BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Tri-City Heating & Air Conditioning Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Tri-City Heating & Air Conditioning Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 493-0126 Fax: (970) 669-1760 127 12th St SW, Loveland, CO 80537 http://www.tricityhvac.net

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tri-City Heating & Air Conditioning Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tri-City Heating & Air Conditioning Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tri-City Heating & Air Conditioning Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 20, 2007 Business started: 04/01/2007 Business started locally: 04/01/2007 Business incorporated: 04/01/2007 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Darin Oshsner, President, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Darin Oshsner, President, Owner
Business Category

Heating Air Conditioning Suppliers Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Sheet Metal Companies Thermostat Suppliers Air Filter Cleaners Water Heater Dealers Air Conditioning Repair Companies Air Conditioning Cleaners Heater Cleaning Repair Services Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment Boiler Dealers Humidifier Suppliers Furnace Sales and Repair Services Air Conditioning Companies Boiler Repair Cleaning Companies Heat Pump Suppliers Heating Contractors Water Heater Repair Stores


Additional Locations

  • 127 12th St SW

    Loveland, CO 80537

  • PO Box 271972

    Fort Collins, CO 80527

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tri-City customer service is poor, they don't show up on time, return/answer phone calls. They also have a poor understanding of heat pump systems. In May my heat pump (heat and A/C) stopped working completely, so I called Tri-City (I had used them previously since my realtor recommended them) and another 2 companies to get estimates. ****** w/ Tri-city came out and I decided to have him replace the motor on the heat pump (outside) as he told me that was all it needed. (Another company had come out that morning and that is what they gave me a bid on too.) He replaced it with a generic part, but it stopped working again within the same day. It was another week before another visit with the tech Brandon, who replaced coolant and again said it was fixed. 15 minutes after he left, it stopped working again. I eventually got him to come back out and showed him where I thought it was leaking from the noises I had heard. Then he told me I needed a new filter welded on. They refunded me for the cost of the coolant that he had replaced since he missed the leaks entirely. We set up for that Friday morning at 0830, and I told him I would call if that wouldn't work (I didn't know if I could get off of work early or not.) Friday morning they never showed up. I called at 0900 to see if they were coming and left a voice mail. After a few hours without hearing anything, I called again and left another voicemail. I said there must have been a mis-communication and would like to re-schedule when they could get it fixed. I NEVER heard back from them. Since I needed to get this fixed and had already spent 3 weeks and hundreds of dollars, I got another company to come look at it. It was shocking to find out the status of the system is not even worth trying to fix and I had to replace the outside (heat pump) and inside (air handler). The other company couldn't believe that Tri-City had not seen all that was wrong (like the exsisting multiple massive leaks), how sloppy (fire hazard, inefficient, etc) the motor replacement wiring was, the trash they left, and that they NEVER called me back. I also showed the other two contractors my electric costs since I had purchased the house. BOTH thought that something was very wrong and it looked like the heat pump had NEVER worked like it should have and what I paid the last 3 winters was insane. They believe that even though the fan on the heat pump had worked- all the heat was coming from the emergency back up strips inside- which is why it was so expensive. Back in '09 and '10, I remember asking ****** with Tri-City (whom I had service it due to my realtor's referral) about how it worked etc and remember him telling me when I showed him a bill that he said that was just how heat pumps were. This week I researched how heat pumps work even more and learned with the early 80's model air handler (inside), the newer heat pump (outside) never would work well and burn out the condensers and other parts- needing to be replaced over and over. While this is great for Tri-City, I question the ethics of telling me it would be okay if I just kept fixing the things like this filter instead of replacing the whole system. Even though it was bad news, I am thankful the other TWO companies were honest with me about replacing the system instead of just repairing one part at a time. About a month later I got mail from Tri-City that was a duplicate of the bid they had given me before. No phone call, just a mailed print-out of the bid I already had for the one leaking filter. No mention of what happened a when they failed to show up or call me back. I wasted hundreds of dollars already on them "fixing" it, because they bid the lower price, and they can't even return phone calls. Not to mention the thousands extra on utility bills over the last 3 years since they apparently either don't know what they are doing, or prefer to keep fixing the little things to make more money. This week, I just got a card in the mail from them thanking me for my business.

