Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Jensen Arms

Phone: (970) 663-5994 Fax: (970) 461-7749 285 E 29th St # E, Loveland, CO 80538 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.jensenarms.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business sells firearms, ammo, knives, holsters, optics, police equipment, tactical and military gear. They are also a dealer in Class III firearms and weapons.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jensen Arms meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jensen Arms include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jensen Arms
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 05, 2012 Business started: 01/01/1994 Business started locally: 01/01/1994 Business incorporated 11/09/2012 in CO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Burrud, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Burrud, Owner
Business Category

Gun Dealers Gun sights, Scopes & Mounts Men's Clothing Stores Police Equipment Sporting Goods - Retail Sporting Goods Stores Ammunition Ammunition & Reload Equipment & Supplies Ammunition Reloading Military Goods

Alternate Business Names
Burrud Arms Inc
Products & Services

gun cases, packs, gun parts, supressors, Adcor Defense, ATI, Auto Ordnance, Benelli, Beretta, Browning, Bulgarian Surplus, Bushmaster, Century, Charter Arms, Chiappa, Colt, CZ-USA, Dan Wesson, Diamond Back, DPMS, DS Arms, Ed Brown, Excel Arms, FNH, Fulton Armory, Glcok, GSG, H&R, Heckler & Koch, Henry, ISSC, James River Armory, Kahr, Kel Tec, Kimber, Legacy Sports, LMT, Marlin, Maverick, MKS Supply, Mossberg, Noveske, Polish Surplus, PTR 91, Remington, Robinson Armament, Rock River Arms, Ruger, Russian Surplus, Sabre Defense, Sako, Savage, Sig Sauer, Smith & Wesson, Springfield Armory, Stag Arms, Steyr, Stoeger, Surgeon, Taurus, Walther, Weatherby


Additional Locations

  • 285 E 29th St # E

    Loveland, CO 80538 (970) 663-5994

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was not able to get a full refund for some merchandise that I was charged for and never received. I was only refunded the cost of what the guns were going to be but not the remaining taxes. The owner said the taxes went to the City of Loveland and could not be given back to me. This makes no sense, since I am not getting the merchandise. Why can't the taxes be given back? I'm sure if or when the merchandise comes in, then it will be sold and taxed again. Therefore, the product will be taxed twice unless they sale the item tax free since they are keeping my money for the taxes. I would think that the individual who actually gets the merchandise should be paying the taxes.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get the rest of my money refunded to me.

Business Response: The customer in question pre-bought 2 firearms and wanted his money back after only a few weeks. It is our store policy and this policy is known by every employee that we do not return money on pre-paid guns. It is also a store policy to inform the customer of this fact and to never promise a firm delivery date, because we are at the mercy of our manufacturers and wholesalers to get certain product. In our industry delays happen frequently and it is our policy to inform customers of this. This customer stated that he was never told of these policies and didn't even think he was actually buying the guns, but simply putting them on hold. I find this claim highly unlikely for two reasons.
 
1. We DO NOT put guns on hold except for a few hours to enable someone to drive a long distance to pick up a gun and not be disappointed.
 
2. This customer walked away with a receipt for purchase of the guns which clearly showed that he had pre-purchased these guns and that sales tax was charged.
 
I later received an email with a rambling letter attached that was full of inconsistencies, accusations, and threats. Please see attached.
 
While the letter was quite disturbing, I sent him an email and responded to all of his accusations in a calm and professional manner. (see attached) I was apologetic and courteous as I outlined why we have these polices in place. 
 
He responded with another email asking me for further clarification of the sales tax issue. (see attached) Once again, I responded with a very detailed email, (see attached) first thanking him for his correspondence, and then going into greater detail regarding sales tax which is collected at the point of the sale. I explained why we have certain procedures in place and gave him "real world" examples of other customers to reinforce what I was saying. I ended my correspondence by letting him know how seriously I take customer service and asking him if there was anything else that I could do to be of service to him. 
 
I make customer service the most important goal for myself and my employees. I took personal interest in this customers concerns, as I always do, and I truly thought that I had addressed his concerns.
 
If you have any further questions please do not hesitate to call or email me.
 
Thank you,
 
john

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I was not told the protocols and policies by any employee at the business regarding the fact that there was a no return policy for what I did. I was told by an employee that the firearms were being delivered on Monday, therefore, that told me that the guns were on their way, not that they were on order, not that they were on back order, etc.  The guns were being shipped and would be at the store.  This is what I was told, therefore, I felt it was okay to ask to reserve the firearms.  I would not have done so otherwise.  So that is what I did and I was told I could.  I was not told that there was no return policy and that doing this meant I could not get a refund and it was like walking out the door with the merchandise in hand.  If I had been told that the guns were on order and not being delivered or that there was not a return policy for something I did not have in my hands, then I would not have asked to reserve the firearms.  All of this very important information was not relayed properly. Since I did not have the merchandise, I thought I could get my money back after waiting for 3 weeks for something that I was under the impression was being delivered Monday and would have gotten there in a week.  Obviously I would not have asked for a refund had I been told before that I could not get a refund, but I did because I was not told that I could not.  Other places such as ******* allow you to return items and get your money back as well as the taxes.  They do not withhold taxes.  Jensens did not inform me of their policy and the owner refunded me the cost of the firearms but not the taxes.  Again, why are the taxes not refundable, regardless of when or why they are charged or where they go.  Other stores refund taxes.  By not refunding the taxes that means the firearms taxes have been paid for and if they are sold and taxes are charged again, then that would be double dipping on the taxes, because I already paid for the taxes.  Shouldn't the person who is actually going to have the firearms in their hands be the one paying the taxes?  Is Jensens going to sale these firearms off their shelves without taxes?  The owner and store already admitted fault by refunding the cost of the firearms and I have asked to have the taxes also refunded just like any other store or normal situation, but they refuse to do so. Whether the taxes go to them or to the city of Loveland or anywhere else, it should be refundable to the person who does not have the merchandise, just like any other store would do with any product that was brought back to them for a refund.  If the taxes can be charged, then they can be uncharged.  How is it a one way street?  It is robbery and if taxes are charged again to someone else, then it is fraud.

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response: Regarding Complaint: ********                                                                                 July 15, 2016
I understand that Mr. ***** is rejecting our explanation, but contrary to what Mr. ***** contends, I have checked with my employees and General manager Mike R*** who were present during the sale and they have confirmed that Mr. ***** was absolutely told of our company’s no refund policy that day, as is every other customer who pre-purchases a weapon. Mr. ***** claimed that he didn’t even know that he was pre-purchasing the two guns. This seems unlikely since Mr. ***** walked out with a “paid in full” receipt for both guns. 
Contrary to Mr. *****’s claims, no one told him that the gun would be here the following week. Our store has been operating for nearly 2 decades and we simply know better than to promise a buyer that his gun will arrive on a certain date because our retail store is subject to the very common delays of gun manufacturers and suppliers. It’s my belief that Mr. ***** got anxious about getting his guns and shopped somewhere else. It is a fact, as Mr. ***** stated, that he bought these same guns at another store after only a few short weeks after pre-purchasing them here and then came in demanding his money back. Never did Mr. ***** consult with any of my managers or myself that he wanted to do this prior to purchasing guns elsewhere. Mr. ***** claims in his rejection of our explanation that: “The owner and store already admitted fault by refunding the cost of the firearms…”. This is patently untrue. I told Mr. ***** that it was not my store policy to refund money on pre-purchases. Mr. ***** seemed very disappointed and feeling compassion for him and as the owner of the store I told him that I would make an exception and refund his purchase price, but could not refund his sales tax. He seemed very relieved and genuinely satisfied with my compromise.  Mr. ***** has made it clear that this was simply a ruse and that he wasn’t satisfied at all.  
Mr. ***** uses word like fraud and robbery and I take personal issue to these attacks. I take this matter very seriously. I did my very best to satisfy my customer even though it went against my store policy. I try my very best to treat every customer with respect and courtesy. I DID pay the sales tax to the city, county and state and this can be confirmed through tax records. 


Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

I understand that the employees of Jensen Arms are giving false information about the situation and the information I was given. The owner (Mr. John B*****) was not there in the beginning and he can only go by what they tell him.  Here is what I know to the best of my knowledge about the situation.

I called Jensen Arms to see if they had the merchandise in stock.  I was told on the phone it is not in the store but they had a delivery coming.  To me, this meant it was on its way and being shipped to the store. At this day and age with technology people can tell when things are being delivered and orders have been filled, so that is what I took this to mean.  I was under the impression the merchandise was being shipped and delivered to the store so that is why I went to the store to see if I could put it on hold.  I was told yes and again I was told by Mr. Mike R*** who was in the store that they had a delivery coming.  So based on this information I decided to go ahead and put the merchandise on hold.  Now when I decided this I was not sure what that was going to mean, but since the product was being delivered that was just about as good as having it in the store and I would not have to wait long.  Now some places will just put your credit card on hold and charge it when you actually pick up the merchandise, some places charge ahead of time and some might just charge a holding fee.  These are all the ways I have experienced things.  I did my best to make sure the merchandise was on its way so I would not have to deal with waiting long or it never coming in and had I been told otherwise then I would not have asked to hold the merchandise.  I wanted something to be able to walk away with right then, but the next best thing was to wait for that delivery to come in which I figured would have been at most a week to get through the mail or delivery company.  So that was the first thing that I was told and had I been told differently would not have given my credit card.  Secondly nobody there ever told me that giving my credit card to put the merchandise on hold meant I could not get a refund.  This of all things would have been a huge red flag for me and I would have never ever given my credit card.  I was under the impression that first the merchandise was being delivered so I only had to wait for the mail to come in and second because I was not leaving the store with anything I could get a refund.  Two very crucial mistakes were made and I was not given the appropriate information.  So now I was on my way without the aforementioned very important information and only a receipt that said I had 30 days for a return/refund.  I called every week for 3 weeks to see where the merchandise was and nobody could or would tell me anything except we have to wait until the mail comes in.  So now after 3 weeks have gone by I am stuck without the merchandise coming in, which I expected to be in by the 1st week since it was being delivered already, and a receipt that said I only have 30 days for a refund/return.  I made another call to ask what happens when the merchandise is not here yet and I exceed the 30 day refund/return policy.  I was told not to worry about it, they would understand and it would not be a problem.  Then I thought those are just words, which does not mean they will stand by that and all I really have in writing is this receipt saying 30 day refund/return.  I felt I had waited a very reasonable amount of time for a product that was on delivery 3 weeks ago and still not available.  So then I begin to be concerned that I was going to be getting my credit card bill and have to pay it for something that I obviously did not have and at this point was possibly never going to get as I was told.  So I decided to shop around to see if I could get the merchandise somewhere else.  I did find what I wanted somewhere else and based on the information I was not told when I was at Jensen Arms, I went in to get a refund.  This is when a different cashier became very rude, because I was not aware of their policy and the owner (Mr. John B*****) finally became involved.  Mr. B***** told me he would not and could not give me my money back and it was not their policy.  I told him that I was not given that information and was going to purchase the merchandise somewhere else after waiting 3 weeks for something that was being delivered to Jensen Arms and still had not shown up and nobody communicated anything to me.  Mr. B***** told me that I should have been told about things and that someone should have communicated things to me.  So I think after hearing this, he finally decided to give me back the cost of the guns but not the taxes.  I did not understand this but felt I had to agree to his terms or I was not going to get anything based on how he initially acted.  I now feel that the company put on a ruse to get me in, get my money, and be less then forthcoming about the entire process.  Everything I did would not have been done had I been told one of two things: 1) we don’t know when the merchandise will be here, but it is on order; 2) if you put this on your credit card, then there is no refund.  I still to this day do not know why it is okay to keep the taxes on a refund.  I could understand if there was perhaps a stocking or re-stocking fee for putting something on hold, which there was not. So if I had been told one of these two things above, then I would have either went somewhere else or waited until the merchandise was actually in the store.

How come nobody can answer these questions: 1) Why can ******* and other stores give refunds including taxes but Jensen Arms cannot? 2) Who pays the taxes when the merchandise comes into the store and is put on the shelf to be sold? Who pays for the taxes when the product is sold and taken out of the store? If the product, has not been taken from the store, then why can’t the taxes be refunded?  3) The store is paying the taxes with my money and I don’t have the merchandise so what happens to the taxes when the merchandise is sold, since the taxes have already been paid?  Is the merchandise now tax free with my money or will it be taxed again?

I never asked for Jensen Arms to order the merchandise which I would totally understand me having to pay for it and not getting a refund or if I would have walked out the door with the merchandise.  But when I was never told about this no refund policy applying to something that was already being delivered to the store and I did not have in hand, how am I to avoid this problem?  I can’t, I can only go by what information I was given.  I don’t think that I am asking for anything unreasonable based on the information I was given at the time and what I had to go through.  I’m only asking for all of my money back which includes taxes for something I don’t have and will never have.  I would have never imagined that I would have been involved in such a process.

That is all I have to say.  The truth is there to speak for itself. I have no reason to lie, because the simple matter of the fact is that had I been told the information I was supposed to be told, according to Mr. B*****, then I would not have put the merchandise on hold or gone back to ask for something that I clearly was supposed to already know was store policy and not possible, I would have known better than to do that. It appears that I was never told anything in true form, until I asked for my money back as the store could not deliver on their word.  I’m only asking for what I think is fair, but that still may be too much to ask for. 

***** *****

Business Response:

***** ******* *** ******* ********** ************************ ********* *************** *** ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** ** ********

Dear *****,
 
Per our conversation, I'm attaching a copy of ***** *****s original receipt and refund as well as pictures of our posted return policy.
 
In one of Mr. *****s previous lengthy email he states: "If I would have special ordered them, then I would totally understand not being able to get all my money back."  
 
Mr. *****s can claim whatever he wants about what he was told or wasn't told, but facts speak for themselves, and it's clearly stated on his receipt that he did, in fact, special order and pre-paid for both guns.
 
Hopefully this answers any question as to Mr. *****s false claims and accusations.
 
Best regards,
 
john b*****
 
John B*****
President/Owner
B***** Arms Inc.
dba: Jensen Arms

285 East 29th St.
Suite E
Loveland, CO 80538

Attachments area



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Jensen Arms
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)