Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ken's Muffler Shop Inc

Phone: (970) 484-6001 Fax: (970) 482-5495 View Additional Phone Numbers 1219 N College Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80524

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ken's Muffler Shop Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ken's Muffler Shop Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Ken's Muffler Shop Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 22, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1973 in CO Business started locally: 01/01/1973 Business incorporated 01/01/1973 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Scott Melbye, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Melbye, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Maintenance Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems RV Repair Shops Tire Dealers Auto Diagnostic Service

Method(s) of Payment





Alternate Business Names
Ken's Automotive
Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Ken's Muffler Shop Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1219 N College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80524 (970) 484-7949 (970) 484-6001


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went into Ken's Muffler to have my "uppipe" welded around 360 degree's which they said they could do. I told them "********" and "***" that there was a leak from a crack in the uppipe on the header side. They charged be $80 to weld, when i returned they advised me and my friend **** who was with me that they were able to get the weld all the way around the pipe. When i returned i watched them lower my car and as they were taking it off the ramp they ripped my front bumper and flexed it to the max, I stopped them and said you need to put boards under my car as my car is lower. They caused damage to my front lip and bumper which is now hanging on barley. I was very upset and said I would be back. About a day later I still noticed my car was not performing right. I called them back and told them the issue is still happening. I then took it to a performance shop "**** ******" right across the street, they advised me that the uppipe needed to be replaced. So i replaced the pipe which cost me $330.00 with labor. I also got a quote for my bumper and new front lip $400.00. When my car was fixed from **** ****** I asked for my uppipe back to see the weld job that "Kens Muffler" did. When i looked at the uppipe the weld was not 360 degrees nor close to being welded all the way around. On top of that they welded the side of the pipe. I asked for the header to uppipe they welded the turbo to uppipe side "WRONG SIDE" so the problem was never fixed. I then brought the pipe over to Kens and asked them for my money back and to fix my bumper "pay for a new one" . They refused to do that they said how can we make this right i told them to put my headers on for free with new gaskets and I will take care of the bumper and fix myself if you keep yourside of the deal. I have two people with me at this time "**** and *****". ***** from Kens said they get it installed and put new gaskets on, I asked do i need to go get them for you to make this easier ? 4 auto parts stores were across the street from Kens. They said they got them ordered and they are on there way. I left and got food with my friends, I come back and asked the front desk if the gasket had arrived they said yes. I then went out to my car to watch them install, I noticed during the install the gaskets were my old gasket. I asked where are my new gaskets, *** said no one had any gaskets in the area... I said you said they were here and ready to install. he said we called everywhere and no one had any gaskets. He installed my headers and said tough, I left very unhappy. I then called all auto parts stores across the street from Kens on my way home, all of them had gaskets and more then 12 were available. I called Kens left a voicemail as they were closed. I came back the next day and talked to ***** he looked me in my face and lied to me saying we called and no one had any gaskets so i called him out. He said were done with you I said then fix my bumper and pay for the repairs, he laughed in my face and said no way. So at this point I have a damaged front bumper and a car not running correctly with used/broken gaskets. I will be taking this to my friend who will give me legal advise and will also be taking them to small claims court if not resolved. New bumper and front lip and gaskets on my car. They damaged my car and are not taking responsibility for there actions and I am very upset and this has caused me so much stress and time out of my days and time off work. Please help

Desired Settlement: Pay for new from bumper and paint and new front lip. I will go to another shop who will do it right the first time. I do not want them touching my car again. No integrity!

Business Response: On March 20th 2015, the customer came in with his ****** inquiring about a fix for an exhaust leak. After performing an inspection of his exhaust system, our technician found multiple exhaust leaks. The vehicle had an aftermarket performance header on it that was wrapped with fiberglass header wrap. The most severe exhaust leak was coming from a section of the header that was covered by header wrap. The flange that connected the header to the up pipe was also covered and our technician could hear a leak from somewhere around that flange. There was also a leak from the top of the up pipe. It had a crack below the flange that connected the up pipe to the turbo.
Our technician brought the customer out to his vehicle in the shop and showed him what he found. While the vehicle was running, our technician showed him there was a major leak from the header and explained that to find out exactly what the cause was he would have to remove the header wrap and the wrap that was covering up the flange. With a piece of welding rod our technician pointed to the top of the up pipe were it was cracked and explained that not only was the pipe cracked but more than likely the metal was crystallized and because of this, any fix would only be a temporary fix and because of the location we could not guarantee that we would be able to weld the entire crack. The customer said to do the best we could and that he would be replacing the up pipe anyway. The customer was not interested in the additional work of removing the header wrap (even though our technician explained that he could hear another leak under the wrap) to allow a thorough inspection. Our technician was able to seal the entire crack which did not require welding around the whole pipe. The customer’s bill for that day was $70.80 with tax.

On April 16, 2015 (27 days later) the customer came in and in a very cordial manner explained to a customer service rep that, he had been in previously to have repair work done and sometime after started having problems with the engine getting too hot. He knew he needed a new up pipe and stopped at another shop to have it replaced. After having it replaced he asked for his old up pipe back and he said he noticed that not only had we not done a 360 degree weld but we welded the wrong end, leaving the original crack untouched and performing a weld on the end that didn't need it. As all of our technicians were out to lunch at the time, our service rep asked the customer if he could come back in about 45 minutes to which he agreed. He left the up pipe with us so we could discuss what happened with our technician. He also
said that our technician pulled his front bumper off as he was driving it on the rack. His vehicle sits low to the ground and didn't have proper clearance. He remarked that he wasn't worried about that but he wanted something done about the weld. He further stated that he wasn't interested in receiving his money back but instead would like us to put on his new headers free of charge. Our service rep, not knowing the involvement of the suggested remuneration said she would have to defer that option to someone else.  At the request of the service rep, the customer left the up pipe with us so we could document the event and discuss it with the technician.  Upon returning from lunch we informed our technician of the situation. He promptly took the pipe and showed us his weld – completely covering the crack even though it was not a 360 degree weld. We were also able to see the crack on the other end of the pipe along with the crystallization of the metal. Something we were not able to see
while the pipe was on the vehicle covered in fiberglass wrap. The customer returned around 2 in the afternoon and we showed him what we had discovered about his up pipe. We lifted the car up on the rack to show him the other original problems that were going on. At that time we noticed that his bumper was hanging loose and he had
attempted to repair it with self-tapping screws. We did not discuss the bumper further as he said that was not an issue for him. The question that arose in our mind was if he had fixed it, why was it still hanging loose. Later we asked our technician about that and he said it did indeed rub the rack as it was driven on and that the customer mentioned it and asked him to be more careful but when he looked to see if he caused damage the bumper was already loose and the self-tapping screws had come away
from the body. This would have become a he said/they said situation without a final resolve and since this was curiously not our customer concern we let it go.  Our decision was to refund his money $70.80, which we did. That however was unsatisfactory to him and he insisted we also complete the replacement of his header. After much deliberation another technician told him he would replace the header with a new one if the customer would bring in his own header. The customer left to go get his header and returned at 4:20PM with the original manifold that was on it before putting on the aftermarket header. He said his header wouldn't be in for a while so he just wanted his original manifold put on. We were expecting a new header that comes with a new gasket. There was no gasket with the manifold and we proceeded to order a gasket from our parts supplier. The customer asked our Service Manager if he needed to go get a gasket and she told him she had already ordered one. When the gasket
arrived the box was empty. The customer was a witness to this. At this point it was after closing and too late to get another gasket from our supplier. We told him if he could leave the car with us overnight we would get the gasket first thing in the morning and get it completed right away. That was not an option for him. He wanted it
repaired immediately. The only option we had for him was to use the old gasket to which he agreed. The job was completed while the customer and his friends watched. Upon completion the customer and his friends accepted the work done.

The next morning there was a message on the answering machine left by the customer the night before saying that he had called several different parts stores and there
were plenty of gaskets available. He felt we had lied to him and would be back tomorrow. That day (April 17th) he came back and had a very threatening posture. He demanded that we redo the job with new gaskets and said we lied to him. We explained that we didn't lie. That our parts supplier was unable to get us another gasket and that we do not do business with the discount parts stores that he had called. We also reminded him that we gave him the option of leaving the vehicle overnight to wait for new gaskets but he declined that option. We asked him if his car was performing as expected and he said it was but that wasn't the point, he "just wanted what he
paid for." Since we had already refunded his money we said we had done everything we could for him. His next response was “then I want you to pay for my bumper”. 

Clearly we were not going to be able to do anything to make him happy and as there was doubt in our mind that our technician caused any additional damage we reaffirmed that we were done and could do nothing more for him.

Our security cameras show the customer and his friends in the bay while the manifold was being installed with his old gasket. His claim that he was at dinner and didn't know can be proven inaccurate.

Furthermore on all occasions there were several customers in our lobby that are witnesses to these facts. It is with all likely-hood that these challenges will need to be addressed in court.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: In fact that the statement provided from "Kens Muffler" is false and not accurate. The statement " the uppipe was in fiber glass wrap" there was no wrap on the uppipe there was on the header. The bumper that was damaged however I will not ignore! If i seemed upset i have every right to be after being lied to on multiple times. The two people i was with did in fact witness and hear *** say he would get new gaskets and put them on. That was not done at all, If the job was done properly none of this would have happened. The crack and "weld" were on the opposite sides of each other, there for doing the wrong thing. Since they are not willing to make right by there mistake Id be more then happy to take this to the next step and move into litigation.  


***** ******

Business Response: If the customer had come to management at the time of the alleged incident with his bumper, we would have been able to verify weather or not our technician caused the damage to his bumper. Given the fact that it took him 27 days to come back creates reasonable doubt in our minds that we caused this damage. 

We stand by our statement that the flange was covered in a fiberglass wrap, preventing us from repairing additional cracks. We refunded the amount of $70.80 for the original work, even though we do not feel we were at fault. 

As the customers recollection of the events differs from ours, we accept that it will only be satisfied by outside arbitration.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The employee who damaged my bumper and knew he did, his name is ********. If a car is damaged you should take responsibility and make it right not making excuses. The screws that are in the bumper was a temp fix, I wanted my car to run right and still is not. My stock header that was put back on with "USED" gaskets is leaking...who would have thought that using "old" gaskets that they wouldnt last? Must be a phenomenon and old gaskets cant be bad. I will not let "Kens Muffler" get away with mistreatment and take advantage of me. You are lazy and didn't do your diligence, man up and take responsibility for your lack of actions. You damaged my bumper and now your going to pay for it plain and simple, either the easy way or the long and painful process of litigation. I will not just go away, I will continue to fight this until I have to explain my case and bring in witnesses and show items to the proper authority. This all could have been taken care of by telling the truth and fixing my bumper. Again going back to the beginning, I asked for my stock header to be put back on properly and with new gaskets which didnt happen you said we are done. So in that case you will pay for the damage done to my car "bumper and front lip". The fact you are fighting this shows the lack of integrity in your company and the lack of work ethic/respect you dont have for your customers in this community. God only knows how many people you have screwed over and not told. Karma   


***** ******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I would like my complaint ID ********, to be handled through an Arbitration hearing with BBB.



Business Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I would like my complaint ID ********, to be handled through an Arbitration hearing with BBB.



12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: After having the starter replaced on my Saturn and picking it up from Ken's, my car broke down the very next day. I had to call an after hours service to come and take a look, and hopefully get my car running again. After taking a look, the repair man told me my battery terminals were so heavily corroded that their was not enough power getting to my starter, he was curious as to whether this was the problem from the get go, and assumes that Ken's replaced my started because they could, not because it actually needed to be replaced. Furthermore, Ken's should have cleaned the corrosion off my battery terminals while they were working on the engine as part of the process is disconnecting the battery before beginning the work. After speaking with them, they made no effort to correct the situation, and offered no apology. I feel used and humiliated for letting a business pull a fast one on me.

Desired Settlement: I would have liked at least some of my money refunded. I paid for a service to be completed, and they did not follow through on their end of the transaction.

Business Response:

When Ms. ****** visited with us concerning her situation our service writer apologized for her inconvenience and asked us to talk to her regarding what we are able to do for her. After listening to her compliant we told her we would like to take care of her as best we could. She was asking us to issue her a check in the amount of $200. We asked her for her receipt for the amounts she paid to the after hours service provider that helped her. She informed us that not only did she not have a receipt but also could not remember the name of the shop that helped her out. At that point we asked her if she paid for it with a credit card and she responded yes. We then explained to her how to go online with her credit card company and get the information on the shop that the charge was made to. We asked her to please come back when she had the information so we could help her out. We have not heard from her since.
In our efforts to understand the problem and how we could have prevented it, we spoke to the technicians who worked on her car. One technician diagnosed the problem another performed the repairs. We spoke to these technicians individually and received the following information. The Diagnostic procedure is a complete systems check which tests the battery, starter and alternator. The battery was found to have a low charge and the alternator was fine but the starter failed the test. We put a jump box on the battery and waited for an approval to replace the starter. In an effort to expedite the repair we ordered the starter and left the car in the bay. The battery and starter were disconnected. Both technicians said they didn't encounter enough corrosion to merit a concern. In speaking with another (uninvolved ) technician to verify the procedure, his response was that this particular battery has side post terminals which has less exposed metals and corrosion, while not impossible is implausible.
Ms. ****** called at 8:30AM to approve the work and it was completed at 10AM.  Her other complaint was that we finished the work too quickly to have done a thorough job.  She was charged with 1.1 hour of labor and was given a 5% discount. Including the prep time and completion of the repair, we spent close to 2 hours on her vehicle.
We are still awaiting a call back from Ms. ****** with her receipt and or contact information from the shop performing her after hour repairs.