Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

TNT Home Improvements LLC

Phone: (970) 663-2868 Fax: (970) 663-5265 Please Call or Email for Service, Loveland, CO 80538 http://www.tnthomeimprovements.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that TNT Home Improvements LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for TNT Home Improvements LLC include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for TNT Home Improvements LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on TNT Home Improvements LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 18, 2009 Business started: 03/01/2003 Business incorporated 09/01/2005 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Tad Bjorlie, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tad Bjorlie, Partner
Business Category

Home Improvements Painters Patio & Deck Builders Patio Design Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Siding Contractors Remodelers Window Installation Companies Doors Fence Contractors Storm Window and Door Suppliers Windows Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors Construction Companies Carport Dealers General Contractor Contractor - Remodel & Repair

Industry Tips
BBB Tips for Finding Trustworthy Fence Builders Hiring a Contractor Tips for Getting a Professional Paint Job Watch Out for These Red Flags

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

TNT Home Improvements LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • Please Call or Email for Service

    Loveland, CO 80538

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on May 9, 2016, i signed a contract with TNT home improvements to build a rear deck on our home in Cheyenne, WY; I made a deposit of $5000, against the total contract price of $11,444; after we selected the material for the deck; the engineer for TNT home improvements quoted that price after coming to our home & measuring the deck area; i was informed by TNT that there would be an experienced crew to build the deck, & it would take about 3 days, weather permitting; since we live in outside the city limits of Cheyenne, WY, no building permit was required; on June 14, 2016, the engineer from TNT , came to our home with the subcontractor who was to do the deck installation; at that time the engineer from TNT re-measured the deck area & found that he made a mistake when he measured the deck area in May; his measurements were off by 2 feet, which resulted in an additional charge to us for material & labor; on June 16, 2016, tnt's subcontractor showed up around 12:30 pm; no materials had been delivered; material were delivered around 1:00 pm that afternoon, & the subcontractor & his son worked until 9:00 pm that evening; on June 17, the subcontractor didn't show up until 1:00 pm, and his son stayed for about 2 hours; later that evening some friends of the subcontractor arrived, around 5:00 pm, to help; they brought along their 2 young children to the work site, which is a safety hazard and exposed us to liability should one of those young children had been injured; likewise, on June 18, the subcontractor & his friends came to work on the deck, & they had one young child with them on the work site; again, exposing us to liability for the child if he got hurt; the deck was finished on June 19, 2016, & the quality of the workmanship was horrible; there were boards that were warped & heaved up, causing a trip hazard; there were inconsistent gaps in the deck floorboards, some boards were flush against each other & some boards had gaps that were 3/4" apart; screws holding the railings were not countersunk properly; some pieces of the deck were just dropped down into a slot & not glued or screwed, we could pull them out with our hands, leaving a big hole; these workmanship items should have been addressed by the subcontractor before he departed at 6:00 pm Sunday night; my husband took photographs of the shoddy workmanship & I sent them to TNT via e-mail;TNT sent the subcontractor back on Wednesday, June 24, 2016, to repair the issues; fixing the deck required removing boards & railings & realigning the boards, screwing them down; it is now Thursday, June 23, & the deck is still under repair; we've been told by the subcontractor that to do the repairs correctly, the entire deck needs to be re-done; the subcontractor told us that he had never built a deck using the Timber Tech material that we chose, & that it had been a long time since he had built a deck using wood; it's disgraceful that TNT did not correctly measure the deck area to begin with, which cost us more than the $11,444 that was quoted; we ended up paying $12,705; it's disgraceful that TNT sent a subcontractor to build our deck that had ABSOLUTELY no experience using the material we chose; it's also disgraceful the TNT's subcontractor brought young children to the work site, who could have been injured & exposed us to financial liability.

Desired Settlement: Billing Adjustment

Business Response:

Hi,

I really wish you would have mentioned this to me instead going straight to the BBB. I was only aware that there was a small gap and had agreed to adjust it - I was told that your home wasn't quite square (as almost always is the case) which caused this. The sub has built many of decks but this particular brand he didn't have experience with, which rarely is a cause for concern from us as they are all quite similar. I am suprised to hear that they brought out children, and agree that that is not appropriate in any way, and will make sure that does not happen again. I measured 30' with you on the job site, and you told me that you even thought it was 30' - the additional 2' that was added is obviously an addition and so was charged as such, just as raising the deck added more steps and so was an additional charge. When items or size's change, it effects the price accordingly - we even added those items at our minimum pricing.  I will talk with Corey about what needs done to repair it, and we will of course do whatever needs done to make this deck great. I apologize that it needed any repairs and that non-workers were brought to the site, please contact us directly to resolve any issues in the fute - this is the first I've heard of everything but the gap, and isn't the best way to contact us...

