the money. i believe this owner should have a complaint against her property for her lies and lack of action

Business Response: It is always disheartening when someone doesn't enjoy their stay with us. I emailed a copy of the bill to the guest and results from *** *******, Wild Life Biologist B.S. who is the best technician according to ******** that they have. He came immediately when we called him to verify we didn't have a "bug" problem. He stated on the paperwork that "he inspected interior at all nesting sites, voids, cracks and or crevices to identify pest activity. No evidence of bedbug activity." He told our manager that he couldn't see any signs of bug activity. We record everything under someone's reservation good, bad or anything because there are 3 of us that work in the office.  We note anniversaries, birthdays, kids names, death of a spouse, if they like it or have a problem...we have done this for 35 years so that we can know details of a guest's stay. She told our manager and our housekeeper that she had sensitive skin and it could be an allergy. Our manager said, "Maybe it was the hot tub", then she said (reading off her info under her reservation)... "That, or maybe the soap or lotions". We offered to even change her sheets and wash them in *****...she brushed it off saying it wasn't necessary, that her husband had not had an issue.

We had a family stay in ****** ***** for a week the 18th through the 24th with no complaints and just raved about it when departing. My son and his family stayed in it the night before she arrived with no bug bites either. The various parties in there since have had no complaints and have added an extra nights. I’m not sure what she had, but it isn’t bites from here.

As far as the accommodations there has never been a love seat in that cabin, nor would one fit in there where a chair is. It has always been a hide-a-bed couch and some kind of chair. The only difference in the picture is it is a newer couch and a newer chair of a different design. We actually had a vacation home available that we could have moved her into for the same price had her concerns been brought to our attention during her stay.

When things “go wrong” in the cabin then maintenance needs to be called promptly so that we can fix things. The managers were there the entire time waiting for emergency calls which we have 24 hour maintenance on call 7 days a week.  No calls were ever made.  We didn't even know anything was wrong with the cabin maintenance wise until check-out time.  They stayed all 3 days hardly ever leaving the cabin...they told the housekeeper to just leave the basket instead of going in.  We told her that had they come up that first morning and told us that the cabin was not going to work for them we would have given them a total refund...but they stayed all 3 days and then wanted compensation.  I could have rented that cabin many times over Thanksgiving Weekend and either put them into a vacation home for the same price or refund them so they could find anther place.  We would have been happy to do so.  But nothing was said until check-out time other than her sensitive skin problem! 

calls on the number you were given for just those times 24 hours a day. We always have someone there on the property to accommodate our guests for any problems that might occur. Our housekeeper was told to “just leave the basket” instead of coming in to service you. We cannot resolve problems that have not been brought to our attention.

On the rare occasion when someone is unhappy with their accommodations, our policy is to either offer them different accommodations on our property that might better meet their needs, or if the problem can't be resolved refund their money immediately so they can find different accommodations elsewhere. However, if no problems are brought to our attention during the guest's stay, and they stay for their entire time, refunds aren't typically given.

I understand that people work hard for the money to go on vacations. That's why we try very hard to meet or exceed all of our guests expectations. We can't resolve problems that are not brought to our attention. The only thing brought to our attention were your skin issues, which you said at the time could be the result any number of things. Tell us why here...

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
We received a call the eve of Thanksgiving and were told that the front office was closing. Our keys were left on the front door of the office when we arrived around 9. There was no one to call with concerns.  The housekeeper was the first person we saw on Friday.When the housekeeper showed up, my children were asleep. The housekeeper indicated SHE had sensitive skin when I showed her the bites on my wrist. SHE SUGGESTED AN ALLERGY. AT NO TIME DID I INDICATE I HAD SENSITIVE SKIN OR THAT I THOUGHT IT WAS AN ALLERGY. Because no one else got bit, we stayed another night. Additional bites were received that night on my legs and stomach. We checked out that day. There are many statements in this "dialog" from the owner that are not correct. We were never offered any sort of "move" or any other accommodations. IF ONE REPORTS BITES TO A HOUSEKEEPER, WHY WEREN'T DIFFERENT ACCOMMODATIONS OFFERED AT THAT POINT?  How does the owner know what our activities included? That we rarely left the property???? How could she possibly know. Her statements are not fact based, she does not accept responsibility for running a property that is dilapidated and in need of cleaning and repair. 

WHEN I EXPRESSED CONCERN TO THE OFFICE, THE PERSON BEHIND THE DESK TOLD ME THE "OWNER" WAS OUT OF TOWN AND WOULD NOT RETURN UNTIL TUESDAY, DECEMBER 2ND. I CONTACTED THE OWNER IMMEDIATELY UPON RETURN.

Regards,

**** ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

WOW- The letter attached is an excellent example of the dishonesty of this place:  1) We received a call around 4 or 5 pm on Wednesday the 26th saying the office was closing due to an emergency.2) There were no lotions in this cabin - there wasn't even ******* available, kitchen trash bags were provided but they were the size of the bathroom container and way too small for the kitchen. My husband and I went to ******* Thanksgiving morning and PURCHASED trash bags, paper towels and ******* for our own use. 3) The drop off of the basket person on Friday morning indicated SHE HAD SENSITIVE SKIN AND SHE HAD HER SHEETS LAUNDERED IN A SPECIAL DETERGENT . I DID NOT INDICATE I HAD SENSTITIVE SKIN. I did get a call from the "office" after I told the Basket person about the bites, she asked if I wanted the sheets laundered differently.  I knew it wasn't the laundrey detergent that had caused these bites. I thought that perhaps a spider had bitten me the first night. There were webs all over the light fixture above the bed.- I was shocked I had bug bites and did not want to believe it - they were on my wrist that night and the back of my leg.  When I received bites the second night on my ankles I no longer thought it was a spider but some other insect. We bagged everything up and check out that morning. 

I never went in the Hot Tub the entire visit - my children and husband yes, they went in the hot tub.

Regarding the TRASHED comment - towels were placed in the bathtub and all trash was in the trash cans and in the bags . There was no trashing of the cabin or garbage on the floor. We had coolers and took everything out of the refrigerator that we had brought. I washed every dish that we had used by hand, as the unit does not have a dishwasher. Again, this statement speaks to the dishonesty of this establishment.

Regarding Nasty Comment - Yes,I did inform the office staff that something had bitten me and that I would like to speak to the owner. I made sure no other guest was in the office when I made this statement, because I don't want to ruin a business. Nasty - who know if stating the truth and someone not wanting to hear it can be construed as nasty.

I felt at the time that some sort of compensation would have been appropiate, but I no longer care about the compensation or lack of. My point of this complaint is that I believe due to the owners response and shirking of responsibility, someone else will fall victim to the the infestation of this unit and they too will have bites, need to bad all belongings and launder to make sure that no contamination occurres in their
homes.

Again, this place is a dumb inside. The view is beautiful but the unit is in need of extermination and a major fix up.



Regards,

**** ******