Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Union Telephone Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 926-2273 Fax: (307) 782-1318 View Additional Phone Numbers 850 N State Highway 414, Mountain View, WY 82939 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.unionwireless.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Union Telephone Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Union Telephone Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Union Telephone Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 08, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1914 in WY Business started locally: 01/01/1914 Business incorporated 01/01/1914 in WY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Howard Woody, President Ms. Tressa Barnes, Regional Manager Ms. Tina Dellinger, Customer Care Director Mr. Chris Reno, Accounting Supervisor Mr. David Ricley, Regional Manager Mr. John Woody, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Tina Dellinger, Customer Care Director
Principal: Mr. Howard Woody, President
Business Category

Cell Phone & Tablet Equipment, Supplies & Repair Telecommunication Companies Internet Service Internet Access Provider Cell Phone Stores Telephone Communication Companies Long Distance Phone Services

Alternate Business Names
Union Telephone Company Inc Union Wireless

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Union Telephone Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • Rawlins, WY 82301

  • 108 East Bridge

    Saratoga, WY 82331

  • 1355 Dewar Dr

    Rock Springs, WY 82901

  • 148 Front Street

    Evanston, WY 82930

  • 1809 Central Park Drive #16

    Steamboat Springs, CO 80487

  • 214 East Main

    Riverton, WY 82501

  • 2317 Grand Ave Unit D

    Laramie, WY 82070

  • 345 Mack Lane

    Craig, CO 81625

  • 3610 Dell Range Blvd. #A-5

    Cheyenne, WY 82009

  • 601 SE Wyoming Blvd. #01185

    Casper, WY 82609

  • 850 N State Highway 414

    Mountain View, WY 82939

  • PO Box 160

    Mountain View, WY 82939 (888) 926-2273 (800) 646-2355

  • Silverado Center 1103 Boxelder, Unit 4-M

    Gillette, WY 82718

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/4/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In October 2015 I went into the Mountain View office to setup internet, I was asked to sign a contract which I did. On the contract was the amount of $189 I asked if that was the first bill total, I was told yes. We also have cell pones on top of the new service we signed up for. I TOTALLY understood that the $189 was solely for the internet so I budgeted that money and set it aside. When the November 2015 bill showed up it was for a total of $423.00 this was around $73.00 more than I was told. I called in and asked to speak with the Supervisor, Heather. She told me she would look into this matter and get back to me. I tried calling and asking for her, I left voice mails and my calls were never returned! I call again this time I got the Rock Springs office, I asked for their supervisor. She looked into this problem and called Heather who told her that she had already told me that there was nothing else they could do. That she didn't think there was a problem. I NEVER heard anything back from Heather to begin with. I know $73 isn't a lot but when you are planning ahead and are on a budget it makes a difference. Every time you call into Union you always get a run around and the wrong info. This is the worst Cell phone carrier I have ever dealt with.

Desired Settlement: I want this $73 credited back to the account and more training to be done for the CSR and Supervisors on how to handle complaints.

Business Response:

December 31, 2015

Better Business Bureau

8020 S County Road 5, Ste 100 Fort Collins, CO.  80529

Attn: ***** ***** Re:  ****** *** ****** ****                 ********

Dear Ms. *****,

I am writing in response to the complaint received by Mr. ****, regarding a dispute on her account ******** in the amount of 73.00. In the spirit of good customer service, we have issued credit in the amount of $79.00, which was the cost of the modem that was billed to the account.  I have been in contact with the customer, and she is aware that this credit has been placed on her bill, and apologized for any inconvenience this may have caused. Please let me know if there are any other questions regarding this matter. Sincerely, Tina D********

Regional Manager

Union Wireless

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ****

9/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On approximately April 19, 2015 I went to the local union store and spoke with the lady working. I asked her to check my account to make sure that we were out of contract. I informed her that we were cancelling our service and going to move to another carrier located across the food court. She looked at my account and said that I would get a few dollars back because there were a few days left in the billing cycle. We then went directly over and transferred 3 of our 4 lines because I was no longer carrying the 4th line. We had some problems with the porting process so My wife an I went back to the Union office several times to solicit their help with the process. Around 6/30 I noticed an email from Union stating that my invoice was ready so I logged in and checked my account. I found that they were continuing to charge me for the line I didn't transfer which should have been cancelled. I called the Union 800 number and spoke with a rep who said it was never cancelled. I explained to her that I informed them that I was indeed canceling my service when it happened. She had to look into this further and left a message in my voicemail later stating that she was getting an adjustment, but we would have to wait for the July billing cycle to see what I owe, and that she would give me a call back to let me know. I never heard from her, so I checked my account in early August and found that they had credited a portion, but I still owe 1 month for the amount of 91.63. I tried twice the week of 8/17 to call the rep at the number she had provided, as of 8/24 I had not received a call back so I called the 800 number again and was connected with that rep. I explained to her again that I had informed them that I was cancelling my service and she said it wasn't in the system so there was nothing she could do. She offered to have the store supervisor contact me. I explained the situation again to him, and he continued to argue that I never informed them that I was cancelling the service to that line. I told him that I told the lady in person back in April that I was cancelling my service. I shouldn't have had to tell them again. We were unable to reach a resolution so I asked if I could discuss it with his supervisor and he agreed to have her call me. On 8/25 she left a message on my voicemail stating that under the contract I have to request a cancellation. and to call the 800 number if I have any further questions. As required I did contact them (in person) to inform them of the cancellation. The lady in the store clearly understood this as she was able to tell me that I would get money back, however evidently this was not properly documented. I understand that mistakes do happen, but I do not feel that I should still be charged for a service that I cancelled according to their terms.

Desired Settlement: To remove the charges billed after I cancelled my service in April, and to receive the credit for the remaining days of the billing cycle.

Business Response:

August 25, 2015

Better Business Bureau

8020 S County Road 5, Ste 100

Fort Collins, CO. 
80529
 

Attn: ******

Re:  *********                

Dear Ms. ,

I am writing in response to the complaint received by Mr.
***** regarding their final bill.

I have researched Mr. *****account and see that Mr.
****** requested to port three of his four lines over to ***** on April 20,
2015.  The request came into our
automated porting system for ID ***** and the
final number of ******** ID *****. 
These ports for all three of these lines were completed on 4/20/15.  At the time the ports are completed, the
lines are also disconnected as part of the port out process.  At no time, was ******** brought up or
requested to disconnect. 

The customer came into our Casper store on 4/19/15 and
spoke with our CSR Donna.  They wanted to
make sure that they were out of contract and if they could port their number
over.  There was no discussion regarding “disconnecting”
any lines, as we would have told the customer that the lines needed to remain
active or they could not be ported.

I have pulled the recorded calls between the *****
with the ***** Port Activation Center, *****and our CSR Frank on April 20th,
as the original request thru the automated system denied so they called in to
verify that the information they submitted was accurate.  They went over the account password, the
billing address, and the last four digits of the Social security number.  During this call, they reiterated that these
three lines were all on the same account. 
At no point did they even question the fourth line that is now in
question.  There was no discussion of
cancelling the lines, because in order to port to another carrier, the lines
must be active. 

On April 20th, the port for the three lines to
***** were successful, and were automatically disconnected based upon our
porting process.  The forth line went
untouched and remained active.

I reviewed the recorded call on June 24th, between
*****and our CSR Shuree.   ****
questioned being billed for the fourth and final line on his account.  Shuree had explained that we do not
disconnect lines without being asked and questioned if he had called to request
a disconnect.  He stated that he
mentioned to our rep in our Casper store that he was planning to cancel the
account, but never specifically did he request the line be terminated.

Shuree did prorate the disconnect to the beginning of the
bill cycle for him, so he wouldn’t be charged for that month, however he is
responsible for the bill prior to us receiving notice to terminate the line,
which took place on June 24, 2015.  The
balance due is $91.63.

I hope this helps to clear up the confusion on the
matter, should you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact
me at 1-800-646-2355.

Sincerely,

Tina D*****

Regional Manager

Union Wireless

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The facts are this, I did inform the CSR at the store that we were cancelling service. I was told by her that I would be getting credit back for the remaining days in the billing cycle which shows that she understood our intentions. If she had told me that I needed to come back and do that again I would have done so. I am not out to pull one over on this corporation, I have made a good faith effort to properly cancel this service from the beginning.

Regards,

****** ******

Business Response: September 4, 2015

Better Business Bureau
8020 S County Road 5, Ste. 100
Fort Collins, CO  80529

Attn: ***** *****


Dear Ms. *****,

In the spirit of good customer service, we are willing to credit the remainder of the account balance owed on the account of $92.80.  The final bill will process on the 24th of September and should reflect the balance of $0.

Should you have any additional questions regarding this matter, please feel free to contact me.

8/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a *laim about my phone that was *overed under insurance. I had paid the 11.95 per month for a 600.00 to a 1000.00 phone. When I did file a *laim I was told to take my *laim number to the nearest retail unit and they would replace it. I went to the *raig store, and they told me I had to take this 8g ****** * to replace my ****** *** phone. That was the only thing the insurance company would cover. Unless I wanted to forgo my insurance and pay my $200.00 deductible and put towards a new phone. I was paying for a 600.00 to 1000.00 phone and after my deductible still only received a 330.00 phone. I have tried for over a month to resolve this issue. Not only was the main office rude to me, but the local office won't even respond to my requests via the insurance carrier. It was over an hour in the store, just trying to get the claim taken care of.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive the 600.00 to 1000.00 ***** * was paying insurance on. I want a 16g ***** instead of the 8g ***** * was offered.

Business Response:

I have attached my response.

August 7, 2015

Better Business Bureau

Attn: ***** *****
RE: **** * ******** *** ******** *****

Dear Ms. *****,

Thank you for the opportunity to address the complaint received by Ms. ***** regarding her insurance claim. 

I spoke to Ms. ***** and provide the option for her to receive a 32GB ******.  This will double the memory of her previous model that was damaged.  Ms. ***** will need to return the 8GB ****** she received as the first replacement as well as the damaged 16GB ******.  This was an acceptable solution for Ms. *****. 


If you need anything further, please *ontact me at 1-800-646-2355 ext. ****.

Sincerely,

Tressa B***** 

Tressa B*****
Regional Sales Manager
Union Telephone *ompany

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Very pleasant transaction this morning.

Regards,

******** *****

2/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we signed up for union wireless in October of 2014. when we signed up we paid for 2 phones. We have switched form union wireless to ***t because union wireless has no service. we asked the lady who works for the company at the store in the ****** mall what our buy out would be. She told us it would be $400 for both phones. after we switched to *** they sent us a bill for $800. When I called them about it they said they were wrong and they would fix it, on 2/17/15 we received a bill for $1232.92. I called once again and they reduced the bill down to $1139.32, which is still way more than the $400 we were told we were going to have to pay. I will happily pay the $400 which is the actual price of the bill, but I cannot and will not pay the $1200 because there communications are not on the same page.

Desired Settlement: I would like my bill reduced down to the $400 which was the promised amount.

Business Response: February 23, 2015

Better Business Bureau
8020 S County Road 5, Ste 100
Fort Collins, CO. 
80529

Attn: ***** *****

Re:  ******* ******
           
Dear Ms. *****,

I am writing in response to the complaint received by Mr.
****** regarding the cancellation of his wireless service and early termination
fees.

I have researched Mr. ******’s account and have found he
entered into a three year contract on August 24th, 2014.  The contract terms state that if he
terminates service early, he would be responsible for the cost of the device
and any promotional offerings and discounts split over the 36 months should he
cancel before the contract had been fulfilled. 
At the time of cancellation, the ETF would have been $533.33 per
line. 

In the spirit of good customer service, we are willing to
reduce the ETF cost to $200 per line (plus the applicable taxes) with the
return of both devices in good working condition.  We will also require that the final bill be
paid in full prior to credit being issued.

Our records indicate that Mr. ****** has been billed
$500.00 for ********** and $350 for **********. 
We will issue credit of $450.00 total for the two lines for the contract
fees.  Mr. ****** will be responsible for
the remainder of the bill.  This leaves a
balance owed of $689.32, which is for service and contract fees up through
their disconnect date.

I will await the response from Mr. ****** to process any
credits to the account.

Should you have any questions regarding this matter,
please feel free to contact me at 1-800-646-2355.

Sincerely,
**** *********
Regional Manager
Union Wireless

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I will pay the $683, this offer seems fair since the lady at your ****** store told us $400. 

Regards,

******* ******

2/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Husband and I had switched phone company's in Aug of 2014 an immediately we started having problems with our phones. We broke the contract in Jan 2015. The problems included: not connecting to the internet, loosing APN settings to be able to connect to the internet, not being able to call each other or out, not receiving calls, and not having coverage in the areas the map showed we would. The reason why this was such a big deal to us is that my husband is on call 27/7 and his bosses would try to call him and the call would not come through 30- 40% of the time. The Call would go to VM when my husbands phone was on. My husband's job supports us and his Bosses were frustrated his job was almost on the line. Union wireless danced around why this was happening and did nothing to try and fix it for us. The Customer service reps just informed us it was something we were doing wrong telling us we need to "turn the phone off once a day to let it reboot" " Make sure your APN settings are entered right" among others. Eventually after months of calling in they said they would give my husband a loner phone to see if it was the phone or the network, he experienced the majority of the problems but I had the same. I asked the employee how do you know your missing calls if there not coming through, because we were told we need to document, when, where, an who's number it was, that didn't call through. So finally we went in and the phone they gave us was this old and shaggy thing I called my husband on it to make sure the phone was "Hooked Up" an the call went through so he ignored the call, then when we got home a work related call came through and the phone had no sound to the other party or to my husband. so we had to go back to the store and get another replacement phone, and iphone witch they stated it was the only phone they had and my husband an I have only used androids. So we were both very dissatisfied with the service we were paying for and not getting we had asked what breaking the contract would cost and ******** the employee said most likely round 3-4 hundred because they can take the phones back. That night we ported our numbers back to the previous company thinking that would be all the 300-400 because our phones were in great shape 5-6 months old and always had screen protectors and in cases also we were sick of the company not fixing the problems we were having why pay for some thing that does not work. My husband and I would not go back to this company if they paid us to use their services. We returned our phones only for them to tell us they would not take them back and now the cancelation price is round $1100.00 not completely sure because we have not received the final bill yet. I could go on but feel like Im done venting now

Desired Settlement: I would just like Union wireless to take there phones back and be done with that company who i feel are like crooks an pay the 300-400 they said it would be. As that the phones are in great shape and only 5-6 months old. Also an apology for all the wasted time spent

Business Response: February 13, 2015

Better Business Bureau
8020 S County Road 5, Ste 100
Fort Collins, CO. 
80529

Attn: ***** *****

Re:  ******* ******

BBB Case:  ********

Dear Ms. *****,

I am writing in response to the complaint received by Mrs.
******* ******, BBB Case ********, regarding the termination of services on her
Union Wireless account.

I spoke with Mrs. ****** today, February 13th
and advised her that we have agreed to reduce her Early Termination Fees to
$380.00, the cost incurred by Union Wireless as a result of our Contract Buyout
program at the time of activation, pending the return of her wireless equipment.

After speaking with Mrs. ******, it is my understanding
that this issue is resolved to the satisfaction of all parties involved.  Union Wireless is dedicated to providing
exceptional customer service in every way possible, and we are appreciative of
the opportunity to resolve customer concerns. 

If you have any questions or require any further
information, please do not hesitate to contact me at *************** **** ****
or via email at *************************.

Sincerely,
***** ******
Regional Manager
Union Wireless

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I also would like to thank the business for the quick response time in this complaint matter. I am sad however it had to come to this as we (my husband an I) are not big on complaining. I do feel they have made it right just wish it didn't have to come to loosing us as customers to get our matters resolved. 

Regards,

******* ******

11/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was out of contract ( or so I thought) and I was on the phone with Union Wirless for a month talking about different options whether to change carriers or keep them. They were going to change my package that I initially signed up for and would not allow me to carry on with it, if I upgraded my phone. So I threatened to change companies if they wouldn't hold up to the service package. They still would not allow us to keep the same package so after a month of going back and forth we told them we were changing. They never said one word about not being out of contract. They withheld that information from me until a month after being disconnected they said we owed them $471 for breaking contract. Said that I signed up for a 3 year not a 2 year (which I never remember it being 3 years, that's just crazy to sign up for a 3 year contract for a cell phone!) I feel they took advantage of us, and kept information from us intentionally.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see the amount brought to a zero balance. I was a loyal customer and paid all of my bills on time. I gave them so many chances to keep me as a customer.

Business Response:

November 17, 2014

Better Business Bureau

RE: Case # ******** *** ********* *****

Dear Ms. *****,

Thank you for the opportunity to address the complaint received by Ms. ***** regarding her early termination fees. 

The 3 year commitment was a result of Ms. ***** taking advantage of our contract buy out option.  Union will pay the early termination fees for our new subscriber for up to $200.00 per line.  If this option is selected we require that the subscriber commit to a 3 year contact or they pay an additional $9.00 per month on a 2 year commitment.  Union provided a credit of $175.00 to Ms. ***** for her early termination fees to her previous carrier.  

Since Ms. ***** feels she was not informed of the extended length of the contract we will remove the $400.00 we charged in early termination fees.  Ms. ***** will still be responsible for the $71.00 for plan cost prior to her termination request.  


If you need anything further, please contact me at ************** **** *****

Sincerely,

****** ******
Regional Sales Manager
Union Telephone Company

 




 

 

11/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I wasn't pleased at all with the service I received from Union Wireless and had contacted customer service many times to no avail. Finally I decided to switch cell phone companies. I found a company that would pay my contract breaking fee with Union (which I didn't think I should pay because they never gave the service they promised) so I switched companies. Union has continued to send me bills. At first I thought somehow the communication that I switched companies might not have gone through, so I contacted customer service, explained that I switched the phone numbers to a different company and would no longer be a customer of theirs. Then I requested the contract breakage fee so that I could turn it into the other company to pay it. They requested account password, which I provided. I failed to hear from them, so I hoped the problem was solved, until they sent me the next months bill. I once again e-mailed them, and I received nothing back. Once again I have received a bill.

Desired Settlement: I will not be paying the bills that they keep sending me. I am not their customer, I don't have a phone with them, and I don't want the bills to keep coming, getting bigger, and ruining my credit. 2nd I don't want to pay a contract breakage fee because by this point I don't know if the other company will still pay it for me.

Business Response: ******** ** **** ****** ******** ****** **** * ****** **** ** *** *** **** ******** ***  *****   ***** ***** *****

Re:  ***** ***
*******

Dear Ms. *****,

I am writing in response to the complaint received by Ms.
******* regarding the cancellation of her wireless service, contract
obligations and her final bill.

I have researched Ms. *******’s account and have found
that her lines were ported to another carrier on August 18, 2014.  There was a break-down in our process and we
did not receive a disconnect notification in order to terminate billing.  I have issued credit for the August, September
and October statement and the account status is now disconnected and the credit
on the account should bring the account balance to zero.

Ms. ******* also signed a 24 month contract that was set
to end on December 21, 2014, however in the spirit of good customer service, we
are waiving the early termination fee of $200 per line.

Should you have any questions regarding this matter,
please feel free to contact me at **************.

Sincerely,
**** *********
Regional Manager
Union Wireless

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  They have said that they will meet all of my requests.  So if I don't receive another bill from them, then I am happy.

Regards,

***** *******

11/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have disconnected service with Union Wireless in early July 2014 due to terrible coverage and multiple issues with phone disconnecting on me. I paid my final bill/disconnect fees in a timely manner. However, they over charged me by $160+ dollars. I have been patiently waiting since July for my refund check. On September 14, 2014 I called and spoke with *******. I have by this time been calling quite a bit wondering where this refund was. I was told by ******* (have the conversation recorded) that they would expedite the check. On October 16, 2014 I called again, and ******* told me that the check was mailed to me on Monday October 13, and that I should get it any day. Today, 7 days later I called yet again because I'm wondering why the check is still not here. I am told they accidentally mailed it to the wrong address and I'd have to wait for the check to come back to them and then they'd try to get it out but that she didn't have a time frame for me. I am tired of waiting on money that is rightfully mine. I feel like every time I call these people (probably nearly 30 times between the poor cellular service and refund issue) I continue to get the run around. Each call costs me about 30 minutes of my time (usually hold time listening to elevator music). I am furious that after waiting this entire time they for whatever reason sent the check to the wrong address. How did this even happen??!! And that they don't have a definitive time frame for when they'll get the check to me is very upsetting. This is not fair to me. This is an error on their end and I have been more than patient. Now I just feel like I'm getting the run around and being taken advantage of.

Desired Settlement: I want my check mailed out IMMEDIATELY! They can put a stop payment on the check that they wrongfully sent to the incorrect address. I shouldn't have to wait for it to get returned to sender. I want a new check cut and I want it this week. I'd also like to be compensated for my time and patience but I know that will never happen. I just want my money NOW! And I hope that this experience they've put me through permanently shows on their record through the BBB. This is ridiculous!!!

Business Response: October 23, 2014

Better Business Bureau
8020 S County Road 5, Ste 100
Fort Collins, CO. 
80529

Attn: ***** *****

Re:  ****** and
**** *****

Dear Ms. *****,

I am writing in response to the complaint received by Ms.
***** regarding the receipt of a refund after cancellation of her wireless
service in July 2014.

A refund check # ****** in the amount of $163.67 has been
processed and was mailed via US Mail on October 13th to the primary contact address
we had on file.  I have since been in
contact with Ms. ***** and we have updated the account to reflect the address
she requested.  We will do a stop-payment
on the check ****** and reissue a refund, this will be completed on 10-24-14.  They should receive the refund within a few
business days.

We apologize for the inconvenience the delay in the
refund may have caused the customer.

Should you have any questions regarding this matter,
please feel free to contact me at **************.

Sincerely,
*** ********r
Regional Manager
Union Wireless

10/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I cancelled my Union Cell service in June of 2014. After 1 month I received a bill stating I owed Union -88.45. I called the service representative and said that I would like a refund sent. I was informed that it took them 6 weeks to process a refund. I asked them if that is what they would expect from me when paying my bills to them. Could I pay them 6 weeks after receiving an invoice? I was told of course not! It has now been 4 months and I still have not received my refund. It must be costing Union to repeatedly send me a bill asking me to pay -$88.45.Could you please help me with this. Customer refunds should be treated in as timely a manner as the company expects to receive their charge for services.

Desired Settlement: I would like my refund sent immediately!

Business Response: October 23, 2014

Better Business Bureau
8020 S County Road 5, Ste 100
Fort Collins, CO. 80529

Attn: ***** *****

Re:  ***** ****
Acct: ********

Dear Ms. *****,

I am writing in response to the complaint received by Ms.
**** regarding the receipt of a refund after cancellation of her wireless
service in May 2014.

A refund check # 289533 in the amount of $88.45 has been
processed and will be mailed via US Mail today to *** ********* *** ********* ** ******  Ms. **** should expect to
receive it within the next few business days. 

We apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused.
Should you have any questions regarding this matter,
please feel free to contact me at **************.

Sincerely,

**** *********
Regional Manager
Union Wireless

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ****

7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ported both my phone numbers away from Union Wireless, one on 11 July and the other on 12 July. I called customer service on the 12th, and was told by the "Union Wireless Operator" I could not cancel service on a Saturday. I called on the 13th and was told by the "Union Wireless Operator" I could not cancel service on a Sunday. I asked the operator to add a note in my file that I have been trying to cancel service, and through no fault of my own (that Union Wireless refuses to allow customers to cancel service on the weekend) that I do not want to be charged for service past the 12th. I called on the 14th and was told that I could not cancel service because a phone number port had not completed successfully. This was due to Union Wireless not attaching the correct SSN to my spouse's phone line. Despite taking both our SSNs, and running credit for both of us, my SSN was attached to both lines, so Union Wireless refused to complete the port request for my spouse's line. I called the new service provider who then "forced" the porting process to complete. I called Union Wireless customer service again on 15 July and after waiting on hold for a considerable length of time, the operator answered and I explained that I was trying yet again to cancel service, the operator told me that a customer service representative would call me back, I asked to be put back in the hold queue but the operator refused and said I would be called back. I asked when I could expect the call but the operator could not give me an answer. I explained that I wanted a call back the same day because I have been trying for 4 days to cancel service. I did not receive a call back on the 15th. It is now the 16th and I still have not received a call. I now feel that a BBB complaint is the only choice I have to get my service canceled.

Desired Settlement: I want both my lines (entire account) canceled, efective 13 July 2014.

Business Response: I am writing in response to the complaint received by Mr. **** *********, BBB Case ********, regarding the termination of services on his Union Wireless account.

I spoke with Mr. ********* today, July 17th and advised him that his Union Wireless services are now fully disconnected.  It is my understanding that the issue has been resolved to Mr. *********’s satisfaction.

Again, we apologize for any inconveniences Mr. ********* has incurred.  Union Wireless is dedicated to providing exceptional customer service in every way possible, and we are appreciative of the opportunity to resolve customer concerns. 

If you have any questions or require any further information, please do not hesitate to contact me at ###-###-####, ext. 4383 or via email at d******@unionwireless.com.

Sincerely,

***** ******
Regional Manager

6/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Union Wireless incorrectly billed me for services for a bill due June 8, 2014. This bill included a minimum over $80 in overcharges. According to service representatives I have talked to, these resulted from double charges, and additional services being added to my account that I had not asked for. There is not enough space on the next form for all complaint contact details so I will put them here: --May 31, 2014 I noticed my bill was substantially higher than normal, I called and talked to "*****" who said I was double charged and a credit will be issued before the June 8 payment due date. At this time I paid the portion of my bill that I would be responsible for (the normal charges, per *****). I asked ***** to place a note in my account to state that my ETF decreasing at 1 year into the contract wouldn't be affected by Union Wireless' screw up, he assured me it would not. --June 4, 2014 the credit had not been applied to my account, I called and talked to "*******." ******* called ***** (from my previous call) to check the status of the credit. ***** reported that the credit was in progress and would be applied to my account before June 8. I asked ******* to place a note in my account to state that my ETF decreasing at 1 year into the contract wouldn't be affected by Union Wireless' screw up. --June 6, 2014 the credit had not been applied to my account, I called and talked to an agent but they would not give me their name. This agent sent an email query to ***** to ask about the status of the credit, the agent then rushed me off the phone before I could ask follow-up questions. --June 13, 2014 the credit had not been applied to my account, I called and talked to "*******" who said she would look into the credit for me as it was still pending supervisor approval, and would call me back. She never called me back, still to this date (June 26) she has not returned my call (more on this below). I asked ******* to place a note in my account to state that my ETF decreasing at 1 year into the contract wouldn't be affected by Union Wireless' screw up. --June 19, 2014 the credit had not been applied to my account, I called and talked to "******" who said she would look into the credit for me, as it was still pending supervisor approval, and would call me back. She never called me back. --June 20, 2014, the credit had not been applied to my account, I left a voicemail for ******* and never received a call back. --June 23, 2014, the credit had not been applied to my account, I left a voicemail for both ******* and ****** and never received a call back. Later in the day I called the main customer service number and talked to "*****" who was the rep that originally sold me the service contract. ***** told me several things about my bill, including Union Wireless was changing the terms of my contract without my knowledge, to include removing my military discount (originally applied to both lines on the contract, now applied only to the main line), after 30 minutes of doing the math of the contract and me disputing the charges he found that a service had been added WITHOUT MY KNOWLEDGE for $10/month. A "Carefree calling 'feature'". This had originally been on the contract but I canceled that service in less than 2 months (the free period of that additional service was 3 months). This had been added and billed to my account without my knowledge, just as the change in discount had been changed without my knowledge. ***** did manage to find where I had canceled the so-called "carefree calling feature" several months prior to this billing issue. So between the double charges, and the charges added without my knowledge or consent, the total credit to my account should be no less than $80. ***** sent this information to ******* who was supposed to get it taken care of that day and then call me to confirm. Neither of these things happened. --June 26, 2014, the credit had not been applied to my account, I left a voicemail for ******* and never received a call back. I called the main customer service number and talked to "******" who checked on the status of the credit with "*******" (the CSR who has failed to return any call over the past weeks) and said the credit was still pending supervisor approval. I asked ****** to place a note in my account to state that my ETF decreasing at 1 year into the contract wouldn't be affected by Union Wireless' screw up and email me that account comment. She emailed me the comment, but it only stated "customer asked about termination fees" which is not what I asked about at all. The Union Wireless ETF fees drops dramatically at the 1 year mark into the contract as long as all payments have been made on time, and I wanted an assurance that Union Wireless' screw up would not affect that decreased ETF at the one year mark.

Desired Settlement: The bill needs to be fixed, and I would like, in writing, a statement from Union Wireless stating that their incorrect billing, and adding additional charges/services without my knowledge or consent, will have no effect on my ETF (early termination fee) decreasing on schedule and by the correct amount, per the contract, at the 1 year date of my contract.

Business Response: June 27, 2014
****** ******** ****** **** * ****** **** ** *** *** **** ******** ***  *****

Attn: ***** *****

Re:  **** *********

BBB Case:  ********
Dear Ms. *****,

I am writing in response to the complaint received by Mr.
**** *********, BBB Case ********, regarding the incorrect charges on his Union
Wireless account.

Mr. ********* was correct in his assessment, he was in
fact incorrectly charged on his most recent Union Wireless statement.  He had been told that a credit had been
pending management approval and as of today, June 26th that credit of
$80.00 has been applied.  Mr. *********’s
credit and payment history standing with Union will not be negatively
impacted. 

I spoke with Mr. ********* today, June 27th and
advised him of the credit to his account. 
A subsequent attempt was made to contact Mt. ********* to further
discuss the status of his payment history and any further issues or concerns he
may have.  I am still awaiting a
callback, and fully anticipate the issue to be resolved.

Again, we apologize for any inconveniences Mr. *********
has incurred.  Union Wireless is
dedicated to providing exceptional customer service in every way possible, and
we are appreciative of the opportunity to resolve customer concerns. 

If you have any questions or require any further
information, please do not hesitate to contact me at 1-800-226-2438, ext. 4383
or via email at d******@unionwireless.com.

Sincerely,
***** ******
Regional Manager
Union Wireless

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I would like to further add that despite receiving what I view as poor customer service over the past month while trying to get this billing problem fixed, Union Wireless's response to the BBB complaint was very fast. The contact at Union Wireless who responded to the complaint was prompt, courteous, and genuinely concerned with my complaint and making it right.


Regards,

**** *********

6/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have had multiple problems over the last 2 years with our service. Issues range from not being able to send photos, after working for hours trying to figure it out to no avail. Sending and receiving texts is intermittent, and that never seems to get better. Missed calls and voice mail messages randomly never show up, sometimes you can make a call, and sometimes you can't. They just randomly go away with full bars of service. Occasionally, calls connect to people you don't call. One time I got a photo a month later than it was sent. Other times, they just never show up. People get angry. We use our phones for work. Customers can't reach us. We can not rely on our phones, and we can not get a land line that works where we live, because the technology is too old and the company won't replace it, so we are stuck with cell phones, but they don't work either. Union changed their billing system, and didn't bother to let us know that our bills weren't coming out until later, so I checked on line. My account was supposed to be credited for our difficulties, and instead, it has $400 in penalties we were told we weren't going to have. $200 for moving our sons line onto his own account, and the lady at the counter said that it wouldn't change our contract, so there wouldn't be a fee. $200 for having to disconnect a line we have had for 4 years that stopped working and had a disconnect message on it, and Union couldn't figure out why or fix it, so after a month of no service, we told them to just turn it off. They said they were sorry and they would try to credit us for that month. Instead, they charged us an additional $200. After our son opened his own account, month to month, he couldn't make calls and wasn't receiving texts, so he switched to *******. But it was a month to month account that didn't work. Big surprise. This has been happening for the last couple years. No one seems to be able to make a difference in our service, but the bill goes up just fine. We are so tired of trying to figure this out.

Desired Settlement: We wish Union would provide the services that we pay for every month. We have been with them for 4 years, and had hoped to stay with them, but we are looking for other options if they can't figure this out. We also don't believe our bill should be 3 times higher after a month of hell with them, especially when we were assured that they were doing everything possible to help us. How can a company justify charging people as if they were receiving the promised service, when they simply aren't providing it?

Business Response: June 19, 2014

****** ******** ****** **** * ****** **** ** *** *** **** ******** ***  *****

Re:  ****** *******

To Whom It May Concern,

I am writing in response to the complaint received by Ms.
****** ******* regarding wireless service issues over the past two years. 

In reviewing Ms. *******’s account, I was able to find
three trouble tickets that had been logged over the past three and
three-quarter years.  Two of the logged
trouble tickets were issues with sending and receiving picture messages and the
third was due to coverage in Powell, Wyoming. 
The two trouble tickets on picture messaging were resolved to the customer’s
satisfaction per the notes on file.  The
last ticket on coverage in Powell was closed after three attempts to contact
the customer to let them know that Powell is a known bad-coverage area at this
time.  There were other issues identified
in the complaint that I do not show record of being reported.  We are unable to resolve issues if we are not
made aware of them.  I would ask that
when the customer is experiencing trouble that they report the issue to us
immediately so that we can begin the trouble-shooting process. 

Ms. ******* also indicated billing issues with her most
recent statement.  She is correct when
stating that her bill was later than normal, this was due to our recent changes
with our billing software provider.  In
attempt to ensure the bills were accurate, there was a delay in getting the
bills out to our customers.  Additionally,
they were charged for early termination fees on two lines that terminated from
their account in error, again this was due to a change in the billing system
and they have been credited to their account. 

We apologize for the inconveniences that have been caused
for Ms. *******, and ask for patience as we fully transition over to the new
billing system.  If there seems to be an
error at all with billing, she is more than welcome to contact our office and I
assure you, we will resolve it as quickly as possible. 

Should you have any questions regarding this matter,
please feel free to contact me at **************.

Sincerely,
****
*********
**** *********
Regional Manager
Union Wireless

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is acceptable, however, I do disagree with their information. If they read our files, they would know that we don't bother with trouble tickets anymore because they do not solve problems, but rather they just keep us on the phone for hours with technicians. The trouble ticket for the photo messages was ended, not because they fixed it, but because we got tired of being on the phone so we gave up. Trouble tickets are a waste of time.

We will settle for the adjustment in the bill, as it is fair. We do wish that we could have decent cell service though. We do not expect that because we don't think Union can provide it.

Regards,

****** *******

11/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July we signed a contract for a home telephone and internet service with Union Wireless. Based on the sales representative and website information, we believed that our long distance charges were to be $0.05/minute for intrastate calls and $0.14/minute for interstate calls. Our first bill showed $0.14 per minute for all calls. We called customer service who then "looked into" the issue and was told that they would give us a credit but that our charges would be $0.14/minute from now on. We then called customer service again after re-checking what the website declares for rates and was told that intrastate is between states. I'm not sure what dictionary Union is using for their employees but whenever I look it up, intrastate is within the state. We then asked the representative what we needed to do to get out of our contract and she told us it would cost $900.00!!!

Desired Settlement: First of all, I'd like Union's customer service to actually learn their vocabulary especially when their customer's bills depend on it. Secondly we'd like them to honor the rate they advertise both on their website and by their sales reps. If we cannot get the rate that is advertised, then we'd like to get out of our contract without paying $900.00.

Business Response:

October 24, 2013

Better Business Bureau

8020 S County Road 5, Ste 100

Fort Collins, CO.  80529

Attn: ***** *****

Re:  ****** ********

BBB Case:  *******

Dear Ms. *****,

I am writing in response to the complaint received by Ms. ****** ********, BBB Case *******, regarding her Landline and Long Distance services with Union Wireless.

We would first like to extend an apology to Ms. ******** that our internal resolution of this matter was not relayed to her in a timely manner.  We have reviewed Ms. ******** account, and determined that a credit will be issued to her account, as well as an adjustment made to her rate going forward.

An attempt to contact Ms. ******** was made today via her contact number provided to discuss the details of our resolution, and a message was left with my contact information.  I will attempt to contact her again tomorrow, October 25th.

We do apologize for any inconveniences Ms. ******** has incurred.  Union Wireless is dedicated to providing exceptional customer service in every way possible.

If you have any questions or require any further information, please do not hesitate to contact me at *************** **** **** or via email at *************************.

Sincerely,

***** ******

Regional Manager

Union Wireless

10/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Union Telephone Company
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart