BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of B-Town Automotive, LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

B-Town Automotive, LLC

Phone: (970) 532-2009 912 N 2nd St Unit A, Berthoud, CO 80513 http://www.btownautomotive.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Full Service Automotive Repair Center.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that B-Town Automotive, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for B-Town Automotive, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for B-Town Automotive, LLC include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on B-Town Automotive, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 07, 2011 Business started: 10/28/2010 Business started locally: 10/28/2010 Business incorporated: 10/28/2010 in CO
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jim Fate, Owner Ms. Karen Fate, Owner Mr. Tony Schunke, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Fate, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Karen Fate, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair Services Brake Shops Engine Repair Rebuilding Companies Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Services Car Diagnosis Shops

Service Area
Northern Colorado
Products & Services

car repair, brakes, engines, automotive

Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Additional Locations

  • 912 N 2nd St Unit A

    Berthoud, CO 80513 (970) 532-2009

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: B Town Automotive Gave a estimate before hand, when repair was done, it was 3X the amount of estimate. B Town has a good way of telling a potential customer what they want to hear. ****** ***** gives a customer a estimate then when repair is final, it's soo much higher than orignal. There was damage to my car while was in there care, had scratchess on the top of both front fenders, the passenger side door, the front nose and also the top of the hood. ****** said that they would be able to perform the work of removing the transmission from a 2005 Mitibushi Eclipse. I had questioned the practices of the removel after I returned to the place of business after having no contact for approx. 2 weeks. ****** said "they were waiting on a tool, sdo they could remove the transmission". They were shipping the transmission to Longmount to?? will add more!!

Desired Settlement: My transmission wasn't fixed right Want my money back plus the money for the damages for the paint repair. WILL ADD MORE LATER TODAY

Business Response: Consumer Response /* (-5, 5, 2012/10/10) */ After it was taken to *******************, it was supposedly fixed on/about 9/20/2012. When I test drove the Eclipse There a a noise from the transmission. B Town Mechanic said it was because it was new. We (B TOWN Mechanic) drove it to ****** transmission and the owner drove the Eclipse. He did say that there was a problem with the transmission. It was removed the following week. (found a part was improperly installed). B TOWN *** had told me to deal with ****** transmission directly. and the Eclipse was returned to B Town on/about 9/28/2012. I drove it from B Town Automotive with the mechanic and there was another noise from the transmission that made a CLUNK. Even another mechanic from B Town heard the noise while we drove the car down the street. AGAIN THE CAR WAS SUPPOSELY TAKEN BACK to ****** transmission shop. This time as the said they put HEAVIER OIL in the transmission.Well heavier oil means that it's covering up a problem that is temporary.. I later found out that B Town had ok'd a replacement CLUTCH that ******************* had BROKEN. B Town HAD NOT called me to approve the NEW CLUTCH!! As I bought a New Clutch Set on/about 9/12/2012. Later I found out that the clutch set that B TOWN had approved came from *********. ********* HAS THE POOREST QUAILTY PARTS ON THE MARKET. I DID NOT KNOW THAT THEY PURCHASED THE CLUTCH FROM THERE UNTIL I GOT THE BOX FROM ****** TRANSMISSION. I NEVER REC'D ANY TYPE OF WARRENTTY PAPER WORK. I picked up the car on 10/02/2012 around 5 pm. When I got home I washed the Eclipse. It was very DIRTY from not being washed for over a month. I noticed SCRATCHES on top on BOTH fenders, the passenger door, the front nose and the hood. I called B TOWN and left them message, they never answered the phone. As I left a message asking how they could dis-respect a customers car like that... I JUST HAD THE eclipse PAINTED LAST NOVEMBER at ******** Body Shop In *********** Co. I TAKE CARE OF MY CAR.... Clearly B TOWN NEVER took that extra mile to keep this from happening. THE lowest Estimate is $1389.00. to fix the scratches. I had called the week of 4th of October 2012, Tom answered the phone. I asked him about the scratches and