Tad B******, President

Consumer Response: we hired this home improvement company in may 2016 to build a 10 x 32 foot deck on our home in cheyenne wy;, using TimberTech material; the deck was completed in June 2016 & is unusable; the deck boards were not fastened securely or properly, & as a result the deck boards are sagging in areas & heaved/humped up in other areas; gaps between the boards are so large that you can put your hands through them; TNT assured us that they would repair the deck & correct the problems; they confirmed that they would repair the deck starting July 20, 2016; now they don't have a firm date; these people are liars; they employ inexperienced people, use child labor & housewives with no construction experience; we have a deck that has several workmanship & safety issues & we can't use it; when my husband contacted TNT, he was told to "grow up & suck it up"; WE PAID 12,705 DOLLARS FOR THIS MONSTROSITY THAT WE CAN'T USE, & WE CAN'T GET IT FIXED NOR CAN WE GET OUR MONEY BACK; THESE PEOPLE ARE FRAUDS & NEED TO BE PUT OUT OF BUSINESS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THEY ARE SCAM ARTISTS THAT GO TO HOME SHOWS, TAKE YOUR MONEY & DO UNPROFESSIONAL WORK. I need someone to help me either: GET THEM TO REPAIR MY DECK OR RETURN MY $12, 705 SO I CAN GET ANOTHER CONTRACTOR; If this isn't resolved by Monday July 25, we will contact our attorney, as well as the Colorado & Wyoming Consumer Protection offices , state's attorneys general; I don't understand why these people can get away with this.

Business Response: Everything has been resolved.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** **** *****

7/26/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/26/16 I contracted for a deck. Gave a $9000 deposit. Haven't heard anything, been ignored, no communication whatsoever that I have not initiated, was assured I would get a call today and no call ever from these crooks. I want my deposit back so I can contract a different company.

Desired Settlement: I want my $9,000 deposit back

Business Response: I'm sorry for the lack of communication, we've been having many issues this year that are out of our control - our suppliers say they are the busiest they've been in 10 years. So your pergola components that usually take 2 weeks still haven't arrived, and as we discussed we wanted to install them at the same time. Per our more recent conversations I do understand that we are going to be installing the deck first and then the pergola when it finally arrives. We should have kept you more up to date, we were just waiting to hear when it'd arrive and kept expecting we'd know much sooner than we did. I didn't receive this complaint until now, I know we've talked a couple times since this was filed, but other future customers may see this as well, so - as we just discussed, we are planning on installing the deck tomorrow, the concrete is scheduled for later this week after the deck is complete, and the pergola still has an unknown delivery date.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. As you've stated, you will be here 7/26/2016 between 8-8:30 AM. I will be looking forward to seeing you then & begin to resolve this issue.

Regards,

**** *****

10/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 7, 2015 we signed a contract with TNT for an awning install on our deck. Sales rep said we should have it installed mid-to-late July at the very latest. The unit wasn't installed until September 28th. We can count the number of times TNT contacted US about delays or updates on ONE HAND. Even when they promised to check something out and get back to us...they never did. WE had to initiate ALL follow up conversations about what was the causing the delay, when would we see parts, when would we have our awning. Timeline: 1) Our awning was basic/standard. We heard NOTHING from TNT, so on July 1st we contacted them and were told they had "just received **** approval and they were the cause of the delay." Yet, our plans were not SUBMITTED to the **** of ******** until June 9th and had been approved on June 23. Why did it take over a month to submit BASIC plans, and why were they blaming the **** for the delay? We also complained about the lack of communication. 2) We heard NOTHING from TNT. We left messages and got no call back. Finally reached TNT on August 10th. Blamed manufacturer ******* for not getting back to TNT. TNT rep promised to call back by next day with an update. August 11, we called ******* and asked what was going on. The Colorado rep said there had been "some issues" with parts not working correctly, but they had "been resolved and the system was awaiting pickup in **** **** City" as they had been "released. 3) NOTHING from TNT. On August 25 we called TNT only to be told our awning was still waiting in **** **** **** for delivery to Colorado. TNT REPEATEDLY promised to contact us with information and updates. 4) On Sept. 8 (4 MONTHS AFTER SIGNING OUR CONTRACT) we called TNT and asked for status. We were told the unit had been delivered earlier that day to our home. WHAT????? NO advance call?? No followup call??? Nothing was being done so we contacted TNT and asked to have someone come over and review the plans with us. Good thing we did as the plans were drawn up incorrectly on our deck. After much discussion and frustration, we were told the work would begin on September 17 or 21. 5) When nothing had been done by September 28, we contacted TNT midmorning...only to be told that the workers were AT OUR HOUSE DOING THE FULL INSTALL right then. We HAD been told they would dig footings...wait for **** inspection and approval...then proceed. By the time we got to the house, the entire unit was nearly completely installed. 6) We were never told the scheduling of **** inspections was something WE had to do OR be present for. After missing the first inspector, we just took over. We did not pass the final inspection on October 12...and we have heard NOTHING from TNT about what will happen next and when. 7) We are NOT fully satisfied with the process, the installation and finish work, and question why TNT had a dispute with the final inspection. IN CONCLUSION: TNT has zero customer service. While they may want to lay partial blame for delays on the manufacturer, NO ONE BUT TNT is to blame for the total lack of communication with us during this process. Our faith in their integrity, honesty and workmanship is severely tested. We would NOT recommend them.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have a rep from TNT and one from ******* meet us together at our home to discuss what has happened in this process and to do a thorough inspection of the installation of our awning to insure it was put in correctly, functions as promised and is stable. If the conclusion is to remove the awning, we expect a full refund. If the conclusion is to keep the awning, we would anticipate a good faith offering of compensation and/or adjustment on the bill.

Business Response: Hi,

I cannot argue that communication was lacking, and we should have made calls to update the client. However we had nothing to update them with, and told them so many times. The **** offices do not call us to let us know when a permit is ready, so when we had last called they told us it would be ready in a week or two, and we didn't call again until July 1st. We just don't have time or the desire to upset the **** employees by calling everyday for the hundreds of permits we submit every year.

The main issue was getting delivery from *******, the client called and spoke with them directly a few times and were told as much as we were, that the product had shipped but no idea on when it would arrive. We spent many hours trying to get updates, arguing with ******* reps, and talking with shippers trying to get a time frame for delivery to no avail. We didn't even know it was going to be delivered to their home when it was, let alone that it was in Denver ready for home delivery. We have had our patience tested with the supplier this year, and not being able to get any updates, we didn't have anything to communicate. We are very sorry that the product took so long to get here, and didn't have any idea of when it would, but that was completely and totally out of our control.

We never planned on being there on the 17th or 21st, I'm not sure why they thought that. We discussed it being installed while they were away on vacation, but that we were still waiting on one more part. That part didn't arrive until late Friday afternoon, and thinking they were still on vacation, installed as fast as we could - the following Monday morning. We did everything we could as fast as we could to help them out, we unfortunately can not control the delivery of the parts.

They did not need to be present for the **** inspector, sometimes the inspectors will not let themselves in the back without permission (sometimes they will), but they did have the permission. Maybe it just wasn't forwarded to the inspector...  The only issue with inspection is that two small 8" knee braces are required to attach between the posts and beams, it'll take two minutes to install. We had just found out Monday that it was needed, and will be out shortly to finish it.

The clients spoke with ******* about compensation for the delayed delivery and not ever knowing when it would delivered, they are well aware that it wasn't our issue.


Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response and have included our responses in highlighted yellow to TNT. We have also attached a copy of the **** Inspectors refusal to do the inspection and photo's of a few of the screws visible in our yard, plus one of the poured footings.

I cannot argue that communication was lacking, and we should have made calls to update the client. However we had nothing to update them with, and told them so many times.
We honestly were shocked at the quick response to our complaint.  TNT, you actually did have things to tell us, but chose not to communicate.  Keeping a customer informed should be a priority of any business. The lack of communication caused us to actually go looking for the company at the address to see if it was a legitimate business. 

The **** offices do not call us to let us know when a permit is ready, so when we had last called they told us it would be ready in a week or two, and we didn't call again until July 1st. We just don't have time or the desire to upset the **** employees by calling everyday for the hundreds of permits we submit every year.
Why did it take a month to submit our permit for a – you said it yourself – basic/standard awning? Knowing your customers were anticipating delivery in July, isn’t it your JOB to check on permit status? We certainly didn’t expect you to check every day, but once a week seems reasonable, followed by a call to the customer. The only reason you called the **** is because we called you and asked for a status update.

