Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Wild Basin Lodge & Event Center

Additional Locations

Phone: (303) 747-2274 Fax: (303) 747-2120 1130 County Road 84 W, Allenspark, CO 80510 http://www.Wildbasinlodge.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The Wild Basin Lodge & Event Center strives to maintain its status with superior customer service, excellent food and cutting edge polices. Whether for a wedding, rehearsal, civil union or seasonal event when the lodge opens its doors to the public, The Wild Basin Lodge & Event Center looks forward to hearing from you.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wild Basin Lodge & Event Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Wild Basin Lodge & Event Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Wild Basin Lodge & Event Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 19, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1906 Business started locally: 01/01/1906 Business incorporated 11/20/2001 in CO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Nils Kristoffersen, President Ms. Denice Kristoffersen, Secretary/Treasurer
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Denice Kristoffersen, Secretary/Treasurer
Principal: Mr. Nils Kristoffersen, President
Business Category

Event Center Horse Ride Companies Party Facilities Wedding Supply Stores

Service Area
Although located in Allenspark, CO, across from the Wild Basin entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park, we serve customers all over the world who come to event center.
Alternate Business Names
Wild Basin Properties LLC
Business Management

This business has had seven owners since it was established in 1906.

Products & Services

Rocky Mountain weddings, summer weddings, winter weddings, mountain wedding, wedding venue


Additional Locations

  • 1130 County Road 84 W

    Allenspark, CO 80510 (303) 747-2274

  • PO Box 218

    Allenspark, CO 80510

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Me and my wife had our wedding there on July 17th of this year. The package we chose included meals for up to 50 guests. In the 2 weeks before the wedding, we began getting headcounts from them that differed from ours adding up to 52 people. We recounted several times and kept coming up with a different number than they did. We eventually figured out they were adding the vendors in twice because the photographers were sitting inside as they are family friends. They argued about this with us even though we explained this to them, multiple times. We thought the issue was resolved. I did not notice on the pre-event invoice they sent us the day before the wedding that they were, even then, counting the children twice as at that point we were still under 50 people. They ended up charging us for extra people and sent me a letter that explains their error in quite nice detail. It makes claims that the seating chart and pre event invoices directly contradict(ie number of children and vendors) There really is one very simple truth here. We have email after email, and the seating charts we sent them showing there is no way that we had more than 50 people there. They are charging us for figments of their imagination.

Desired Settlement: I want the 289.10 they over billed us.

Business Response: July 24, 2014 

******* ****** and ***** **** **** ***** *****  ********* ** ***** 

Dear ***** and *******: 

We are in receipt of your email dated July 23, at 1:11pm. Pursuant to its contents, we have just finished an exhaustive review of the contract, paperwork and email exchanges. We find it unfortunate that you are upset, but also find that your 
compliant remains at variance with the facts. While there is little we can do to alter your perspective, we do believe that you will benefit from this thorough review. 
Throughout this letter we will reference the 2014 Wedding Packet. This is the 
document that explains the policies and planning behind events at the Wild Basin Lodge. In the back of the wedding packet was the contract that was initialed and signed by you, acknowledging that you have read and understood all therein. We have included a copy of that signed contract for your reference. 

The lodge maintains written event sheets that reflect the deadlines noted in the 
contract. Emails are written to remind couples of the up coming contractual 
obligations. We are referring to Food and Beverage section that stipulates that the head count is to be provided 3 weeks before your wedding date. No shows are still billed at the full rate. Two weeks before the event, a seating chart, seating diagram and payment must be provided. 
The final head count for your event was due on 6.26. The lodge reminded ******* of the upcoming deadline on the June 24th along with several other last minutes items that had not been completed. *******'s email written to the lodge on 6.26 answers our questions and asks for 39 adults, 6 kids, and 5 vendors. You were subsequently billed for that headcount. The lodge then ordered food to that level. This is why `noshows" are billed at that rate. 
An email was returned to ******* verifying the children count to see if any would be considered an infant to keep the pre-event invoice as low as possible. The seating charts were due on July 3rd. The previously stated pre-event invoice was paid on July 7th, 4 days late. The seating chart was provided on July 11th, eight days late.  In the email from ******* with the seating chart, she revised the children's count to 8.  
The pre-event invoice was updated from 6 children to 8 children. This left you with a pre-event balance due of $182.59 for the additional 2 children you added to the event. 
When the lodge reviewed the seating charts and compared the numbers of seats at tables to the headcount provided, the lodge found that the numbers did not match. ******* had counted personal friends as vendors. You both were reminded that 
vendors are paid services for your event and eat in another area all together. 
Vendors are billed at a lessor rate. Your family and friends that sit with you are 
billed as guests versus vendors. This took your headcount from the 39 contractually obligated attendees to 41 and reduced the vendors by 2. This change added another $106.51 to your additionally requested children. 

On the day of your event, the officiate did sit and eat at your guest tables. The lodge also supplied a second meal to a steak lover. The lodge has elected to not pursue those charges at this time. Adding the two guests that ******* added on 7.11 and the confusion of mis-informing the lodge of actual guests versus vendors the total due for your event was $289.10, which was subtracted from the security deposit per the lodge's written policies and the signed event contract. 

In summation, we regret that you are upset by having to contractually pay for the additional children you added to the event, and by counting friends and family as vendors. Regardless of the disparity between your email and your contractual obligations, the lodge and its staff wish the two of you well. 

***** ****** *** the Wild Basin Staff