Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Delta Disaster Services of Northern Colorado Inc

Phone: (970) 461-0077 Fax: (970) 663-9438 7352 Greenridge Rd # A-6, Windsor, CO 80550

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This is a locally owned restoration company that is a division of KEM Homes Construction Inc. We offer full service restoration from mitigation for fire, water, flooding, mold, asbestos, lead abatement to full reconstruction. Delta Disaster Services of Northern Colorado also offers remodeling, basement finishes and interior design services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Delta Disaster Services of Northern Colorado Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Delta Disaster Services of Northern Colorado Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Delta Disaster Services of Northern Colorado Inc include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Delta Disaster Services of Northern Colorado Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 19, 2013 Business started: 06/20/2013 in CO Business incorporated 06/20/2013 in CO
Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Caroline Hornback, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Caroline Hornback, Manager
Business Category

Fire & Water Damage Restoration Fire Damage Restoration Companies Water Damage Restoration Water Mitigation Fire & Smoke & Water Clean Up Smoke Odor Removers Building Restoration Companies Flood assistance Fire & Flood Emergency Service Smoke Abatement Equipment Companies

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Check
Refund and Exchange Policy
Service Area
Larimer; Weld
Alternate Business Names
Delta Disaster Services of Northern Colorado Inc- A Division of KEM Homes Construction Inc
Products & Services

flood damage, fire damage, restoration

Additional Locations

  • 7352 Greenridge Rd # A-6

    Windsor, CO 80550 (970) 461-0077


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: DDS caused damages while performing mold mitigation. This caused me to be without HVAC from Aug. of 2014 to the end of May 2015 as well as other issues. At first they tried to advise me but then refused to return phone calls. They also did not offer to compensate me for my costs in amending these difficulties. I did pay them in full but, when it was clear they would not work with me, I disputed the bill with the credit card company and they removed the charge. DDS then turned over the bill to a collection agency. DDS refused to acknowledge culpability or be helpful in resolving the toxic fumes issues or in reimbursing me for the work I had to do myself. I would NOT recommend this company to anyone due to their unprofessional practices. Also, they do not appear to be knowledgeable in the area of mold mitigation as the product they used caused toxic fumes.

Desired Settlement: I would expect to pay the difference between the original amount and what I have paid to rectify/repair damages.

Business Response: To the BBB,

Delta Disaster Services of Northern Colorado takes our reputation in the Northern Colorado community very seriously. We recently held our 2nd annual golf tournament at ********* which raised $43,000.00 for the ******** **** ********** and benefits the very members of our community. We take great pride in our work and giving back to the very community that supports our business and the livelihoods of our employees.
We have provided at every level the best customer service possible to Mrs. *******, as we do for each of our clients. The homeowners and business owners who contact us, are in need of our services for an unexpected and unwanted event. It is our job to make them feel comfortable and know that their home or business will be put back together properly. We take great care in educating all of our staff who are all IICRC certified and follow their very strict protocols. I have attached additional information to dispute Mrs. *******' false claims against Delta Disaster Services of Northern Colorado. It is our hope that you will review this information and agree that we did everything possible to make Mrs. ******* happy.

Respectfully Submitted,

Caroline H*******
General Manager
***** ********

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The bottom line is that I was left with odors in the house which made it impossible to use the HVAC system from August 2014 to May 2015. I have a number of people who have confirmed this and have agreed to attest to it. DDS had the option of making a warranty claim and pursuing the company that produced the offending product but chose not to do so.  While I do not believe DDS did deliberately cause harm, it would have been good business to continue to assist me until the problem was solved or, at the very least, given me a discount to support my efforts. They did neither of these. Unfortunately, after a few weeks, they simply refused to call back and left me on my own to find a solution. I did NOT agree to pay $4,000 plus $3,000 to correct the errors. While it is unfortunate the product they used did not perform as expected, it is not my fault either. I have no problem paying what I originally agreed to but not in addition to the extra $3,000.  Standard business practices over decades have allowed for customer satisfaction including additional help to resolution or discounted fees. I received neither.  In the spirit of compromise, I am willing to pay the difference between the original contracted amount and what I have so far spent on mitigation.  This would, of course, include recinding the credit bureau report as it is inaccurate.


******* *******

Business Response: Please find 35 detailed pages attached which outline Delta Disaster Services of Northern Colorado's position, including the work agreement, signed by Mrs. ******* expressly agreeing to pay Delta Disaster Services in full. Additionally, Delta Disaster Services of Northern Colorado already discounted Mrs. *******' original estimate from $6,025.51 to $4,117.01 in a good faith attempt to satisfy Mrs. *******. We have been trying to collect payment from her since August of 2014. To re-iterate, Delta Disaster Services of Northern Colorado takes our reputation in the Northern Colorado community very seriously and takes great care in training our employees in the correct protocols and products to follow and use for each clients' circumstance. We exhausted all efforts to educate, communicate, and appease Mrs. ******* which has ultimately led to collections. It is unfortunate that Mrs. ******* still feels dissatisfied, but services were rendered in accordance with the IICRC's guidelines and payment is expected, since it has already been discounted.

Respectfully Submitted,

Caroline H*******
General Manager
Delta Disaster Services of Northern Colorado

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: It is inaccurate and does not solve the problem.

The original amount, as noted on the contract which, by the way was presented at the completion of the job instead of the beginning, was $4,117.01. I am not going to discuss the higher amount as it is a separate issue. Whether they were trained or not is irrelevant. The fact remains that there was a problem with the job. DDS did not stand by me until it was resolved nor did they give me a discount on their services to help me resolve it myself. I am offering DDS the difference between my cleanup costs of $3,104.32 and the original amount I agreed to, $4,117.01, which is $1,012.69.  I feel this is fair. I agreed to the $4,117.01 and that is what I would be paying (my cleanup costs + the difference). DDS still has the option of a warranty claim or dealing with their supplier so they would be able to recoup the balance. I feel this is fair on my part. This does not include compensation for the stress and time I have spent dealing with this for the last year including not having central heat over the winter.  If they choose to accept this offer, I will immediately write a check for the full amount and they will not hear from me again. Of course, I would expect a receipt and to have the Credit Report removed.  I believe this is the most logical and simplest solution.  If they choose not to accept, this dispute will continue.

In addition, I would like to point out that the many pages of documentation which DDS provided were sufficient to convince the credit card company to remove the charge to my card. I did pay the $4,117.01 in full before realizing DDS was not helping me and that I would have many additional expenses to clean up the consequences of their work.

Attached you will find a detailed list of my expenses.  I sincerely hope DDS will find this acceptable and we can be done with this.


******* *******

Business Response: There is no validity to Mrs. *******' claim. AMRT certified technician followed IICRC protocols, used industry approved products, and completed a scope of work that was approved by Mrs. ******* prior to starting.

Respectfully Submitted,

Caroline H*******
General Manager

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:It does not resolve the issue and shows no effort to compromise.


******* *******