Desired Settlement: I would like the money I spent in June on the heat pump motor and its installation ($287.48) refunded as the unit was worthless with or without the motor. It was unethical for Tri-City to keep making costly insignificant repairs as I found them when the system really needed replaced all along.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2012/11/01) */ I visited Mrs ******'s a few time and her equipment was in need of replacement and we even talked about it a few times how she would like to replace it some day when she had the money. The outdoor unit was installed under a deck which causes the head pressure of the unit to be naturally high but the unit was repairable. I was out of town when the service was supposed to take place and did not know that it didnt till I got this complaint. I no longer have that employee that decided not to show up that day.I will send Miss ****** a refund of the money she spent for us not showing up when we were supposed to. Thanks ****** *******. ***** will you confirm that your office received this email because I have responded to this already Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2012/11/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am not satisfied with Tri-City's response to my complaint for several reasons. I asked for only what I spent this summer on a useless repair. I did not ask for any of the money wasted prior to that on other repairs, my lost wages for leaving work hours early to be there for the missed appointment, or the absurd heating bills since the system never worked properly. When I purchased the home I had a home warranty that would have likely covered replacement of the system. Had I been told it's true condition by the contractor I mistakenly trusted, this could have saved me over ten thousand dollars. I asked to be reimbursed the $287.48. Tri-City said they are sending me a check for an amount LESS than this, based on an invoice that does NOT match the one I was issued at the time of service. My theory is they have poor book-keeping skills, but I have to wonder since a business should pay attention to detail especially where money is concerned. I am including a copy of the invoice I received and a copy of my cancelled check in the amount of $287.48. I also had to wonder why it took until November 10th to receive the refund check in the mail if it was mailed locally before the first of the month. They have NOT refunded me the money I spent this summer. Secondly, ******'s contention that this was the first he had heard about their failure to show up for the appointment is flawed unless he was on vacation the entire summer. Since in the three years I have used them, phone calls were never answered- always going to voice mail, I have no way of knowing whom listened to the multiple messages. But it was more than a month later when they mailed me a bid invoice for the work that was supposed to take place when they failed to show. I called at that time and let them know I would not be using them again and to not mail me anything more. That call went unanswered as well. It took multiple attempts by the BBB to get a response from my BBB complaint, which ****** states he already responded to, which must have gotten conveniently lost in the mail. Thirdly, ****** does not address his personal knowledge and skill or lack thereof with heat pump systems in his response. He says my equipment was in need of replacement and says we talked about replacing it when I had the money. He does not mention that I asked him repeatedly on multiple occasions if the fixes he kept proposing were worth it- if I could feasibly delay the replacement, or if the system's current performance after his "fixes" was normal. He assured me it was fine to wait and that it was acting as heat pumps should. An example of this is when the outdoor unit kept completely icing over when the temperatures were in the upper 40's or warmer with the heat on. ****** told me this was normal and that the system had an auto defrost function that took care of it. Other contractors and an HVAC educator at FRCC scoffed when I asked them about this, when I was inquiring how heat pumps worked. Apparently there is supposed to be an adjustable setting that can vary what temperature this happens at- if the system is in decent condition, even on the 2001 Heil model I had. They said this was further evidence it was not working as it should have since it iced over at these warmer temperatures regardless of its location. I suggest Mr. ******* and his staff get more training on heat pump systems before claiming to be able to service them properly in the future. If he and his staff are properly trained, then it is a question of ethics as I mentioned in my initial complaint. It would have been better had they told me to replace the whole system right away. I reject Tri-City's response and hope that the BBB will take a closer look at this company's practices and qualifications in issuing their rating to prevent other consumers from the same peril.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service