Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Blue Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

14 Customer Reviews on Blue Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 12
Total Customer Reviews 14

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 15, 2000 Business started: 06/23/1951 in WY Business incorporated 06/23/1951 in WY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Financial Services
1560 Broadway, Suite 950, Denver CO 80202
Phone Number: (303) 894-2336

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Rebecca Thoe-Heuer, Compliance Manager
Business Category

Credit Unions Financial Planning Consultants

Industry Tips
Financial Professionals Defined

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Blue Federal Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 114 E 7th Ave

    Cheyenne, WY 82001

  • 181 W Boardwalk Dr

    Fort Collins, CO 80525

  • 181 W Boardwalk Dr

    Fort Collins, CO 80525

  • 181 W. Boardwalk Drive

    Fort Collins, CO 80525

  • 3810 Dell Range Blvd

    Cheyenne, WY 82009

  • 5105 Randall Ave

    Cheyenne, WY 82005

  • 700 S Greeley Hwy

    Cheyenne, WY 82007

  • PO Box 3200

    Cheyenne, WY 82003 (800) 368-9328


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/11/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Deceptive Business Practice. In April 2016 I purchased a ******* ***, financed it through Blue FCU. At the time of purchase I was not told of insurance requirements for an off road vehicle. 2 month later in the month of June 2016 I received a letter from Blue FCU from the insurance Dept asking for insurance paper work for another vehicle I had on loan with them and never requested any other paper work for the off road vehicle. In August Blue FCU added a 4300.00 CPI Premium to my account. I called Blue FCU and that's when I was told of the insurance requirements for the off road vehicle. I went down and purchased the insurance. Now the complaint is Blue FCU is now charging me 1700.00 for a 4 month period for not having insurance and now Blue FCU is now trying to collect this Premium.

Desired Settlement: refund the 1690.00 back to the loan and adjust my pymt to what I agreed to when I signed the sales contract.

Business Response:

In response to our member’s complaint, Blue FCU’s lending guidelines and retail loan contracts stipulate that for all secured loans, including ATVs; fire, theft, comprehensive and collision insurance are required. In keeping with this requirement, our member signed an insurance agreement when his loan was obtained in early May. But proof of insurance was not provided in a timely manner. Therefore, our insurance vendor sent several notices informing him that he needed to comply with the insurance agreement and provide proof of insurance. In August, forced-placed insurance was placed on the loan and an insurance premium was charged. Proof of insurance was provided by our member in early September, so at that time an insurance premium refund was also extended to the loan. The difference between the insurance premium charge and the insurance premium refund was the insurance charge for the four month period of time that insurance was provided by Blue FCU prior to proof of insurance being provided by our member, per the signed insurance agreement.  

9/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: A payoff was made 6/1/16 by our dealership on the behalf of a traded in vehicle which has a loan from a customer of Warren FCU. Blue FCU now owns their customers and I have waited over 80 days to receive a letter of release for the paid off vehicle or SIF for the state of Maryland. Banks usually take up to 30days to provide the dealership the documentation making the loan satisfied. I have spoken with 5 different call center reps regarding this issue. I just need a SIF or lien release! Title department has no number or direct human to contact. Only customer service reps take calls. No upper management has tried to resolve this issue. I have left weeks worth of messages and emails to the support center.


Business Response:

Blue FCU’s staff spoke with the complainant who stated that our member had since provided the dealership with a duplicate title. Blue FCU did send to the dealership the original notarized lien release via overnight *** Next Day Air Guaranteed with a delivery by 10:30 AM Tuesday, August 30, 2016. A copy of the notarized lien release letter and *** tracking number were also emailed to the dealership’s representative. A follow-up email was sent to the representative on August 30, 2016 after the guaranteed delivery time, requesting confirmation of delivery and receipt but no return response has yet been received. Blue FCU believes it has satisfied the complainant’s desired settlement.

8/30/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sent in payoff for loan on 14th of July. Title was sent 29th of July to my home of address. The person whom has bought my vehicle cannot title/register vehicle. The title should have been sent to his credit union. I've called several times and been told they have no handle over where mail has been sent. I refused a duplicate title because I would have to get a power of attorney to my brother to deal with title issues back home seeing how I am a service member serving away from home record. My wife and I have made several inquires with zero results. 6 business days is way to long for a letter in the mail to be received. How does a title which there is only one of be sent regular mail without tracking. Blue federal credit union has poor business practices. The buyer bank has tried to contact with zero results. Nobody at blue federal seems to know how to handle situation. I could t even activate a new debit card through them today or get answers how to.

Desired Settlement: Tracking number. Confirm delivery.

Business Response:

Our member requested that we confirm delivery along with a tracking number regarding a delay in the delivery of the member’s paid-off vehicle loan title. After a number of unsuccessful attempts to contact our member via telephone and email, we were successful in reaching out to confirm that our member had received the title. The member declared his less than optimal experience getting his title, but was able to eventually comment with a “thank you”. Blue FCU is grateful for the member’s patience, and continued membership.

8/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 18, 2016 I purchased a 2006 ********** ***** *** motorhome from ***** ******** (telephone ************), a cus***er of BLUE Federal Credit Union. The transaction closed at BLUE FCU's Broomfield, CO office and the loan officer was Rob C*******. I delivered two bank checks totaling $36,000, the full purchase price, payable to the seller and the credit union, and Mr. ******** loan was paid in full. I instructed the lender to mail the title to me c/o *** *******, **** ****** **** **** ******** ******** ** ***** since I am traveling this summer. I have inquired weekly since about where the title is, and have been unable to obtain any information from BLUE about delivery of the title. Yesterday, August 8, I asked Mr. ******** to inquire about the title and he was told by BLUE that it might be 60 days before they mail the title to me! In the meantime I am unable to proceed with a new loan or licensing and registration in my home state of Arizona. I have tried to recontact Rob C******* at BLUE with no success. I talked once with a BLUE representative in Cheyenne named Alex who promised to investigate the delay but never recontacted me. I need help in securing this title so that I may register the vehicle, obtain my new loan, and get on with my summer travel.

Desired Settlement: Delivery of the motor home title promptly.

Business Response:

Our member’s desired settlement statement requested delivery of the motor home title promptly. Blue FCU promptly made arrangements with *** to satisfy our member’s request via a *** shipment with a guaranteed delivery by 12PM on Monday, August 15, 2016. A telephone message was given to our member providing this information, along with the *** tracking number. Delivery of the title was verified via the *** online package deliver tracking system to have been to the address given in the member’s delivery instructions on Monday, August 15, 2016 at 9:42 AM. We are pleased that our member received this title promptly upon request. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


*** *******

8/10/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: A few months back, I had wanted to find some company to help me with refinancing my motorcycle. I went through a 3rd party vendor and they hooked me up with what was then Warren credit union, which became rebranded to Blue Federal credit union. I had finally gathered enough funds to pay off the $29k+ of my motorcycle loan with them and had desperately wanted my title back quickly so that I may sell my motorcycle as I am leaving in mid August (I'm moving out August 12) and wanted to sell my bike before then. On 7/11/2016, I called Blue Federal Credit to pay off my motorcycle in anticipation of receiving the title to sell the bike. They read me off the payoff quote, could not take the full amount in one transaction, so I agreed to split the payment into two payments in order to pay off the bike. I made two payments of approximately $14,472. I asked if this was all I had to do, the customer service representative said "yes." I then asked how long I had to wait for my title to come to me, she said there is a 10 business day hold. I agreed to wait. I waited almost 1.5 weeks, then called to inquire about the status, they then told me, "oops, there was a mistake. you still have $8.67 remaining on the account. We may have told you the wrong payoff amount." I then paid that plus a $10 phone fee, which they did reimburse through their own checking account, but then promised me that by 7/25, a monday, they would mail out my title as that would satisfy the 10 day rule since the attempted payoff amount was performed on 7/11. I begrudgingly agreed to this. Though I called later that week on 7/26, asked if the title was shipped yet. it was not. This time, they told me they would only ship it 10 business days after the account was closed on 7/19, the day I paid the $8.67 remaining, late b/c it was their fault. Anyways, now I was livid, and I asked when they would send the title out now. He promised that by 7/29 at the latest, it would be sent out. He even agreed to send it out via priority mail. Well, here I am on 8/4/2016. I do not have my title. I went out on business that week, returned today and I have no title. In the process, I lost 2 serious buyers for my bike b/c they did not want to keep being strung along waiting for my title. and now, I run the verge of losing another serious buyer b/c I again do not have the title to sell my bike. If I do not get my title soon, I will be forced to either ride it myself from West VA to VA and add miles on it, thus hurting the value of my bike, or pay $700 in transportation fees, again getting financially hurt, while missing out on a potential sale. I have been financially hurt by this company b/c of their sloppiness and their delays. If I do not get my title by 8/8, I will be forced to take the bike w/ me and take a further loss. This is unacceptable, esp. since I went in good faith and paid off the entire amount. They could not do something simple like return my title which is mine, and I have fully paid for in a timely manner. They need to be investigated and punished for harming me financially the way they have.

Desired Settlement: I would like my title returned to me overnight as soon as possible, preferably before 8/8/2016.

Business Response:

Our member was upset about delays in his loan’s payoff process, and the general service level he received. The Consumer Lending Supervisor contacted our member and after listening and apologizing, proceeded to formulate a resolution to his title situation. Our member’s state DMV was able to provide the Supervisor with options that were then discussed with the member.  He decided that the completion of an emergency release of his electronic title would work best, enabling him to pick up his free and clear title at one of their service stations. Our member was reasonably happy with the final resolution.


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


****** *******

7/5/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Blue Federal credit Union, formerly Warren Federal Credit Union has been trying to price gouge my family for 5 weeks worth of reduced coverage while our trailer has been on consignment. I dropped collision coverage on my 2015 ******** ****** on 4/01/16, and when notified by Blue FCU on 5/12/16 that my coverage did not meet their requirements, immediately added collision coverage back on the trailer. Blue at first threatened me with $8,451.00 for 12 months of insurance coverage, then amended their amount to $949.00 for 5 weeks of collision coverage for the dates 4/01/16 - 5/12/16. The issue being this, my insurance company, after my informing them that the vehicle has been on consignment on a dealership lot since 2/23/16, suggested I drop collision coverage, as the dealership (consignee) has the vehicle covered under their umbrella insurance for the dealership lot, and the consignment agreement states "Party who is responsible for damages, Consignee". I have attempted to provide Blue FCU with the dealerships copy of their insurance, as well as the consignment agreement, to no avail, only to be told I owe $949.00 for 5 weeks in coverage, that per Marsha and Dee in the Insurance department, is the "high cost insurance coverage that we provide when customers have a lapse in coverage", I did NOT have a lapse in coverage, the vehicle has been covered by 2 parties the entire time, I simply reduced my monthly insurance by removing collision coverage at the suggestion of my insurance company. Charging a customer who has numerous paid off loans, and done a fair amount of business $949.00 for 5 weeks of collision coverage is tantamount to price gouging.

Desired Settlement: I want Blue FCU to reduce the charges to $0.00 as they have had no expenses incurred to date, or for 5 weeks of collision coverage to a reasonable and fair amount as provided by my insurance carrier (USAA), to whom I pay $129 every 6 months for collision coverage which would be $21.50 to $24.00, or to approve a waiver for no collision coverage as Blue FCU has been provided the consignment agreement, and proof of the dealerships umbrella policy, and my vehicle has been covered by the amounts and coverage's required by law, stationary, and cannot move as it has no engine.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

The signed Agreement to Provide Insurance and loan contract states that the borrowers must maintain the agreed upon insurance coverage.  Our member failed to maintain the proper coverage.  And, our member’s trying to sell the vehicle via consignment puts the loan into default. But in spite of these conditions, Blue FCU Collection Department would agree to waive the $949.00 insurance CPI charge. The issue is considered to be one of communications. While Blue FCU does not have the direct employees named (Marsha or Dee), and had our member reached Blue’s FCU’s Collection team, Blue FCU would have (and will) granted the waiver.              

6/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a ***** ******* and was financed through warren federal credit union using my step mom as a co-signer. I was late on a few payments and the vehicle was repossessed due to forced insurance that I did not make increased monthly payments on. I was required to pay everything owed from the unpaid forced insurance and bring my loan completely current prior to getting it out of repossession, which I did. Fast forward to July, 2014. I totaled the car in Las Vegas and my GAP insurance paid off my loan. Warren has now placed a negative balance on my credit report of $2,457 which they have been unable to provide me with answers as to why I supposedly owe this amount. I have spoken with them on numerous occasions to work this out and they are utterly impossible to deal with and have ignored my many requests for validation of this debt. My wife also spoke with them and they sent her the entire history of my account which also offers no explanation as to where this outstanding balance is coming from. As soon as my wife pushed them out of their comfort zone by demanding answers, they later called her back and stated on voicemail on 4/14/16 that they did not have authorization to speak with her which is why they have not provided her the validation. If that is the case, why did they send HER the entire history of my account and speak with her at length regarding this account? If they did not have authorization to speak with her, they never should have sent her my account history or discussed this account in such great detail with her. They are violating my rights under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act by refusing to provide proper validation of debt that has been requested from them. It appears at this point that it is their intent to violate my rights as described in the FDCPA. I will never make the mistake of doing business with this organization again. I have never been so dissatisfied with a business in my life. This account on my credit report is the only thing hindering me from providing a home for my wife and two small children and they refuse to tell me why it is owed. Had they been able to provide proper validation of this debt when I requested it, I would have paid it but I will not just throw that kind of money at something when I have no idea what it is for.

Desired Settlement: THIS NEEDS TO BE REMOVED FROM ALL THREE CREDIT BUREAUS!! I need to receive an actual explanation that outlines exactly why I owe every cent of this balance, however, first and foremost, this needs to be removed from my credit report. We could have resolved this months ago if they would have been able to give me the answers I've practically begged them for. It is their fault that this has not yet been resolved, therefore, they need to take this off of my credit reports imediately

Consumer Response:

***** **** ******* ********************* *** ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** ***** ** ******** ********* ****** ********

To whom this may concern,
   I am composing this email go inform you that I have resolved my complaint with Warren Federal Credit Union. Feel free to contact me with any questions.


**** *******

6/7/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I refinanced an auto loan with Blue FCU. I was told that I could use a credit card to make payments but was never told that there is an outrageous 25.00 fee to pay with credit card. On there site ( it explains that you can avoid the fee by setting up automatic payments. I called the number and that said that I can't set up automatic payments with credit card. Which leaves it to, in order to make payment by card that I have to pay a high 25.00 fee on top of finance charges.

Desired Settlement: Allow me to setup automatic payments by credit card with no fee like advertised or fee must go towards balance on my account.

Business Response:

The complaint received 4/30/16 regarding Case ID# ******** included a desired settlement of allowing the member to setup automatic loan payments by credit card with no fee. Blue FCU does allow no fee advances from its own credit cards which can be processed by phone or online.

As a solution and delivery of the member’s desired solution, Blue FCU will contact the member to see if the member is interested in obtaining a Blue FCU credit card. If so, the member can apply for a Blue FCU credit card to take advantage of the Blue FCU credit card no advance fees benefits. Blue FCU will provide a waiver of the May credit card advance fee for the loan payment transfer using his non-Blue credit card. The Credit Union will also reach out to the businesses that the member used to obtain his loan and insure they have correct information.

In conclusion, these actions should provide the member with the desired settlement.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ******** I am rejecting this response because: As a consumer being charged finance interest charge than being forced to pay a fee on top of the finance charge is not fair business. I am essentially being charged a fee to make a payment to them. I will not be forced to take Blue's credit card to make payment on the auto loan. In addition Blue's site states "You can use the Payment Center to quickly and securely make your Warren Federal Credit Union loan payment using funds from another institution checking or savings account or an alternative credit card.E-check (ACH) fee is $10Credit/Debit card fee is $25Credit card transaction post as a purchase as opposed to a cash advance. (This could save on fees and interest).Note: You can set up an automatic payment to avoid these charges. Call 1-************ or toll free at 1-800-******** to speak to a credit union representative.and does NOT state that the credit card has to be from Blue's Credit card. I have a credit card that I can set up for automatic payments to avoid the charges as state on there site (see snap shot taken off their site). Additionally Blue is punishing costumers for not having Blue designated as their bank for all there banking needs. I have a bank I bank with.   Regards, ******* *******

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

The complaint received 5/13/16 regarding Case ID# ********, it is unfortunate that we are unable to provide Mr. ***** his desired outcome.   The information on the website has been removed, so that it does not mislead any current or future members about the ability to sign up for automatic loan payments with a credit card.  On Thursday, May 26th one of our Financial Service Representative contact Mr. ***** directly and explained this situation and offer his contact information should Mr. ***** have any future questions or concern.  


10/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: When we tried to make a payment on our loan ****** we were told the loan had been paid off. They could not tell us how. We asked if the loan was sold the reply was no. Warren FCU even reported it to all 3 credit unions as paid off. After a few calls they decided to put our payment into savings. We made several more phone calls over the next few months to find out what happened. Warren told us they had a security breach. Since then my wife ********* suddenly passed away. Warren called me the day I was at the mortuary and I asked them to call back because of the situation. They stated they were just reinstating my loan and I needed to immediately pay all the back payments. Then I received an email titled collections. In good faith I have submitted a payment.

Desired Settlement: I believe this company is heartless considering the situation is one which they created. First of all I want to know what kind of security breach they had. Has my personal information been compromised? If so they need to provide me and who ever else was affected some protection. They had done damage to my credit by reporting a loan as paid off and then reinstating it. Can they even legally just reinstate a loan they reported as paid off? They caused me enormous emotional pain by not calling back at a later date. Who needs a call like that during such a tough time. They should of had a heart and called back in a week or so. I think they should simply write off the missed payments considering the damage they have done. I do intend to pay off this loan but I believe Warren Federal Credit Union should have some liability for their mistakes.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

In response to the BBB Compliant received by ******* *****.   Warren Federal Credit Union has reviewed Mr. *****’s account and the other activities surrounding the compliant.  Warren Federal Credit Union has had no security breaches as notated within the member’s compliant. 

On May 21, 2015, a payoff check for another member came in with the wrong account number printed on the check.  The erroneous account number was that of Mr. *****’s.  The check was processed and paid against Mr. *****’s outstanding balance on his vehicle loan.    On June 4, 2015, Mr. ***** called into Warren FCU’s call center with the purpose of asking about the loan balance.  At that time, not knowing of the clerical error, the Call Center Representative told Mr. ***** that the account was paid off.  In August of 2015, a call by the other member helped to identify the error that had occurred.  Due to that call, research was conducted and the erroneous deposit of $13,322.22 was reversed from Mr. *****’s account.   Warren FCU’s Lending Manager contacted Mr. ***** and notified him of the clerical error.  Furthermore, the Lending Manager negated interest to the benefit of Mr. ***** for the time period of May and August.  Due to personal events, Mr. ***** requested to have the Lending Manager leave his contact information on his home phone in order for Mr. ***** to contact him at a later date.  However the Credit Union had not heard from Mr. ***** until the receipt of this BBB Compliant.

Mr. *****’s desired settlement was for the credit union to simply write-off his missed payments.  Although the credit union would have been unable to have prevented the initial clerical error as it was outside of our control, as a good faith effort the Credit Union has paid the sum of $600.45 on his loan. 

11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 31 Warren Federal Credit Union Started an Upgrade on there computer system. This affects all aspects of there system. They left no way of contacting them at all to get it fixed. I ran into a situation where my card was declined while attempting to make a purchase. It was embarrassing for it to be declined when I had just used the card the night before. My wife was at a restaurant when her card was declined. It was a good thing my wife's friend was there to pay for the meal. I tried all means of contacting the bank phone, email nothing worked. I have no access to my money at all. I do not use checks but have a feeling that they would not work either.

Desired Settlement: Not only do I feel an apology is warranted, This needs to be prevented for the future. A simple phone service or contact number that works during the maintenance might have prevented this issue. A backup system until the new system is in place would have been a good idea. I know that i'm not the only person with issues involving this problem.

Business Response: In response to BBB Complaint #******** from **** **********, dated 10/31/2014.  Warren Federal Credit Union attempted to proactively communicate to all 46,000 members, in seven different communication methods, beginning months prior to the system upgrade that occurred over the weekend of 10/31/14-11/2/14.  We sincerely apologize if the best practices and establishment of member expectations over the upgrade weekend were not received by Mr. **********.  Warren FCU values the importance of service and accessibility for our members on 24X7 basis.  The only exception to this rule was the weekend in question.  The system upgrade itself left many of our systems up and functional with the exception our branches being closed. In addition there was no access to member account balances at ATMs due to the interface from the Networks to our Core system. However, all credit and debit cards remained functional and additional stand-in parameters where set to insure availability for our members during that time.  Mr. ********** describes two scenarios in which this appeared to not be the case.   Research into the events revealed an erroneous inclusion of the member's account to which Mr. ********** and his wife are both joint on.  As a result, the issues occurred on the weekend in question.  We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that the error may have caused.    

11/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: To Whom It May Concern: PLEASE FORWARD THIS TO ONE OF THESE PEOPLE: *** ****** ***** ******* ***** ****** ****** ********* ****** **************** ******* **** **** ********* ***** ******** ****** ***** I write this letter to you today in extreme disbelief at the order of repossession for my vehicles on loan #******. My loans are currently paid up through October and the next payment due date is at the end of November. I am disappointed in the Loan Department team at Warren Federal Credit Union. Specifically ***** ***** and ***** ******. I will firstly admit that since our loans have been placed with Warren Federal Credit Union, we have come upon hard times. We are thankful for the support we have received with our hardships and therefore have been making ever effort possible to make right with Warren Federal Credit Union. Approximately 3 years ago both my husband and I were given auto loans and credit cards with Warren Federal Credit Union. Approximately one year after we were given these loans we came on some seriously hard times. With my husband now being disabled, financial troubles and family health concerns, finances were very hard on our family. We made the best, often seeking family for assistance and support just to make ends meet in the smallest of ways. We felt blessed and thankful that Warren Federal Credit Union worked with us and allowed us to keep our cars once we caught up the payments. We gained ground again, financially and were able to pay as agreed on our loans. During this time, our credit cards defaulted and we were unable to pay on them. We were contacted by the collections agency about these credit cards and we asked to make arrangements. We said we could pay $100/month on the cards but we were denied this amount, as it was “not enough.” We let them know we could not pay anymore and if they would accept that payment we would be happy to make it. We received harassing calls still but they would not accept our arrangement. The calls eventually stopped and we carried on with life. Some time later, we again had job loss and major health complications arise. We nearly lost our home, cars, and everything near and dear except family. Warren Federal Credit Union helped us get caught up on our cars again and avoided them being repossessed. We were and still are very thankful for this. We knew our finances needed to change and the way we were living wasn’t going to work anymore. So, we sold our Motorcycle. My husband is disabled so it was an expense we did not need to have. We found a dealership that was willing to purchase the bike and pay off our loan. This is when we learned about Cross Collateralization. We sold the bike and paid off what we thought the amount of the bike was. Upon paying it off, Warren declined to release the title because of our VISA card balance that had not been paid on. The problem with this, had the Collection Company decided to accept our payment, we would gladly have worked towards paying this off. Moving on…. We get the run around and constant harassment from ****** ******* and ***** *****. They treat us like criminals for not paying on these cards and continue their threats of not releasing the title. We fight constantly for 7 days and finally get the name of their supervisor, ***** ******. He calms us down and agrees to release the title. Then ***** ***** and ****** ******* decided to send out Repossession on the motorcycle even AFTER ***** ****** approved to release the title. We call again; fight again, the process continues. Finally they agree to release the title AGAIN and cancel the repossession. Several days pass and we get a call that our Truck and Car are going to now be repossessed. They say they are repossessing them because we don’t have a payment arrangement. I spoke with ***** ****** and let him know I start a new job on November 3rd, 2014 and I would be happy to make the $100/month payment starting in November. He said that would be fine but that ***** ***** would handle the arrangements. I inquired about paying this online or depositing the money in my savings account and calling in to have it transferred. He instructed me how to do that and then transferred me to ***** ***** to set up the amount. I spoke with ***** *****; she stated I could do payments starting in November 2014. She said she needed $250/month for each card. I explained we do not have that kind of money. I told her we could only do $50/month per card or $100/month for both cards. She said no, that wouldn’t work. I told her I would talk to my husband about us doing $100/per card per month so, $200/month total for the cards. I asked for her email address so I could email her the following day and let her know if we could do that and we would start in November 2014 paying this amount. She gave me her email address as ******************* I emailed this email account the following day. Today we received a call that both our Truck and Car are out for REPOSESSION AGAIN! I called and was forwarded to a voicemail 17 times. No one would transfer me to anyone’s actual line. Finally after continuing to call I received ***** *****. She was rude, unhelpful and condemning me for my past history with Warren Federal Credit Union. While I understand Warren Federal Credit Union’s position with loans and payment needing to be on time and when it isn’t, there is a problem. I don’t understand how I can be still harped on when my Car Loans are ALL CURRENT… THE PAYMENTS ARE NOT DUE UNTIL NOVEMBER 2014. ***** ***** said I never contacted her and this time gave me a different email address of ********************. She said I never contacted her for a payment arrangement on the visa so now my cars are out for repossession. I said this to ***** *****: “I contacted you for payments on our Visa cards, I spoke with you and ***** ****** and you both understood we would make our first payment in November. You both agreed to that. You agreed I would email you the amount and I did. I sent that email to the account you instructed me to do. Then you didn’t get that email so you chose to put our loans out for repossession. If you repossess our vehicles I can no longer pay you because I will be paying someone else for a car. It will cost Warren Federal Credit Union MORE money to try to get this money back and we wont be able to pay anything. We will be forced to file Bankruptcy and it will be a complete loss. IF you allow us to keep our cars and continue paying as we have agreed, then you win…. We pay you and you get your money. Why would you repossess cars when our loans are paid on and current? Why would you reposes our cars over our VISA card you agreed to take the first payment in NOVEMBER on and you told me what to do.”? ***** ***** said that she would not accept $100 per card per month. She said she wants the cars repossessed now because we are not paying on them, as we should. She condemned our family and told me she shouldn’t have to hold my hand with my finances. I asked to speak with ***** ******. He said verbatim, what she said. He stated that they will no longer do anything to help us and it is our right if we want to seek out legal council. He said it is our right if we want to file bankruptcy. He said he doesn’t care about the losses we incur or the losses Warren Federal Credit Union Incur. When I asked to speak to his boss, I am told he runs that department and he has no boss. Really??? My request is to have this letter sent to every department possible and every email possible in the next 24 hours. I am utilizing social media to contact every person possible so that someone ahead of ***** ***** and ***** ****** WILL CONTACT ME! I need a phone call from one of these people by 5pm on Friday October 31st, 2014. *** ****** ***** ******* ***** ****** ****** ********* ****** **************** ******* **** **** ********* ***** ******** ****** ***** I have DONE NOTHING WRONG! MY LOANS ARE CURRENT AND A PAYMENT ARRAGMENT WAS MADE AS REQUESTED! My loans are not in default. Warren Federal Credit Union NEEDS TO FIX THIS. I do NOT want to speak to ***** ***** or ***** ****** any further. They have ruined my experience with WARREN FEDERAL CREDIT UNION! I am disgusted at this treatment and how they are threatening my family. I’m devastated that they wont accept my money when I AM TRYING TO PAY WARREN FEDERAL CREDIT UNION. ISNT THIS A MEMBER OWNED ORGANIZATION????????? I have no idea how else to get in touch with a decision maker and this is the only way I know how!!! I will be forwarding this to every fax number and email I can find. SINCERELY,

Desired Settlement: Please See ABOVE!

Business Response: In response to the BBB complaints # ******** & #******** by ***** ******, Warren Federal Credit Union’s Collections team has diligently worked with the Mr.  & Mrs. ****** since October of 2013 regarding either assistance with charged off VISA credit cards as well as delinquency on two vehicle loans.  Countless interactions have occurred surrounding these matters.  On 10/31/2014, due to other correspondence from the member outside of this complaint, a call occurred between Warren Federal Credit Union’s Chief Lending Officer (******* ******) and ***** ******.  In speaking with Mrs. ******, Mr. ****** agreed to place the vehicle repossessions on hold.  Mrs. ****** agreed to pay $100.00 per month on each of the two credit card (Visa) Charge Off accounts beginning around the middle of November.  These payments are in addition to keeping each vehicle loan current.  Mr. ****** expressed the importance of the ******’s performing on their agreement as the number of times each vehicle loan payment has been skipped has increased the time to get into an equity position on each vehicle and eventually pay them off.  Mrs. ****** agreed with this arrangement.  The Credit Union has continued to act in good faith with these members and as of the end of October an agreement had been met that was deemed suitable by both parties. 

9/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Around Sept 20th 2013 I purchased a **** ******** and I used Warren Federal Credit Union for the financing. I went to Warren Federal Credit Union in Wyoming, and did all the proper paperwork and gave them permission to automatically withdraw the monthly payment from my checking account. The payments of $230.00 were to start in October 2013. I received a phone call in December telling me that I was 2 months behind in my payments. I again, told them that this was already set up as an automatic withdraw and it should have started in October. They told me I now needed to send them a payment for 2 months for the payments in arrears because they couldn't deduct it from my account. Within the last couple months I bought another vehicle and wanted to finance it, so the dealership pulled my credit report and told me that Warren FCU had reported my first 3 payments to them (Nov, Dec & Jan 2013-2014) as being 30 days late. First Issue - After reviewing this, I tried to get it resolved by both the telephone and a 250 mile drive to their location. I was promised that someone would look into it and get back with me - I never heard from them regarding this again. My first payment was due in Oct 2013, but they reported on the credit report that it was received on time in Oct, but Nov 2013, Dec 2013 and Jan 2014 were all 30 days late. Since they didn't receive a payment from me until I sent my check to them in Dec, I'm not sure how they received my first payment which should have been an automatic withdraw, and if it was deducted from my account automatically in Oct 2013, why didn't they continue to receive my payments on the 22nd of each month. I feel they totally mis-reported this to the credit bureau's, which in turn damaged my credit score. This whole issue was Warren FCU doing, or lack of doing since they didn't follow their own procedures and get my form turned into my bank for automatic withdraw. My bank didn't receive the automatic withdraw paperwork until Dec it was impossible for them to have taken an Oct payment, like they reported. I have 2 different credit reports and on one of them it shows Oct, Nov, & Dec current, but Jan, Feb & Mar 30 days late. Again, this was automatic withdraw, nothing should have ever been late given that Warren Federal Credit Union did their job. Second Issue - On Oct 6, 2012, I refinanced my ******** with Warren FCU with a ten day payoff to ***** *****. Warren acknowledges my loan and my first payment to them, but for some reason they couldn't get my payoff to ***** ***** in time, so I got a hit on my credit on the final payoff. I was never late with any of my payments in the 3 years I had my loan with ***** *****, but now that it was up to Warren to take care of my payoff - I was hit for being 2 months 30 days late.....Yes, 2 months- I assume the payoff for the ******** was 30 days late getting to ***** *****, thus causing my payoff to be short, and it took another 30 days for Warren to pay the per diem, in which they paid without informing me they didn't make my payoff in the 10 days allowed for the original payoff.

Desired Settlement: I want this removed from all my credit bureau's and I want to be reimbursed for the time and gas it took to drive to there location, with absolutely no resolve. Because they mis-represented my credit, I received a much higher interest rate than I should have with my next purchase, so I feel they need to make all of this right, and if that means they pay the difference of what interest rate I could have received, then so be it.

Business Response: In response to the BBB Complaint *********.  The WFCU Lending Manager has reviewed this case for resolution for the member.  The Credit Union has identified the following specifics surrounding this case. 

The ******** refinance was originated on 10/5/2012 and the payoff check was received and posted by ***** ***** on 10/15/12. The payoff letter received from ***** ***** indicates that it is a payoff good through 10/17/12. The Credit Union is only able to locate one funding entry for the origination and it was for the amount listed on the payoff letter as a valid balance good through 10/17/12. The application date for this loan was 10/2/12 so there is nothing that can identified internally that would have caused a delinquency for the member.

The member reported that ”but they reported on the credit report that it was received on time in Oct”. This is a general misconception; the data collected by the Bureaus is loan status, not payment history, although typically one must make payments to keep a trade line in current status. So when the trade line was reported on in the first 2 cycle periods it was show as in current status, meaning not past due by 30+ days and that is accurate.  

For the **** it appears that the member did complete the ACH authorization form; an internal processing error occurred and the origination was not put in place. This issue was identified and an anticipated resolution was developed with the member on 12/10/13 and 12/11/13 respectively. The follow-through in the form of sending funds for the payments that were missed did not occur until 2/6/14. At this time the delinquency reporting has been corrected.  We thank this member for bringing this error to our attention and will exam our internal protocols to ensure that the internal processing error does not occur again. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regarding the ******** payoff - you stated ***** ***** posted the payoff payment on Oct 15, 2012, but said the payoff was good until Oct 17,2012, with an origination date of the loan to be Oct 5, 2012, so, you received a 12 day payoff? Really....***** ***** didn't "close the account until Nov 2012, why would that be?

The "but they reported on the credit report that it was received on time in Oct" statement regarding the **** ******** - no payment was made to you until Dec 2013.  Once again, how can that be?  Remember you stated that you didn't submit the ACH paperwork to my bank for withdraw until Dec 2013, so how was a payment made in Oct 2013?

In your response, you said that "at this time the delinquency reported, has been corrected",  I disagree with this because I just received a new credit report and all you did was show the account closed.  Where did you correct the delinquency? I'm not seeing it.

All this happened because Warren Federal Credit Union couldn't follow their own procedures, and turn in an ACH form for payment to themselves. All the liability is on Warren FCU.

As for damages....I couldn't get a comparable interest rate, (which was 5.9% for 2 of my loans - and both in perfect standing), because of your incompetence. I feel Warren FCU should compensate me for the difference in interest rates, because I could have saved thousands with a 5.9% interest rate, not including all the time, stress, gas, time off from work, and making phone calls (which by the way were NEVER returned).

I purchased another vehicle, in which you declined my loan, but in the mean time, I paid off 2 of my 3 prior loans ($750.00 worth of monthly ACH withdraws), with Warren, totaling approx. $19000.00, leaving me with $12000.00 in equity towards a $50000.00 vehicle.

I understand that Warren FCU is not obligated to ever give another loan to me, but when you DAMAGE my credit, through no fault of my own, I have the right to recover my losses, which includes litigation.

I acknowledge your "Thanks" for bringing the error, on your behalf, to your attention, but, damage already done. I'm already paying the penalties for your errors....THANKS


***** *******

Business Response: The Credit Union shares in Mr. *******’s concern regarding the timing of the payoff with ***** *****.  However, the only timing matter that the Credit Union can address are those elements within our control.  Mr. ******* received a loan with the credit union and payment was received by ***** ***** on 10/15 per their time stamp on the back of the check during processing at their institution.  The payoff was good until 10/17 therefore the credit union delivered the payment within the timeframe necessary for the payoff to be processed appropriately.  The credit union cannot speak to the reason why ***** ***** did not close the account until November.  Furthermore, Credit Union Management has reviewed the information reported to the Credit Bureaus in regards to Mr. *******’s trade lines with the Credit Union.  They have ensured that no past due statuses are present.

This all being said, the Credit Union is continuing its efforts with the member to find a reasonable solution.  Credit Union Management is in contact with the Mr. ******* directly to remedy this situation.   

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Warren FCU has contacted me and tried to get me a better rate on my ***** *** loan, but could only get a 1% better rate than I have now.  I have decided to decline the offer. ****** ******, the Retail Loaning Manager, has agreed to finance $8000.00 for my 2015 ******* Snowmobile with $3000.00 down.  So, as long as he lives up to his word, and I expect a competitive interest rate, (I have had several loans with Warren FCU, and have always been in perfect standing), so I expect a rate very close to what I have had in the past with Warren. therefore, I am satisfied with the agreement.


***** *******

8/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I obtained the loan in March 2014 form Warren Federal Credit Union, I never received any information regarding account information to make a loan payment on my loan. I contacted Warren FCU to make a payment and they then charged me a $25 dollar fee to make a payment over the phone. I bank online, had I received loan informatin in the past 8 weeks from Warren FCU I would have been able to make the payment in the time period for my bank to post the payment, however due to the negligence of Warren FCU not sending me loan information at all, and refusing to waive the fee of $25.00 to make the payment over the phone, I have now incurred a financial loss as a result of the negligence of a company Not sending loan documents to me.

Desired Settlement: Refund the Fee Warren FCU charged me to make a payment over the phone.

Business Response: Re: Case #********
To whom it may concern:

In response to a complaint received regarding our member for BBB Complaint #********, Warren Federal Credit Union (WFCU) has reviewed the member’s account
and other activity surrounding the complaint. This member closed an RV loan with us in March 2014.  Our records show that we sent him a welcome
letter setting forth the details about his loan, including when the payments were due and where to send those payments. 

Upon receiving the compliant on May 13, 2014, WFCU reached out to the member regarding the matter.  According to the member, he never received the welcome letter.  Our Lending Manager spoke with the member and verified that the address we have on file is the same that he listed on the BBB Compliant and is, in fact, his current address.  As a courtesy, our Lending Manager emailed the member a copy of the letter that we originally sent and authorized to have the $25 fee refunded to him for making his payment by phone.  Moving forward arrangements have been made for the member to make automatic payments on this RV loan, as he is doing on other loans that he has with us.  

At this time, the Credit Union is thankful for being made aware of the issues that the member was having and has resolved it in accordance with his desired settlement defined in the original BBB Complaint.     

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


**** ********

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

14 Customer Reviews on Blue Federal Credit Union
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart