Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Ken's Muffler Shop Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ken's Muffler Shop Inc

Phone: (970) 484-6001 Fax: (970) 482-5495 View Additional Phone Numbers 1219 N College Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80524 http://www.kensmuffler.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ken's Muffler Shop Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ken's Muffler Shop Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ken's Muffler Shop Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 22, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1973 in CO Business started locally: 01/01/1973 Business incorporated: 01/01/1973 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott Melbye, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Melbye, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems RV Repair Shops Tire Dealers Auto Diagnostic Service

Alternate Business Names
Ken's Muffler & Brake
Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Additional Locations

  • 1219 N College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80524 (970) 484-7949 (970) 484-6001

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After having the starter replaced on my Saturn and picking it up from Ken's, my car broke down the very next day. I had to call an after hours service to come and take a look, and hopefully get my car running again. After taking a look, the repair man told me my battery terminals were so heavily corroded that their was not enough power getting to my starter, he was curious as to whether this was the problem from the get go, and assumes that Ken's replaced my started because they could, not because it actually needed to be replaced. Furthermore, Ken's should have cleaned the corrosion off my battery terminals while they were working on the engine as part of the process is disconnecting the battery before beginning the work. After speaking with them, they made no effort to correct the situation, and offered no apology. I feel used and humiliated for letting a business pull a fast one on me.

Desired Settlement: I would have liked at least some of my money refunded. I paid for a service to be completed, and they did not follow through on their end of the transaction.

Business Response:

When Ms. ****** visited with us concerning her situation our service writer apologized for her inconvenience and asked us to talk to her regarding what we are able to do for her. After listening to her compliant we told her we would like to take care of her as best we could. She was asking us to issue her a check in the amount of $200. We asked her for her receipt for the amounts she paid to the after hours service provider that helped her. She informed us that not only did she not have a receipt but also could not remember the name of the shop that helped her out. At that point we asked her if she paid for it with a credit card and she responded yes. We then explained to her how to go online with her credit card company and get the information on the shop that the charge was made to. We asked her to please come back when she had the information so we could help her out. We have not heard from her since.
In our efforts to understand the problem and how we could have prevented it, we spoke to the technicians who worked on her car. One technician diagnosed the problem another performed the repairs. We spoke to these technicians individually and received the following information. The Diagnostic procedure is a complete systems check which tests the battery, starter and alternator. The battery was found to have a low charge and the alternator was fine but the starter failed the test. We put a jump box on the battery and waited for an approval to replace the starter. In an effort to expedite the repair we ordered the starter and left the car in the bay. The battery and starter were disconnected. Both technicians said they didn't encounter enough corrosion to merit a concern. In speaking with another (uninvolved ) technician to verify the procedure, his response was that this particular battery has side post terminals which has less exposed metals and corrosion, while not impossible is implausible.
Ms. ****** called at 8:30AM to approve the work and it was completed at 10AM.  Her other complaint was that we finished the work too quickly to have done a thorough job.  She was charged with 1.1 hour of labor and was given a 5% discount. Including the prep time and completion of the repair, we spent close to 2 hours on her vehicle.
We are still awaiting a call back from Ms. ****** with her receipt and or contact information from the shop performing her after hour repairs.