Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Rick's New & Used Home & Office Furniture

Phone: (970) 352-5560 2606 8th Ave, Garden City, CO 80631 http://www.ricksfurnitureonline.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rick's New & Used Home & Office Furniture meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rick's New & Used Home & Office Furniture include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rick's New & Used Home & Office Furniture
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 20, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1983 Business started locally: 01/01/1983
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Rick Downey, Owner Mr. Roger Archuleta, Manager Ms. Susan Downey, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Downey, Owner
Business Category

Furniture - Retail Mattress Retailers Furniture - Wholesale Bed Retailers

Alternate Business Names
Rick's Furniture

Additional Locations

  • 2606 8th Ave

    Garden City, CO 80631 (970) 352-5560

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a defective recliner chair and Rick's ********* has a "no service here" attitude. A "buyer beware" attitude. He is a skilled crook that preys on unsuspecting customers. He verbally refused any service, refused a refund, refused to work with me in any way. He cashed my check electronically before my tail lights were out of sight and refuses to stand behind his product. This chair is out of balance and falls over to the side. My elderly father can not use this chair. We are ******* without your help.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund. period. I want a million miles away from this guy and his business.

Business Response: The chair was a new **** brand recliner purchased on the afternoon of 7/22/15 after they tried several models. We loaded the chair they chose, not one out of the box. *** ******* called on 7/23/15 telling me the recliner purchased was a piece of shit and demanded me not to cash her check. I informed her the check went into our bank on 7/22/15. *** said she would stop payment on the check and return the recliner on 7/25/15 then hung up on me. A short time later she called back saying how big of crooks we are and she will be taking us to small claims court and turning us over to you the BBB. On 7/24/15 her husband called wanting to resolve this issue. I informed him I own as do my parents and friends the same make and model and never heard of one falling over in the past 20 years of selling **** Chairs. I at that time offered him trade out for the chair which we had just unboxed or in store credit for the total amount spent, but we do not ever give cash back. It is posted on their ticket, plus right above our desk where they paid, also above all exits is posted "sorry no cash refunds". He then became angry and asked if we wanted to do this the easy way or the hard way. He stated he will be turning us over to the BBB and taking us to small claims court. I replied I have an A+ rating with the BBB and have had 3 conflicts in 32 years. One small claims court appearance in the same amount of time, which went in our favor. I consider this chair used at this time and will not exchange or give in store credit

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  When I called him in less than 15 hours after the purchase to tell him the chair easily falls over on it's side and I wanted to return it for a refund, he started an outrageous rant about he never takes anything back and there are no refunds.  I told him I would put a stop payment on the check.  I went immediately to the bank by 9:30 that morning and he had already electronically cashed it.  This would not happen from a reputable dealer like ******** ********* or any other reputable dealer. 
The warranty card on the chair from the manufacture says the DEALER will handle all warranty claims.  This is not about anything other than the chair is built with a poor design and falls over easily.  It is a hazard to the seniors in my family including myself.   At the store the ****** are all lined up so that the only way to test it is to sit, push it straight back and then back up.  They are crammed in so tight that it is impossible to know if they are a falling over hazard. 
Consumer protection service needs to have these ****** recalled,  that's how dangerous they are. 
I will wheel this chair into court and show proof of the falling hazard if necessary but it will not be accepted in my home, and I will not accept a loss for purchasing it. 
He can resolve this the fair, honest, good business man way or we can continue to a court date.  Those are his options. 

Regards,

*** *******

Business Response: I never raised my voice. We do not give cash refunds. I have sold 100's of **** recliners without anyone saying they fall over. On 7/24/15 the customers husband was offered a full in store credit which at this time is not being offered. In 32 years I have never had a problem like this. She has contacted **** at **** ****** Inc. and we all have agreed she has buyers remorse. Thanks Rick

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  His stories, and response keep bouncing around like a tennis ball.  No he never offered an in-store credit.  If he had why would I do business with a man that doesn't sell quality and doesn't stand behind his products. 
The warranty is no good as the manufacture says the retailer is the one to contact for help.  Ha.  No help there. 
Yes he did yell at me, and told me very loudly that he does not stand behind his products.  He has a no return, no refund policy.  He doesn't make aware this policy before the buyer walks out the door, and if there is a problem it is theirs and not his.
What kind of a **** is this guy? 

Regards,

*** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Rick's New & Used Home & Office Furniture
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)