Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Big Al's Auto & Exhaust

Phone: (307) 637-8955 Fax: (307) 634-6211 6526 US 30 Service Rd, Cheyenne, WY 82001

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Scheduled Maintenance, Inspections, Computer Diagnostics, Suspension Service & Repair, Diesel Service & Repair, Engine Service & Repair, Brake Service & Repair, Transmission Service & Repair

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Big Al's Auto & Exhaust meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Big Al's Auto & Exhaust include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Big Al's Auto & Exhaust
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 30, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1991 in WY Business incorporated 05/01/2008 in WY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wyoming Department of Transportation
5300 Bishop Blvd, Cheyenne WY 82009
Phone Number: (307) 777-3840

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Dave Rose, Owner Ms. Jeannie Spraker, Manager Mr. Andy Vehar, Shop Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dave Rose, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Jeannie Spraker, Manager
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Towing Companies Welding

Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Additional Locations

  • 6526 US 30 Service Rd

    Cheyenne, WY 82001 (307) 637-8955


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently took my vehicle to Big Al's to have by anti-lock breaking system looked at due to it not working this winter. Upon making my appointment with them I stated I just wanted the problem diagnosed. After I dropped my vehicle off I was told I would be called when they figured out what the problem was. I received a call later that day when **** told me he had good news and some other news. He said my model of vehicle did not have ABS installed in it. I was confused because I swore I had used it last winter. **** stated that he also thought it would have the system as well. I was confused but also accepted the news he gave me. Afterwards he stated, "also you had a headlight out and we went ahead and fixed it". I was aware that my headlight was out for I had noticed it that morning and my Husband said that he would just fix it. When I was told that they went ahead and fixed it I said "okay" assuming that they had fixed it free of charge since I never received a call asking if I wanted the headlights replaced. They replaced both headlights because **** stated "if one is out it is a matter of weeks before the other one goes out". A few hours later I went and picked up my vehicle paid for it and got in my car to leave. Before I left I looked at my recipe and saw that they had charged me $44.51 to have my headlights fixed. I felt that the business took complete advantage of me by charging me for a service that I never gave them permission to perform. I have been to Big Al's on a few occasions to have my car looked at and even repaired. I will not be returning to them for any future business because of this incident or recommending them to any friends.

Desired Settlement: I believe I should be refunded the amount of $44.51 for the replacement of my headlights. I accept the $25 diagnostic fee for my abs but believe I should have not had to pay $44.51.

Business Response: We try very hard to take care of our customers as best as we can. It is our company policy, for safety items that are easily addressed like headlights and tail lights, we will not charge labor for replacement. There was no labor charged. The only labor was for the diagnostic fees, which are normally a minimum charge of $60.00. When **** called and explained the headlight was out and he had fixed it, he was under the impression you were okay with this. The $44.51 charged on this repair order was for the parts only. We replace headlights as a pair not only so that both bulbs will match, but usually the other headlight that is still working goes out shortly after the first.

This vehicle does not have the *** code for the antilock brake system (ABS), it has the *** code for conventional braking system.

We apologize for any communication error. We are always more than happy to discuss any concerns our customers have at any time. This is also why we ask our customers to sign the repair order authorizing any charges for parts and/or services that have been performed, so if there are any questions prior to payment we can address them. If you bring in the card that was used for this transaction, we will be more than happy to take care of the refund for you.

I have enclosed a copy of the original repair order as well as statement from the manufacturer showing which brake system this particular vehicle has, for your records. Our intention was not to take advantage of anyone, it was to keep yourself and others safe on the road.