The main issue was getting delivery from *******, the client called and spoke with them directly a few times and were told as much as we were, that the product had shipped but no idea on when it would arrive. We spent many hours trying to get updates, arguing with ******* reps, and talking with shippers trying to get a time frame for delivery to no avail. We didn't even know it was going to be delivered to their home when it was, let alone that it was in Denver ready for home delivery.
WE are your customer. WE deserved communication – even if it wasn’t good news. Our level of frustration grew the less you communicated with us. The reason we contacted ******* is because we lost faith in your
ability to follow through and you lied to us blaming the **** for taking so long to approve the building permit, until we called the **** ourselves.

We have had our patience tested with the supplier this year, and not being able to get any updates, we didn't have anything to communicate.
As stated previously, yes, you did have things
to communicate, even if the news wasn’t good. Your sales rep gave us a 6 week lead time once the permit was submitted, so that was what we had to go off of in good faith from YOU as our contractor, not *******.

We are very sorry that the product took so long to get here, and didn't have any idea of when it would, but that was completely and totally out of our control. 
Where is the apology to US – your CUSTOMER – that it took so long, that you failed numerous times to communicate IN GOOD FAITH, that YOU created an abyss between your company and your customer?

We never planned on being there on the 17th or 21st, I'm not sure why they thought that discussed it being installed while they were away on vacation, but that we were still waiting on one more part. That part didn't arrive until late Friday afternoon, and thinking they were still on vacation, installed as fast as we could - the following Monday morning. We did everything we could as fast as we could to help them out, we unfortunately can not control the delivery of the parts.
We asked TNT to come over before we left on vacation because we had so little faith in their follow through. Thank goodness we DID initiate this meeting, because we discovered the plan submitted was incorrect
. The design is a simple 10 foot by 14.5 foot, 10 foot attached to the house and 14.5 foot out from the house, but the design for the building permit showed 14.5 foot attached to the house and 10 foot out from the house. This error lies squarely with TNT.  This was just another red flag as to the lack of professionalism by this company. TNT told US they would “begin work on the 17th, but more likely on the 21st so that when you return from vacation it will be done!” Your comment above “We did everything we could as fast as we could to help them out” is extremely rude. We didn’t ask for fast – we asked for the job promised to be completed professionally and thoroughly so as to ensure we had a safe, durable and functioning awning. It was far too late to expect the “on time” part.

They did not need to be present for the **** inspector, sometimes the inspectors will not let themselves in the back without permission (sometimes they will), but they did have the permission. Maybe it just wasn't forwarded to the inspector... 
This is incorrect information. Please see attached the note from the **** Inspector stating that he was there and left because no one was there. When we called the City’s Building Division to ask about the Inspection notice that was left on
our front door, we were told that the mandate from the **** Manager was that the inspectors will not go onto a property without permission and “That is **** policy.” Today (October 14) we called to verify policy and were told that yesterday (October 13th) they had a meeting and the rules are, the inspectors cannot go into a house without a person 21 years old or older and cannot enter a yard without the owner unless there is a note on the front door giving them permission and assuring there are no pets present.  So it appears that there is no written policy on this issue and is something they continuously talk about to guide their inspectors.

The only issue with inspection is that two small 8" knee braces are required to attach between the posts and beams, it'll take two minutes to install. We had just found out Monday that it was needed, and will be out shortly to finish it.
This is simply ‘one more nail in the coffin’ in our lack of trust in TNT to complete this job well. That these were left off is one thing, but also notice
the comment “will be out shortly to finish it”. TNT didn’t communicate ANYTHING with us about finishing the project or when. If something doesn’t pass inspection because the drawings call out the use of knee braces -- and WE had to call TNT to discuss this issue with the inspector (during the inspection that WE had to schedule), wouldn’t a professional be on the phone with the customer letting them know their plan of corrective action? Instead, while we were speaking with the **** Inspectors office today (October 14), they ‘happened’ to mention we were scheduled for an inspection today! Does this mean someone came out and installed the knee braces without telling us, but had the courtesy to contact the **** to re-schedule the inspection?? Just when we think maybe something will change and we’ll be treated with respect and courtesy, TNT chooses NOT to do that. AGAIN.

TNT also did not follow their own procedure as to how things would flow with installation. TNT said they would dig footings, then get the initial inspection and approval to go ahead. Instead, they installed almost the entire system BEFORE getting inspection.  We were unnerved by this and literally perplexed as to why TNT would take chances like that.

In addition, we noticed the louvers were not closing completely, that flashing had not been installed per direction, that the battery box cover is tan and the entire rest of the system is white, and the cement around the footings looks unfinished and shoddy. The “fix” for the louvers was to beat and bang on the system to make it close.  The flashing was installed only AFTER we requested it again. The battery box only comes in tan – something I wish I’d have known ahead of time. The cement is what it is, but seems to be lack of pride in ones finished work.

We also are submitting photo’s of what was left in our yard after the install. There were pieces of scraps, metal and screws in front of the deck in the grass which could have damaged a lawn mower or if stepped on, caused injury.

The clients spoke with ******* about compensation for the delayed delivery and not ever knowing when it would delivered, they are well aware that it wasn't our issue.

We are simply floored by this response and lack of taking ANY responsibility by TNT. Our request was to have someone from TNT and someone from ******* come out and do a thorough inspection and discuss our
concerns. TNT didn’t even address this in the response. We did speak with the ******* rep who said he was going to talk with THEM/TNT about some sort of compensation. This was something the *******  rep brought up, not us. Since final remittance goes to TNT, wouldn’t it make sense that this happen? And finally, we assert that TNT remains responsible for their suppliers whether they deliver or don’t deliver. Isn’t it the contractors responsibility to communicate with customers to keep them aware of the progress, or lack of, during a project? Why blame it all on the supplier?

We noticed each of the 4 previous BBB complaints against TNT included many of our same issues. It’s disheartening to know that they continue down this path. There was no hint of apology to us as customers in this response for the past 5 months of waiting, wondering, confusion, frustration and disappointment. We reject this response.



Regards,

*** *** **** ******

Business Response: I thought that I had apologized, but it must not have been clear. I am sorry for the lack of communication, I really am. I understand your frustration at the lack of communication and accept full responsibility for it. I understand that this process did not go as you expected it to go, and that you hold us responsible for shipping too. It does reflect on us negatively, and I wish it all would have gone better too.

I've sent you several emails over the last few months, but after your latest response I'm not sure you're receiving them. I been sending them to "**********************", the email that's on our contract. Please check your spam folder, or let me know the right email if this is not it. I tried to ensure better communication after your first complaint, and sent an email, right after responding to you here, that we'd be out the following day to remedy the knee braces.  In case you can't find our email's, here are the last two:

Oct 13 2:39 pm
Hi ***,

I thought you had understood that whole delivery delay, and us not having any information to update you with...

We will be out first thing in the morning tomorrow to install the knee
braces, and will schedule the inspection for tomorrow afternoon. Please
leave the permit out on the deck and a note on your front door telling
the inspector they have permission to enter your back yard, then you do
not need to be there (they'll need to see the permit though for sure).
I doubt you or I will be able to get an ******* rep out to your house,
but the crew who installed yours has installed more than any other in
Colorado. I'm extremely confident that it was installed properly, if
something was to happen because of installation, we'll always take care
of it. We do stand behind our work.


Oct 14 8:51 pm
Hi ***,
I checked the city's website, your permit inspection passed today.
Everything is built correctly to the engineering with the city's
approval. You mentioned that ******* would be willing to give you some
money off for the long delay, but they need to know that everything else
is complete and your happy with the product before they'll issue
anything. Please let me know if there's anything else we need to do, if
not then reply all with your satisfaction and ***** ****** (the *******
rep you spoke with) will be able to do what he needs to do to get you a
credit.

I'm sorry for the way this turned out, please let me know what we need to do now to rectify the situation.

Tad B******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

…while we appreciate the apology, and your accepting responsibility now, it comes a little too late. Just a bit more effort and customer concern on your part could have prevented this some of this from becoming such an issue.

The correct email is **********************, and typically you should have gotten a bounce back that it was incorrect after the first email. Why through all of these nearly 5 ½ months haven’t you said a thing about emails, even when we were face-to-face?

That “whole delivery delay” was a mess, but the fact that you promised us callbacks on many occasions, and didn’t stand behind your word remains disappointing.

It is  interesting you “doubt you or I will be able to get an ******* rep” to our house, since he has already offered to send a rep out.

