BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Union Telephone Company?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Union Telephone Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 926-2273 Fax: (307) 782-1318 View Additional Phone Numbers 850 N State Highway 414, Mountain View, WY 82939 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.unionwireless.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Union Telephone Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Union Telephone Company include:

  • 14 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Union Telephone Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Union Telephone Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 08, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1914 Business started locally: 01/01/1914 Business incorporated: 01/01/1914 in WY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Howard Woody, President Ms. Tina Dellinger, Customer Care Director Mr. Chris Reno, Accounting Supervisor Mr. David Ricley, Regional Manager Mr. John Woody, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Tina Dellinger, Customer Care Director
Principal: Mr. Howard Woody, President
Business Category

Cell Phone & Tablet Equipment, Supplies & Repair Telecommunication Companies Internet Service Providers Internet Access Provider Cell Phone Stores Telephone Communication Companies Long Distance Phone Services

Alternate Business Names
Union Telephone Company Inc Union Wireless

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Union Telephone Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 108 East Bridge

    Saratoga, WY 82331

  • 1355 Dewar Dr

    Rock Springs, WY 82901

  • 148 Front Street

    Evanston, WY 82930

  • 1809 Central Park Drive #16

    Steamboat Springs, CO 80487

  • 214 East Main

    Riverton, WY 82501

  • 2317 Grand Ave Unit D

    Laramie, WY 82070

  • 345 Mack Lane

    Craig, CO 81625

  • 3610 Dell Range Blvd. #A-5

    Cheyenne, WY 82009

  • 601 SE Wyoming Blvd. #01185

    Casper, WY 82609

  • 850 N State Highway 414

    Mountain View, WY 82939

  • PO Box 160

    Mountain View, WY 82939 (888) 926-2273 (800) 646-2355

  • Silverado Center 1103 Boxelder, Unit 4-M

    Gillette, WY 82718

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (307) 782-6131(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ported both my phone numbers away from Union Wireless, one on 11 July and the other on 12 July. I called customer service on the 12th, and was told by the "Union Wireless Operator" I could not cancel service on a Saturday. I called on the 13th and was told by the "Union Wireless Operator" I could not cancel service on a Sunday. I asked the operator to add a note in my file that I have been trying to cancel service, and through no fault of my own (that Union Wireless refuses to allow customers to cancel service on the weekend) that I do not want to be charged for service past the 12th. I called on the 14th and was told that I could not cancel service because a phone number port had not completed successfully. This was due to Union Wireless not attaching the correct SSN to my spouse's phone line. Despite taking both our SSNs, and running credit for both of us, my SSN was attached to both lines, so Union Wireless refused to complete the port request for my spouse's line. I called the new service provider who then "forced" the porting process to complete. I called Union Wireless customer service again on 15 July and after waiting on hold for a considerable length of time, the operator answered and I explained that I was trying yet again to cancel service, the operator told me that a customer service representative would call me back, I asked to be put back in the hold queue but the operator refused and said I would be called back. I asked when I could expect the call but the operator could not give me an answer. I explained that I wanted a call back the same day because I have been trying for 4 days to cancel service. I did not receive a call back on the 15th. It is now the 16th and I still have not received a call. I now feel that a BBB complaint is the only choice I have to get my service canceled.

Desired Settlement: I want both my lines (entire account) canceled, efective 13 July 2014.

Business Response: I am writing in response to the complaint received by Mr. **** *********, BBB Case ********, regarding the termination of services on his Union Wireless account.

I spoke with Mr. ********* today, July 17th and advised him that his Union Wireless services are now fully disconnected.  It is my understanding that the issue has been resolved to Mr. *********’s satisfaction.

Again, we apologize for any inconveniences Mr. ********* has incurred.  Union Wireless is dedicated to providing exceptional customer service in every way possible, and we are appreciative of the opportunity to resolve customer concerns. 

If you have any questions or require any further information, please do not hesitate to contact me at ###-###-####, ext. 4383 or via email at d******@unionwireless.com.

Sincerely,

***** ******
Regional Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Union Wireless incorrectly billed me for services for a bill due June 8, 2014. This bill included a minimum over $80 in overcharges. According to service representatives I have talked to, these resulted from double charges, and additional services being added to my account that I had not asked for. There is not enough space on the next form for all complaint contact details so I will put them here: --May 31, 2014 I noticed my bill was substantially higher than normal, I called and talked to "*****" who said I was double charged and a credit will be issued before the June 8 payment due date. At this time I paid the portion of my bill that I would be responsible for (the normal charges, per *****). I asked ***** to place a note in my account to state that my ETF decreasing at 1 year into the contract wouldn't be affected by Union Wireless' screw up, he assured me it would not. --June 4, 2014 the credit had not been applied to my account, I called and talked to "*******." ******* called ***** (from my previous call) to check the status of the credit. ***** reported that the credit was in progress and would be applied to my account before June 8. I asked ******* to place a note in my account to state that my ETF decreasing at 1 year into the contract wouldn't be affected by Union Wireless' screw up. --June 6, 2014 the credit had not been applied to my account, I called and talked to an agent but they would not give me their name. This agent sent an email query to ***** to ask about the status of the credit, the agent then rushed me off the phone before I could ask follow-up questions. --June 13, 2014 the credit had not been applied to my account, I called and talked to "*******" who said she would look into the credit for me as it was still pending supervisor approval, and would call me back. She never called me back, still to this date (June 26) she has not returned my call (more on this below). I asked ******* to place a note in my account to state that my ETF decreasing at 1 year into the contract wouldn't be affected by Union Wireless' screw up. --June 19, 2014 the credit had not been applied to my account, I called and talked to "******" who said she would look into the credit for me, as it was still pending supervisor approval, and would call me back. She never called me back. --June 20, 2014, the credit had not been applied to my account, I left a voicemail for ******* and never received a call back. --June 23, 2014, the credit had not been applied to my account, I left a voicemail for both ******* and ****** and never received a call back. Later in the day I called the main customer service number and talked to "*****" who was the rep that originally sold me the service contract. ***** told me several things about my bill, including Union Wireless was changing the terms of my contract without my knowledge, to include removing my military discount (originally applied to both lines on the contract, now applied only to the main line), after 30 minutes of doing the math of the contract and me disputing the charges he found that a service had been added WITHOUT MY KNOWLEDGE for $10/month. A "Carefree calling 'feature'". This had originally been on the contract but I canceled that service in less than 2 months (the free period of that additional service was 3 months). This had been added and billed to my account without my knowledge, just as the change in discount had been changed without my knowledge. ***** did manage to find where I had canceled the so-called "carefree calling feature" several months prior to this billing issue. So between the double charges, and the charges added without my knowledge or consent, the total credit to my account should be no less than $80. ***** sent this information to ******* who was supposed to get it taken care of that day and then call me to confirm. Neither of these things happened. --June 26, 2014, the credit had not been applied to my account, I left a voicemail for ******* and never received a call back. I called the main customer service number and talked to "******" who checked on the status of the credit with "*******" (the CSR who has failed to return any call over the past weeks) and said the credit was still pending supervisor approval. I asked ****** to place a note in my account to state that my ETF decreasing at 1 year into the contract wouldn't be affected by Union Wireless' screw up and email me that account comment. She emailed me the comment, but it only stated "customer asked about termination fees" which is not what I asked about at all. The Union Wireless ETF fees drops dramatically at the 1 year mark into the contract as long as all payments have been made on time, and I wanted an assurance that Union Wireless' screw up would not affect that decreased ETF at the one year mark.

Desired Settlement: The bill needs to be fixed, and I would like, in writing, a statement from Union Wireless stating that their incorrect billing, and adding additional charges/services without my knowledge or consent, will have no effect on my ETF (early termination fee) decreasing on schedule and by the correct amount, per the contract, at the 1 year date of my contract.

Business Response: June 27, 2014
****** ******** ****** **** * ****** **** ** *** *** **** ******** ***  *****

Attn: ***** *****

Re:  **** *********

BBB Case:  ********
Dear Ms. *****,

I am writing in response to the complaint received by Mr.
**** *********, BBB Case ********, regarding the incorrect charges on his Union
Wireless account.

Mr. ********* was correct in his assessment, he was in
fact incorrectly charged on his most recent Union Wireless statement.  He had been told that a credit had been
pending management approval and as of today, June 26th that credit of
$80.00 has been applied.  Mr. *********’s
credit and payment history standing with Union will not be negatively
impacted. 

I spoke with Mr. ********* today, June 27th and
advised him of the credit to his account. 
A subsequent attempt was made to contact Mt. ********* to further
discuss the status of his payment history and any further issues or concerns he
may have.  I am still awaiting a
callback, and fully anticipate the issue to be resolved.

Again, we apologize for any inconveniences Mr. *********
has incurred.  Union Wireless is
dedicated to providing exceptional customer service in every way possible, and
we are appreciative of the opportunity to resolve customer concerns. 

If you have any questions or require any further
information, please do not hesitate to contact me at 1-800-226-2438, ext. 4383
or via email at d******@unionwireless.com.

Sincerely,
***** ******
Regional Manager
Union Wireless

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I would like to further add that despite receiving what I view as poor customer service over the past month while trying to get this billing problem fixed, Union Wireless's response to the BBB complaint was very fast. The contact at Union Wireless who responded to the complaint was prompt, courteous, and genuinely concerned with my complaint and making it right.


Regards,

**** *********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have had multiple problems over the last 2 years with our service. Issues range from not being able to send photos, after working for hours trying to figure it out to no avail. Sending and receiving texts is intermittent, and that never seems to get better. Missed calls and voice mail messages randomly never show up, sometimes you can make a call, and sometimes you can't. They just randomly go away with full bars of service. Occasionally, calls connect to people you don't call. One time I got a photo a month later than it was sent. Other times, they just never show up. People get angry. We use our phones for work. Customers can't reach us. We can not rely on our phones, and we can not get a land line that works where we live, because the technology is too old and the company won't replace it, so we are stuck with cell phones, but they don't work either. Union changed their billing system, and didn't bother to let us know that our bills weren't coming out until later, so I checked on line. My account was supposed to be credited for our difficulties, and instead, it has $400 in penalties we were told we weren't going to have. $200 for moving our sons line onto his own account, and the lady at the counter said that it wouldn't change our contract, so there wouldn't be a fee. $200 for having to disconnect a line we have had for 4 years that stopped working and had a disconnect message on it, and Union couldn't figure out why or fix it, so after a month of no service, we told them to just turn it off. They said they were sorry and they would try to credit us for that month. Instead, they charged us an additional $200. After our son opened his own account, month to month, he couldn't make calls and wasn't receiving texts, so he switched to *******. But it was a month to month account that didn't work. Big surprise. This has been happening for the last couple years. No one seems to be able to make a difference in our service, but the bill goes up just fine. We are so tired of trying to figure this out.

Desired Settlement: We wish Union would provide the services that we pay for every month. We have been with them for 4 years, and had hoped to stay with them, but we are looking for other options if they can't figure this out. We also don't believe our bill should be 3 times higher after a month of hell with them, especially when we were assured that they were doing everything possible to help us. How can a company justify charging people as if they were receiving the promised service, when they simply aren't providing it?

Business Response: June 19, 2014

****** ******** ****** **** * ****** **** ** *** *** **** ******** ***  *****

Re:  ****** *******

To Whom It May Concern,

I am writing in response to the complaint received by Ms.
****** ******* regarding wireless service issues over the past two years. 

In reviewing Ms. *******’s account, I was able to find
three trouble tickets that had been logged over the past three and
three-quarter years.  Two of the logged
trouble tickets were issues with sending and receiving picture messages and the
third was due to coverage in Powell, Wyoming. 
The two trouble tickets on picture messaging were resolved to the customer’s
satisfaction per the notes on file.  The
last ticket on coverage in Powell was closed after three attempts to contact
the customer to let them know that Powell is a known bad-coverage area at this
time.  There were other issues identified
in the complaint that I do not show record of being reported.  We are unable to resolve issues if we are not
made aware of them.  I would ask that
when the customer is experiencing trouble that they report the issue to us
immediately so that we can begin the trouble-shooting process. 

Ms. ******* also indicated billing issues with her most
recent statement.  She is correct when
stating that her bill was later than normal, this was due to our recent changes
with our billing software provider.  In
attempt to ensure the bills were accurate, there was a delay in getting the
bills out to our customers.  Additionally,
they were charged for early termination fees on two lines that terminated from
their account in error, again this was due to a change in the billing system
and they have been credited to their account. 

We apologize for the inconveniences that have been caused
for Ms. *******, and ask for patience as we fully transition over to the new
billing system.  If there seems to be an
error at all with billing, she is more than welcome to contact our office and I
assure you, we will resolve it as quickly as possible. 

Should you have any questions regarding this matter,
please feel free to contact me at **************.

Sincerely,
****
*********
**** *********
Regional Manager
Union Wireless

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is acceptable, however, I do disagree with their information. If they read our files, they would know that we don't bother with trouble tickets anymore because they do not solve problems, but rather they just keep us on the phone for hours with technicians. The trouble ticket for the photo messages was ended, not because they fixed it, but because we got tired of being on the phone so we gave up. Trouble tickets are a waste of time.

We will settle for the adjustment in the bill, as it is fair. We do wish that we could have decent cell service though. We do not expect that because we don't think Union can provide it.

Regards,

****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July we signed a contract for a home telephone and internet service with Union Wireless. Based on the sales representative and website information, we believed that our long distance charges were to be $0.05/minute for intrastate calls and $0.14/minute for interstate calls. Our first bill showed $0.14 per minute for all calls. We called customer service who then "looked into" the issue and was told that they would give us a credit but that our charges would be $0.14/minute from now on. We then called customer service again after re-checking what the website declares for rates and was told that intrastate is between states. I'm not sure what dictionary Union is using for their employees but whenever I look it up, intrastate is within the state. We then asked the representative what we needed to do to get out of our contract and she told us it would cost $900.00!!!

Desired Settlement: First of all, I'd like Union's customer service to actually learn their vocabulary especially when their customer's bills depend on it. Secondly we'd like them to honor the rate they advertise both on their website and by their sales reps. If we cannot get the rate that is advertised, then we'd like to get out of our contract without paying $900.00.

Business Response:

October 24, 2013

Better Business Bureau

8020 S County Road 5, Ste 100

Fort Collins, CO.  80529

Attn: ***** *****

Re:  ****** ********

BBB Case:  *******

Dear Ms. *****,

I am writing in response to the complaint received by Ms. ****** ********, BBB Case *******, regarding her Landline and Long Distance services with Union Wireless.

We would first like to extend an apology to Ms. ******** that our internal resolution of this matter was not relayed to her in a timely manner.  We have reviewed Ms. ******** account, and determined that a credit will be issued to her account, as well as an adjustment made to her rate going forward.

An attempt to contact Ms. ******** was made today via her contact number provided to discuss the details of our resolution, and a message was left with my contact information.  I will attempt to contact her again tomorrow, October 25th.

We do apologize for any inconveniences Ms. ******** has incurred.  Union Wireless is dedicated to providing exceptional customer service in every way possible.

If you have any questions or require any further information, please do not hesitate to contact me at *************** **** **** or via email at *************************.

Sincerely,

***** ******

Regional Manager

Union Wireless

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a pre-paid one year account. They dropped it without notification and then promised to return our unused payment. This is from April to June We renewed our 1 year contract on 10/18/2012 in ******* ** at ******* ************* I tried to use the phone the last of March or first of April. It said we had no service. I called ** **** and the gal could not find our number, however she could find our old number we had had since 1997. We had to get a new number when we started pre-pay. So she said to go to the ****** office and get a new card reader for our phone. I went to the ****** office and she said they had dropped that program but that we would get a refund for the money in our account. I called *** **** and complained that they had not even notified us. And she said they had called everyone and that we could pay the lowest program for $35.00 and the money would revert to that account. I explained we didn't use it enough to warrant $35.00 now that we are retired. She asked how many minutes a month we used it and I said not more that 15 Minutes. I said we cannot get reception at our house so we only use it to call home or take on a trip. She agreed that probably it wasn't and they would refund our unused money. I again complained about letting us know they were dropping the program. And she said well we tried to but you probably had turned your cell phone off- duuuuuuuu We cannot get service where we live. I waited for the check so we could buy a track phone and thought maybe they only write checks like that at the first of the month. May came and no check so around the middle of the month I went to the ****** office to complain again and the gal called ** **** while I was there and they gave her the number of accounts payable in ***** and that gal didn't answer so I left and the ****** rep. called me and said I would have a check by the end of May and if not to call her back. I did not call her back- it is not her fault. I would think that a company who had been paid on time for 16 years should pay their bills on time and a company who can't reach a person by cell-phone can call on a land line- write a letter(they have our address) or e-mail but they might not have our e-mail address.

Desired Settlement: A check for the unused prepaid amount. I think we deserve an apology even if ours is an unusual circumstance.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/26) */ June 26, 2013 Better Business Bureau 8020 S County Road 5, Ste 100 Fort Collins, CO. XXXXX Attn: ***** ***** Re: ***** ***** BBB Case: XXXXXXXX Dear Ms. ****** I am writing in response to the complaint received by Ms. ***** *****, BBB Case XXXXXXXX, regarding her prepaid services with Union Wireless. Union Wireless did in fact terminate our prepaid service offering in February, 2013. I personally contacted Ms. ***** upon notification of her complaint on Thursday, June 13th to determine a course of action and immediate resolution. At that time, it was determined she had not yet received her refund check for the unused portion of her prepaid services. After speaking with Accounts Payable, a check was sent to Ms. ***** that same day. I followed-up again with Ms. ***** on the 13th to notify of the check being sent and she responded that once the refund was received, she would close the BBB complaint. An attempt was made to contact Ms. ***** today, June 26th to determine whether or not a check had been received. I am still awaiting a callback, and fully anticipate the issue to be resolved. Again, we apologize for any inconveniences Ms. ***** has incurred. Union Wireless is dedicated to providing exceptional customer service in every way possible, and we would welcome Ms. ***** back as a customer on any of our available offerings. If you have any questions or require any further information, please do not hesitate to contact me at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX, ext. **** or via email at *******@unionwireless.com. Sincerely, David ****** Regional Manager Union Wireless

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased phone with 100min/month prepaid on 11/29/2012 for $299.24. Union wireless terminated service Feb/Mar and will not honor prepaid minutes. I went to Union Wireless on 11/29/2012 requesting the cheapest way to have cell phone service for mostly emergency (minimum) use. I was told the cheapest method was to purchase a phone with 100 min/month which would be good for a year. I used the phone once or twice to see if it worked, didn't have any emergencies so didn't use it any more. Checked it sometime in Feb or Mar and it had been turned off. Went to the store to check on this and was told they were no longer offering this service. My only options were to go on a monthly plan or get $98.00 back. Since I paid $299.00 I feel they owe me this back as they were the ones reneging on the contract, as they tell me the do not have the technology to honor the contract. I also believe they sold me this under false pretenses as I think they knew they would be discontinuing this plan and should not have sold it to me. Technology doesn't change that fast. I would be ****** with service till the end of the year with the specified minutes.

Desired Settlement: Either refund of $299.24 or honor the initial contract to provide service for 1 year with 100 min/month.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/03/25) */ March 25, 2013 Better Business Bureau 8020 S County Road 5, Ste 100 Fort Collins, CO. XXXXX Attn: ***** ***** Re: ****** ****** BBB Case: XXXXXXXX Dear Ms. *****, I am writing in response to the complaint received by Ms. ****** ******, BBB Case XXXXXX, regarding her prepaid services with Union Wireless. Union Wireless did in fact terminate our prepaid service offering in February, 2013. No less than three attempts were made to contact each prepaid customer to notify of our prepaid services end date. These attempts were all via phone call, as Union Wireless does not keep physical or mailing addresses on file with our prepaid customers. Prepaid services, unlike our contracted offerings, require no commitment or contract to be signed by either the customer or Union Wireless. As we had previously explained to Ms. ******, she will be receiving a full refund for her unused prepaid services but she will not be receiving a refund for the amount paid for her wireless device. At the time of Ms. ******'s visit to the Union Wireless retail location, she was provided with the option of migrating to a Month-to-Month postpaid account with a waived $35.00 activation fee, which she declined. She was also informed that her unlocked wireless phone is able to be used with any other GSM provider and their prepaid offerings. We do apologize for any inconveniences Ms. ****** has incurred. Union Wireless is dedicated to providing exceptional customer service in every way possible, and we would welcome Ms. ****** back as a customer on any of our available offerings. If you have any questions or require any further information, please do not hesitate to contact me at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX, ext. 4383 or via email at *****@unionwireless.com. Sincerely, ***** ****** Regional Manager Union Wireless Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/03/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As I explained in my initial complaint, Union Wireless made an verbal contract with me to provide service for 1 year for the payment I made to them. Verbal contracts are legally binding in Wyoming. I did not recieve any contact from them as I only turned on the phone when I went on a trip so didn't have it on. They could have looked up my home phone in the phonebook, however I am not interested in paying a monthly fee in addition to what I have already paid them,so contacting me earlier wouldn't have changed anything. I had made this very clear at the time of my initial purchace. Nor am I interested in paying a different provider for service I have already paid Union Wireless for. They need to honor what they said they would do and give me a year of service or refund my total payment. Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/04/02) */ April 2, 2013 Better Business Bureau 8020 S County Road 5, Ste 100 Fort Collins, CO. XXXXX Attn: ***** ***** Re: ****** ****** BBB Case: XXXXXXXX Dear Ms. *****, Thank you for notifying us that Ms. ****** did not accept our initial response to her BBB Complaint XXXXXXXX. Ms. ****** specified that she purchased a year of service from Union Wireless. This is not necessarily how our Prepaid, Pay Per Use package worked. She in fact purchased $100 worth of usage, to be used at her discretion with an expiration date of up to 1 year. There was no contract signed by either the customer or Union Wireless, which was one of the benefits at the time of activating a prepaid line of service. The unused portion of Ms. ******'s services will be refunded. The amount in dispute is the cost of her wireless device, which now having been used is unable to be re-sold by Union Wireless. The device however, can be used to activate prepaid services with any other provider. Ms. ****** would not be paying additional, out of pocket costs to another GSM provider to activate her device. She will now be able to take her wireless device, along with the refunded amount of her unused service with Union Wireless and activate service with another provider without the cost of acquiring a handset or device from that provider. If Ms. ****** would like, she can visit the Union Wireless retail location in the Frontier Mall in Cheyenne, WY and we will gladly assist her in choosing another provider in our area that offers Prepaid Pay Per Use services. We've done this with other customers in the past, and it has helped to clear up any misunderstandings or miscommunications. We do apologize for any inconveniences Ms. ****** has incurred. I want to make it clear that additional costs on her part are unnecessary. Union Wireless is dedicated to providing exceptional customer service in every way possible, and we would welcome Ms. ****** back as a customer on any of our available offerings. If you have any questions or require any further information, please do not hesitate to contact me at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX, ext. 4383 or via email at *****@unionwireless.com. Sincerely, ***** ****** Regional Manager Union Wireless Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2013/04/16) */ I responded to this more than a week ago but apparently my response was lost. This complaint is not resolved. Union Wireless went back on thir word to provide me with the phone and service with 100 minutes and a year to utilize those minutes by arbitrarily turning off my phone after less than 2 months and only a couple of minutes of use. I believe that it they will not turn my phone on, which is my primary objective, then they should return to me my $299,and void the whole transaction. I am not the one who changed my mind or wanted out of our initial agreement, so I feel they owe me the money for all the fees and they should take the phone back, and make it as if I had never been there. Union Wireless claims I am "confused" about how it works. There was no confusion when I was in the store that and that I would get 100 minutes and that I would have a year to use them. I am concerned that this has the appearance of a bait and switch, and have to wonder if this is their usual business practice. Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2013/04/26) */ April 26, 2013 Better Business Bureau 8020 S County Road 5, Ste 100 Fort Collins, CO. XXXXX Attn: ***** ***** Re: ****** ****** BBB Case: XXXXXXXX Dear Ms. *****, Thank you for notifying us that Ms. ****** did not accept our second response to her BBB Complaint XXXXXXXX. After further review of Ms. ******'s Union Wireless Prepaid account, we have determined a course of action that we believe to be beneficial to both parties. At this time, we are willing to refund the purchase price of Ms. ******'s wireless device, a Motorola model *****Black with IMEI (serial number) XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX. On November 27, 2012 Ms. ****** paid $149.99 for this device. We are willing to refund that amount in full at our Cheyenne Union Wireless located inside the Frontier Mall. This is the location where Ms. ****** made her original purchase this past November. At her time of activation, Ms. ****** paid $100 for service, of which her unused portion has already been refunded, $149.99 for the device, which will be refunded at the time of return and $35.00 for activation, this amount is for the cost incurred of activating a line of service and is non-refundable. When returned, we will promptly credit $149.99 plus sales tax back to the card Ms. ****** had used to make her original purchase. An attempt to contact Ms. ****** was made today via her contact number provided, but we have not yet received a return call. The employees in the Union Wireless Cheyenne retail location have been advised of this course of action and are standing by to assist Ms. ****** when she arrives. We do apologize for any inconveniences Ms. ****** has incurred. Union Wireless is dedicated to providing exceptional customer service in every way possible, and we would welcome Ms. ****** back as a customer on any of our available offerings. If you have any questions or require any further information, please do not hesitate to contact me at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX, ext. 4383 or via email at *****@unionwireless.com. Sincerely, ***** ****** Regional Manager Union Wireless Consumer Response /* (-5, 21, 2013/04/30) */ From: ****** ****** (mailto:*****@millect.com) Sent: Monday, April 29, 2013 4:56 PM To: *****@unionwireless.com Cc: *****@wynco.bbb.org Subject: complaint To ***** ******: In response to your phone call of the other day, I think I made it very clear in my complaint what my desired resolution is. I would like you to honor your verbal contract to provide me with 100 minutes of service and a year to use them in. By my records that means I have 10 months (since the phone has been turned off by your company since February) to use my remaining 98 minutes. Since I was told by your representative that you could turn my phone back on if I would agree to the $35/month plan, I know you are capable of turning it back on. Please send me an e-mail to let me know when you turn it back on so I can start using it again. If you are unable/unwilling to do this please refund the entire $299. If choose this option I will return the phone to the store. You claim we did not have a contract; I only know I agreed to pay you $299 and you agreed to provide me 100 minutes of phone service and a year in which to use them. I can assume if I had disputed the charge on the credit card and refused to pay, you would have probably sued me saying I had agreed to pay and had an obligation to do so. Well, you agreed to provide the service. It works both ways. Please let me know which option you wish to resolve this dispute, or if you do not wish to resolve it, within the next couple of weeks as I anticipate needing phone service then. After this dispute is resolved with your company, if I end up needing to obtain a phone and/or service from another company I will contact them. What type of service I obtain and the cost of such service is not your concern. REDACT3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133REDACT Sincerely, REDACT3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133*****@unionwireless.com3133REDACT ****** ****** Business Response /* (-10, 22, 2013/04/30) */ From: ***** A. ****** (mailto:*****@Unionwireless.com) Sent: Monday, April 29, 2013 6:57 PM To: ****** ****** Cc: *****@wynco.bbb.org Subject: RE: complaint Dear Ms. ******, Thank you for taking the time to follow-up with me regarding your Better Business Bureau complaint XXXXXXXX. I responded to your most recent dispute via the BBB site on Friday, April 26th. As stated in my response, we have further reviewed your account and will provide a refund of $149.99 (plus sales tax) for the cost of your Motorola ***** with serial number XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX upon its return to the Union Wireless Cheyenne retail location inside the Frontier Mall. We ask that, to receive a purchase price refund on your wireless device, it be returned no later than Friday, May 10th. The employees at that location have been notified of our arrangement, and are standing by to assist you with your return. Our Cheyenne hours are Monday through Saturday from 10:00AM to 9:00PM and Sunday 11:00AM to 6:00PM. A refund check for $98.60, the unused portion of your prepaid services has been sent. If you have not received this check, please notify me and I will gladly follow-up with my accounting department. The $35 activation fee is the only portion of your original transaction that is nonrefundable. As Union Wireless no longer provides prepaid services, reactivation under your original terms is unfortunately not an option at this time. Ms. ******, please understand that we apologize for any inconveniences you may have incurred. Union Wireless is committed to providing exceptional customer service in every way possible. Please do not hesitate to contact me should any further needs arise. I can be reached anytime at XXX-XXX-XXXX, ext. 4383 or via email at *****@unionwireless.com. Sincerely, ***** ****** Union Wireless Regional Sales Manager (307) XXX-XXXX (307) XXX-XXXX *****@unionwireless.com

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am being billed for breaking a wireless contract with Union Wireless. They did not uphold their end of the contract. A year ago (Feb. 2012) I purchased two iPhones and a two year service agreement from Union Wireless in Casper, WY. I was not informed that this did not include 3G service. I assumed that this was included. I assumed that was a given. Kind of like buying a car and asking if there is a steering wheel included - of course there is! Why ask!? Why would anybody sell smart phones and not sell the service needed to fully utilize them? Anyway, I soon discovered that there was no 3G available. I approached the store manager here in Casper (****** *****, I believe) and was told that 3G would be available "by the beginning of summer". Needless to say, by July 1st this had not happened. So I approached ****** again and was told "by the end of summer". By September, nothing. I approached ****** a third time. "It will be available soon, but not for your phone." Wonderful. In addition to the lack of 3G, I have found Union's claim that they have superior wireless coverage to be faulty. I spend much time in the "hills" and frequently do NOT have service when my companions with Verizon do have service - and 3G (or 4G). So, I have changed wireless providers. Now I am being charged $400 for breaking my contract (two lines). However, Union wireless has at no point lived up to their end of the contract. They have NOT provided the services that were promised, and that I have paid for. I contacted customer service, and eventually reached a customer service provider (****** *******). I was told that I would have to pay the $400 wireless contract fee unless I came back to Union Wireless. I informed the customer service rep. that I did not feel I should have to pay the $400 because Union Wireless had not held up their end of the contract by providing superior service and by misleading me as to the availability of 3G. Union claims to be a Wyoming provider with old fashioned, honest service. Therefore, I should be able to take the word of a Union representative (specifically ******, here in Casper) and expect it to be honest and accurate. The account number on my most recent bill is XXXXXXXX.

Desired Settlement: I do not believe that I should have to pay any early termination fees ($400) because I did not receive all of the services promised by Union Wireless and their representatives.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/09) */ April 9, 2013 Better Business Bureau 8020 S County Road 5, Ste 100 Fort Collins, CO. XXXXX Attn: ***** ***** Re: ****** ****** Dear Ms. *****, I am writing in response to the complaint received by Mr. ****** ****** regarding being charged early termination fees when he cancelled his contract prior to completion. Mr. ****** signed up for service on a 2 year contract on February 18, 2012 on our Prime calling plan, which was our 2G offering. At the time that he signed up for service, the Casper area was not yet operating on our 3G network. Our standard 3G service offering began in the Casper area in May of 2012, operating on the 850/1700 band. The initial conversion did have limitations to the type of phones that operated within those bands. In February 2013, we added the 1900 MHz band, which would allow the iPhone to operate at the higher speeds. In addition to having the network capabilities, customers wishing to utilize the higher speeds needed to change to a 3G plan, and have the settings updated in their phone. As I stated previously, the 2 year agreement that Mr. ****** signed was for 2G service. He came into our store on February 1, 2013 expressing his frustrations with data speeds at which time he was informed that we were currently working on the implementation of the 1900 band, which was deployed at the end of that same month. On March 1, 2013 we contacted Mr. ****** to let him know of the change, at which time he said he was not interested in coming back. We feel that Mr. ****** is liable for the costs associated for terminating his contract prior to the completion date of February 18, 2014 as Union delivered on the service that he had signed up for. Should you have any questions regarding this matter, please feel free to contact me at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ****** ****** ****** ****** Regional Manager Union Wireless

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my complaint is with Union Telephone,P.O. Box 160, Mountain View, WY. XXXXX, XXX-XXX-XXXX. on or about 1/10/2012 I bought this "(******************* )"cellphone outright on a month to month contract I Charged my visa 456.98 to pay for the phone the actavion of the phone the first 2 monthst of service an 2 carring case which they were disconuining. Got out to my truck an the phone was locked, so i went back in an showd them that the phone was lockd and the reason I bought this phone is that Union prides themsels on ther phones being un lockd. So, the sent my phone into SONIM w a rma number an told me that it would be 6 to 8 weeks to get the phone back. On 30/10/2012 I went into the casper union store and ***** told me that she would have an answer for me on monday 3/12/2012, did not here from her and on 4/12/2012 I calld the store an the told me she was not there, so i ask for ****** for she was the one who sold me the phone and did the contract, so about 30min after calling i went to the store an ****** was there, so this set me off and I told ****** the store manager either get me the phone or refund my money by close of business, he said no and that now i am being told that it 8 to 12 weeks, So on wed 5/12/2012, ****** calls me an tells me that SONIM does not know where the phone is,finally after numurs attempts to get a hold of some one to day ***** calls an tells me the same thing she told me 30/10/2012. which they do not know where the phone is.Product_Or_Service: Other /********************/MtoMAccount_Number: XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) DesiredSettlementID: Other (Requires Explaination)refund oh the phone and the actavasion fee and the cost of the months i paid for

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2012/12/31) */ December 31, 2012 Better Business Bureau 8020 S County Road 5, Ste 100 Fort Collins, CO. XXXXX Attn: *********** Re: ****** D ****** Dear Ms. *****, I am writing in response to the complaint received by Mr. ****** ****** regarding the ************ he purchased from our retail store in Casper, Wyoming. Our records indicate that Mr. ****** purchased the original phone upon signing with Union Wireless on September 29, 2012. On October 10th, the phone was brought to see if it could be unlocked in order to use an **** sim card. Normally the phones we purchases are unlocked phones and can be taken to any other GSM provider; however, more and more manufacturers are embedding programming into the phones that can only be changed by them by connecting them to a computer and updating the software. This phone was sent to ***** on October 11, our CSR ****** notified Mr. ****** that it would take approximately 6-8 weeks as that is the timeframe we were given for the issue to be resolved. On December 13th, we received an unlocked replacement phone from *****. Mr. ****** took possession of the phone that day and has been utilizing it on **** as far as we know. He is no longer a customer of Union Wireless nor has he been since November 1, 2012. We feel we went above and beyond to help this customer get the phone unlocked to use on another providers service. We do apologize for the inconvenience of the timeframe that the phone was out, however these circumstances were beyond our control. It was our understanding that Mr. ****** was happy with the outcome. Should you have any questions regarding this matter, please feel free to contact me at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ****** ****** ****** ****** Regional Manager Union Wireless

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/14/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/5/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/2/2011 Problems with Product/Service