Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Northern Colorado Air Inc

Phone: (970) 223-8873 Fax: (970) 229-9983 View Additional Phone Numbers 812 Stockton Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80524

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Northern Colorado Air Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Northern Colorado Air Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 05, 1992 Business started: 10/01/1991 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Colorado Plumbing Board
1560 Broadway Ste 1500, Denver CO 80202
Phone Number: (303) 894-2300

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Roy R Griffin, President Ms. Joyce Griffin, Secretary/Treasurer Mr. Jeff Richard, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roy R Griffin, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Jeff Richard, General Manager
Business Category

Heating Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Heat Exchanger Dealers Sheet Metal Companies Thermostats Water Heaters - Dealers Water Heater - Tankless Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heater Cleaning Repair Services Boiler Dealers Boilers - Sales & Service Humidifier Suppliers Furnace Sales and Repair Services Furnace Cleaning Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boiler Repair Cleaning Companies Heat Pumps Heating Contractors Plumbers Water Heater Repair Stores

Products & Services

Northern Colorado Air Inc sells the following brand(s): Amana, Bradford White, Carrier, Dunkirk, Goodman, Heil, Honeywell, Lennox, LG, Mitsubishi, Rinnai

Industry Tips
HVAC Contractors : Hot & Cold Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Northern Colorado Air Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 812 Stockton Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80524 (970) 223-8873 (970) 686-8873


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Northern Colorado Air (NCA) in early August, and scheduled a service tech to assess both the heating and cooling unit for needed repairs. I make it very clear that I wanted both units looked at for possible issues. On 8/18 after they came out I paid $278, and was given an estimate for approximately $500 for additioinal need repairs. On 9-3 there was an issue with the air conditioner. They came out and said that this was not what they worked on (a new issue) and charged me another $228 to repair. I scheduled the additional estimated repairs ($500) for 10/22. This time the bill was $525 to do cleaning that was not seen previously. What I orignially asked them to do was to a complete assesment. So another $525 for this "new" service. They said that it would take another $500 to fix the air conditioning unit. They came out on 10/30, and guess what that only covered the parts, and not the labor. So this time it's $648. Now, after previously being at the house three prior times I'm told that the air ducts need cleaning. I understand they don't clean the ducting, but really....on the fourth trip. So, $1,679 later I can only hope that it all works correctly. I feel completely taken advantage of by this business.

Desired Settlement: A third party to determine what a reasonable charge for what they should be.

Business Response: ***,

Thanks for taking time to call me back today and discussing the chain of events.  I believe we have everything up to 100% satisfaction now with your service.  We appreciate your business.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I was contacted by **** *******, the General Manager, regarding this issue. I wish that we had gotten together earlier as that woudl have avoided all of this. I now believe this was a communication problem. After **** explained everything to me I completely understand why the repairs were made and the associated billing fees. I no longer have any issue with Northern Colorado Air Inc. I would now continue to recommend them to anyone considering heating or air conditioning service.


****** ********

11/14/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******** came over to fix my furnace and quoted me 290 to replace the inducer blower or blower motor (whichever it was, they called it different names twice). I was out of town during the repair, so i gave the sales representative my credit card information after ******** told me the total charge would be NO more then the 290 that was quoted including the parts, labor and diagnostic fee. He never left a receipt or told me of any other charges after this point. It wasn't until today, when I was reviewing my credit card statement that I noticed the 100+ dollar fee added. I called the company immediately explaining the situation and the lady on the phone proceeded to hang up on me. This is the worst service I have ever had with any kind of repair and I feel this company was very dis-honest with me up-front and then provided horrible costumer service resolving this issue. I have never had a business representative hang up on me before.

Desired Settlement: I feel that once I was quoted 290 and after i repeatedly asked is this the total price including labor, parts and the diagnostic fee, that if there was any additional charges they would be brought up before the charge or even before the work was even done. I never received a receipt for this work, so I really feel this company was just trying to hide the charges and make a quick buck.

Consumer Response: ---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: ***** ****** <**************************>
Date: Thu, Nov 14, 2013 at 3:20 PM
Subject: Complaint against Northern Colorado Air (***** ******
To: ******************

I was contacted by **** a manager at Northern Colorado Air and the problem was resolved in a fair and well manor. 
***** *

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Northern Colorado Air Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart