Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Big Mountain Homes

Phone: (307) 687-2006 Fax: (307) 687-2012 4950 Garner Lake Rd, Gillette, WY 82718 http://bigmountainhomes.com/web/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Big Mountain Homes meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Big Mountain Homes include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Big Mountain Homes
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 31, 2008 Business started: 01/01/2006 Business started locally: 01/01/2006 Business incorporated 01/01/2006 in WY
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Nichole Biegler, President Mr. Bernard Biegler, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Nichole Biegler, President
Business Category

Home Builders Mobile Home Dealers Modular Home Builders

Alternate Business Names
Big Mountain Development Inc

Additional Locations

  • 4950 Garner Lake Rd

    Gillette, WY 82718 (307) 687-2006

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/11/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a new home from them, noticed several things were not complete and not working. They told us not to worry, all we had to do was provide them with a punch list and they would fix everything. We closed on the house July 10, 2014. I gave them a list on Aug. 11, 2014. They have sent a worker over every now and again. Usually, its 2 or 3 months apart. They have never completed the list. I have been after them for over a year to complete these items. Nothing ever seems to get done. They found out I was going to file a complaint. so they sent someone over today to touch up paint the outside. I told them it was not a good idea because its going to be below freezing for the next week. Also told them they have had plenty of nice weather to complete my house. It seems they don't care about the quality of their work at all. I'm tired of the poor quality of craftsmanship I have received also. I have had to nail trim boards that were coming off because they would not fix them. My shower in my master bath room has not worked properly since we purchased the home over a year ago. Still NOT fixed!! These are just a few items on the list

Desired Settlement: I want my home completed to my satisfaction

Business Response:

We have worked on Mr ***** home numerous times, throughout this process we have asked Mr. ***** for a list of items he would like completed, he has refused this request numerous times.  We at Big Mountain have no problem working on his home but we simply won't be doing anything further until he provides us with a current list for us to work off of, at which time we can decide warranty items from homeowner maintenance issues.

Regards,

Bernie

Big Mountain Homes

Consumer Response:

from: ****** ***** ********************
reply-to: ****** ***** ********************
to: ****** ********* **************************
date: Tue, Dec 22, 2015 at 7:51 AM
subject: Re: You have a New Message from BBB Regarding Complaint #********

We have given Rob W******* the punch list several times.  Also we have provided it for any of the contractors working on the house.   It has never been completed.   When we asked Rob to complete our home, he said he had other projects going on and would get to it.  We have been more than patient with these guys,  however our patience has ran out.   A lot of the work that was done was never fully completed.  They said they would be back the next day to finish, never happens.  When you purchase a new house it should be complete.  For example: the trim boards were loose and coming off the gable above the garage.  They just simply wouldn't fix them, even though I asked numerous times.  I myself had to repair them.  The garage trim finish does not match the house at all.  It is splotchy and the wrong stain.  This was very noticeable when we closed on the house.  Again I was told, "Don't worry we will fix it, just put it on the list."  I did, I have also gave them the list several times.  I believe that they have no intention of finishing my home.  This has been going on for almost a year and a half.   This is my last step before consulting an attorney. 

Business Response:

In regards to Mr. ***** property, we at Big Mountain have made numerous repairs to the property throughout the last 16 months, some of these repairs include, replacement of patio blinds, adjusted doors, fixed drywall repairs to the homeowners satisfaction, changed water filters on faucets, touched up paint on the exterior, replace the AC condenser unit, worked through their appliance warranty issues, readdressed trim on garage, replaced garage walk door, worked through overhead door opener warranty issues, replaced and repaired interior trim, resealed countertops, replaced patio door screen, trouble shoot fireplace issues, and many other repairs.  We are requesting a list as we have visited this property with no less than 8 contractors who have all been directed to fix any and all warranty repair items.  The list provided is outdated and has had many verbal additions.  We are requesting a final list as which we can work through and help achieve a satisfied customer, our fear is there will be items that will be customer maintenance issues and we can help direct them on how to find a solution to their issues.  Please understand that the ***** concerns are important to us but we are asking for a list so none of their concerns are overlooked.  We will no longer work off of a list that is so out of date as many items have been added, And modified.  Thank you in advance for your cooperation on this matter.

Bernie B******

Big Mountain Homes

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

****** *****

Let’s start with the patio blinds.  These were either damaged during construction or when the house was moved on to foundation.  The blinds were damaged before we ever took occupancy of the home.  

Adjusted doors was done (closet doors, bedroom doors). However the sliding back glass door was warped during the move, It was replaced with the wrong color of door.  Finally, they got the right color, but the door handle was installed backwards and would not lock.  One of the contractors fixed it, still does not lock though.

“Fixed drywall repairs to homeowners satisfaction.”  Again, this was never fully completed.  They caulked some cracks (not all).  Said they had to get some paint,  4 months later they arrived again to touch up paint.  Paint did not match.  I myself have done some of the repairs and painted, also hired a painter to come fix the uncompleted work.  

“Replaced water filters on faucets. “  This was never on the list don’t know where they come up with this.  They have never even touched my faucets!

“Touched up paint on the exterior.”  Yes, this was done in very cold weather, below freezing conditions.  Which they had over a year to complete, a lot of the time with ideal conditions.  When I asked why they would even attempt to paint my house in that kind of weather, Rob W******* said, “That’s the only day the painter is available, take it or leave it.”  I told him NO, don’t do it.  They did it anyways.

“Replaced the A.C. unit”  We had issues with ours freezing up in the summer time.  The tech they sent to our house stated the blower fan inside the house was too small.  Told Rob W******* this.  Then, one day me and my wife came home, and they had swapped out the exterior unit with out our knowledge of this even happing.  They did this knowing the real problem was inside the house. 

As far as the appliance issues, the refrigerator and dishwasher was leaking on the floor and inside the cabinet under the sink.  Rob W******* told me “call the manufacture of the appliance.”  I did, the manufacture did fix it, He did say, that the builder should have checked for leaks before turning over the home to the customer.

Garage door trim.  This was from day one, the first thing I noticed.  The garage ( that Big Mountain Homes built on site) trim has NEVER matched the house trim.  I pointed this out the first day.  This item has always been on the list, never addressed at all.  There were even loose trim boards that were coming off, again they would not fix them, I myself went and nailed them back on so they would not blow, or fall off.  The trim is supposed to be a natural cedar.  The workers even caulked over the nail holes with white caulking and just smeared it on.  Showed this to Rob, and he just kinda laughed at it.  I don’t think they had the right caliber of workers to even construct the garage to start with.  For example, I was walking through the property during garage construction, I could see sunlight shining down through the roof onto the floor after the garage was shingled and completed.

Replaced garage walk in door.  Once again, they had installed a 2x4 framed door into a 2x6 wall.  The door was never installed correctly to start with.  When it would rain water would run under the door into the garage.  The exterior of the door was only partially caulked around.  After over a year of me telling them about it, they did finally replace it.  Still not completed to this day.  The worker got it installed and said he would be back the next day to foam around door, caulk around exterior of door, and drill hole for deadbolt and put that back in.  That was over 4 months ago and the deadbolt is still laying on the ground next to the door.  I myself did the spray foam.  Again, this is one of those items that they attempted to address and never fully finished the job.   
The garage door opener was replaced due to the original not working.  This was done and completed by them. 

The interior trim was never replaced.  I fixed all the loose trim, they never even touched it.

Resealed countertops,  I’m assuming this means caulking around the back splash.  Again, this was only partially completed.  Worker told me he had to get some caulking to match and would be back the next day.  That was over 6 months ago.  He has never been back.

The patio door screen was replaced because the original was the wrong one and would not fit.  They did give us a different one.   

Trouble shoot fire place issues.  When we moved in, the fire place would not come on.  Come to find out, it had never even been hooked up to the gas supply.  (trouble shoot does sound better than unfinished work)

As far as the workers being directed to finish any and all issues, that’s not true.  I have talked to the workers personally and asked them when they are coming back to finish my house.  They told me that Rob W******* told them to do other projects elsewhere.  When I asked Rob W******* where the workers where at. He said he told them to finish my house.  I have been getting the run around for a year and a half now with these guys.  There are many issues, it seems they don’t care to fix or complete.  Like I said before, I first gave Rob W******* the list on Aug. 11th 2014, also many times since then.  Also have giving the list to the workers and had it here on the kitchen counter for them to look at.  I  know the list is not the problem it is the builder.  

I still have not had more than 5-10 min of hot water in my master shower since we bought the home (even with an instant hot water heater).  This is on the list also, have told them about it,  NEVER BEEN FIXED!!!!!

I’m past the point of even dealing with these guys anymore!!!!!


Business Response:

In response to the ***** issues regarding their home, it appears that all items on there list have been taken care of, if any items listed have not been addressed please get us a new list regarding any and all issues with the home so we can discuss a plan of action, as all items may not be builder responsibility.  If any items on your original list are incomplete  please list them again.  We are requesting this list in hopes of resolving this manner, it is hard to work on a resolution without a complete list of items needing addressed.  We would like to help get their issues resolved in a timely fashion.

Thank you,

Bernie

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  Big Mountain Homes has never completed the list!!!!!  Even though they have had plenty of opportunity  to do so.  I have been lied to and deceived by this business.  This is why I posted my complaint to start with.  I will post pictures of the work they have not completed and the work they partially completed next.   

Regards,

****** *****

Consumer Response:

Most of these items from day one have never been addressed.  Some that were, were never completed. 

Business Response:

We have received the list of items from Mr. *****, a representative of Big Mountain met with him last Friday and we are in the process of working on this list to identify the issues and take care of the ******* concerns.  We will be discussing our findings directly with the ******* in the next week now that we have a list to work off of.

Thanks,

Bernie

10/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my home in ********, North Dakota through Big Mountain. The water was not satisfactory and I sent complaints multiple times to those in charge. When I signed my mortgage, I still expressed concerns about the water issues. Bernie B******, had the water tested himself before closing and it came back fine, when I tested it two week after having it run constantly, it came back with TOTAL COLIFORM in that water. I had the water shocked and it came back clear of the coliform. However, the water is still so high in iron that it is ruining everything it comes in contact with. Big Mountain assured me they would take care of the problem. I even went to the city council to express my concerns about the water and at that point Rob W******* told everyone there they would make sure it was taken care of and soon. I have yet to have anything taken care of. I have sent email, faxes, and requests to have them take care of this issue with no avail. I have contacted the Consumer Protection Agency as well. This is unacceptable for any homeowner to deal with 4 months after purchasing a brand new home.

Desired Settlement: I would like the water filtration system put in and have Big Mountain make the arrangements. They are the ones who said they would take care of the issues and still have not. In fact, they want me to take care of this problem that was not mine to begin with. Something needs to be done and I would like an investigation into how the water was fine when Bernie tested it but within a month (after running it) it came back with TOTAL COLIFORM in it.

Business Response: Ms. ******* had notified us late last year of a water issue.  We paid to have her water tested and paid for the treatment of the well upon a new test it was determined there were no issues with the chloroform in the water.  We have worked with Ms ******* on this and the issue of the water color a** even offered to pay up to $3000 for a treatment system or new well whatever her choice.  Ms. ******* requested a water system that exceeded our allowance and would not cover the approximate $400 additional to cover the system of her choice.  She has decided to take this route instead.  The water issue should be brought to the state of North Dakota water Board as this would be the party responsible for the water quality issue, as we have had no other complaints in the area and have done over 25 households.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I have never received information about a $3000.00 allowance. This information, for some reason, was only mentioned to my mother who was in town for a short period of time. They never sent me this information or informed me of this. When I met with Rob W******* who works and is in charge of the ******** office, he stated that he would find someone who would do the system for a cheaper price, find out what kind of tankless water heater I would need, and stated in front of myself and another party, that HE would take care of it. Also, this issue was taken to the City Council in ******** in February a** it was stated there also, ON TAPE, that Big Mountain Homes would take care of the issue. I am sure that all parties that were present would account for this being said, including the city judge.
This issue was brought up to multiple people at Big Mountain and they have not done what they say they would do.  Also, there were others with poor water quality and have done their own work on getting the problem fixed in the area where my home is, the issue is - I bought a BRAND NEW HOME with water issues and I REFUSE to live in a home with poor water quality. They will fix the problem regardless of how much it costs because the problem is theirs not mine. They ordered the home, they placed it on the land, they called the well drillers, and they signed off on it being fine. I will not accept this as them 'fixing' the problem because they have not.

Regards,

******** *******

Business Response: Tell us why here...Ms. ******* is taking the stance that Big Mountain is responsible for the quality of the water coming out of the ground.  This is simply nothing we can or will accept responsibility for.  Ms. ******* initial loan requirements were for *** and as such we tested this well and it passed, Ms. ******* has continually asked about the sampling and asked if she could deliver to a lab of her choice.  We granted this request and paid for this sample which came back unacceptable.  This could have been from several reasons with a high probability that the sample was not taken properly.  I myself have had this happen and I have tested many wells.  We at this time of the unacceptable reading implemented a well Shocking, as with such process Big Mountain absorb all costs associated with this action and as well paid for the additional test for which Ms. ******* submitted to the lab of her choice.  This reading came back acceptable,   Ms. ******* has taken this to the extreme and has decided to try and involve first the City of ********, who thought we went above and beyond, BBB and also the Attorney General.  This is a frustrating situation for all involved but her stating somehow the well driller, or Big Mountain is responsible for the quality of water she so desires is a bit of a stretch.  We have offered remedy to this situation with her involvement.  We are not and will not be held accountable for the quality of water from any well in Western North Dakota as that would need to be brought to the State Water Board.  We have offered to remedy this situation months ago, with paying up to $3,000 towards a water purification system, or a new well, it would be her choice.  Big Mountain is not installing a new system or well, this is something Ms ******* will have to initiate and schedule as the bid we received from her was more than the allotted money we have set aside.    Not one other customer or client has asked Big Mountain Homes to pay for a water filtration system in there new home,  I have information that two have been installed and paid for by others living in the community as their choice, 20 plus residents have done nothing,  We will state that Ms. ******* was directly involved with the allowance as she was on the phone when her mother was in the office a** this was again mentioned at another meeting with her present.  Please let me know if any other information is needed as we have met all federal requirements of this matter through testing as well as the state.
Regards,
Bernie
Big Mountain Homes 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I never indicated that Big Mountain or the well drillers were responsible for the water coming out of the ground. I have stated, quite clearly, that Big Mountain is responsible for providing adequate buisness to a consumer. I am frustrated of course, because I was not offered any ki** of solution to the issue until I made it an issue after buying my home that the water situation was not okay with buying a first time, brand new home. I am frustrated at the poor level of professionalism that has come from Rob W*******, the seco** ha** man down from Bernie. Rob has been rude, frustrating, a** inconsiderate to that fact that what he tells his boss, is false. I was told, yes (never denied) that I was offered monies to fix the water issue. I was NEVER given any type of paper of contract in regards to this. I do know that after this issue has arisen, new homes being built are now being offered a water filtration system put in with the cost of the home. This was never offered to me and I feel as though Big Mountain took advantage of a single, first-time home buyer in regards to not telling me any of the issues that might occur with having a well. I will be accepting the monies offered, because I know that my water will not be acceptable without this. What I am wanting not only Big Mountain, but people involved,to understand, is that Big Mountain, Rob in particular, has acted unprofessional, unwilling, and has lied to his boss and others about the messages and meeting that have occurred. He is the man in charge here in ********, and should conduct his job with a bit more responsibility and respect. Let me make it clear that the reason that this is to the attention of the Better Business Bureau and others it the fact that Rob said he and the company would make it right. He was the one who told me to give him certain information about my home in order for HIM to make the arrangements. I will and have in place plumbers and a system to put in my house in the near future. I will be accepting the monies that Big Mountain has offered. However, I head to the BBB and others, that a water filtration system be offered as part of the house package, as it was never offered to me.

Regards,

******** *******

Business Response:

Miss ******* seems to imply that Big Mountain is deliberately misleading or taking advantage of the customer.  We have corresponded with Miss ******* with regards to the water issue and would again let her know that we will pay up to $3,000 towards her water filtration system.  It is hard to determine why her well failed 1 out of the 3 tests made, it could be the well or a poor sample collected, as this happens.  Miss ******* seems to imply that homeowners are now offered a filtration system with no charge to them, this is not accurate or true.  If a customer desires such a system we charge them the fee for installation and have done this one time as the homeowner requested this.  This is no different than a customer asking for a fireplace and them being charged for this option, it is not a "freebie" .  To attack our company because of the quality of water coming out of the ground is confusing however we will do what we can to help the customer.
Regards, Bernie

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. The monies will go toward the new well I needed to put in which should have been done in January when the drillers told Rob that is what needed to be done. 

Regards,

******** *******

Consumer Response: ******** ******* ********************************   **** ******** **** **
 
  Message:
I have yet to recieve any money that Big Mountain Homes said would pay me. The amount was in $3000.00. I have yet to get this from them and I not only need this for the well I had drilled, but I am in desperate need of it since I paid first myself and now am out that amount plus more. Please email me regarding when I can obtain the amount disclosed and see them loose their accreditation. Thank you. 

Business Response: Big Mountain Homes has issued a check and it is available in the ******** ** office.  We will try and deliver the check either this week or next to end this dispute.  Thanks to the BBB for helping to resolve this issue.
Regards;
Bernie
Big Mountain Homes

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

First, the check Big Mountain Homes said that would be delivered to myself, was not. I received an email from Rob stating the check was available for pick up at the office and someone would be there to give it me. Second, when I went to pick up the check at approximately 5:20pm on 9/11/15 and was met by a man whom I had never met before. The man, Riley, had a letter that he said I needed to sign before receiving the check. This letter stated in part that by signing I was releasing Big Mountain Homes from any liability regarding this case and I would make right/recant any complaints I made with any other agencies. 
I refused to sign that letter as it comes back to the same issue I have had before. I do not feel that the money should be held hostage as it was promised to me. I did have a witness with me who also read the paper. I am very disturbed that this money is being held with such stipulations as these.
Thank you for you time in this matter.


******** *******

Business Response: In regards to Ms *******, we here at Big Mountain wish her well.  We apologize for tying to contact her directly, we must have misunderstood her comments when she stopped in our office 1/4 block from her home.  Her check has been issued and mailed and we are hoping her new water well brings her years of satisfaction and pride along with her new home.  Thanks again to the BBB for helping resolve this matter.
Regards,
Bernie
Big Mountain Homes

Consumer Response:

***** ****** ******* ******************************** *** ************************ ************************ ***** **** *** ** **** ** **** ** ******** *** ******** ***** 

Please forward to my dispute for Big Mountain Homes:

I have received the check dated September 1, 2015. The check has been through the bank and shows as cleared. I was waiting for that information before accepting the complaint. You may now change it to that status.

Thank you,

******** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Big Mountain Homes
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)