Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Valley Packing &Catering Inc.

Phone: (970) 284-5589 Fax: (970) 284-5974 705 1st Ave, La Salle, CO 80645 http://www.valleypacking.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Valley Packing &Catering Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Valley Packing &Catering Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Valley Packing &Catering Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 06, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1996 Business started locally: 01/01/1996 Business incorporated 06/10/2003 in CO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kyle Miller, President Mr. Joe Miller Ms. Lori Miller, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kyle Miller, President
Business Category

Caterers Butcher Shops Meat Packing Companies

Alternate Business Names
Valley Packing Inc
Industry Tips
Tips to Ensure Your Summer Party is a Success

Additional Locations

  • 705 1st Ave

    La Salle, CO 80645 (970) 284-5589

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failed to call back on pig order. Did not provide pig order. Tried to work out a solution and ****** (owner) said "you must be from Boulder". Abusive. I Called twice by 10/29 on a custom pig order. I left a detailed message on the machine that we had a custom order and had a couple of questions. No response. (was told by a guy possibly named *****, if you don't talk to someone it did no good) I told him I wanted organ parts and the lard. He got threatening said, you come get this pig by noon tomorrow. A few minutes later, my husband called the owner, ******, to figure this out. ****** told him 3 different stories,1-He called and he does not leave messages. 2-We don't have an answering machine in the 20th century, 3- 3 people called on the 5th and no one answered. He ended with they could do our sausage today-OUR sausage and sell us OUR organ meats from our pig-he swore he still had those parts..They have been sitting for 2 weeks but he says they are ours. A minute later he said he would buy our hog. My husband said fine it was 520. ****** said, "No, I will buy it for 190." Then my husband said ****** just lost it, said everyone is telling him what to do, again he said we don't have an answering machine, (My husband is an engineer and I am a professional, we have a machine, as well as all of our calls ring to our cell phones, and we have a record of our calls through ****** email messaging. My husband said ****** went on for 5 minutes, claimed we must be from Boulder asking for special cuts and lard. And then said he did not want to deal with us and hung up. I do not think this is even my pig. It took Jerry 5 minutes to find an order from Bryce Barker (Pig Rancher). He said it could not have come in on October 29th as that was not a Monday-they slaughter pigs on Monday. It was a Monday. My thoughts are most people send the order in through the pig ranchers. We did not. However Valley Pack was contacted twice and did not reply. Somehow they lost or sold our pig and we called again looking for it and they are attempting to give us another order. OUr order is Berkshire pork- the best. I am scared they attempted to bully us into another order and expected us to take it. Especially the organ meats-how can they still be from our pig after 2 weeks? How could they have kept them? The name calling and mocking left my husband and I shaken and we will never do business with them again. We have ordered a lot of meat and worked with Valley Pack and other butchers in the area for 20 years. We have not contacted Valley Pack for a decade or so. I don't know if the business changed hands or if they are slammed and do not care about customers. ****** lied to us and called us names. This is not how a professional business should be run. He lied to my husband and when my husband confronted him on this-his response was to start name calling and yelling. We wanted a pig, we wanted some special cuts and other parts, they treated us like we were trash and mocked us. When we didn't back down and take the order? ****** got angry and hung up. I am guessing he does not want to do business with a coupe that can prove he was being dishonest and was caught. We have our phone records, we are willing to supply them if need be. No one called, no one tried to return my calls, they just cut up my pig and most likely lost it. How any of this happened I have no idea. I just wanted a Berkshire hog. Now I am without, and ****** offered to buy the hog-the price is 520.00. It is not 190.00.

Desired Settlement: We are asking ****** to refund the money. He said he would do that and when my husband agreed, ****** backed off. ****** needs to own his mistakes and he needs to step up and admit he made a mistake.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2012/12/26) */ On Monday Oct. 29 2012, mr ****** brought in 8 pigs. We only slaughter pigs on Mondays or tuesdays every week. On that same day we had 26 pigs come in for slaughter.All farmers that came in that day were told about the policy that they have to call their cutting orders in by 5 :00pm on tuesday Oct. 30th 2012. The *******' were e-mailed that the cutting order was to be called in to Valley Packing no later Oct. 30. On tuesday everyone else had called in, the *******' admitted to forgetting to call and that they had recieved an e-mail from ****** Family Ranch. On Friday Nov.2nd someone finally called to give an order at 5:00 pm closing time, we called back both Friday evening and Saturday morning the 3rd, no answer or answering service.(Hence my comment to her about coming into the 21st century with an answering machine) The hogs in mention were cut on the 5th of Nov. According to U S D A Guidlines we must set aside 1 or 2 days a week to process hogs,we do them on mondays. The next time the ******* tried to reach us the hog had already been processed in a standard cut, which I explained to Mrs.******. Fresh meat spoils so commenting on the liver and heart , those products need to be spoken for the day of butchering so that they can be frozen.(Remember that the 1st time the ******* got a hold of us was Nov.9th, 11 days after their pig arrived. Remember: the ******* had 1 tiny task to do, and may have overlooked it. Most people are fine with a standard cut. Valley Packing & Catering refuses to take any responsibility for the mistakes made by the *******. Footnote: The ****** Family was also upset with the *******, and will not continue to sell meat to them because of the hassles with them. Thank You ****** ******REDACT31 201231 201231 201231 201231 201231 201231 201231REDACT