BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Ike & Son Transmission & Salvage?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ike & Son Transmission & Salvage

Phone: (970) 824-6475 Fax: (970) 826-4773 View Additional Phone Numbers 96502 E Highway 40, Craig, CO 81625 http://www.ikesrockymountainargo.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ike & Son Transmission & Salvage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ike & Son Transmission & Salvage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Ike & Son Transmission & Salvage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 01, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1951 Business started locally: 01/01/1951
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Elwood Eisenhauer, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Elwood Eisenhauer, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Transmission Suppliers Auto Services Auto Salvage Yards Auto Parts & Supplies - New

Alternate Business Names
Ike's Rocky Mountain ARGO
Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Ike & Son Transmission & Salvage has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 96502 E Highway 40

    Craig, CO 81625 (970) 824-6475 (800) 883-6475

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 883-6475(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I needed a top for my 1972 Blazer.In mid October 2013, I found one listed by Ike and Sons at *************. They described the part as in good shape, needing no repairs. The web site states that descriptions are the responsibility of the listing company.I sent an email asking for condition and price. Ike and Sons did not respond, so I later called them. I was told over the phone that other than superficial cracks the part was good. At the time I was injured and unable to walk or drive until December 2013 and told them this and asked if they would hold the part. They told me I must pay in full ($400) to hold it.I was walking and able to drive my Blazer the 400 mile round trip to Craig in mid December 2013. I made the trip on the 18th as the weather was good and it was not snowing.I had called ahead regarding the top so they would know I was coming. On arrival we went out in to the yard to get the top so I could put it on my Blazer for the drive back to Boulder. To my total surprise the top was not in serviceable condition. The rear hatch had broken hinge attachments, no working latches, and missing lock mechanism. The area around the drivers door was broken.I told them that I would not take the top as it was not as advertised.They asked why i bought it without looking at it and claimed they told me of its bad condition. They then said they took photos and sent them to me. They could not find any evidence of that in their computer, and i never received any photos. I again explained that I was unable to walk or drive until December 2013 and had relied on their description as I would have never considered the top had its condition been fully disclosed.They now stated that either I or their employee was lying and they would fire the employee if he lied (implying that I was a liar).They finally agreed to a refund, but charged me $140 restocking fee. I don't believe that is right since the part was misrepresented to me. I lost a day, 25 gallons of gas and drove 400 miles to be treated badly.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $140 plus tax back and I guess i will eat the 25 gallons of gas and the wasted day.

Business Response: As you may know, My Company has a 30 day limit return policy. The questioning customer was well over 2 months of storage by the time he decided to come and get it. I did not even have to return it to the customer, due to this period, my time is money as well, and keeping a part on hold cost's my business money. However I went ahead and returned it with a 45% restocking fee due to the time frame in which we had this waiting for the customer. My part's hand would have NEVER told the customer that the roof was damage free. He and I both knew it needed repair from the moment it was bought and inventoried into my yard. I have no control over what ************ say's about my parts. As far as the photo's being sent it appears we were given a different e-mail address, and it make's sense we had no reply. I still cannot believe anybody for the matter would purchase something as such without an onsite viewing. Picture's sent or not. I'm curious as to why the customer was not sure about purchasing this part due to not receiving pictures, but still made the purchase anyway. We would have been more than happy to take a "Hold-Deposit" until he was able to come and see it before we had went out (Gas money), Removed the seats, and hardware(Time & Payroll), in order for the customer to pickup the top. Again costing me money and time. A hold deposit would have been only 25% of the total cost, the customer was very interested and went ahead and paid in full, without our demand. 

Thank you 

****** **********

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: 1) ************ states that all item descriptions are the responsibility of the listing business.
2) I only gave them one email address and it is the correct one.
3) I was told there was no significant damage to the part.
4) I asked them about holding the part and was told I had to pay the full price.
5) I was unable to drive or walk until December, and told them that before I paid for the item.
6) I drove 400+ miles and wasted $75 worth of gas to find the item was unsuitable.
7) I would never have considered the item in the first place if I was given an honest description of its condition.
8) I will not go in to ad hominum attacks, but would encourage anyone to be careful when dealing with this business.

Regards,

***** *******