BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Hawkstone Builders?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hawkstone Builders

Additional Locations

Phone: (307) 421-1844 Fax: (970) 460-0149 View Additional Phone Numbers 609 Technology Cir Unit B, Windsor, CO 80550 View Additional Email Addresses http://hawkstonebuilders.com/

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hawkstone Builders meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hawkstone Builders include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 5
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Hawkstone Builders
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 18, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1985 Business started locally: 01/01/1985 Business incorporated: 02/21/2007 in WY
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor Licensing Fort Collins
281 N College Ave, Fort Collins CO 80524
Phone Number: (970) 221-6767

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard Moskal, President Ms. Lori James, Interior Designer Ms. Patti Moskal, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Moskal, President
Business Category

General Contractors Home Builders Remodelers Real Estate Developers Construction Companies

Alternate Business Names
Hawkstone of Wyoming Inc
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

  • 3684 Scout Rd

    Cheyenne, WY 82001 (307) 421-1844 (307) 421-2309

  • 609 Technology Cir Unit B

    Windsor, CO 80550 (970) 460-0497

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (970) 460-0497(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a home from Hawkstone Builders which has experienced the following defects: - Defective roof resulting in water damage less than five years after construction and damaged drywall in the garage's ceiling - Flooding window wells and water penetrating the home's foundation causing water damage within the home's basement (faulty drainage around home's perimeter) - Warping support beams for the front porch overhang causing potential structural issues and damaged front bannisters - Flawed water line design for laundry room resulting in frozen water lines annually

Desired Settlement: To address the above building issues.

Business Response: Pertaining to, “Defective Roof:” 
As the customer indicates, the roof is now more than 5 years old and no prior issues with the roof had
ever been communicated, and no defect has been identified by the customer. Water damage to 
interior drywall can occur in many situations, including buildup of fine snow that blows in through the 
roof vents when the wind is out of a particular direction for a sustained period of time, but the most
likely cause is due to hail damage. Many other factors can contribute to problems but these are 
typically handled by homeowners insurance, not warranties. 
Pertaining to, “Flooding window wells and water penetrating the home’s foundation causing water 
damage with the home’s basement (faulty drainage around home’s perimeter):” 
The attached As-Built Survey indicates that the grade around the home was appropriate as certified by a 
licensed surveyor. This home did not include back yard landscaping where all the window wells reside.
The homeowner had landscaping installed either by himself or by a 3rd party. During one of 
Hawkstone’s investigations, negative drainage (ground sloping toward the house) was identified as a 
cause. Items 9 through 14 of the warranty clearly outline the homeowner’s responsibility for any 
changes to the grade after closing. Therefore, Hawkstone cannot be held responsible. 
Pertaining to, “Warping support beams for the front porch overhang causing structural issues and 
damaged front bannisters:” 
Support posts will very often experience some degree of warping as the wood dries out but that doesn’t
necessarily mean it has any significant effect of the efficacy of the column. Hawkstone has offered to 
give consideration to this issue even though the warranty has long ago expired. The warranty requires
that homeowners suspecting structural problems have them verified by a licensed structural engineer 
before a review by the builder’s engineer is done. Thus far, the home owner has not provided this, and 
therefore Hawkstone will not be able to honor this offer any longer. 
Pertaining to, “Flawed water line design for laundry room resulting in frozen water lines annually:” 
Hawkstone acknowledges that there was an air leak that caused laundry room water lines to freeze but 
has worked diligently to resolve the issue and believes it to be resolved at this point due to the fact that 
no calls were received last winter about the problem during one of the coldest winters in quite a 
number of years. 
Hawkstone has work diligently to satisfy this customer, even in cases where there were requests to fix
problems unrelated to Hawkstone. An example of this can be found in the attached release signed by 
the homeowner. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/23/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have continued to try and contact *** with Hawkstone Builders but have gotten no response for my final warranty items. The following items are the remaining items for our one-year warranty with Hawkstone Builers and were discussed with *** in November/December 2012 and what type of repairs that would be made. * Sprinkler Pipe back valve - this was discussed however, *** left before a solution was made on this one. *Deck step and screws on deck to be replaced. *** stated that someone would be coming by to correct this that same week. Item still not completed. *Drywall edging and nails - This item was discussed with *** and he had this drywallers come over the next day. This item was finished however the texture that was used to finish on the walls and window seat do not match. I have called Jim many times to have him come and take a look at this and been told he would call me back with the painter can meet. I have also emailed and haven't heard from ***. *Doors latching- *** fixed the doors while he was here during the walk-though of items in November/December however they are not closing again so there is something else that is causing them not to latch that needs to be looked at.

Desired Settlement: I am asking that the above items be finished correctly and in a timely mannor and if that is not possible, I will hire a professional contractor to correct the issues and Hawkstone Builders will be responsible for the charges.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/03/22) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *****************@gmail.com Hawkstone has made many efforts to satisfy Mr and Mrs *******. A copy of the record is attached. For the sprinkler valve leak our records show this item as not actually a warranty issue as it pertains to a small drip from the drain port at the back flow preventer. This is very often typical of these typs of drain ports. A subcontractor was assigned to fix the screws on the deck stairs an if they had not completed it we will send someone by to replace them within the next week. As for the drywall edging, these two items were the result of damange (window seat in child's room and a damaged corner by stairs) and was fixed as goodwill. Drywall patch texture matching is always subjective. Given this, Hawkstone does not feel any obligation to address it further. Door latches often times go though subtle changes with seasonal humidity variations. At this point, since the warranty has expired these are maintenance items. Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2013/04/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) On the back flow valve - The leak is coming from inside the unit from a faulty/ broken part. No one from Hawkstone has come to look at the unit since it was added to the ********** site on 11/7/13. On the Deck - no one has made contact or been out to make the replacements of the screws or faulty tread. On the drywall - The areas of repair were not the result of damage and were not repaired at goodwill. The areas were walked with the Superintendent and he noted that the bull nose edging had began to separate from the corner and that it was prone to happen with that type of edging. Upon completion of the repair it was requested that the Superintendent come to inspect the finished area. It was apparent that the drywall finishers had textured up to their tape line and left an obvious flaw in the finish. The Superintendent said he would send over someone to inspect the finish. That has not happened to this point. On the door latches - The issue has little to do with the seasonal changes that may effect doors opening and closing and more to do with the repairs that were made to the door. The issue was brought to the attention of the Superintendent after the initial repair to the doors. There remains one door with issue. Others were corrected on the initial repair. The remaining door was repaired in a manner that increased the reveal on the latch side creating a space where the latch doesn't make contact with the catch. There by not allowing the door to catch in the latch. Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2013/04/22) */ Back flow valves still in operation on 11/7 are typically damaged due to the water not being blown out of the system prior to freezing weather. Hawkstone will send someone by today to replace the screws in the deck stair tread and adjust the door. They will also evaluate the drywall at that time. Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2013/05/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The sprinkler system was taken down for the season well before any freezing temperatures could have potentially damaged the backflow valve. To date no one from Hawkstone has attempted to make any of the above mentioned repairs or arrange a time to do so. I would request that any repairs or completion of the above mention items be scheduled with me for specific date and time. Business Response /* (4000, 23, 2013/06/13) */ Hawkstone has repaired the sprinkler vacuum breaker where an internal part was found broken. This is typically caused by freezing. Hawkstone has also installed new screws in the deck steps, and adjusted the last door developed latching problems. On the drywall, Hawkstone has agreed to re-texture these areas but will need time to do so because of the lack of availability of drywall labor. We expect to be able to accomplish this within the next 3 weeks.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
On the back flow valve - The leak is coming from inside the unit from a faulty/ broken part. No one from Hawkstone has come to look at the unit since it was added to the ********** site on 11/7/13.

On the Deck - no one has made contact or been out to make the replacements of the screws or faulty tread.

On the drywall - The areas of repair were not the result of damage and were not repaired at goodwill. The areas were walked with the Superintendent and he noted that the bull nose edging had began to separate from the corner and that it was prone to happen with that type of edging. Upon completion of the repair it was requested that the Superintendent come to inspect the finished area. It was apparent that the drywall finishers had textured up to their tape line and left an obvious flaw in the finish. The Superintendent said he would send over someone to inspect the finish. That has not happened to this point.

On the door latches - The issue has little to do with the seasonal changes that may effect doors opening and closing and more to do with the repairs that were made to the door. The issue was brought to the attention of the Superintendent after the initial repair to the doors. There remains one door with issue. Others were corrected on the initial repair. The remaining door was repaired in a manner that increased the reveal on the latch side creating a space where the latch doesn't make contact with the catch. There by not allowing the door to catch in the latch.

Business Response: Back flow valves still in operation on 11/7 are typically damaged due to the water not being blown out of the system prior to freezing weather.

Hawkstone will send someone by today to replace the screws in the deck stair tread and adjust the door. They will also evaluate the drywall at that time.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The sprinkler system was taken down for the season well before any freezing temperatures could have potentially damaged the backflow valve.

To date no one from Hawkstone has attempted to make any of the above mentioned repairs or arrange a time to do so.

I would request that any repairs or completion of the above mention items be scheduled with me for specific date and time.

Consumer Response: On June 14, 2013 Hawkstone Builders requested a three week extension to complete the finally warranty item on my home that closed in November 2011.  It has now been almost 9 weeks and I still haven't heard from the builder.  I would request that contact be made and the final items be finished before August 31, 2013. 

Business Response:

My understanding is that work has been completed

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: 9659584

I am rejecting this response because:


The work has NOT been completed. The drywall was fixed yesterday and they stopped by to paint today,  however because of all the drywall repairs that have been required due to Hawkstone's quality of repairs the paint is gone.  The painter is going to get paint today and will stop by again tomorrow afternoon.
Regards,

Dustin Colbert

Consumer Response: The painters finished all of the work yesterday.  All items have now been completed.  Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/11/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are having problems with numerous issues in our home. We were supposed to be given warranty info. Never happened. We are having issues with both or microwave and stove. In fairness a repair guy was sent out to "fix the microwave," but it is worse now. One of our stove burners doesn't heat unless on high. We are highly unhappy with the quality of paint job in our home. It is so bad. Interior and exterior.I feel like I'm going to get stuck fixing this stuff, but we spent 230k why should I have to? We know our home was rushed. We were told this would be taken care of. When we tried to get warranty info we were told it would be sent. We never received it. We are 99% certain our hardwood floor only had 2 coats of finish on it. There was no time for 3. How is that fair? These things could have been done but our home wasn't a priority. It sat until the final month, then everything got rushed. Both of bathrooms have poor grout jobs that are cracking. The bottom of shower wasn't sealed right. The list goes on. Our garage door seal was put in improperly. It was tucked up inside. We got an old used painted sprinkler box.That is lime green with previous house paint all over it. We are missing a carpet pad on our top stair. Daylight can be seen under our front door, cold air is being emitted. There is still old lumber and plywood in our yard. There is/was a lot of trash in our rocks/landscaping. Painters tape, and electrical tape. Our front porch light shorted out. It hasn't even been 60 days. We aren't trying to be hard to please, we just want a nice job done on our house. Just the basic stuff we paid for. Nothing more, nothing less. We love our home, we would just like it fixed. We are on the verge of bringing painters in, that's not fair. There is some very suspect drywalling/framing going on. Some serious out of square curvy spots.

Desired Settlement: We would like our home fixed properly. Paint fixed, RIGHT, INSIDE AND OUT! A fully functioning stove and microwave. The front door seal fixed. We want our bathrooms fixed. Carpet pad in. Old lumber thrown out. A NEW sprinkler box, not used. We paid for a new home. Hard ****** floors, 3 coats? We want the truth on that issue. We just want someone to come over look at what we don't like and have people out to fix it. All will be forgiven. We really don't want a bad relationship with the builders, just a good house. :)

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/02/25) */ Hawkstone admits that it failed to follow up promptly on the following walk through items and apologizes for this; The carpet pad on the top step (completed), replacement of the sprinkler controller (subcontractor promises to have it replaced by 2/26/13). A final item, the painting of a shelf is believed to be complete but Hawkstone is unsure of this (subcontractor believes he completed it but isn't sure). No other outstanding issues were indicated on the Walk Through Sheet. Hawkstone asks all customers to accumulate non-emergency warranty items until the 60 day follow up so they can be addressed at that time. The Walk Through Sheet clearly states that all cosmetic items (paint, flooring, etc.) must be identified during the walk through. The front door threshold is indicated to have been properly adjusted but if it still needs adjustment a simple screwdriver will take care of it. As for the hardwood floors Hawkstone has no reason to believe that they weren't properly done. If there is an identifiable defect we will be happy to take care of it. It is our understanding that issues with tile grout have been taken care of. As for appliances they are covered by the manufacturer's warranty. We apologize if our initial attempt to help was unsuccessful. We were not aware the microwave problem was unresolved, or of problems with the range prior to this complaint. A simple call to the manufacturer's representative, to schedule an appointment should take care of it. Copies of the Walk Through Sheet and Warranty are attached for review.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/8/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/14/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/3/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1