Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Big Mountain Homes

Phone: (307) 687-2006 Fax: (307) 687-2012 4950 Garner Lake Rd, Gillette, WY 82718

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Big Mountain Homes meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Big Mountain Homes include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Big Mountain Homes
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 31, 2008 Business started: 01/01/2006 Business started locally: 01/01/2006 Business incorporated 01/01/2006 in WY
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Nichole Biegler, President Mr. Bernard Biegler, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Nichole Biegler, President
Business Category

Home Builders Mobile Home Dealers Modular Home Builders

Alternate Business Names
Big Mountain Development Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Big Mountain Homes has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4950 Garner Lake Rd

    Gillette, WY 82718 (307) 687-2006


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my home in ********, North Dakota through Big Mountain. The water was not satisfactory and I sent complaints multiple times to those in charge. When I signed my mortgage, I still expressed concerns about the water issues. Bernie B******, had the water tested himself before closing and it came back fine, when I tested it two week after having it run constantly, it came back with TOTAL COLIFORM in that water. I had the water shocked and it came back clear of the coliform. However, the water is still so high in iron that it is ruining everything it comes in contact with. Big Mountain assured me they would take care of the problem. I even went to the city council to express my concerns about the water and at that point Rob W******* told everyone there they would make sure it was taken care of and soon. I have yet to have anything taken care of. I have sent email, faxes, and requests to have them take care of this issue with no avail. I have contacted the Consumer Protection Agency as well. This is unacceptable for any homeowner to deal with 4 months after purchasing a brand new home.

Desired Settlement: I would like the water filtration system put in and have Big Mountain make the arrangements. They are the ones who said they would take care of the issues and still have not. In fact, they want me to take care of this problem that was not mine to begin with. Something needs to be done and I would like an investigation into how the water was fine when Bernie tested it but within a month (after running it) it came back with TOTAL COLIFORM in it.

Business Response: Ms. ******* had notified us late last year of a water issue.  We paid to have her water tested and paid for the treatment of the well upon a new test it was determined there were no issues with the chloroform in the water.  We have worked with Ms ******* on this and the issue of the water color a** even offered to pay up to $3000 for a treatment system or new well whatever her choice.  Ms. ******* requested a water system that exceeded our allowance and would not cover the approximate $400 additional to cover the system of her choice.  She has decided to take this route instead.  The water issue should be brought to the state of North Dakota water Board as this would be the party responsible for the water quality issue, as we have had no other complaints in the area and have done over 25 households.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I have never received information about a $3000.00 allowance. This information, for some reason, was only mentioned to my mother who was in town for a short period of time. They never sent me this information or informed me of this. When I met with Rob W******* who works and is in charge of the ******** office, he stated that he would find someone who would do the system for a cheaper price, find out what kind of tankless water heater I would need, and stated in front of myself and another party, that HE would take care of it. Also, this issue was taken to the City Council in ******** in February a** it was stated there also, ON TAPE, that Big Mountain Homes would take care of the issue. I am sure that all parties that were present would account for this being said, including the city judge.
This issue was brought up to multiple people at Big Mountain and they have not done what they say they would do.  Also, there were others with poor water quality and have done their own work on getting the problem fixed in the area where my home is, the issue is - I bought a BRAND NEW HOME with water issues and I REFUSE to live in a home with poor water quality. They will fix the problem regardless of how much it costs because the problem is theirs not mine. They ordered the home, they placed it on the land, they called the well drillers, and they signed off on it being fine. I will not accept this as them 'fixing' the problem because they have not.


******** *******

Business Response: Tell us why here...Ms. ******* is taking the stance that Big Mountain is responsible for the quality of the water coming out of the ground.  This is simply nothing we can or will accept responsibility for.  Ms. ******* initial loan requirements were for *** and as such we tested this well and it passed, Ms. ******* has continually asked about the sampling and asked if she could deliver to a lab of her choice.  We granted this request and paid for this sample which came back unacceptable.  This could have been from several reasons with a high probability that the sample was not taken properly.  I myself have had this happen and I have tested many wells.  We at this time of the unacceptable reading implemented a well Shocking, as with such process Big Mountain absorb all costs associated with this action and as well paid for the additional test for which Ms. ******* submitted to the lab of her choice.  This reading came back acceptable,   Ms. ******* has taken this to the extreme and has decided to try and involve first the City of ********, who thought we went above and beyond, BBB and also the Attorney General.  This is a frustrating situation for all involved but her stating somehow the well driller, or Big Mountain is responsible for the quality of water she so desires is a bit of a stretch.  We have offered remedy to this situation with her involvement.  We are not and will not be held accountable for the quality of water from any well in Western North Dakota as that would need to be brought to the State Water Board.  We have offered to remedy this situation months ago, with paying up to $3,000 towards a water purification system, or a new well, it would be her choice.  Big Mountain is not installing a new system or well, this is something Ms ******* will have to initiate and schedule as the bid we received from her was more than the allotted money we have set aside.    Not one other customer or client has asked Big Mountain Homes to pay for a water filtration system in there new home,  I have information that two have been installed and paid for by others living in the community as their choice, 20 plus residents have done nothing,  We will state that Ms. ******* was directly involved with the allowance as she was on the phone when her mother was in the office a** this was again mentioned at another meeting with her present.  Please let me know if any other information is needed as we have met all federal requirements of this matter through testing as well as the state.
Big Mountain Homes 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I never indicated that Big Mountain or the well drillers were responsible for the water coming out of the ground. I have stated, quite clearly, that Big Mountain is responsible for providing adequate buisness to a consumer. I am frustrated of course, because I was not offered any ki** of solution to the issue until I made it an issue after buying my home that the water situation was not okay with buying a first time, brand new home. I am frustrated at the poor level of professionalism that has come from Rob W*******, the seco** ha** man down from Bernie. Rob has been rude, frustrating, a** inconsiderate to that fact that what he tells his boss, is false. I was told, yes (never denied) that I was offered monies to fix the water issue. I was NEVER given any type of paper of contract in regards to this. I do know that after this issue has arisen, new homes being built are now being offered a water filtration system put in with the cost of the home. This was never offered to me and I feel as though Big Mountain took advantage of a single, first-time home buyer in regards to not telling me any of the issues that might occur with having a well. I will be accepting the monies offered, because I know that my water will not be acceptable without this. What I am wanting not only Big Mountain, but people involved,to understand, is that Big Mountain, Rob in particular, has acted unprofessional, unwilling, and has lied to his boss and others about the messages and meeting that have occurred. He is the man in charge here in ********, and should conduct his job with a bit more responsibility and respect. Let me make it clear that the reason that this is to the attention of the Better Business Bureau and others it the fact that Rob said he and the company would make it right. He was the one who told me to give him certain information about my home in order for HIM to make the arrangements. I will and have in place plumbers and a system to put in my house in the near future. I will be accepting the monies that Big Mountain has offered. However, I head to the BBB and others, that a water filtration system be offered as part of the house package, as it was never offered to me.


******** *******

Business Response:

Miss ******* seems to imply that Big Mountain is deliberately misleading or taking advantage of the customer.  We have corresponded with Miss ******* with regards to the water issue and would again let her know that we will pay up to $3,000 towards her water filtration system.  It is hard to determine why her well failed 1 out of the 3 tests made, it could be the well or a poor sample collected, as this happens.  Miss ******* seems to imply that homeowners are now offered a filtration system with no charge to them, this is not accurate or true.  If a customer desires such a system we charge them the fee for installation and have done this one time as the homeowner requested this.  This is no different than a customer asking for a fireplace and them being charged for this option, it is not a "freebie" .  To attack our company because of the quality of water coming out of the ground is confusing however we will do what we can to help the customer.
Regards, Bernie

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. The monies will go toward the new well I needed to put in which should have been done in January when the drillers told Rob that is what needed to be done. 


******** *******

Consumer Response: ******** ******* ********************************   **** ******** **** **
I have yet to recieve any money that Big Mountain Homes said would pay me. The amount was in $3000.00. I have yet to get this from them and I not only need this for the well I had drilled, but I am in desperate need of it since I paid first myself and now am out that amount plus more. Please email me regarding when I can obtain the amount disclosed and see them loose their accreditation. Thank you. 

Business Response: Big Mountain Homes has issued a check and it is available in the ******** ** office.  We will try and deliver the check either this week or next to end this dispute.  Thanks to the BBB for helping to resolve this issue.
Big Mountain Homes

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

First, the check Big Mountain Homes said that would be delivered to myself, was not. I received an email from Rob stating the check was available for pick up at the office and someone would be there to give it me. Second, when I went to pick up the check at approximately 5:20pm on 9/11/15 and was met by a man whom I had never met before. The man, Riley, had a letter that he said I needed to sign before receiving the check. This letter stated in part that by signing I was releasing Big Mountain Homes from any liability regarding this case and I would make right/recant any complaints I made with any other agencies. 
I refused to sign that letter as it comes back to the same issue I have had before. I do not feel that the money should be held hostage as it was promised to me. I did have a witness with me who also read the paper. I am very disturbed that this money is being held with such stipulations as these.
Thank you for you time in this matter.

******** *******

Business Response: In regards to Ms *******, we here at Big Mountain wish her well.  We apologize for tying to contact her directly, we must have misunderstood her comments when she stopped in our office 1/4 block from her home.  Her check has been issued and mailed and we are hoping her new water well brings her years of satisfaction and pride along with her new home.  Thanks again to the BBB for helping resolve this matter.
Big Mountain Homes

Consumer Response:

***** ****** ******* ******************************** *** ************************ ************************ ***** **** *** ** **** ** **** ** ******** *** ******** ***** 

Please forward to my dispute for Big Mountain Homes:

I have received the check dated September 1, 2015. The check has been through the bank and shows as cleared. I was waiting for that information before accepting the complaint. You may now change it to that status.

Thank you,

******** *******