BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of ABC Concrete Co Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

ABC Concrete Co Inc

Phone: (970) 493-4554 Fax: (970) 493-0629 2121 Midpoint Dr #225, Fort Collins, CO 80525

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that ABC Concrete Co Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for ABC Concrete Co Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on ABC Concrete Co Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 03, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1989 Business started locally: 01/01/1989 Business incorporated: 01/01/1989 in CO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William Stevens, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Stevens, Owner
Business Category

Concrete Contractors


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

ABC Concrete Co Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2121 Midpoint Dr #225

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 493-4554

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had concrete floor poured in June 2014. Paid in full for concrete pad in June 2014. Half of the pad is uneven (slopes downward). Appears that they ran out of concrete when they poured the pad initially. Have tried on numerous occasions to contact *** at ABC Concrete to correct the problem. Only received one voice mail back on 9/2/14 and one email on 9/11/14 stating that he would fix the pad but has taken no action to do so. As of today, 9/24/14, still no action/communication on ABC Concrete's part to correct the pad.

Desired Settlement: Meet with ABC Concrete on how and when the concrete pad with be corrected/finished. This needs to be done immediately due to the time and expense of holding up the project.

Business Response: Mr. ********* is correct in that the work was completed early this spring, NOT correct that we ran out of concrete, if so it would have been seen at time of completion, the issue it that plumbing work was done (not by ABC) under the slab area and that the area has settled. Mr. ****** on was already told that it would be looked at and fixed.  As this is our very busy season it will take more than a week to rearrange schedules to allow time to get to the project and take care of the issue. No one has said it wouldn't be taken care of only that it would as soon as we can. As our supervisor over the crews was in an auto wreck and has been limited on work load, no other reply was given after Mr. ********* was told it would be looked at and taken care of.
We will review the schedule and info Mr.********* of when we can complete the repair early next week.
Thank you,

7/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a driveway and patio installed June of last year by ABC Concrete. In March of this year we noticed cracking and crumbling of the concrete on the driveway. I contacted **** ******* the gentleman I initially signed my contract with last year and told him about the problem. He told me there was nothing he could do about this. He said the deterioration was caused by Calcium Chloride which is used on the streets to melt snow and ice. He made this statement without seeing my driveway. He said he would be out to grind and fill the cracks but I have not heard from or seen him since this promise was made over a month ago.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded for the portion of the driveway that is deteriorating.

Business Response:

Sorry for the delay in responding, we were/are waiting for the report from the concrete supplier that also went by to view the driveway and spoke to Homeowner to let her know why she was there.
Photos were sent from homeowner earlier in the year showing the areas in question, but also noted that it was only where driving and the entrance is to the home.
As stated on bid/contract we do not warranty against icemelt damage, which if not placed on by homeowner can be brought onto concrete by vehicles coming onto concrete.
The home owner has a day care business and has multiple cars driving on the concrete every day that could very likely bring icemelt from the road onto the concrete.
If the entire driveway where to have "flaked" workmanship would be in question or bad concrete as well. But this is not the case and the homeowner was informed when calls and emails where received earlier in this year.
Since the damage was done by means beyond our control and not part of workmanship, no refund can be given.
Upon receipt of the report by the concrete supplier's quality control officer we will forward that report as well.
Thank you.

Consumer Response: ***** ********* ******* *** ******* ********** ************************ ********* ******** ****** ************************ *** ************************ ************************ ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** *** ******** *******

I am contacting you at this email address because the message chain on your website would not allow me to do so. The dispute I have with ABC Concrete has not been finalized. We now have a third party involved,******** ********. *** ********** with ******** ***** *** told me that my driveway is showing signs of Scaling. This they say is due to deicing chemicals used on the roads. This driveway is not yet a year old and their concrete is deteriorating. Obviously their concrete is inadequate. I want to be compensated for the decomposing concrete. I would like this continuation of our correspondence with you posted as per the rest. Thank you.
***** ******  

Business Response: The homeowner is correct in that the findings from the photos sent by owner to us and from site visits concur that ice melt damage has/had occurred. The warranty on the bid/contract excludes any and all ice melt damage due to the uncontrollable natural of it being brought on to the surface by vehicles and/or being placed on by homeowners.
The homeowner can seal the concrete to help prevent further damage but that is still not a 100% fix. To date no fool proof concrete *** or sealer has been produced to stop 100% of scaling or flaking caused by ice melt products.
The workmanship of the pour is correct and good. No further action can be done under the warranty given on the bid/contract with the homeowner.
As ice melt damage is not covered and not due to our actions of any kind no work can be done under "bad concrete" as well.
We suggest the homeowner wash and seal the entire driveway to help prevent and further damage as much as possible.
Sealers are available at home centers and construction supply houses.
Thank you,
ABC Concrete

2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The stamped concrete patio that I contracted ABC Concrete Co, Inc. to install has an excessive slope and they refuse to correct the matter. I hired ABC Concrete Co Inc. to install a patio in March, 2013. The job was completed on March 20, 2013 and paid in full. The total price paid for services was $7010.00 and was paid in cash; half at beginning of job and remainder at completion. Wil *******, owner and operator of ABC Concrete, was the only person representing ABC Concrete that I had contact with. Wil made the initial site visit to discuss design criteria of the proposed patio and submitted the subsequent bid and ultimately managed the installation of the patio. There were many design details which were discussed with Wil; color of concrete, stamp pattern, orientation of steps, border and the actual construction of patio including placement of rebar, drainage placement for downspouts under patio, dimensions and other esthetic concerns. All of these details are cited on the contract we have in possession as well as the hand written 1 year warranty "for workmanship and installation". The detail of concern regarding this complaint is with concern to the slope or pitch of the patio. I feel that the slope Mr. ******* incorporated into the patio is grossly excessive and exceeds industry standards for stamped patios. I have contacted several other contractors in the Northern Colorado area and after discussing the matter of slope with these other professionals I can only conclude that which I previously stated; the slope on my patio is indeed excessive. A quarter of an inch slope per foot of patio in order to facilitate water drainage is considered extreme, according to the contractors with whom I spoke. Many of these contractors use slopes significantly less than 1/4 inch per foot. This is an extremely important design consideration for many reasons. It is clearly important to slope the patio to assist the drainage of water away from the house foundation but if the slope is too extreme it will have a negative affect on the finished patio from a customers perspective. Too great a slope is "felt" when one is standing, walking or sitting in a chair, for example. Mr. ******* stated in a prior email exchange that it is his company's policy to always discuss the matter of slope with his customers but my position is that the issue of slope was in fact never mentioned and it does not appear on the contract. I have made my concerns clear to Mr. ******* and requested that the patio be removed and re-installed at his expense, pursuant to his company's warranty. Thus far Mr. ******* refuses to acknowledge my concerns and refuses to grant my request to replace my patio. I have measured the patio with a surveying transit and have determined that the average slope that Mr. ******* used on the patio to be approximately 3/8 inch per foot.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting the current patio be demolished and replaced exactly as specified previously with the exception of slope. I am requesting a slope of 1/10 inch per foot. I do not expect to incur any further expense as this matter is resolved.

Business Response:

Reply to complaint:

Concerning the colored/stamped patio installed at ** ****** **., *********, Co on March 20, 2013.

The patio was installed per our company polices which were made by using the polices of city codes, national building codes and from nationally accredited training classes on decorative concrete.

The standard fall for regular concrete with a broom finish is ¼" per foot per city codes, concrete regulations from ACI (American Concrete Institute) and the ADA (American Disability Act).  With textured concrete (stamped) the standard is ¼" up to ½" depending on 1) location, 2) amount of water that could land on area and 3) climate.  With these three factors in mind the slope is then determined.  The slope on the patio in issue is at 5/16" per foot per Mr. ****** himself.  That gives it a 2.5% slope which is only .5% greater fall than suggested slope for regular concrete.

The reason for a greater slope on textured/stamped concrete is so that excess water does not stay on/in the impressed areas.  If excess water is allowed to stay this will damage the surface.

Attached is the following:

1)      Master Certificate for decorative concrete

A series of classroom and hands-on courses thru one of the largest training companies in the USA.

2)      Letters from two suppliers that state their recommendation to follow.

3)      Letter from a rival concrete company stating their standard of 3/8" - ½" which is above what was installed for Mr. ****** for stamped concrete.  This letter was obtained by Loveland Ready Mix and given to us so that we had an unbiased opinion.

 

We believe the patio was installed correctly and was installed as needed for conditions present.  We do not feel that removal and replacement is warranted.  We did offer to make changes to the patio and would supply all labor and Mr. ****** would then supply materials but that offer was refused.

We feel we have met our obligations in the correct installation of the patio and to the client.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I used a surveying transit to measure the amount of slope present in the patio, which ABC Const. Inc. installed.

The amount of slope present ranges from .28 inch per foot on the west side of the patio to .39 inch per foot on the east side.

As a point of reference, if the patio would have been uniformly constructed with a slope of .25 inch per foot, then, in contrast, my patio has an additional drop of up to 1.56 inches.  This equates to an additional 42% of drop.

Mr. ******* cites several specifications relating to code requirements.  The patio in question is not subject to any of these codes and did not require any permits in order to be constructed.  There were no inspections required by any county or state agencies.  It is unfortunate that Mr. ******* work was not inspected as the inconsistent slope and the variation in finished height along the outside edge would certainly have been called into question much sooner.

A significant issue which has become apparent is the variation in slope present in the patio.  I do not think I am being unreasonable to expect consistency in this matter.  There is a difference of up to 1 inch in the finished height along the outside edge of the patio.  The outside edge of the patio should be level and it is not.  I feel that this is indicative of the lack of quality workmanship regarding the construction of this patio.

I have received responses from five local Colorado companies which specialize in constructing Stamped Concrete Patios.  I sent an email to each company asking the following two questions:

1.       Do you warranty your Stamped Concrete Patios?

2.       What amount of slope do you use on Stamped Concrete Patios?

Responses were as follows:

·         4 of 5 offer a 1 year Warranty

·         1 of 5 use Slope of .25 inch per foot

·         1 of 5 use Slope of .13 to .25 inch per foot

·         1 or 5 use Slope of less than .25 inch per foot

·         2 of 5 use Slope of .13 inch per foot

None of these companies use a slope greater than .25 inch per foot and 3 of 5 use significantly less than .25 inch per foot.  Clearly these reputable companies see no concern in offering a warranty to stand behind their work as 4 of the companies contacted offer a full year.

In a previous email exchange with Mr. *******, he stated that it is his company policy to discuss the matter of slope with customers.  Mr. ******* never spoke of slope with me and this significant design consideration is not specified in his otherwise detailed bid/contract. Every other design aspect is specified in detail.

The “changes” Mr. ******* offered to make to the patio are limited only to the area of the patio that is under my hot tub and no remedy was offered for the remaining patio.

None of the three items referenced by Mr. ******* were included with his response attachment.

I am including as an attachment the email responses from the five concrete patio companies that responded to my questions, the bid/contract with ABC Const. Inc. and myself, as well as the email history between Mr. ******* and myself.

Regards,

**** ******

Business Response:

Complaint: *******

The patio in question was installed per our company's guidelines that were created by national and local guidelines as provided in the previous letters from a Structural Engineer and two suppliers of the materials.  Also included was a rival concrete company stating that their slope per foot starts at ¼" and goes up to ½".

Mr. ****** is correct in that a permit was not required, but the local and national building codes still need to be used to insure a safe and sound project.  If construction standards provided by city and national forms are not to be followed what is?  Every contractor has their own way of doing things and bases it on their previous work experience.  We base ours not only on work experience but also on local codes and guidelines, manufactures suggestions and professionals.  These were all provided as attachments in the last reply.

Without a foundation to start from to make company polices, how can a company know that the work is sound?  It would always be a "they said this" and "he said that" scenario.  By following local and national guidelines, we have a basis to explain and firm up our own polices used.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

A resolution has not been reached with ABC Concrete.

We would like to request BBB to help us with a resolution that has not been able to be obtained thus far.

Additionally, the only attached letters that Mr. ******* provided were from a structural engineer.  One letter provided, in spite of several references Mr. ******* has made stating that at least three other letters were offered. 

I would like an explanation as to why the slope that was incorporated in the construction of my patio is inconsistent.  It ranges from .28 to .39 inches per foot of slope.  Is it an "industry standard" to vary the finished height of a patio by up to an inch?

By my research and contact with multiple, reputable, concrete companies I have concluded that ABC Concrete installed my patio in a manner which is far outside the industry norm.  I did in-fact provide the email correspondence from these other companies to validate my claim.

There are three other stamped concrete patios at my neighbors which I have inspected and all three were constructed such that the slope is barely noticeable.  My patio is, frankly, ridiculous in comparison with regard to the excessive slope.  When one sits in a chair on my patio you feel as if the chair is going to tip over due to this extreme slope.

Additionally , I believe the inconsistent slope incorporated in my patio is indicative of inferior workmanship and is inexplainable which is why Mr. ******* has chosen not to address this particular point.

In closing in addition to asking BBB to step into the resolution process of this matter I ask Mr. ******* to please provide the letters he mentions and thus far has failed to produce and explain the reason behind the variations/inconsistencies in slope that were incorporated in the construction of my patio.

I look forward to hearing from BBB as to a next step in the resolution of this matter.

Regards,

**** ******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I would like my complaint ID *******, to be handled through an Arbitration hearing with BBB.

Regards,

**** ******

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I would like my complaint ID *******, to be handled through an Arbitration hearing with BBB.

Regards,

**** ******

 

ABC Concrete agrees to Arbitration hearing with the BBB

Thank you,

ABC Concrete Co., Inc.

 

10/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Signed contract with company to do curbing and sign installation. I was instructed to leave materials to be installed on front porch of business. I called and informed the vendor when I had delivered the materials. Two weeks later I get a call from the vendor saying that he did not receive the materials. After I assured him that the materials were delivered, he said he would check with his employees and get back to me. I left five voice messages, three on a cell phone and two at the main office, none of which were returned. I sent a bill to the company for the materials and have been told that since no one signed for them, I cannot prove that they got them, even though he admits that they still have part of them. I have since had to reorder these materials and pay someone else to install them. I did what I was told to do with the materials with assurances from the vendor that it was fine to leave them. I called and verified that they were delivered. I cannot afford to lose $500 because he has chosen to deny delivery.

Desired Settlement: I have requested a full refund. The vendor countered with an offer to pay 1/2. I don't feel that I am in the wrong here. I was instructed to leave the material on the porch. I was not instructed to get a signature from anyone. To now say it should have been handled that way does not change the fact that, once they were left on the porch, they became his responsibility. It would therefore be his lose if they were stolen. I am willing to file a small claims action regarding this.

Business Response:

To Whom it may concern:

An estimate/bid was given to do some curb work, but did not include posts or installation on the original bid. The posts and installation were added over a month after the bid was done.

The poles and boxes were to be delivered to our supervisor while meeting on another project with the complainant , the materials were not brought to meeting.

She asked if she could drop off the materials to our shop, She was told that no one is there during the day, only early morning and late in the day is someone there, but that she could place items on front porch.  We have ***** *** ****** place things for us there off and on (never had any issues with things "walking away").

She called and said items were placed on porch. A call was returned to let her know the only item on the porch was an open box with (1) metal post. That was over a month ago.

We received an invoice for materials that she said was left on the porch, we returned the invoice with a statement that read that we never received said materials and that no one had received it from her (other than the open box with (1) metal post) found on the front porch.

Returned a call today from complainant, only to be yelled at, talked over, swore at and hung up on while trying to explain our side and give information.

Called back and left message asking complainant why should we be held liable for items not received, if the items were on the porch and then taken, why would someone open a box and leave (1) metal post? But also did say despite her rude and unprofessional phone call that we would help her by paying half of the cost.

We don't believe we should be held liable for items not received but are willing to help out.

Thank you

ABC Concrete Co.,Inc.

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

from: ***** ******** <*****************>
to: ***** ***** <********************>
date: Mon, Oct 7, 2013 at 9:11 AM
subject: Re: Response issue

Good Morning,
I only wanted to say that I have had an eight year relationship with this company. When I was told to leave the materials on the porch, I was assured that this was an acceptable way to get the materials to the vendor. Once I left them and called to inform the vendor the parts were there, the vendor became responsible for the materials. Coming back and saying that while he knows I left the materials, I can't prove he got them is a weak attempt to get out of his replacement obligation. I should not have to cover any loss caused by his negligence after the materials were delivered as instructed.
The only reduction I can give is $145.35, for the cost of the signs. I received a second set of these at no charge and am willing to waive that charge on the invoice. That would bring the payment due down to $359.00, the cost of the waste station. I am out of pocket on this replacement and expect reimbursement. Otherwise I have no option but to try and collect through the court system. Again, I am small independent business woman and I cannot afford to write this off.
Thank you
***** ********

Business Response:

We agree to pay the amount of $359.00 to resolve the situations as indicated by Ms. ********'s response .  The check will be mailed out 10/10/13.

Thank you,

ABC Concrete Co., Inc.

Consumer Response:

Hello,
I don't know why the options won't work through the website. The offer to pay $359.00 acceptable to me. I will notify you when I receive their check.
Thank you for mediating this situation. I would much rather handle things this way than through the courts.
Sincerely
***** ********

3/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cracks appear in cement patio within days, and after some time cracks are appearing in non-seam locations all over the patio. They did the prep work in 1 day, and poured the cement the next. Only issue was a crack that appeared a couple of days later in one of the paths, which Will had mentioned might occur. The crack occurred along one of the lines in the concrete for absorbing any cracking. 2 years later, cracks appeared along two seems, they are not 3/8 " wide yet, but I will have to fix myself. Cracks are basically appearing in non-seam areas. Some are small, and some are getting larger. There are now multiple cracks throughout the patio that don't follow any of the seams for the cement.I have repaired one of the worst cracks from one side of the patio to the other at my own expense.

Desired Settlement: I wanted Will to repair the cracks within the first year. He never did. Now after 2 years their are cracks throughout the patio. I would like his company to repair these cracks.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/03/13) */ Sorry for the delay in responeding, we have been out of town. Mr. ******'s patio project was completed in Oct. 2010. *** ******* visited the site in 2011 in response to a call from Mr. ******. Cracks were noted in the seams at this point but no work was needed as this is normal. Mr. ****** was informed that he needed to re-seal the patio before winter of 2011 as the first sealing (done with project) wears the first year since its a cure and seal (due to being fresh concrete) and not a straight sealer. In keeping the patio sealed it helps to elimiate water from soaking into the patio, freezing and then causing issues. We also meet with Mrs. ****** I believe at the end of 2011 or the beginning of 2012 to look at the patio again and recommended sealing to protect patio and caulking cracks if they get larger to stop water from getting in, at the time they only had fracture cracks that could be sealed by applying a sealer. After that meeting with Mrs. ****** no further phone calls where recieved from the *******. To our knowledge everything was fine until we received this notice. The concrete work carried a one year warranty that was fullfilled on 10-18-11. With that we would like to help the ******* out. The crack sealing can be done when spring arrives this year.But before we do the sealing I would ask that the ******* look at a sample of crack sealing so they have an idea of what the outcome will look like. We would be willing to supply the tools and labor but ask the ******* to supply/pay for the caulking since the warranty is expired. Let us know your thoughts.