This business is not BBB accredited.

Tharp Cabinet Corporation (Former Owner)

Phone: (970) 667-7144 Fax: (970) 635-2660 1246 N Denver Ave, Loveland, CO 80537 http://www.tharpcabinets.com View Additional Web Addresses ! There is an alert on Tharp Cabinet Corporation (Former Owner) !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tharp Cabinet Corporation (Former Owner)
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 30, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1971 Business started locally: 01/01/1971 Business incorporated 12/21/2001 in CO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Don Fraley, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Don Fraley, President
Business Category

Cabinet Makers Counter Top Suppliers Home Kitchen Cabinetry Equipment Suppliers Furniture Designers


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1246 N Denver Ave

    Loveland, CO 80537

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** Cabinets sent out a repair technician named **** ********. Mr ******** was to modify a cabinet and ended up cracking the cabinet. Mr ******** then solicited business for himself which he not only didn't finish, but did shoddy work. When we told *****, they said they had no control over outside repair people. They doctored the cabinet and tried to tell us it was good.

Desired Settlement: We want the oven cabinet replaced.

Business Response: We were surprised to receive this BBB complaint from Mr. *****.  The final project was signed off by the customer and final payment received on October 16, 2014.  

As a point of reference,   Mr. and Mrs ***** contracted with ***** to build custom cabinets for the rebuilding of their home following an insurance claim.   The *****’s decided to manage their project personally rather than contract with a professional
contractor to oversee the project.   ***** delivered their cabinets on schedule on February the 18th and a independent cabinet installer began  the install on February the 19th.   On February 20th a ***** Project Manager conducted a project review to develop a punch list to finalize the project.    With the acceptation of some minor touch ups, and door/drawer adjustments the only issue identified was that the oven cabinet needed to be modified to accept the customer appliance.  Parts were fabricated and modifications made to the cabinet in question.   ***** remained supportive through a number of “non” cabinet project delays and conducted timely follow up  including additional “no charge” service work to retrim the island following some modification make by the customer.   **** ******** (independent trim carpenter) was contracted to make some additional modifications to the oven cabinet once the final appliance and trim kit was on site.   No complaint or issues were raised following this assignment. 

*** ****** (President, ***** Cabinets) called Mrs. ***** in early October to discuss their past due balance.  She commented that she loved the cabinets and that all work was complete.   When asked why they had not paid the open balance Mrs. ***** said that they had hired **** ******** (the same independent contracted used by *****) to complete additional trim work on their project and were having problems getting the work finished and they were frustrated.   *** said that he was sorry they were having issues completing the other non-cabinet related aspects of the project.  He further explained that as an independent contractor **** ******** is free to contract for work outside of *****’s scope of work and any arrangement is only between the customer and the contractor.   By practice, a contract outlining the scope of work, timeline and cost should have been put in place by the *****s or the Contractor.   According to Mrs. ***** no contract was put in place for the additional trim work.
 
On October 16th *** ****** sent an full up email to Mrs. *****  noting that the company had been in touch with **** ******** (Independent Contractor) who explained that the ***** /******** dispute went to court and a settlement had been reached.   ***** received the outstanding balance payment for the ***** cabinets on October the 16th and the account is paid in full.   ***** will reach out to the *****s to confirm there is no open warranty work to perform.

9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** ********** ***** ***** **** ******** *** ***** **************** Date: August 11, 2014 Tharp Cabinet Corporation 1246 North Denver Ave. Loveland, CO. 80537 As a result of your Tharp Cabinet companies negligence we have been without a kitchen for over six months. Cabinets were supposed to be completely installed on February 21st. However, your company was not capable of building several cabinets correctly, (depth incorrect, spacing incorrect) and there were and remains to be several problems with the construction and installation of the cabinets. It is extremely difficult to get ahold of anyone partici***ing in the installation/service of our cabinets at Tharp Cabinet Corporation. There is minimal communication pertaining to the times when someone will come out next to work on this on going project. In addition, we have zero confidence that anyone at Tharp Cabinet Company has the ability to correctly fix the problems that we have been dealing with since the initial installation on February 21st. Bullet points provide a concise timeline of our agreement along with the problems we have encountered since installation. • Met with Tharp cabinets to design kitchen cabinets in December 2013. • 50% ($12,600) of total was paid on January 2nd, 2014 • 40% ($9,392.28) of total was paid on February 7th, 2014 • Tharp came out and installed cabinets (should have been completed at this time) on February 21st. • After initial installation there were and remains to be several problems with the cabinets. o The cabinets on the wall with microwave oven and warmer were not proper depth; Designer had appliance specs and failed to follow. o Appliance garage was rubbing against the built in appliance garage wall o Drawers that didn’t (and still do not) shut o Paid for a silverware drawer and spice drawer with wood rack, it doesn’t fit the whole drawer, unlike in the show room the racks fit the entire drawer o There is no child lock installed over the cabinet that covers the in floor heating device that has already been paid for o There have been chips and dings as a result of Tharp Cabinet Company’s employees trying to fix their mistakes o Some things have been fixed but nothing has been completed o None of the cabinets are aligned perfectly and there is various amount of space between cabinets, nothing is consistent through out the kitchen. o Cabinets aren’t adjusted correctly to close o Screws are out and not in correctly o When the built in cabinet was rigged at our home the original base that was placed collapsed under the weight of the appliance o At least 7 appointments for service were made, all except one was after I was contacted by Tharp Cabinet Companies billing office calling for final payment, and cancelled (these were usually just no shows in which I had to call to ask when someone was coming) o Cabinet hardware is not top of the line as verbally promised (all manufacturer’s make high end and economical). o Cabinet doors are smooth (top Coated) while the spacers are rough (not top coated) It is clear that Tharp Cabinet Company does not care about us or the quality of the cabinets that they build for us. As a result, we do not want to use your services any longer. I feel their company is inept at constructing and installing frameless cabinets and do not wish to proceed further without a kitchen for the foreseeable future. The only way I see any type of resolution to the aforementioned problems is to cease our relationship with Tharp Cabinet Company and not held responsible for the remaining 10% ($2,443.59) of total costs and reimbursed, at retail for all cabinet hardware. If this is not agreeable then Tharp Cabinet Company needs to remove their merchandise and give us a full refund. ****** *****

Desired Settlement: Cease our relationship with Tharp Cabinet Company and not held responsible for the remaining 10% ($2,443.59) of total costs and reimbursed, at retail, for all cabinet hardware. If this is not agreeable then Tharp Cabinet Company needs to remove their merchandise and give us a full refund.

Business Response: from: *** ****** <D******@tharpcabinets.com>
to: "disputes@wynco.bbb.org" <disputes@wynco.bbb.org>
cc: **** ******* <B*******@tharpcabinets.com>
date: Mon, Sep 8, 2014 at 4:44 PM
subject: BBB Complaint ID ********
To whom it may concern,
 
I'm writing today to close complaint # ********.   We contacted the customer and reviewed their concerns with their order and their request for resolution.  Tharp stands behind its product and agreed to honor their request.   A credit memo was written August 22nd and the project was closed out on August 28, 2014.  Below find the email correspondence to the customer.   Please confirm this issue is closed.
 
Regards,
***
 
*** ******
Tharp Cabinet Corp.
1246 N. Denver Ave., Loveland, Co. 80537
*******  ************  *****  ************ **** ************
*************************
www.tharpcabinets.com
 
***,
 
As we discussed in my reply to you on your letter of August 11, 2014, requesting consideration of the 10% balance to acknowledge that Tharp is complete with their effort for the project as listed above, Tharp accepts this 10% credit.
 
Please note that I have authorized this credit and forwarded the attached credit memo to our accounting department and consider this project closed.
 
Thank You,
 
**** *******
Vice President- Sales and Service
Tharp Cabinet Corp.
************* ****** ****** ************* **** ************* ****** *** **************************
  ************ **********************************       **** ***** ****** ******            ********* ** *****                 ************         *********************
 
 

 

 

 
 

 

2/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered our cabinets this summer in August. We had several problems with the quote being off. The cabinets were eventually delivered mid-September and then installed a day later. Originally they charged a lot for delivery so we opted to pick up the cabinets to save money. Instead they ignored that and delivered them anyway. It was impossible to get ahold of someone on the day of delivery to find out when people were coming. We were never called or given any delivery window. I had to call 5 or 6 times to get information. The installation crew installed one of our cabinets so it was not level and we had trouble getting anyone on the phone after the installation to fix that cabinet. Once it was finally installed correctly, two of the cabinet doors didn't quite fit and they took them to make us new ones. Meanwhile, we started getting hassled for the final payment. It took them several weeks to get the doors fixed. The new doors were poorly cut, sanded and stained. We requested another new set of doors and continued to get hassled for final payment. The next set of doors took over 1 month for them to make and they got delivered today to be installed and were not the same color as our cabinets. It's 3 months later and we have no idea when the cabinets will finally be finished.Our bill was also incorrect. We are being charged the wrong sales tax amount for the delivery. In Colorado sales tax on items delivered to a customer are calculated by the tax jurisdictions the seller and delivery location have in common, not by the tax rate of the seller's location. We asked them to fix the sales tax rate, they did not.We have trouble getting their accounting, installation, quoting and reception departments all on the same page. Every time we call to communicate with them, no one ever calls us back. It's pulling teeth to get any kind of customer service. This project should have been completed in September with exceptional customer service.

Desired Settlement: My parents are paying several thousand for our cabinets. We have not made the small last payment because we don't feel we should have to pay for the service until we are satisfied.At this point, I absolutely refuse to get anything but a refund on at least 30% of the total cost we were charged. The sales taxes need to be corrected, or they will be reported to the State's Revenue Service. I demand to receive finished cabinet doors by January 1st of 2014. 3-4 months to get this is awful!!

Business Response:

In response to the aforementioned complaint filed by ****** ******/ *** ********/ ******** ********; Thai cabinets is providing the following; 

On August 13, 2013 the complainants finalized the design and ordered the cabinetry and installation servi for Kitchen cabinets for a residence located at **** * **** *** ** *********** **. There is reference mai issues with the "quote being off" and cannot find any basis for this notation. The standard protocol for ou products includes a preliminary quote, based upon the initial customer concepts, which gets finalized for product requirements, physical field verifications and selected options, of which all aspects may impact cc This specific project started off as a possible reface project and with the design and pricing efforts, the fin pricing was determined and accepted prior to the order being placed; there were no pricing modification! subsequent to the order being placed. 
There is an indication that the cabinets were "eventually" delivered, where as our standard lead times arc communicated and confirmed prior to delivery; and this project was delivered on schedule. 

There is an indication that we charge "a lot for delivery", and we do charge for delivery, however the cost associated with our deliveries are within market value, are specifically identified , are location based, inte published standard delivery charges. The delivery charges include loading, in house delivery, vehicle and 1 costs, all of these costs are included in these delivery charges. Again, delivery charges were spelled out ; signed off by the customer on the PO and prior to placing the order. 

The indication that Tharp "ignored" the "pick-up in lieu of delivery" is incorrect, as it was a data entry err( 
our part. This error on our part was not something that we charged for and effectively provided for a disc 
to them for just less than $ 500.00. Again, this was done and no mention of cost implication was expresse 
the customer. 

Regarding the Delivery window, and frustration expressed in not being able to talk to someone regarding apparently we had an issue here as there should have been a clear communication of the fact that there time commitments, other than the day, as there are many factors that apply to scheduling of delivery of custom cabinets and our drivers call when they are in route to the specific drop point. 

The reference to our installation crew installing one of the cabinets out of level was made and we have no 
record of that. We did however err with the installation effort in an attempt to compensate for an extremely out of plumb side wall. This was identified, along with an issue on a pair of cabinet doors, with our standard post installation review walk and required parts were ordered, produced and installation completed within 14 days of the initial installation effort. 

The indication that the customer was "hassled" for payment does not match our records. We received the 
deposit at time of order, the progress payment at time of delivery and an invoice was sent electronically when the product was installed. The customer noted an issue with our sales tax computation, which was based upon the original order and a product pick-up in Loveland, not the delivered product and a revised invoice was 
processed reflecting this discount after the product had been completed and installed. When an inquiry was made on the status of the final payment, 2 weeks after the revised invoice was sent, there was a note made about a quality concern with the replacement doors that had been provided. 

The replacement doors that were identified were processed, and with the holidays, did take a month, have been delivered and installed, complete, on the morning of December 30tH 

Tharp cabinets is a factory direct supplier of built to fit cabinetry. We build to order and do not utilize a "stock" cabinetry protocol, so every product associated with a warranty or defect issue is made from scratch when identified and ordered. This product carries with it a requirement for some time delays as it is not a matter of picking something off the shelf. Tharp is constantly striving toward a higher level of customer service, and can discerne from this complaint that our communication here could have been much better, however this is not an item that would predicate a discount, especially 30%. 
A final note is that at the time of this letter, the account balance has been satisfied fully, and there are no other outstanding issues. 

Thank you,

**** *******
Director of Sales 
 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

First of all, I cannot fully understand this communication from Tharp because of the immense amount of spelling and grammatical errors. As my initial complaint indicated, the main issues we are having with Tharp is the lack of communication and customer service we have received. It seems that Tharp's response takes a lot of the blame off of them by indicating they do not have any records of our complaints, phone calls and communications. This is not something we should have to be blamed for, this is something I expect an apology for. 

 
Secondly, this response does not address the fact that our delivery date was September 17th, 2013. The project was not completed until December 30th. This project took three and a half months from the date of delivery for the cabinets to finish being installed. We called and complained many times about the quality and the problems we had when technicians came out to our home several times to fix the cabinet doors. It is not our fault that their staff did not communicate our problems with them or put them on record. I fully understand that custom cabinets can take a very long time to create. However, they were created and ready to install on September 17th and it took an additional three and a half months from the date they were supposed to be installed for them to be fully completed. Regardless of being custom work, this is pathetic and extremely poor customer service. We had replacement cabinet doors delivered several times, but Tharp often sent them with the wrong color so they didn't match our cabinetry. This is the fault of Tharp for wasting our time and delaying the completion of our project.
 
I will not consider this complaint resolved until a partial refund has been given due to the fact we received extremely poor customer service and the project took several months longer than it should have. 
 
Regards,

****** ******

Business Response:

****** ******** ******                                                 ***** ***** ***** **** * ****** ** ** *** *** **** ******** ** ***** ******* *** **** ***          ********* ** * *******

                Response rejection notice

*****,

In response to the rejection of our response to the aforementioned complaint filed by ****** ******/ *** ********/ ******** ********; Tharp cabinets is providing the following;

As stated in our original response, “Tharp Cabinets is a factory direct supplier of built to fit cabinetry. We build to order and do not utilize a “stock” cabinetry protocol, so every product associated with a warranty or defect issue is made from scratch when identified and ordered”; and “there are no other outstanding issues “.

Tharp does strive for outstanding customer service and as indicated, in our initial response, there were a couple of occasions where the communication should have been better. For this we offer a sincere apology as we did not clearly communicate the standard protocol and obviously failed the ****** in establishing an expectation on a delivery time. We also acknowledge that our communication regarding the savings in the delivery and taxes was not clear and to the point.

To address the specifics of their rejection response please note the following-

·         Tharp regrets that there was any “blame” association by the customer, as there was no intent to place any blame for any aspect of this job. In fact we stated “that our communication here could have been much better” so we apologize for any failed communication on our part here.

·         Completion timing was identified with an association to installation as “three and a half months”. Please note that our records show the timeline for the completion of the order installation to be much different than the “three and a half months” indicated. Please note that as indicated the delivery occurred on September 17th, Installation efforts were provided the following day, on September 18th. There was an installation walkthrough scheduled on September 23rd and completed on September 26th.  At this walkthrough there were a couple of deficiencies identified, parts were ordered and installed complete on October 9th.  The installation of the product, as ordered, was complete 16 business days after delivery.

·         Replacement cabinet doors were identified as having been delivered several times, which is correct. The first set of replacement doors were identified on the Tharp walkthrough on September 26th and were provided and reinstalled on October 9th. The second set of replacement doors were noted and communicated as having an issue, by the customer to Tharp, on November 6th and were manufactured then reinstalled on December 30th, as a warranty replacement. As noted previously, the there was an extension to the typical timeline on the second set of doors due to the Thanksgiving and Christmas holidays.

The request for a partial refund has been considered and without the formality of reviewing and reconciling the project quote to capture the cost deviations for the delivery and taxes, we will recognize the “just less than $ 500.00” savings that was passed on as our discount as consideration to the request.

Thank You,

**** *******

Director of Sales

Tharp Cabinet Corp.

************* Direct Office

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Incorrectly calculating sales taxes is not a discount, it's a breach of state tax law.

I don't care if your cabinets are custom made. The project is not considered completed until it is actually complete. Leaving us without cabinet doors while we had holiday guests is not considered complete. We lived for 3 months with no cabinet doors because the project was not completed until December 30th. It is wrong to call it completed anytime earlier than when the job was actually done.

Since it is clear that Tharp is keen on offering horrendus customer service and lying to better suit their needs in this case; we still do not consider this complaint resolved. We are moving to take action that Tharp committed sales tax fraud with their original calculation and will be reporting their incorrect sales tax calculations to the state's Attorney General and the state's revenue service. You cannot call a correct sales tax amount a discount for your lack of customer service. We are also now reporting to the credit card company that the charges made to Tharp were not authorized and we were not charged a fair amount for the lack of services provided.

Again, I will not consider this complaint as resolved until a partial refund on the money we paid is made.

Regards,

****** ******