Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Canyon Mechanical Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Canyon Mechanical Inc

Phone: (970) 532-0755 Fax: (970) 532-4487 2128 1st St, Berthoud, CO 80513


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Canyon Mechanical Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Canyon Mechanical Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Canyon Mechanical Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 16, 1994 Business started: 07/01/1992 Business started locally: 07/01/1992 Business incorporated: 01/23/1995 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Nancy Whitfield, Secretary Mr. Dennis Whitfield, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Nancy Whitfield, Secretary
Business Category

Heating Air Conditioning Sheet Metal Companies Water Heaters - Dealers Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Water Heater Repair Stores

Industry Tips
HVAC Contractors : Hot & Cold Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Canyon Mechanical Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We called for an estimate on fixing our A/C at the house. The technician came out and gave an estimate-and a bill for $100. This charge was NOT disclosed up front, and we would not have had them out if we would have known. When ***, the technician was contacted regarding this charge, he became belligerent and insulting to us, and told us to never call them for service again. Remember, this is a surprise charge to us. The owner called shortly after, and was unwilling to remove the charge we never agreed to because it was "industry standard" and we should have known! Really-how often does someone hire HVAC? And there are ads all over for "free estimates". We have no way of anticipating a charge that was not disclosed up front. When we refused to pay, the owner said he will wait 30 days then turn us into collections! For a charge we never knew about or agreed to!

Desired Settlement: Not paying the $100 charge that was NOT disclosed and was a surprise charge after the fact.

Business Response: Dear BBB, 
This Customer called us on a Sunday evening at approximately 6:30 and left a message with our 
answering service.  The message reads that his A/C unit is not functioning properly and would like a 
return call.   Our Service Tech returned his call, and the customer scheduled a service call for 3:30 on Monday afternoon.  There was never a mention that this was for an A/C estimate, (which we do free of charge).  This was a Service call to repair the customers A/C unit.   All service calls are $90 + a trip charge ($10.00 in this case), which is standard in the Heating and Air Conditioning Industry. 
When our service tech arrived there was nobody there besides their son.  *** was unable to repair the 
A/C unit due to the fact the Compressor was out on the Condenser.    We wrote them up a quote for 2 
options for replacement of their A/C unit.    When the invoice was sent to them (along with the Estimate 
for a new system) a note was put at the bottom of the invoice saying if the Estimate was accepted, the 
invoice would be void.   This was a service call, not a Scheduled Estimate, and we do not schedule 
appointments for “free repair estimates”.  There is not a company out there that does that. Most 
companies have a Diagnostic Charge, and then charge another fee to repair. Had it been scheduled as an 
A/C estimate you would have thought an adult would be there and not just their young son? 
This customer did call complaining to *** and yelling at him for performing his services while only their son was home, and for having their son sign the invoice which acknowledged the fact *** was there.  *** could not get them to understand the policy and the fact it was a “Service Call”.   The Owner / President then called the customer and spoke with him.  At that point the customer said he understood and would be sending his check for $100.00.   Obviously he really had no intentions on paying. 

This customer begins her complaint with “we called for an estimate on fixing our A/C at the house”. 
That is a Service Call!   Nowhere in this complaint does it mention that they called to schedule an A/C 
Estimate to replace their unit, they wanted us to repair it.  She also mentions “ Really - how often does 
someone hire HVAC?” 
In response to that - People hire them daily.   We are called 2-3 times a year from the same customer for regular routine maintenance on their equipment.  When they call, they all expect to pay for the services at the time of their schedule appointment. 
We do not make it a practice to “surprise” our customers with a charge.  I suggest if you are unaware of a charge, (with any services) you should ask at the time of scheduling your appointment.  People ask us all the time when scheduling.  It’s just common practice. 

We are a very reputable company and have been in business for over 22 years.  There is a reason we 
hold an A+ rating with the BBB.  Our goal is to serve the community with respect, fairness and integrity. 
In a case like this, (which we rarely ever see) we try to work with the customer and come to a conclusion which works best for both of us.  In this case, the customer (Husband), agreed on the phone that he understood it was a Service Call and would be paying the invoice. 

The only other option we can offer would be to remove the $10.00 Trip Charge from this invoice.  This would leave the remaining balance of $90.00 due.  They were informed if not paid it would be turned into collections.  We will allow them 30 days for payment. 

Sincerely, 

Canyon Mechanical, Inc. 
Heating and Air Conditioning

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: 

Today, just to make this mess go away, we paid the $90.00.  I am glad they admitted the appointment was at 3:30, because *** shows up at 1:30 which is why no adult was present. I would also like to submit the following website copy, which also proves them wrong.  Note the capitlaized line-FREE estimates.   Also, no one yelled the entire time in this process except ***, the technician. I am saddened that the need to be right prompts them to lying, even when faced with their own copy on their own website.  I still submit they are unethical and charged us unnecessarily.  

Found on CanyonMechanical.com:

Canyon Mechanical, Inc. provides expert commercial and residential air conditioning and heating repair, service & installation

Serving the Berthoud, Fort Collins, Loveland and Northern Colorado area since 1992

Licensed/Bonded/Insured - FREE Estimates - Over 30 Years Experience

Regards,

******** ******