This business is not BBB accredited.

This Efficient House

Phone: (970) 204-9931 Fax: (970) 204-9932 1600 Crescent Dr, Fort Collins, CO 80526 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Energy Audits Specializing In...Energy Conservation, Energy Management, Insulation, Energy Code Compliance, Solar Home Energy, and Audit Inspections. 

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for This Efficient House include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

13 Customer Reviews on This Efficient House
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 11
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 13

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 08, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1990 in CO Business started locally: 01/01/1990 Business incorporated 06/15/2009 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Michael Truitt, Executive Director Ms. Anna Murphy, Bookkeeper
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Truitt, Executive Director
Business Category

Energy Conservation Stores Energy Audits Energy Management and Conservation Construction Companies Home Inspectors Solar Energy Equipment Companies Kitchen Remodeling Kitchen and Bath Designers Insulation Contractors Remodelers Windows

Service Area
Fort Collins, Loveland, Windsor, Wellington, LaPorte, Greeley, Evans, Timnith, Eaton, Johnstown, Milliken, Berthoud, and Estes Park, Firestone, Frederick, Dacono, Platteville, Longmont, Fort Lupton, Kersey, La Salle,  Fort Morgan, Keensburg, Sterling, Julesburg
Alternate Business Names
Colorado Home Energy Solutions LLC
Industry Tips
Shedding Light on Residential Solar Panels

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

This Efficient House has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    1600 Crescent Dr

    Fort Collins, CO 80526 (970) 204-9931


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the estimate for insulation work on our office which was performed at the beginning of 2015, This efficient House estimated that we would recover $1865 in rebates from the **** ** **** ******* and ****. We ****ting contacting the owner Mike T***** in August of 2015 regarding the status of our rebate from ***** since we had only received $888 from the **** ** **** ******* and nothing from ****. Mike immediately ****ted to make excuses about ***** back in August when our phone calls and emails ****ted. Mike has stopped responding to phone calls and emails without any explanation.

Desired Settlement: We would like the remaining $977 in rebate funds owed to us.

Business Response: Hello ***** and *****, and ******,
As of late, I would like to apologize for the slow response to your questions about the as of yet unresolved **** rebate.  I have not been able to get a straight answer nor find the right person to talk to find out why the **** ****** did not process the rebate.  The **** customer service people who handle rebates seem somewhat over-stretched and I have little to no control over what happens at the corporate headquarters in Minnesota (Denver is actually a satellite operation).
With regard to the rebates, we sent in all of the necessary paperwork nearly a year ago and I am going to forward those emails after I send this one.  They document, with attachments, email addresses and time/date stamps that we did indeed make an honest effort to uphold our end of the bargain by submitting all the necessary paperwork. 
To recap, for the record, This Efficient House installed the most cost-effective energy retrofits that could have been accomplished by any company at the ****** ****** ****** building, a little over a year ago.  Our estimate was not only the most affordable but also the most comprehensive.  I discounted the work nearly 30% below our normal rates in an effort to support your non-profit and our shared missions of environmental stewardship and personally oversaw every bit of the work as I was very committed to making sure you got your money’s worth.
In addition, numerous *** staff have told me the work made a significant difference in the comfort and their day to day working conditions as it relates to their work space being too hot or cold prior to our work.  Furthermore, I personally was present, on site, at the project, from beginning to end, to ensure the quality of the work.  I have requested the before and after utility bills so that I could quantify the ****** savings but as of yet I haven’t received that data.
Back to the matter at hand:
I got the email below from ***** a few months ago: 
“I spoke with **** gas (estimated $500 rebate) and they said we were not eligible for any rebates because the project was not pre-approved.”
This totally confused me because, having completed thousands of projects for the **** Insulation rebate program, I had never heard of needing “pre-approval” before.  The attached award from **** speaks to this fact, we process a ton of rebates. 
I now understand where the confusion came from.  ***** was talking to the wrong people about the wrong program.  Pre-approval is required for a program called “Home Performance with ****** ****” which is for customers who have GAS & ELECTRIC with ****.  Your building only has gas service with **** and the electric comes from the **** ** **** *******.  The “stand alone” insulation rebate does not require pre-approval. 
Going forward I am going to do my best to address this issue, a very time consuming process for which there will be no financial compensation, and try to process this rebate one more time.
I am going to escalate this and send this all the way to the top to ***e ***********, the head honcho of the ****** efficiency program and a very reasonable, knowledgeable person.  I will let you know what her decision is as soon as I hear back.
Thank You,
Michael T*****,
Home Improvements that Pay For Themselves

Consumer Response:

This morning I received a phone call from *** *********** from ****.  This is the women who Mike stated he would call on March 14th to get our $500.00 rebate.   I confirmed the following with ***:

1) Mike never contacted her as he stated on March 14th. This does not surprise because he has done nothing but make excuses regarding our $500 rebate.

2) *** stated because we were a business the is no rebate program.  The rebate program only applies to residential homes and although we office out of a home we are.  metered as a company.   

Now having this information I would like a $977 refund from This Efficient House/Mike. In Mike's March 14th email replay to BBB he spoke of the 30% discount that he gave us for the job and I feel that he should honor that 30% discount by refunding our $977 of rebates that we did not get.


***** *****

******** ** *******

3/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the estimate for insulation work on my house which was performed at the end of 2014, This Efficient House included $95 to file paperwork that was estimated to recover $400 in rebates from **** and from the City of Fort Collins. This paperwork was never filed (I verified with both rebate offices) despite repeated and courteous reminders to This Efficient House and despite their calling periodically for information needed to file. The **** rebate period has closed and it is unclear whether the City of Fort Collins can provide any recourse. This Efficient House did not do the job they committed to. Without explanation he no longer returns my emails or phone calls.

Desired Settlement: I believe This Efficient House owes me $396, the value of the estimated rebates ($296 Fort Collins, $100 ****) for delinquent filing

Business Response:

***** **** ****** ************************************ *** *** ***** ******************* ***** ******* ******************************* **** ***** *************************** ***** **** *** ** **** ** **** ** ******** **** **** ********* ****** ******** *******

Hello Folks,
Here’s the background on this rebate application and the over six year relationship with this customer:
November 2009:              We did an **** energy audit, through ******* ********, prior to the Fort Collins RES program existence. Back in the day, *** ***** would sometimes grand-father in customers who had good audits done before the utility offered their own.   
January 2010:                     One year later, the customer requested an estimate to do the work.
Sometime in 2013:           Three years later, we rebid the job and were hired to insulate a small attic.  More work to follow….
November 2014:              About another year later, we insulated some above grade stone walls. 
(The customers also expressed an interest in doing additional work, namely partially un-insulated exterior walls (see original audit) and additional air sealing).
May 2015:                           Ultimately, No additional work was ever performed, so we performed test out (blower door and CAZ). 
Shortly thereafter:          We were removed from the approved contractor list. 
I never submitted the rebate applications, but here they are.  The upper attic is only 320 square feet with a small kneewall and we also did about 500 sq ft of above-grade, bare exterior stone walls, insulated to R15.  We also got a 28% air leakage reduction.
As you can see, we started working with this customer in 2009 before the residential efficiency program even existed.  It took them many years to budget for this work, which spread out over a couple of years.  I’m sure they could use the money.   The house really needed the work.  I’m sorry this one fell through the cracks.    
Thank You,
Michael T*****,
Home Improvements that Pay For Themselves

Business Response:

Hello *******,

First of all I owe you an apology (and some money).  You have been one of the most reasonable and agreeable of families to work for & I should have tried harder to resolve all of this a long time ago.   I just sent you a $100 check in the mail for the estimated **** rebate.  That being said you may receive hundreds more than the original rebate estimates when it’s all said and done.

My answers to what you wrote below….  

***** ******* ******** *****************************  ***** ********** ***** *** **** **** ** *** ***** ******* ******** *** **** **** ********* ****** ******** *******




***** ****** stepped in where you left off and submitted the City of Fort Collins rebate application several weeks ago. The program is currently awaiting new funding, I have yet to receive the rebate although it is expected.   Glad to hear it, I thought/knew *** ***** would stand behind the program’s offerings. 


I dispute your facts below. I never intended to do additional insulation work with you after November. Your attached paperwork corroborates with my calendar that you did the blower test on 7/23. This was after not showing up for a scheduled appointment on 7/13.  Again, my apologies for the missed appointment.  Also, I’m sorry for implying that you intended or were considering doing extra work after November.  I take notes and as I put these projects together and I had written down somewhere that you might do some work where the insulation had settled in some exterior walls.  I admit that I sometimes get overly optimistic or excited as I go. 

The attic and stone walls were done at the same time. The paperwork you attached reflects this.

I was trying to remember when the work happened by remembering who did the work and when they worked here.  I couldn’t go back far enough in my online Calendar to figure it all out, which is embarrassing to say the least due to the great lapse of time. 


I never shared information on our personal finances with you, you are out of line to speculate publicly why we waited until 2014 to do the work.  I really regret that I offended you.  I was just trying to get a few busy administrators to exercise a little empathy and process the rebates.  Flat denials for minor issues are common but you’re right, I shouldn’t make assumptions or say anything like that even if it was true.  You probably are not aware how selective, amorphous and in my opinion, a little onerous at times, the installation standards can be.  It’s a moving target and I did my best to navigate the programs.  

For example, during the span of time from your first audit until the last day of work, there were three different official audit/rebate programs and providers, plus the separate **** program.  Approved methods and materials have been modified multiple times before, during and after your projects were completed and I guess I was always pessimistic at the prospects of getting the rebates approved.  Facts, like your vapor barrier wasn’t installed by an approved contractor and we modified/enhanced that work to get it to “qualify”.  Also, the foam we installed has been both allowed at times and not at others.  It does however meet building code.***see below.  I hope you get your rebates in the near future.    

***Attics and Crawlspaces: Passed AC 377 Appendix X compliant NFPA 286.

1)             The insulation may be spray-applied to the underside of the roof sheathing and/or rafters, to the underside of wood floors and to vertical surfaces as described in this section. The thickness of the foam plastic applied to the underside of the top of the space must not exceed 11 ¾” inches (298 mm), and the thickness when applied to vertical surfaces must not exceed 7 ¾” inches (197 mm). The insulation does not require an ignition barrier or coating.

PART 2  ******* ***™ is a two component, open cell, spray applied, semi-rigid polyurethane foam system. This product is a fully water blown foam system with a low in place density with e****lent adhesion to various substrates and to itself. ******* *** complies with the intent of the International Code Council’s residential and commercial building codes for spray polyurethane foam plastic insulation. ******* *** is compliant with AC 377 Appendix X and can be installed in attics and crawl spaces without an ignition barrier. ******* *** is compliant with the VOC emissions standard of California Specification 01350. ******* *** meets the USDA guidelines for incidental food contact.

The work and the rebates:

The **** rebate application deadline was in August. Unless they overlook this, I don’t expect the rebate. I think you should be liable for this.     

I just sent you a $100 check in the mail for the estimated **** rebate.  That being said you may receive hundreds more than the original rebate estimates when it’s all said and done.

Thank You, Mike. 

1/22/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted This Efficient House to do a home energy audit, including a blower door test. We were most interested in the blower door test as the results would reveal where most of our heat was escaping. All we got for our money were estimates on a new heat system, insulation, etc. Despite many pleas, we never received the results of our blower door test. The blower door test was performed in May 2015.

Desired Settlement: I would either like a refund, or the results of the blower door test, even if he has to come back and do it again.

Business Response:


First I would like to apologize for the slow response to this customer’s concerns.  They have been very patient and reasonable from beginning to end

We were initially hired to perform a home energy audit and provide estimates for a furnace and insulation, both in the crawlspace.  At that time we found water leaking into the crawlspace.  We let the customer know we couldn’t do any work until the leak was fixed.  The customer said they would attempt to find the source of the leak and have it corrected. 

We followed up a few times over the next few months but the leak hadn’t been fixed.  In that time, the staff member who performed the energy audit left the company.  Subsequently, I wasn’t able to find the notes or files on the computer because they were mistakenly saved in another customer’s folder on the computer.  I have since tracked down the files and sent them to the customer.   I regret that it took us this long to resolve the issue.   

Thank You,

Mike T*****, BS, BPI, NATE

President, This Efficient House

5/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

13 Customer Reviews on This Efficient House
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart