Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

T L C Automotive Inc

Phone: (970) 522-9683 Fax: (970) 522-9643 210 Edwards Ave, Sterling, CO 80751

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that T L C Automotive Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on T L C Automotive Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 12, 1996 Business started: 11/01/1983 Business started locally: 11/01/1983
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DORA - Colorado Public Utility Commission
1560 Broadway Ste 250, Denver CO 80202
Phone Number: 303.894.2904
Fax Number: 303.894.2065

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. James Conour, Owner Ms. Chris Conour, Office Mgr
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Conour, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair Towing Companies Truck Rental Companies Truck Repair Shops

Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Additional Locations

  • 210 Edwards Ave

    Sterling, CO 80751 (970) 522-9683


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: September 15, 2015At approximately 1:15 p.m. on August 10, 2015, we broke down alongside Interstate 70 in Sterling, Colorado. We immediately called *** to request a tow because we were not totally off the Interstate, as we were towing our 21-foot toy hauler/trailer. I spoke to personnel from *** regarding our location as well as immediate towing sites that could repair our diesel truck and store our toy hauler/trailer. A representative (***) told me that TLC Automotive and Towing was the closest mechanic shop; but after a three-way conversation with the owner, he stated that it would be approximately two weeks before they could even look at the truck since it was a diesel. Therefore, the representative informed us that **** ******* ********** *** ******* in Fort Collins was the closest available mechanic shop that our truck and trailer could be towed to, who were *** approved. She stated that she had spoken to them, and they informed her that they could accommodate our trailer and evaluate our truck immediately. She informed us that **** ******* ********** was approximately 98 miles away, so this appeared to be our only option without having to pay for excessive mileage. After waiting for TLC Towing for over 4 hours alongside the Interstate with our trailer partially in the second lane of a two-lane Interstate in a very dangerous spot just over the top of a hill, a tow truck finally came to tow us after their shop had closed for the day. It appears to us that they made us wait until the close of their workday to pick us up, as it was approx.. 5:30, and the driver at that time said we were the last pickup. The driver who came to tow the truck and trailer informed us that he was just going to get us off the Interstate, and we would be towed back to his (TLC Automotive) lot, and then we would be driven to Fort Collins by another driver. We arrived at TLC Automotive and parked. We sat there for approximately one hour, while two different drivers attempted to attach tow lights on our trailer, coming back and forth to the truck. Finally after an hour of sitting there, we left with another driver (Dan), and we were then informed that their tow truck was out of gas, so we then drove to a gas station and parked. We then sat in the VERY HOT truck for approximately 45 minutes, as the driver not only got gas, but began to take his time and wash the windows of the truck, went inside to get some food and drinks, and chatted with employees there. We then left the gas station (almost 8:00) and began our 2-2 hour drive to Fort Collins. Since we knew that we would need to spend the night in Fort Collins, we asked the driver (who at that time seemed somewhat cordial) if he might be able to drop us at the nearest hotel after delivering the truck/trailer, and he agreed; so my wife began calling for hotel reservations near the mechanics shop in Fort Collins, which she found. Once we arrived in Fort Collins and found **** ******* ********** *** ******* shop, the TLC Automotive and Towing driver (Dan) started getting VERY upset, and cussing, stating that he could not and would not attempt to even turn onto the repair shops street. He then proceeded to drive around the city for approximately hour at a high rate of speed, turning corners very sharply, which in the process damaged our trailer (photos were taken). Dan became angrier as he drove, constantly passing up the street, over and over again, cussing and yelling, as we drove in circles. This began to TERRIFY my wife as well as myself. Dan then informed us that he had surpassed the 100 miles allotted for our towing and informed us that it was going to cost us $6.00 per mile for anything over the 100 miles allotted by ***. I told him that I was under the impression that *** would pay for this. Even after acknowledging that he had surpassed the allotted mileage, he continued to pass up the mechanics shop street yelling again and again that he could not get into the back lot of the shop, would not go onto the street of the shop, and would not even try to back the trailer/truck into the driveway of the shop. As we were driving in circles around the city, I contacted the owner of **** ******* ********** *** ******* Shop with my cell phone. The owner asked to speak to the driver so that he could help guide him as to the easiest way possible onto their lot. Dan, the driver, adamantly refused to even speak with the owner, and continued getting even more angry, belligerent, and defiant, and became very verbally abusive to us. Dan then stated, F-U, You guys have to figure this out, Youre on your own. After totally freaking out and yelling, he finally proceeded to turn onto the street (which was a cul-de-sac) that he had been passing up for hour, he passed up the driveway of the mechanics shop, while yelling, I knew I could not get the truck/trailer into that driveway. He drove to the end of the cul-de-sac (which had all red curbs) and proceeded to let us know that he was just going to drop the trailer and truck in the middle of the cul-de-sac, and it was up to us to figure out what to do next. Once Dan unloaded the truck and trailer into the middle of the cul-de-sac, he very verbally demanded that we pay him $120.00 cash for the excessive miles that he drove. I informed him that *** would take care of it, and he became even more ANGRY, VERBALLY ABUSIVE, and BELLIGERENT. I then informed my wife to lock herself in our trailer, as I was not sure what he was capable of now. The owners of **** ******* ********** *** ******* (Bill and Lisa) arrived at the scene at about this time and witnessed Dans anger and noncompliance. When I informed Dan that I did not have the money, he began to bang on his truck with an iron pipe, ranting and raving about everything, and he then started to load our truck back up onto his tow truck and stated that he was taking our truck back to Sterling with him as collateral. I told him that this was highway ro

Desired Settlement: I expect to be compensated for all damages to our toy hauler/trailer that were incurred by TLC Automotive and Towing. I would also like an explanation as to why someone like the employee, who was responsible for servicing/towing our vehicles, would be allowed to work for ANY company and treat customers the way he did/does. I would also like this company to be flagged for VERY unsatisfactory customer service!!!

Business Response: ---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: James C***** <***************>
Date: Mon, Oct 12, 2015 at 8:42 PM
Subject: id# ******** *** call # ****
Cc: ****** ******** ****************************

*****  ******                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         On August 10, 2015 @ 4:08 pm or 16:08 ( see attached TLC tow ticket) Also see attached *** dispatch sheet showing time received 14:56 & dispatch time of 16:13.We were on scene @ 17:22. TLC Automotive & Towing LLC received a call from *** of Colorado to tow a pickup & 21 ft. camper trailer to *** ******* *******. We were asked what our over mileage charge was and I responded $6.00 per mile. I’m not sure of the ETA that was given but, we usually give a 45 to 60 minute ETA. As soon as a driver was available he was dispatched to the address of MM-124 I-76 WB. Our driver detached the trailer and loaded the pickup onto the rollback. He then hooked up the travel trailer and towed them both to TLC Automotive. There Dan installed the tow lights and checked the hookup. On the way out of town Dan stopped for fuel and washed the windshield then paid at the pump. Therefore there was no reason for Dan to enter into the gas station. The drive to Ft. Collins on Hwy-14 went without any problems. Dan went to College Avenue went south to Johnson Drive and due to the length of our truck and the 21 ft. trailer could not make the right turn onto Johnson Drive. This is when Dan told the customer he couldn’t make the turn and they insisted that he try. In doing this it caused damage to the trailer. He then backed up went down the street to where he could turn back north. He turned onto Johnson Drive went down and due to the cars on both side of the street didn’t try to turn onto the street to get to the muffler shop. So he went straight and ended up in the cul-de-sac. This is when the frustration on both parties started. Words were exchanged, customer said, he wasn’t paying anything, Dan said unless the customer paid the $120.00 over mileage fee, he would have to take the pickup back. Total towed mileage was 127 miles. I know both *** and myself  informed the customer of the over mileage because, he thought he was good for 200 miles. I had to call *** to verify that. I talked to ***** from *** ******* ******* and asked him if he knew what happened @ the cul-de-sac. His response was he didn’t see or hear of any physical threats. He did say he could tell there was frustration of both parties. The wife never got into the trailer. If you Google the mileage from *** ****** *** ******** to **** ******* *** *** ******* you get 104 miles. Add in having to go down interstate to turn around to come back to Sterling, therefore you get the extra mileage.  As of this date I haven’t received any estimate for repairs. *** is still investigating the call. As to the reason the drivers were changed our drivers are aware that when they feel like they are tired, another driver will take over. The first driver had been out since very early in the morning and was tired. Dan is a Wreckmaster  certified, valued & very competent employee, he has been with our company since 1995 and will continue to be employed by our company.
                                                                                                              James C*****

1/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took my car on 1/8/15 to get alternator replaced. Before doing this, my remote control key was working fine. Went and picked up my car from them that same day and the remote wasn't unlocking the way it should. Got home and opened my key fob to see that the battery was removed and the clip where the battery goes was gone. Went back to the business to let them know what had happened and of course they said nobody messed with it. Called on 1/12/15 to speak to the owner to see if maybe they would be a bit more of a help but at the end of the call they still said nobody messed with it.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to fix my remote at no charge. I dont know where else to find the clip where the battery goes to make it work. Ive tried fixing it at home with some glue but that doesnt work. Now if I lock my car from the inside and when I go unlock it with the key the alarm goes off and wont turn off until I turn on the car. Also this morning I went to turn my car on and the throttle control light came on and thats due to the remote not working. I know because I had it happen before to an old car. Thank you for your time.

Business Response: When the customer left the car and signed an authorization form for repairs the car was left unlocked. My tech charged the battery, then drove car into the shop. He diagnosed the problem determined the alternator to be defective. **** called warranty company & customer for  approval @ 9;29 am. Permission was given & repairs performed. Car was test driven & then parked outside ready for customer to pick up. At no time did we lock or unlock the car with the key or the fob. He picked up the car that night. The next morning he returned saying the key fob was broken with battery missing. Our response was we had no reason to do anything with the fob. He made the statement that he knew the cost because he purchased one the week before. He then left the shop. That afternoon a lady called and spoke with ****. He told her the same as with the gentleman earlier. She then called and spoke with me (*****) about the problem. After speaking with my employees my response was the same we had no reason to take the fob apart. That was the end of the conversation. After I received this e-mail we called **** **** *** ***** ***** Dealer and spoke to ***. He said *** received a call from a lady stating she had dropped her fob and broken it. ALL I CAN ATEST TO IS THAT THE EMPLOYEES @ TLC Automotive & Towing LLC had no reason to take the fob apart and remove the battery.  Please let me know if you need anything else.  Thank you  *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: some of the things that were said were untrue.  Oh course his employees are going to say they didn't mess with it. How would he know exactly that *** had spoken with me. I did indeed call **** to see if I can find a replacement clip or have to order a whole new key fob never once in the conversation did I say I had dropped my key.  I think this is the worse customer service from tlc. I will never go back to them and warn others of not going with them either. I now have to pay $250+ out of my own pocket to fix their mistake. Whether they want to admit it or not they broke my key.  I have no reason to complain about something that was working just fine before going to their dishonest shop. 


****** ******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on T L C Automotive Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)