BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of The Wrench?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

The Wrench

Phone: (970) 353-5454 Fax: (970) 584-2073 6005 West 10th, Greeley, CO 80634 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.thewrenchgreeley.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Wrench meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Wrench include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Wrench
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 20, 2010 Business started: 03/01/2004 Business started locally: 03/01/2004
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DORA - Colorado Public Utility Commission
1560 Broadway Ste 250, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/
Phone Number: 303.894.2904
Fax Number: 303.894.2065
cliff.hinson@state.co.us

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Darren Sharp, Owner Ms. Jana Lemons, Secretary
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jana Lemons, Secretary
Principal: Mr. Darren Sharp, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair Services Foreign Car Service Stations Auto Warranty Services Brake Shops Electric Equipment Technicians Engine Repair Rebuilding Companies Car Lubrication Shops Towing Companies Auto Transmission Suppliers Truck Repair Shops Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Windshield and Glass Repair Shops Auto Services Battery Supply Companies Axles Diesel Engine Suppliers Clutch Suppliers Shock Absorber Suppliers Tire Dealers Car Air Conditioning Suppliers Car Diagnosis Shops Auto Electricians

Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Additional Locations

  • 6005 West 10th

    Greeley, CO 80634 (970) 353-5454

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took car to shop for head gasket work after discovering leaking oil. When car returned it ran poorly jerky/misfiring and had strong fuel smell. On January 10, 2013, after making an appointment for service, I took my '02 Buick Century Custom sedan to The Wrench, Greeley for major head gasket repair work. The estimate, and bill which I have paid in full, for this service was $1243.40. My car was in their shop for three days. When I got my car back I immediately discovered that it had a strong fuel smell petrol, not oil, it was very jerky misfiring when driving, and had a noticeable vibration. When I took my car to their shop it had been running very smoothly, no vibration and no fuel smell!! I called the service shop and notified them about these problems and was told by **** ******* Service Mgr. to return car for further inspection and that "they would make things right." On Jan. 15, '13 I took car back to shop and left it for inspection. Diagnosis this time was that ignition wires needed replacing; cost $141.15. Prior to taking car to shop for the first head gasket work, I had talked to shop owner ****** ***** about replacing ignition wires if necessary and believed this was going to be done already and included in first work estimate. It wasn't. So, more out-of-pocket cost for me. Got car back a SECOND time and it didn't run any better than before. I called the repair shop AGAIN and made them aware how upset and angry I was that they had apparently somehow done improper work on my car that resulted in further problems with the running of the engine. To cover up the fuel smell I discovered that someone at their shop had simply sprayed air freshener in my car -- rather than determining the source of the smell. Both the first time and the second time I took car to shop I noticed that the 'Incoming Odometer' mileage reading had been incorrecly listed on the invoice -- adding hundreds of miles that were not actually driven. I reported this to Serv. Mgr. twice and asked that it be corrected on their records. I keep a written record of mileage every time I add fuel to car, so I KNOW the correct mileage. Once again, I was told by **** ******* Serv. Mgr., to bring car to shop again for inspection and "they would make things right", so I did on February 6, '13. This time I was told that the bottom Motor Mount needed replacing; cost $252.02 - more money out-of-pocket. Third time car returned to me -- same problems with jerkiness, vibration, fuel smell. At this point, I have spent over $1600 trying to get my car fixed and although I have not seen any oil drips, my car is definitely not running correctly. I have taken my car to two other local auto repair shops -- the owner of one shop drove the car with me and noticed the vibration and jerkiness of the motor, but did no actual diagnostic work. The second shop I took my car to ran a complete diagnostic service cost $89 on the engine, after their Service Mag. went out with me for a test drive and reported that he clearly felt the vibration, jerkiness/misfiring, etc. The recommendation from that shop was that it was a "possible mechanical valve seating issue, and would need engine decarboniziation and/or removing cylinder heads to inspect valve seats for sealing issues". They reported also finding a cracked spark plug spark plug replacement was purportedly done when head gasket work done. I have already had to spend considerable extra time and money trying to get my car fixed and running smoothly. I believe the mechanics at The Wrench have ruined my car and I cannot drive it without getting neauseous from the fuel smell and the jerkiness. THIS IS NOT RIGHT!!! I don't know what else to do as I cannot afford to trade my current car in for another one, nor should I be forced to do so just because it has been improperly repaired. I'd like to know WHEN 'The Wrench" shop is going to "MAKE THINGS RIGHT'. So far, all they've done when I have shown them over and over again the car problems is to find additional items to charge me for, and they have never made anything RIGHT!!!

Desired Settlement: The only thing I wanted done was to have my car repaired correctly and in a timely manner. Now I have spent hundreds of dollars and have a car that is running much worse than when I took it in for repair. ****** *****, The Wrench shop owner, is clearly aware of my frustration and anger at their inability to resolve my car issue. If the mechanics at The Wrench are not able to fix the problems they have created, then I think my money should be refunded to me and I will have to try to find another shop who would be able to try to find and fix the problems. I don't know what else to do. I am stranded without a proper running car and I don't have extra money to keep taking it back to the same shop who caused the problem in the first place. Thank you.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/03/11) */ ****** did bring her car here for a diagnostic on 12-28-12. She stated she had a grinding noise when turning and a oil leak. We diagnosed the grinding noise to be a inner fender well that was rubbing when turning. We repaired this with some push pins that correctly installed the fender. This repair was performed as a courtesy no charge. We also pin pointed the oil leak to be a cylinder head gasket that was leaking oil externally. This was invoice #6411 and the diagnostics total charge was $44.00 which was paid that day. A few days later ****** did call our shop and we spoke about scheduling a time to fix her oil leak. We went over time frames, cost, and any additional charges that might be occurred the day of the repair. We assured her that we would only do the repairs she authorized and not try to add any unnecessary parts to her bill. She was relieved by this since she was on a fixed income. I did speak with her directly and explained that if anything needed repaired or replaced while her engine was apart to save her money we would call for approval. Her appt was set for 1-9-13 and we replaced both her head gaskets, spark plugs, and thermostat. The plugs were offered since the heads were off and the labor was free. No other parts were bad at this time and we repaired her oil leak. Invoice #6435 Total was $1243.40 Within the next few days ****** had called and said her car didn't run right and wanted us to look over our work. We reviewed and inspected our work on 1-15-13 and everything looked great. We did decide to test drive the vehicle to see how it performed under a load. On our test drive our scan tool showed that the vehicle was misfiring and we returned to the shop to test why. We found that the spark plug wires were the cause. We charged ****** nothing for this diagnostic and quoted her the repair. She agreed to the repair and we installed the spark plug wires which repaired her misfire and gave her the diagnostic for free and a $20.00 discount on the final bill. Invoice #6567 total $121.15. ****** did call our shop in early February and said she felt a vibration mostly in park and wanted us to look at it. We did see her vehicle again on 2-5-13 and checked our work over and test drove her car multiple times. We did notice that the vehicle had a slight vibration in gear at a stop. Our technician diagnosed a faulty lower hydraulic engine mount that was causing this vibration. We diagnosed again for free and gave A $50.00 discount on the quote. We quoted the repair to ****** and she agreed to have us repair this problem the next day. On 2-6-13 we installed the engine mount and it did repair the vibration concern. We showed her the old part because it was noticeably damaged and returned her the vehicle to her. 2-6-13 invoice #6755 Total was $252.02 These were the 4 interactions we had with ******. On the last repair ****** did express her concerns that the vibration was not completely gone. I did over hear this conversation and stopped what I was doing so that I could go personally see that the car was repaired. ****** and I both went to the car and drove it for about 1/2 and hour. I was completely convinced the car was repaired there were no vibrations at all. I stayed with her for some time hoping that she could show me the fault and not once did I ever feel a vibration. For sake of complete customer satisfaction I did offer her to take the vehicle to any other repair shop and I would pay the bill. I do want her satisfied and if our shop was missing something maybe another shop could help her. Again I offered this twice and was fully prepared to pay the bill if they had found something wrong with our work. As a shop owner #1 we fixed her grinding noise on turns for free and diagnosed an oil leak. We then repaired her oil leak. She did have a spark plug wire go bad which is just the automotive nature with age things do fail. We then repaired that for her as well. She then had a vibration caused from a engine mount which was visibly damaged we then fixed that for her. As far as doing our job we did. Her grinding was fixed, her oil leak was fixed, her misfire was fixed, her vibration was fixed. If she was unsatisfied in any way we also did our job there. I offered for her to go anywhere and have our work checked and we would pay the bill. I truly believe that we gave her the best customer service possible. My resolution is as it always was. If we missed something and did not fix it let another shop show us what we did wrong and we will pay the bill. I personally drove the car with ****** for over 15 miles and sat in it and talked for at least 20 minutes and it felt 100% repaired to me. I also would like to add that we did repair several problems on her car. We only made it better for her to say we ruined her car is outright lies. We have a very competent shop with amazing people here and I would like her to remove this dispute and all the other negative things she has said on the internet about our shop. It is not fair to say things like that about a small business full of people willing to help like ours. We pride ourselves in our reputation and in no way did we deserve this. We never stopped trying to help ******. ****** ***** Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/03/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I took my car to The Wrench on 12/28/12 for a second estimate on the cost to replace leaking head gaskets. My car has already been diagnosed at another shop and I even took a picture to show how much oil was leaking, so they already knew exactly what service was needed. And yet, right away, they started charging me for 'diagnostics". That should have alerted me to the kind of 'service' I was likely to get. When you look at both their Sub-Estimate for Order #XXXXX and their Invoice ***** under Labor Description you will see it lists "check surfaces for warpage, adjust valves and ignition timing...". If there had been a broken ignition wire on my car when I took it to their shop, it should have been discovered at that point. You'll notice ** ***** has carefully not referenced the falsifying of the odometer listings on the first two invoices, which I called to their attention both times it happened. The third time I saw an incorrect odometer listing on the last invoice, I stood at the service counter and made the Service Mgr. correct it and reprint the invoice before I paid for the motor mount after he tried to argue with me about the correct odometer reading. I was NOT shown the old leaking motor mount from my car as ***** claims in his answer. On Monday, 3/11/13, I called a local G.M. dealership Service Dept. to check with them about the poor performance of my car. I spoke to their Service Mgr. and made an appointment with him to test drive my car that afternoon around 2 p.m. He drove my car around town and out on the highway, immediately noticing and feeling the lack of power, the jerkiness/surges, and vibrations that I have been reporting for many weeks. I had discussed with him the head gasket work at The Wrench. He immediately knew what at least part of the problem was, and when he checked the air cleaner on my car he found the filter was totally black and filled with carbon, thus preventing the proper mixture of airflow with the fuel. This filter should have been fully cleaned when the air cleaner unit was pulled for the head gasket work. It wasn't!! Instead of hooking my car up to some machine for IT to diagnose any problem, what was simply needed was some 'old-fashioned one-on-one hands-on looking'. The air cleaner on my car is right on top of the engine, easily accessible. That's what the Service Mgr. at G.M. dealership did and it took him less than 30 mins. This learning experience for you should not have been at my expense. I made a second apt. for Thurs., 3/14/13, to take my car back to the G.M. dealership for proper work. On Thursday I asked the technician to do a complete diagnostic evaluation and check the engine work done by The Wrench. Their report was shocking! The bottom motor mount replaced on 2/6/13 was leaking badly ad covered in fluid. It had been improperly installed and was hanging loose which allowed more vibration in the engine. This could be a potentially dangerous situation. The threads on the bolts/studs on the mount had been screwed into the aluminum oil pan apparently under force or pressure and were stripped. The Wrench had not replaced the transaxle mount - this is another engine mount. Invoice #6755 shows the first engine mount is a NAPA part for which The Wrench charged me $69.59. I called the Greeley NAPA Auto Parts store and was told the price is only $49.99. Due to the poor repairs and lack of replacement of neded parts additional work had to be done on my car to address its problems. A new G.M. factory direct engine motor mount, the transaxle mount, air cleaner filter cleaned, and alignment of tires necessary from having to pull part of engine again has now been completed. The labor ratio to the amount of parts used by dealership is very good. Total cost on all this work is $938.47, which I have again had to pay out-of-pocket. Well, what can I say to end this horrid tale of three months of stress, frustration, worry, dollars and my time wasted, etc. caused by the people at the Wrench. I'm charging them for lack of service for full use of my car, for having to seek at other auto repair shops, waiting for diagnostics, not being able to drive my car with having the windows open in inclement weather due to the fuel smell from the dirty air cleaner, the jerkiness/surges, vibration from shoddy repairs. Like a physician, part of any service worker's purpose should be "First Do No Harm". And, who's going to pay when a few months in the future I might again find the head gaskets leaking since, in essence, the warranty on labor and parts at The Wrench has been invalidated. I will NEVER deal with their shop again. ** ***** claims he's saved me money because, yes, I'm a senior citizen on a fixed income, but since I have spent almost $2700 - more than double In cost - and lost full use of my car for about 3 months for an initial outlay of $1243.40, where's my savings? It has taken many days of searching and hours of additional work to repair the damage caused by your guys. So, ** *****, don't puff yourself up with how helpful you've been. Mr. ***** has said three times in his answer for me to "take my car to another repair shop, show us what we did wrong, and he would pay the bill". I've shown him! Now it's time for him to Make Things Right. The Service Mgr. Tim at G.M. dealership XXX-XXXX has very kindly offered to discuss their repair work if necessary, and I have the leaking bottom motor mount part that was taken by them off my car in evidence. Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/03/26) */ The mounts and air filter will always be her word against ours. If she was satisfied with the dealers work that is great. I know the problems she brought her car here for were fixed. If she had a dirty air filter causing a fuel smell then the dealer fixed that. She did not bring her car here for that. If the dealer found another bad mount (transaxle) and replaced it and aligned her car. That is great as well. She did not bring her car here for that. What she did bring her car here for was all repaired as outlined in our first response. If she is happy we are as well. As far as the mount that we put on. If it truly was installed incorrectly and faulty I really would have needed to see that to help her. That will always be a mystery now. I sure wish someone would have called here and asked us over to see that it was installed incorrectly. It is what we would have done for any other shop. I have tried to help ****** and she seems to only get meaner. I will no longer let this bother me. We have been an outstanding repair shop in the community and we have always been honest with our customers. We try to give the best customer service. Therefore if The dealer would like to call me and ask me over face to face. The mechanic, service writer and owner of the store look me in the eye and honestly tell me we installed that mount as bad as she claims. I will refund the mount repair money. I took my time with ****** the last time she was in and spend a great deal of time driving and parked in our lot. She could not show me a vibration nor a fuel smell at that time. It is unfortunate that this all went this way. I really hope she is happy with her car and the repairs made by the dealer. Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2013/03/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have all the dealership repair invoices and the leaking motor mount that was removed at their shop as evidence for anyone to see. It is NOT the responsibility of the technicians at the dealership to contact anyone at The Wrench to show them the repairs they had to make to my car after the shoddy work done by The Wrench people. The Service Mmr. at the GM dealership very kindly offered to explain what they did IF they were contacted by anyone at The Wrench; they weren't!! Obviously, Mr. ***** couldn't be bothered to do that. I have PAID out-of-pocket again and again and twice for TWO motor mounts which is NOT right. ***** owes me a good deal of money and it's time he was honest and reimbursed me what is owed!!!! HE obviously is NOT interested in customer satisfaction. Al he wants to do is calll me names.I guess now it's time to take further legal steps since he chooses not make it right. If I have to go this route, it's going to cost him a great deal more than if he had reimbursed me and been honest about it.

BBB's Final Determination: Business agreed to arbitrate the complaint but the consumer declined.

3/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1