While we appreciate your comments and that you intend to mean it, “your word” has been severely tested through all of this and it’s tough to believe you.

One other thing is the lack of cleanup after the install was disappointing…and potentially could have led to property damage or injury to persons/pets. WE had to do the cleanup…we picked up the scraps from the deck, pieces of metal, etc. in our yard and under our deck, plus the screws in the yard. The trampled grass, while somewhat expected, could and should have been simply sprayed off with a hose. Please don’t advertise clean up if it’s not going to be done.


IF we now agree that “everything is fine” then, and ONLY THEN, will we get a response from *******?  Hmmmm…that sounds like signing off on an unfulfilled contract.

At the very least we will be scheduling a meeting with ******* BEFORE we give our satisfaction and accept your response. 

*** and **** ******

 

 


 



Regards,

*** And Beth Mierau

Business Response:

I understand.

I was told the discount can only be given once you are satisfied with the product. They don't want to give money and still have a issue - that's what I've been told by the ******* rep anyway. I'm glad he said he'd send someone out to look at your project, I'll try to contact him and see when he's able to schedule that. Thanks for getting me your email, the others were never returned so I figured it went through, now I have it.

If they contact you first please let me know when they are coming.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

According to the ******* rep, they will be in ******** on October 28th. It is our hope to end the dispute with a financial compensation agreed upon by all.  

Regards,

*** And **** ******

10/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Replacement of the brick molding they improperly installed is required. They used silicon caulk that paint is not adhering to and the job needs to be redone. I have been told the caulk is near impossible to remove from the trim and siding. New molding that is taller and wider with adequate flashing is needed. TNT also did not use adequate flashing for the siding according to the siding expert I have called. The paint was peeling very badly last year and some the year before . I had to wait through last winter to try and hire a painter for this summer. The painter determined the paint was not sticking due to the silicon caulk that was used when TNT installed and painted my brick molding 9/13 2010. I do not trust their workmanship due to the fact that I also had to have the gutters on the garage that they installed 9/13/2010 redone for severe leaking. I would prefer a refund so I can use it to pay the new company I have hired to do the repairs. I called TNT and asked them to come out and look over the peeling and silicon caulk and inadequate flashing. My request was denied due to the fact that he said the warranty expired after the first year. The refund for trim, flashing and gutters is about $1090.00 but due to cost and inflation increases to re-hire someone to redo the job, I think it should be more.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of the brick molding they improperly installed is required. I do not trust their workmanship due to the fact that I also had to have the gutters on the garage that they installed 9/13/2010 redone for severe leaking. I would prefer a refund so I can use it to pay the new company I have hired to do the repairs. The refund for trim, flashing and gutters is about $1090.00 but due to cost and inflation increases to re-hire someone to redo the job, I think it should be more.

Business Response: This work was more than 4 years ago and so is 3 years past our warranty. We used the trim that the customer picked out and as I remember the flashing is not a problem. I have no way to know for sure if the caulking was our fault but a full refund does not seem warranted. Wiping the caulk with denatured alcohol and then applying paint-able silicone caulk would fix the problem.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The professional painter and carpenter that I talked to have said that the silicon caulk TNT used is nonpaintable.  Other caulks and paints are not designed to stick to silicon caulk.  I have been advised that it is an improper and unwise method to cover the silicon caulk with another caulk and it would eventually peel up.  It would be likely that paint blistering and peeling would continue to occur over a couple of years.  The suggestion of this method only proves TNT's lack of proper paint and caulk usage knowledge as well as their poor workmanship methods used.  The painter and carpenter said that the silicon caulk should be completely removed.  This is a costly and painstakingly difficult task to remove since any residual caulk can cause peeling of other caulk or paint.  The flashing was also installed incorrectly.  It is completely behind the molding and sealed far behind the molding and does not lay on top of the brick at all.  It is not visible until the caulk and molding is removed.  It cannot shed water.  The carpenter said it does not function at any level and that it is the same as if there was no flashing at all.  I would like a refund of my money in order to have the repair work done.  I have already mentioned that the gutter work TNT did leaked badly from the get go and had to be completely replaced.  I had attempted to have TNT fix them shortly after them being installed but they still leaked.  As a result I chose not to deal with TNT again on the matter and eventually had the gutters completely replaced by another company.   Now I have encountered the caulk, flashing and paint issue and would like my money returned so I can hire professionals with higher standards to correct these issues where possible.   

Regards,

******* ******

Consumer Response: ***** ******* ************************ ********* ******* ************************ *** ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** *** *** **** * *** ******* **** *** ********* ********* *********
******, These are some pictures of the caulk and flashing.  It shows how the flashing doesn't extend onto the brick and is encapsulated by the caulk that was put on by TNT.  I have spent 60hrs scraping caulk and sanding myself and had the painter scrape also for about 15hrs the spots I had difficulty with.  I have taken time off work losing pay to try and get this done.  I don't have the money yet to pull off the wood and reflash.  Running out of good weather time to get things prepped and my painter has been booked up.  He will be working overtime to try and fit me in.  I'm worried about rain getting in the walls etc... So I cannot wait any longer to seal up the molding. Hopefully the painter can come by this week and recaulk now that I have the silicon caulk all removed.  This whole thing is very stressful.  I just want it done and soon so I don't have exposed walls and potential for leaking.  Also TNT mentioned I chose the molding they put on.  I did not!   They suggested and supplied this molding.  Special milled molding I had ordered months earlier from ***** ******* was deemed unusable and one of the TNT employees hauled it away for me.  He thought that maybe he could use it for something else he was considering working on.  Where TNT purchased the new molding I do not remember.  I think it was **** ***** or ***** but am uncertain.

 

Hope these pictures send properly, I had lots of trouble with getting a camera and my computer locking up.

******* ******

************

Business Response: ***** *** **** ************ ******************************* *** ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** ***** *** ******

Hi *****,

I don't have her contract still, but at that time we only offered the mandatory 1 year warranty. If we extended it, it would be on her copy of the contract.

Thanks,
*** *******, Engineer

T-N-T, LLC
**** Improvements

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I still believe if the job was done initially wrong like the flashing and silicon caulk that it should be rectified even though I didn't discover that it was done improperly before the warranty ran out.  The carpenter and painter pointed it out because they have the knowledge to understand how a job like this is supposed to be done.  I don't have the knowledge by myself to know that the job was not done properly.  That is why I hire experts to do the job needed in the first place.
Regards,

******* ******

9/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted TNT on May 22 2014 to have new siding installed I also gave then a deposit of $5937.00. I called them on June 1 talked to *** he said he would let me know when they would be able to start siding. Called again on July 10 and left a message no call back called again July 23 *** called back and said they would start the siding in Aug and I have not heard any thing since. I have called many times and no one has called me back.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $5937.00 refunded. Waiting over 2 months for work to be done has tried my patients and I am no longer interested having them do the work.

Business Response: We were having many problems with our phone system at the time and messages were not getting through. The complaint has been resolved.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ********

6/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested the service of TnT to build a deck for me that was to be constructed with a **** steel frame, **** decking, and **** hidden fasteners. The salesman that conducted the proposal told me **** was a bad product and that ********** was much better, particularly in Colorado. He went further to say that ********** has a much better warranty and stands behind their product in a much more comprehensive manner. I accepted the terms that he promised. The deck was to have two sets of stairs and a removable hatch over the window well to our basement. We were promised that they would come out prior to construction and remove the concrete stoop that was at our back sliding glass door. We were asked to pay a $5,000 deposit to which I objected and agreed to $1,000. The agreement was made in the early part of September of 2012. One month later we had still not seen any construction - call upon call did not render results. Finally almost two months later a delivery of materials shows up in the street in front of my house - no call, just a delivery. A few days later a construction crew shows up unannounced and begins working on the deck. The stoop was being removed by jack-hammer and I was not home. I get a call from my wife and I then hurry home to see what is going on. The crew was unable to complete the removal of the stoop and left after a couple of hours. The next morning they returned to continue to remove the concrete stoop and I hear a loud noise come from the direction of my sliding glass door. When I went outside I saw the damage to my door and the crew leader accepted responsibility. TnT suggested a repair method of caulking the damage - it looked terrible. They then agreed to put a piece of vinyl over it - it popped off in two days of cold weather. They agreed to replace the door. I got them the model number and make of my door and waited until April 2013 for the replacement. The contractor who came to replace the door said he worked for TnT, but not directly??? My laminate floor was damaged by this crew while removing the old door. The construction issues with the deck were noticed right away with regards to screw types being used. The ********** deck traditionally uses a screw that blends well with the color so it looks professional, they used an alternate screw that was horrible - leaving the appearance of black dots as a result of the screw heads, all the way around my deck. They claimed these were the only screws that would work. I found the appropriate screw online and asked them to use the correct screw - they ordered the wrong color - even with a guide on the website that matched deck color with screw color. They removed the black screws and replaced them with the wrong color but correct screws. The screw heads on the new correct screws were much smaller than the old black incorrect screws thus revealing burn marks on my fascia boards where the original wrong screws damaged the material. I asked for new fascia and the correct color and correct screws. TnT did come out and replace the fascia and screws, however their crew was bitter about the process and the repeated visits and mentioned “you got a new door too” I informed him my house was two years old and that I had a new door to begin with. The crew leader was making remarks about how much I am costing him, and I explained he was costing himself. This crew leader had the smell of alcohol on his breathe while telling me in my face that he was a professional. This same crew member also told me that he would be happy to provide me another bid that included the items on my original agreement, apparently thinking he was entitled to more money for the work. At any rate, here we are at April 21st 2013, a full seven months after we agreed to do business, with a finished project. But there were big concerns about methods that were used. I was informed that the fasteners used were not covered under the warranty of the manufacturer of the ********** deck boards, in other words, every point of contact is not covered and there are hundreds. This was in direct conflict with what I was originally told regarding warranty and board manufacturer. I am upset. First issue is the steel frame deck is actually steel and wood. The wood braces between steel joists were improvised in place of the steel braces that would normally be used. Apparently this was TnT's first steel frame deck and they were in the dark regarding construction practices. Second issue is the fastener they used was not recommended by any manufacturer, and as it turns out, the ********** board does not have a fastener that will attach to the steel frame - reason for this? **** manufactures the steel frame and a fastener that works for their board, but not **********...... The improvised method TnT used was rejected in writing and in writing I was told that they DO NOT WARRANTY the fastening system used. Therefore, if there is a failure, I am stuck. This news was delivered to me by a ********** representative for my area. I was originally told by the ********** representative that he would see if he could get his warranty department at ********** to get in writing a provision that covers my scenario and he could not. TnT has interpreted this as me asking for a "custom warranty" when all I am really asking for is the same warranty everyone gets from the ********** manufacturer when they purchase their boards. I originally asked for a **** deck on a **** frame with hidden fasteners. I got a Frankenstien deck that lacks warranty due to improper fasteners. I was really upset when TnT owner told me that they talk everyone into going with **********, thus leaving me the consumer without a warranty. I also have doubts now about anything they tell regarding warranty and only trust what the manufacturer is willing to honor. I now have a balance of $8,785 that I have not paid. This price is for a 12’x18’ deck that cost almost $10,000 with compromised warranty. I would agree to a lesser amount in light of my warranty status, or build the deck I asked for that includes a manufacturer’s warranty. I have asked them to inspect in writing and they have only held to their belief that I got what I paid for, although it is not what we contracted nor does it satisfy the premise that was established by the sales person and I regarding warranty.

Desired Settlement: Reduce price or provide the product that was promised.

Business Response: We agree that this deck did not go as well as planned.  The permit delayed us initially but we failed to inform Mr. **** of the exact start date, a mis-communication in the office. The crack in the door looked minimal and we thought we could repair it, of course these repairs did not work so we payed to have the door replaced. The specialty screws for the fascia were ordered from our supplier who informed us of the color to use, they were not the right color so new ones were ordered and the fascia and screws were replaced as requested. The extra set of steps was decided against by Mr. ****, we would have been happy to install them if he had still wanted them.  The warranty of this deck is not compromised in any way, I do not know who Mr. **** spoke to but my conversations with ********** state their warranty is still fully in effect. ********** will of course not warranty the product of another company (the fasteners) and would not write Mr. **** a custom warranty, but I've been assured by ********** their standard warranty was not voided.  All of the components used have their own respective warranties and I do not see any reason that a single one would be voided. The ********** representative also informed me that many decks have been built in just this fashion, using the ********** decking and the steel framing and that it's common practice.  It sounds to me like the main concern now is the warranty, and the warranty from each manufacturer still applies and was not degraded by the installation method used. I've also offered to write Mr. **** a warranty from TNT stating that if for some reason a warranty claim was denied because of our installation method that we would warranty it ourselves. The deck was built using the materials that Mr. **** picked and the only alterations from the original design were approved by Mr. **** as construction was under way. I would agree to a $785.00 discount and the personal warranty mentioned above to get this resolved.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on TNT Home Improvements LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart