Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Lee's Hardwood Floors

Phone: (970) 686-2191 Fax: (970) 686-0226 201 N 7th St, Windsor, CO 80550

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lee's Hardwood Floors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lee's Hardwood Floors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lee's Hardwood Floors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 31, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984
Business Management
Mr. Terry Ferris, Owner Mr. Del Ferris Ms. Lylah Ferris, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Lylah Ferris, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Terry Ferris, Owner
Business Category

Hardwood Floor Contractors Granite Distributors Carpet Stores Carpet & Rug Pads, Linings & Accessories Counter Top Suppliers Floor Materials Vinyl Flooring Suppliers Flooring Retailers Non-ceramic Tile Stores Tile & Marble Carpet And Rug Distributors Tile Sales Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication Kitchen and Bath Remodelers Carpet & Rug Repair Carpet Layers Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Ceramic Tile Companies Remodelers

Additional Locations

  • 201 N 7th St

    Windsor, CO 80550 (970) 686-2191


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lee's Hardwood returned for a second ****** treatment of our main-floor hardwood. The two workers poured the remaining ****** down our laundry room sink. There is ****** material that has hardened on the surrounding linoleum of the sink and there is dried ****** down the side of the sink into the drain. It has dried as a thick, clear coating that cannot be removed by our home methods.

Desired Settlement: Lee's hardwood service initially was unacceptable. Second service remedied debris/puddling/bubbling issues. Workers left ****** on home services without any effort to clean up. Homeowners consider it vandalism and gross negligence of homeowner's property.

Business Response: We re-coated/******* the hardwood flooring on June 30, 2014 per our contract agreement with Mrs. *****. She called us back due to debris in the finish and bubbling that would be caused by a contaminant that was on the flooring prior to us re-coating (which we do not warranty per our contract agreement). We re-coated again on July 1, 2014 to take care of any issues. Mrs. ***** called that afternoon because she was still not happy with the coating and wanted someone at her house immediately. Unfortunately, we did not have anyone available to look at her floor until Wednesday the 2nd and she said she was leaving town so *** (one of the owner's) told her to please call us as soon as she gets back into town so we can get this resolved. We still have not heard from her. This is also the first time that we have been told about the materials being poured down the sink and things getting ruined. Mrs. ***** did not disclose this information to us until now. We would appreciate a chance to fix any issues before a complaint is filed.   

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

As you can read from my complaint, my contacting the BBB had nothing to do with the ****** treatment of the hardwood itself.  All of ***'s false statements should be disregarded simply because he addressed the treatment of the flooring and our dissatisfaction which again, has no bearing on this complaint.  Quite frankly, my husband and I were NOT going to contact Lee's Hardwood about the flooring.  Again, the second job is/was acceptable to us once the ****** fully cured.  Please reread our complaint.  

The two technicians poured out the remainder of the ****** liquid down our laundry room sink.  Again, we consider this vandalism.  The technicians were either grossly negligent about how to PROPERLY dispose of ****** liquid or they did it maliciously.  Either way, this is totally unacceptable.  We will have to hire someone to have the ****** professionally cleaned from the sink and surrounding linoleum and we will have to hire a plumber to scope the plumbing to assess how much ****** is there.  We want nothing further to do with Lee's Hardwood and are so shocked that their employees would do this.  Why in the world would we contact Lee's Hardwood again?  As is obvious with ***'s lies and aggressive, negative tone regarding myself, this is not a business we want to communicate with.  We would like our payment back in full due to the vandalistic behavior of Lee's Hardwood employees.  Noting of course, this has absolutely nothing to do with the hardwood flooring.  I have taken pictures of the ****** in the sink and would gladly send those to a mediating party.        


******* *****

Business Response:

We were never informed of damages to the sink or surrounding flooring until we got a notice from BBB. Not to sure what LIES Mrs. ***** is talking about that is pertaining to ***. She's never discussed this situation with him. We should have been informed of any damages done so that we can have a chance to get it fixed and we can address this situation with our employees instead of demanding the full payment back and not allowing us to have our plumber come in and give us a cost for the repairs. This is not vandalism/negligence. The finish is water based and cleans up with water. We need to get the chance to look at the damages and send our plumber out before we will settle for anything.   

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

My husband will deal with this situation from now on.  Sure.  Have your plumber come out at his convenience of course, and see how the ****** dried when we arrived back home Sunday night.  It may be water soluble, but if it isn't rinsed down the sink and it isn't poured down the sides and onto the sink's linoleum, it hardens and cures just like it does on the floor.  Your technicians simply poured it down the sink.  My husband can be reached at ********.  I would ask that you would refrain from disputing whether or not it is vandalism until you see the actual proof for yourself.  


******* *****

9/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contracted with Lee's Hardwood Flooring, also known as ********* ****** ******, to refinish floor and stabilize 13 step stair case. My husband and I expressed our concern about the instability of the stair case to the owner, Mr. *** ****** and asked what could be done to correct it. Mr.****** told us it would be no problem, it could be stabilized by replacing our old newel post with a much larger one. I asked if this alone would correct the "wobbly stair case" and he, in no uncertain terms, replied, "I guarantee if it doesn't, you can have it for free!"Upon completion of the work, however, the new and larger newel post DID NOT correct the instability of the stair case. It's as wobbly as before. The stain on it also did not match the rest of the stair case so we had Mr. ****** come back to look at that and I also addressed the issue with the staircase. Mr. ****** was defensive about both of our concerns, raising his voice to emphasize it. I, in turn raised my voice and he got even more upset and yelled even louder--very unprofessional. I felt threatened in my own home. And he denied ever telling me he was to do more than to replace the newel post. We replaced the old one for the new one because we were told it would stabilize the stair case. It did not. I told Mr. ****** about his guarantee and that we DID NOT want it for free--we just wanted the staircase stabilized! He said he would do it if we paid him,that his agreement was only to replace the post!! My husband and I have lived in this community for over 60 years and have never dealt with a more unethical and unprofessional business man as Mr. ******. Lee's Flooring did our original flooring when we first purchased our home 20yrs ago and we also had it refinished by them approx. 10yrs ago. We had no problems with them then. My husband has severe arthritis in his knees and uses the railing for support. We contracted, in good faith, for Lee's Hardwood Flooring,(********* ****** ******) as professionals, to correct the problem and it was not. Product_Or_Service: 5/202013

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) We no longer wish to do business with Lee's Hardwood, ********* ****** ******. But our railing needs to be stabilized. Since Lee's wasn't able to correct it, we want to contract with another company who can do it and have Lee's Hardware pay for the cost of the repairs. We hired a professional to tell us how to correct a problem and what was necessary to correct it. They told us they could do it but failed to do so.

Business Response: Please change the name of the business to Lee's Hardwood Flooring, Inc.. This is the company that contracted with the ********** to do the work. The owner that was actually at the house was ****** ******. *** has never been there. We only discussed stabalizing a newel post at the bottom of the staircase and re-finish the existing flooring therefore we are not willing to pay someone else to go in and perform addtional work that we did not contract to do in the first place. Our estimate that was sent out and our contract only included fixing a newel post per ****** and Mr. ********** conversation. The MRS was not there. We can definately go in and fix the rest of the handrail but we request that the MRS is not there due to yelling and obsenities that the owner had received. We do not want to put our employees in the same kind of situation. There will be an additional charge for this because we never bid to do this originally. I have also included a statement from ****** ****** and 2 employees that worked with the **********.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Dear Ms. ***** *****:

This letter is to let you know that to date there has been
no resolution in our case regarding Lee’s Hardwood Flooring. Reference Case #*******

Since my initial complaint filed on 7/20/2013 regarding
failure of said company to fix our unstable stair railing and a second
compliant regarding Mr. ****** ****** calling us at our home shortly after the
compliant in an effort to intimidate us asking why we had contacted BBB and
that he may need to contact his attorney . We have seen only a rebuttal letter
from Mr. ****** ****** submitted to the BBB. This letter was not forwarded to
us until August 20, 2013.

My husband and I wish to reiterate that Lee’s Hardwood
Flooring failed to stabilize our stair case railing. I am attaching a copy of statement
from contract package that states “We guarantee that our installation and refinishing
standards meet and /or exceed the standards as determined by the National Flooring
Manufacturing Association (NWFMA……” Lee’s Hardwood did not live up to their
guarantee—neither their verbal nor written guarantee. The reason for replacing
the Newell post was to stabilize the railing which was unstable and needed to
be stabilized. I personally showed him how wobbly it was by shaking it. That’s
when he verbally said that if the new post didn’t fix the problem he would fix
the problem for free. We also feel that after the Newell Post was installed,
their installer should have said that further work was needed to increase

Because we want closure on this matter, we are willing to
comprise with Lee’s Flooring by asking that our Visa account be credited for
10% of our total bill of $1416.50. 10% computes to $141.50. This compromise
lets us resolve the matter without having any contact with each other..


******** * ********

Business Response:

We responed to the first complaint on August 2, 2013 so I don't understand why the ********** did not review our response until August 20, 2013. We were never informed of a second complaint.

We are not willing to refund 10% of the entire job. The majority of the cost had to do with the hardwood flooring being refinished which is not the concern. As per our estimate dated May 14, 2013 the cost of the Newel is $280.00. This is the amount that we would be willing to refund 10% on which would be $28.00. We were asked to replace the newel post and that's what we did. We did not contract to do anything with the handrail upstairs. If we had bid to "stabalize" the handrail we would have done so. I have attached a copy of the estimate to show the cost. When ****** ****** did the estimate on May 10, 2013 at 2:00pm he met with ***** ******** not Lorraine ********. ***** never pointed out a wobbly handrail. He just requested to have the newel post replaced.  

FYI...The NWFMA (National Wood Flooring Manufacturors Association) pertains to a guarantee of hardwood flooring being installed correctly.

Thanks for your time.

***** ******

Consumer Response: **** * ********* **
******** ** *****
September 9, 2013
Ms. ***** *****
VP Dispute Resolutions
Better Business Bureau

Dear Ms. ***** *****:
My husband and I have tried to be fair and open-minded in regards to our compliant against Lee’s Hardwood Floors, but they are attempting to hide behind their contract. They say they were hired only to install the Newell post and refinish our hardwood floors. The reason to replace the Newell post was to stabilize the wobbly stair railing.  Both ***** and recall that when we talked to ****** *****, that we both showed him that stair railing was unstable. We are puzzled as to why he insists that staircase was not pointed out to him. We also feel Mr. ***** infers that we are liars. He insists that I was not present when the wobbly handrail was discussed, but I was present. Any remodeling projects in our house is never done without each other’s presence.
This has clearly become a “he said and she said” situation with no resolution in sight. It is our understanding that among the many things BBB does in the interest of both the public and businesses, is to provide information about a company and in particular whether or not there are unanswered or unsettled complaints or other problems.
As such, ***** and I are asking that the BBB publish the text of our two complains. We will not accept the $28.00 credit as offered. All we want is for the public to know that Lee’s verbal promises are worthless.
******** L ******** & ***** D ********