asked him about the NOISE I STILL HAVE I TNE TRANSMISDSION. His reply was "SO" "SO".. I have a DISPUTE with my Bank of this place that took my money and my car was dependable when I had B TOWN work on it, NOW IT IS UNDEPENDABLE!! I want my MONEY BACK AND FIX THE SCRATCHES THE CAUSED.. Thank You.. Consumer Response /* (-5, 6, 2012/10/10) */ summited a sup Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2012/10/25) */ While the customer has stopped payment on the $323.82 check and charged back $1,560, the customer has never returned or attempted to return the vehicle in question. At this point, the invoice is unpaid and the customer still has the vehicle. *************** walked into B-Town Automotive and asked *** **** (Co-Owner)how much it would cost to fix the transmission in his Ecplipse. He explained the symptoms and *** agreed to call him back later with some numbers. During the subsequent phone call, *** explained a verbal timeline for repair and a thorough explanation of the process (i.e. what portion B-Town would perform and what portion would be sublet to ******************* and ***). In addition, *** explained that it is impossible to predict each components that may need replaced inside a manual transmission. *** explained the price associated with removing and installing the transmission, the price associated with disassembling and reassembling the transmission and the cost of fluids and supplies necessary to complete the job. *** was very clear with **** that the labor and parts associated with fixing the internal components of the transmission were a variable we couldn't predict. *** agreed to provide **** with a loaner vehicle while his Eclipse was being repaired, **** said he would get his finances in order and made an appointment for the following week. When **** showed up the following week, he said the bank had turned down his request for a loan to fix his car and wondered if we knew of someone who wold loan him the money. I explained that we weren't in the business of loaning money and didn't have any suggestions. A few days later, **** showed up and asked us to get started with the repairs. Without our knowledge, **** allowed his teenage *** (*****) to drive the loaner vehicle. While in town, we observed ***** texting while driving and smoking in the loaner vehicle. At that point we placed a call to **** and voiced our concern but the behavior continued the entire time they had the loaner car. During the initial test drive on 9/21/2012, **** and a B-Town Technician both agreed to a slight noise in the transmission. In response to the noise, the B-Town Technician and **** drove together to ******************* & *** to speak to the owner. ****, the owner, agreed there was something "not quite right" and asked to keep the car so they could correct the problem. All parties agreed and we gave the B-Town loaner vehicle back to ****. We explained to **** that we would not have information until the following week when the Technicians at ****** could pull the transmission and determined the cause of the noise. We apologized for missing the estimated deadline but we assured **** that we wanted to make it right. The customer still had use of our loaner vehicle. During the repair process, we suggested a new clutch be installed on the vehicle. We explained that because the transmission was already out, we would replace the clutch for no additional labor charge. The customer agreed but rather than agreeing to the clutch we recommended, the customer purchased a much less expensive clutch direct from a parts store and brought it to our shop. When the replacement clutch that the customer brought us was broken during removal by a certified Technician at *******************, a new version of the EXACT same part was put back on the vehicle. Since the customer had brought in his own clutch to be installed originally, ****** chose the same exact clutch as a replacement. On 9/28/2012 the customer arrived at ******************* to test drive and pick up the vehicle. This is not protocol and the customer knew it. **** was sub-contracted through B-Town and the customer knew payment needed to be made direct to B-Town. In any event, ****** called and asked B-Town if it was okay to release the Eclipse to ****. B-Town agreed with a promise from **** that he would come straight to B-Town to pay his invoice (this was approx 10am). **** showed up at B-Town with his vehicle after 4pm. During this 6 hour period, we called **** several times. When **** arrived 6 hours later, he asked if he could make payments. **** already had an unpaid balance of $212.00 for work done on a 1994 Ford Explorer. We explained that we would be happy to take payments but could not release the vehicle until the balance was paid in full. At that point **** got angry and commented that he was disabled and didn't have the funds now. He said he didn't get his disability check until 10/2/2012. At that point, **** claimed to hear another noise he didn't like. This was a total surprise since he test drove and accepted the car 6 hours earlier at ******************* and ***. In any event, we took the vehicle back to ****** for their opinion. **** (the owner) didn't hear any irregularities but agreed to put in an alternative transmission fluid. This is the time that I surmized the customer had no intention of paying for the repair. On Monday, October 1st, **** came to test drive and pick up his car. After the test drive, ***** explained that she couldn't accept a check for such a large amount and asked for a credit card, debit card, cash or money order. The credit card **** presented was declined by his bank. At this point he became angry and rude. ***** handled the situation and allowed the outstanding balance to carry another day. **** showed up the following day, test drove the car again and paid his invoice ($323.82 check and $1,550 credit card payment). ****'s *** *****'s credit card would not work for the entire amount so we agreed to take a check for the balance. The Customer was given a receipt and we explained the 3 year / 75,000 mile warranty on parts and labor for the transmission. **** left a message on 10/2/2012 (after hours) and called back the morning of 10/3/2012 before we could return his call. He asked **** (Co-Owner) to come to "his turf"(whatever that means) to look at the vehicle. We told him we would be happy to look at the vehicle but we would need him to bring it to the shop. The accusation that the paint was scratched while under the care of B-Town is 100% false. **** test drove the vehicle several times, looked it over in the sunlight and approved the car before he paid his bill. While the customer experience wasn't perfect and there was some frustration with the extended time frame, B-Town Automotive and ******************* and *** accepted ownership and made things right. If the customer is having issues, then he needs to bring the vehicle back. He is still in possession of all products and services. The complaint regarding scratches, in our opinion, is another attempt to get something for free. **** voiced his frustration that the bank had turned down his request for a loan to cover the repairs. He then asked us if we knew anyone who would lend him the money. In addition, he asked us on more than one occasion if he could make payments. Both B-Town Automotive and ******************* and *** have a well documented history of positive reviews and a track record of success. Our proposed solution is that **** pays us for the services performed on both his 2005 Mistubishi Eclipse and his 1994 Ford Explorer so we can avoid the cost of legal action. If **** feels he has a warranty claim, we encourage him to drop the vehicle off so we can evaluate any necessary repairs that need to be made. In addition, if **** would like us to provide an estimate to repair any paint and body damages that he and his *** may have incurred after the repairs, we are happy to provide one. Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2012/10/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I will start from the on the response from B-Town Automotive. Why would I return the car after numerous time that the car was\'not fixed in the first place. ***** WASN'T there when *** and I was talking about the fix on the Eclipse transmission. The time line on getting the transmission is FALSE what ***** has said. *** **** had told me that it would be done by Wednesday the following week, for one. There is no question on them giving a loaner vehicle to drive. It sure wasn't going to be a month to have the loaner vehicle. There is not another question about my *** driving the loaner, after ***** had called me with the concern of my ***, and it was addressed and was taken care of. I had told *** what I needed for the transmission because of talking with other mechanics and having a est. from another shop of what needed to be replaced. I told *** what I wanted to be replaced. He did mentioned about taking it directly to ****** transmission. I wanted a small town business to have the business here. I also kept asking *** if the B-Town can replace the part in Question. I had come into the shop before 9/21/2012 asking about the car, *** said they were waiting on a tool so they could remove the transmission. Wad told they B-TOWN had to order a tool to remove the transmission. On 9/21/2012 B-Town auto tech. TOLD ME because it was A NEW TRANSMISSION WORK that it makes noise. AGAIN I INSITED THAT IT WASN'T A NORMAL NOISE!! Again it ended up at ******. Because ****** DID NOT PUT A PART ON RIGHT!! The replacement CLUTCH that was broken at ****** WAS NEVER METIONED TO ME until I was told about the clutch was replaced when I had already the car before it was taken back to have thicker oil put in. AGAIN IT WAS NOT METIONED THAT ****** TRANSMISSION HAD BROKEN THE CLUTCH. The owner of ****** EVEN SAID HE WOULD HAVE PUT A BETTER CLUTCH IN. I DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM *********..AND THAT'S WHERE ****** TRANSMISSION HAD BOUGHT THE CLTCH. B-Town DID NOT TELL ME ABOUT A WARRENTY with the transmission 3yrs/75,000 miles. THEY DID NOT TELL ME!!! My *** is a witness to this as he was there when the car was picked up. I left a message on B-Towns answering machine about the damages to the 2005 Mitsubishi Eclipse and THEY DID NOT RETURN MY CALL.. On 10/3/2012 I immediately went and got 2 estimates on the damage to the paint. So B-Town can not say it happened days later. I made the phone call the evening on 10/2/2012 around 6:30 pm. I let then know immediately about the damage. THEY DID NOT CALL!!! I will today copy the estimates and send them in the mail. THAT IS FALSE WHAT ***** SAID about i knew I was not going to pay. I HAD THE MONIEY TO pay, I was paid on the 3rd of each month and also my *** had pawned his dirt bike at ************* To pay the repair bill. ***** HAS SAID FALSE ACCUSATION ABOUT ME... B-TOWN WAS PAID THE $1550.00 threw ****************** and ANOTHER FALSE STATEMENT FROM *****/B-Town. ************** phone number is ************ *************. Please call ******!!*****'S-TOWN FALSE STATEMENT!!! I DID NOT TEST DROVE IT WHEN I PICKED UP The car. THE CAR WAS FILFTY ON THE OUTSIDE. IT WAS DIRTY AND I WENT HOME IMMEDIALTY AND WASHED IT. ANOTHER FALSE STATEMENT FROM *****. A positive track record, but it won't list the negative comments.. IT'S IN THERE FAVOR HOW THEY HAVE THE POSITIVE OUT COME ON THE FEED BACK. I had left negative \feed back, and that was never posted. IT A FALSE FEEDBACK SITE, Controlled by B-TOWN of what gets posted. THEY DAMAGED MY CAR WHILE IT WAS IN THERE POSSESSION AND *****S OPINION IS FALSE. Consumer Response /* (3000, 14, 2012/10/29) */ B-TOWN'S RESPONSE. About their loaner vehicle. As ***** said," Without our knowledge, **** allowed his ******** drive the loaner vehicle. My *** was supposedly texing and smoking in the loaner. I did rec'd a call from *****, at to say the problem still continued, IT IS FALSE. If it continued the B-TOWN would have asked for the loaner vehicle back!! They DID NOT BECAUSE THEY KNEW THE PROBLEM WITH MY *** WAS CORRECTED AND HE NEVER DROVE IT AGAIN. Another FALSE CLAIM BY ***** WITH B-TOWN AUTOMOTIVE to dis-credit me by making the complaint. The car was returned to me as stated in the first part of the complant, tjhat it was never washed during the time was shuffled around for the repairs. Than you. **** Consumer Response /* (3000, 15, 2012/10/29) */ 2nd add on... On Friday 10/26/2012 I had called my banker at ***********************, ******. I had discussed with her that B-Town Automotive was not PAID through **** Card. She had called Ms. *************, **** operations/*********************** Company. Ms. ****** had called ***** @ B-Town. Ms ****** had to show the items that B-Town was paid in early October 2012. On or about October 4th 2012. Ms *****'s reply was that her bank was slow posting the payment. On October 25, 2012 Ms ***** with B-Town automotive SAID "B-Town was NOT PAID FOR SERVICES ON THE MTISIBUSHI ECLIPSE", IN TURN SHE WAS PAID ON ABOUT OCTOBER 4TH, 2012. The 2nd CLUTCH that was bought by ******************* WAS NOT THE SAME. It was a different manufacturer, different surfaces on the clutch, different brand. IT WAS PUT ON WITHOUT MY CONSENT AND IT WAS A VERY CHEAP CLUTCH. Ms ***** stated " EXACT SAME PART" IT WAS NOT. DIFFRENT COMPANY..DIFFRENT MAKER OF PRODUCT... VERY CHEAP IN QUAILTY... Since ****** transmission (company) broke the clutch, there paying for the one they broke, so of course they will buy the cheapest one from the cheapest parts house. 1).. ***** at B-Town Automotive said they were not paid, in turn B-Town was paid weeks before they made this statement on October 25, 2012 that they WERE NOT PAID!! 2).. I WAS NOT INFORMED ABOUT ****** TRANSMISSION HAD BROKEN THE NEW CLUTCH THAT I PROVIDED. THEY HAD PUT ON REPLACEMENT PARTS WITHOUT MY CONSENT!! The way I found out was **** at ******************* slipped up and asked if the new clutch was making noise. 3) ***** HAS NOT BEEN HONEST!! By making FALSE STATEMENTS TO BBB, AND TO ********************************* I WANT ALL MY MONEY REFUNDED BACK SO I CAN PAY SOMEONE ELSE TO FIX THE TRANSMISSION RIGHT. the TRANSMISSION IS STILL MAKING A NOISE AND GETTING WORSE TO DRIVE. I gave them several chances to get the car fixed right, and after the 3rd time it still isn't fixed right. The car should have been fixed RIGHT THE FIRST TIME.. And then disrespecting a owners car by scratching the paint, just isn't a good shop..Thank You *************** Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2012/11/20) */ To whom it may concern, Record number ********************************: We have already provided the customer's signed credit card receipt. The customer has never returned to our automotive shop to resolve this matter or return any merchandise. He still has the vehicle with all the parts installed. In addition, part of the money withheld includes $212.50 for work completed on Mr. **********'s 1994 Ford Explorer. There is no issue surrounding repairs on this particular vehicle and yet this money is being tied up in this dispute. A copy of this work is also included. In regards to Mr. **********'s rebuttal, the bottom line is he received exactly what we discussed. There were a few things that altered the intended timeline, but the vehicle was repaired as promised. However, everything was made right before the vehicle was released. Not every situation with cars can be perfect; however B-Town and ****** transmission try to make all things right for the customer before they pay their bill. Mr. **********'s continuous complaint about the clutch is irrelevant. Whether it is *********, ******************* or any other retail store the part installed was the EXACT same make and model. The retailer of the product is indifferent. The clutch make, model and type chose by Mr. ********** was what was reinstalled into his vehicle. There is no further need to argue this matter. If Mr. ********** would return to our shop we could show him this as he may just not have the ability or knowledge to really verify this on his own. B-Town had 2 staff members explain the warranty to **** and his ***. If they didn't understand his warranty we would be happy to explain his 3yrs/75,000 mile warranty to him again. Mr. **********s warranty is through B-Town Automotive. He wanted it to be from ******************* that is not how sub-contracting works. Again if he needs further explanation he should return to B-Town. Regardless none of his warranty misunderstanding is relevant to his responsibility of paying his bill. Once again, if he is having problems he needs to return to B-Town and exercise his warranty. The customer cannot retain all the products and labor for free. B-Town Automotive could argue back and forth with Mr. ********** about his tactics on paying for services done to his vehicle. Whether he had or did not have the money etc. Both parties have their opinion. We are a not in business to take advantage of any customer. Mr. ********** parts and labor are under warranty. If he is having issues he needs to act on his warranty not refuse to pay for services rendered or make false statement and accusations. The **********s are currently driving both vehicles. If the customer is truly having transmission issues on his Eclipse than he should probably not be driving it at all. Consumer Response /* (4200, 23, 2012/11/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This response from B-Town is unacceptable. 1) The clutch that was put in after ****** transmission damaged the "new" Clutch, WAS NOT AUTHROIZED by me. If I wanted a clutch from ********* then I would have bought one from that business. ******** carries the "lowest end" on parts.(quality) 2)The Mitsubishi Eclipse was not repaired as promised.(A.)First time when the car was given back, So called B-Towns mechanic told me "the noise I'm hearing, it's from have a new transmission installed and clutch". I told him it's not at all having a new transmission put in. New parts in the transmission SHOULD NOT MAKE ANY NOISE.. We drove it to ****** transmission and ****** had to REMOVE THE TRANSMISSION BECAUSE IT WAS IMPROPERLY FIXED. Clearly B-Towns "mechanic" really was just telling me what I wanted to hear. (B) The Eclipse was brought back again, have a noise from idle to drive. 2 mechanics from B-Town was outside of the building. 1 rode with me and another stood outside because when I test drove the car it made a noise from shifting the transmission. The other man heard a "CLUNK" and also said something wasn't right. AGAIN Back to ****** transmission. ****** had the car over the wknd and I got a call on Tuesday 1st of month.It was done. Again we had the "throw out bearing was making noise and transmission had noise.. 1- WAS NOT AURTHRISED TO PUT DIFFRENT PARTS ON THE MITSBUSHI ECLIPSE.!! 2 B-Town did not give me any type of information on warranty. 3- B-Town Automotive wants to justify there action by tell us that the clutches are the same and they had NOT CONTACTED me when the problem excited at ****** transmission. B-Town DOES NOT OWN THE 2005 MITISBUSHI ECLIPSE.. YOU (B-TOWN) DID NOT HAVE PERMISSION TO AUTHORISED A SUB-STANDARD CLUTCH. 4-Never knew that ***** B-TOWN is going out of her way to notice the vehicles are being driven. WOW.. Well as the eclipse is drivable, I'm having other estimates to fix the ECLIPSE right. *****(B-Town) took most of my money to repair a car, and it WAS NOT REPAIRED. Very little mileage is being put on the car. IT'S A UNRELABLE CAR NOW. I would never gone on a trip until it is fixed right. MAYBE ***** can take me to my doctors appts.?? It's called in other terms "nursing the Mitsubishi Eclipse". I don't have the extra money for some other QUIFIED REPAIR SHOP to fix the Mitsubishi RIGHT. And not to DAMAGE the car during the repair process. Like the damage was done in the hands of B-Town Automotive. 5) The clutch WAS NOT THE SAME. DIFFRENT PRODUCT AND DIFFRENT MANUFACTOR. LOWEST GRADE FOR THE QUAILTY. B-Town Automotive DID NOT FIX the MITIBUSHI ECLIPSE RIGHT!! And damaged the Paint on the Eclipse too. B-Town Automotive was paid and prior statement was made by ***** stating "we have not got paid yet". Then ***** made a statement" our system was slow. After providing the statement from my Bank and the bank called B-Town, Ms ***** had said nothing else. This was almost 3 weeks after B-Town was paid. And She had tried to through extra charges on the total bill until I had saved a voice-mail from Ms ***** stating how much the breakdown of the services. She blamed the computer on that incident. THAT IS NOT THE WAY YOU RUN A BUSINESS!! And never told the EXTRA MILE to PROTECT ANOTHER PER***S VEHICLE. I Want a refund for the work done on the Mitsubishi Eclipse. Since this has started, I no longer banking with ******** Bank in ********* Co. Thank you. *************** ******************** ****************** ************ Business Response /* (4000, 27, 2012/11/22) */ November 21, 2012 Case ********** Record number *************** Authorization is not required when a mechanic breaks something and a shop has to eat the cost of a replacement part due to a mechanic breaking a component during repair. It was the absolutely exact same clutch that Mr. ********** purchased and B-Town installed. B- Town Automotive had recommended a quality clutch that Mr. ********** refused to purchase. This was a good quality clutch with a warranty. Instead he chose is own poor quality clutch that would not carry a warranty. We did not even charge him for the install of his parts. Again, if the customer would like to come to B- Town Automotive with his vehicle we can show him the clutch installed by ****** was in fact the same low end clutch he chose himself just weeks prior. This constant complaint on his clutch has nothing to do with his lack of payment. Money owed to B-Town has nothing to do with his clutch as he was not charged for the replacement nor was it kept a secret. There was a problem with the transmission and ****** took complete ownership of the error and corrected the problem. As stated before things will go wrong with any business it is unavoidable. It is how the problems are handled that matter. ****** took complete ownership of the problem and made it right. Therefore, money is owed by the customer. A tool in fact needed to be order to remove part of the bad transmission. This is not an uncommon situation for a shop to need a tool. B-Town Automotive and the other shops in town call each other regularly looking for unusual/ not standard tools. This is such an unstandard tool that neither our ******* nor ***** tool suppliers carry this tool. It had to be ordered in from out of state. This should have no effect on Mr. ********** paying his bill. B-Town needing something did not affect Mr. ********** bill and he had a loaner car so no one was inconvenienced with the additional time need to get the tool. Mr. ********** was told his receipt is his warranty. Once again, we can go over this issue with Mr. ********** if he is unclear. The customer not understanding his warranty is not a valid rea*** to withhold funds. No one at B-Town is going out of their way to see **** driving his car. ******** is a small town and we are always out and about. **** needs to not over think that and be aware that we live in a small town. It is pretty standard to see everyone driving around. Again, the customer is still in possession of his vehicle and the parts. We are not sure what the problem is and if Mr. ********** was in good standing with his bill he could come into B-Town and exercise is warranty. We have told Mr. ********** to bring the vehicle back so we can see the problems. He has refused to do this. Therefore, his money is due for services and parts rendered. Mr. ********** continues to make statements about scratches to his car. B-Town is not even addressing this issue as it is just another excuse for him to not pay his bill. If he had problems with his body those should have been pointed out before he left the parking lot. He obviously is trying to create issues that are not relevant. What is relevant is that Mr. ********** must return to B-Town and allow us to evaluate his vehicle. Also, he is withholding 212.50 for work done on his Ford Explorer. The end part of Mr. ********** statement does not make sense. His bank never called B-Town. I am not clear that is what he is even stating. The end part of his writing is not a clear and concise statement. We are happy to discuss and clear up the problem but as of now all **** is willing to do is write complaints. Mr. ********** is only willing to complain not work toward a solution. Business Response /* (1000, 28, 2012/11/26) */ Mr. ********** was told his receipt is his warranty. Once again, we can go over this issue with Mr. ********** if he is unclear. The customer not understanding his warranty is not a valid rea*** to withhold funds. No one at B-Town is going out of their way to see **** driving his car. ******** is a small town and we are always out and about. **** needs to not over think that and be aware that we live in a small town. It is pretty standard to see everyone driving around. Again, the customer is still in possession of his vehicle and the parts. We are not sure what the problem is and if Mr. ********** was in good standing with his bill he could come into B-Town and exercise is warranty. We have told Mr. ********** to bring the vehicle back so we can see the problems. He has refused to do this. Therefore, his money is due for services and parts rendered. Mr. ********** continues to make statements about scratches to his car. B-Town is not even addressing this issue as it is just another excuse for him to not pay his bill. If he had problems with his body those should have been pointed out before he left the parking lot. He obviously is trying to create issues that are not relevant. What is relevant is that Mr. ********** must return to B-Town and allow us to evaluate his vehicle. Also, he is withholding 212.50 for work done on his Ford Explorer. The end part of Mr. ********** statement does not make sense. His bank never called B-Town. I am not clear that is what he is even stating. The end part of his writing is not a clear and concise statement. We are happy to discuss and clear up the problems but as of now all **** is willing to do is write complaints regarding issues that should not have any bearing on him needing to pay for parts and services rendered. Business Response /* (1000, 29, 2012/11/26) */ November 21, 2012 Case ********** Record number *************** Authorization is not required when a mechanic breaks something and a shop has to eat the cost of a replacement part due to a mechanic breaking a component during repair. It was the absolutely exact same clutch that Mr. ********** purchased and B-Town installed. B- Town Automotive had recommended a quality clutch that Mr. ********** refused to purchase. This was a good quality clutch with a warranty. Instead he chose is own poor quality clutch that would not carry a warranty. We did not even charge him for the install of his parts. Again, if the customer would like to come to B- Town Automotive with his vehicle we can show him the clutch installed by ****** was in fact the same low end clutch he chose himself just weeks prior. This constant complaint on his clutch has nothing to do with his lack of payment. Money owed to B-Town has nothing to do with his clutch as he was not charged for the replacement nor was it kept a secret. There was a problem with the transmission and ****** took complete ownership of the error and corrected the problem. As stated before things will go wrong with any business it is unavoidable. It is how the problems are handled that matter. ****** took complete ownership of the problem and made it right. Therefore, money is owed by the customer. A tool in fact needed to be order to remove part of the bad transmission. This is not an uncommon situation for a shop to need a tool. B-Town Automotive and the other shops in town call each other regularly looking for unusual/ not standard tools. This is such an unstandard tool that neither our ******* nor ***** tool suppliers carry this tool. It had to be ordered in from out of state. This should have no effect on Mr. ********** paying his bill. B-Town needing something did not affect Mr. ********** bill and he had a loaner car so no one was inconvenienced with the additional time need to get the tool. Consumer Response /* (3000, 31, 2012/11/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) here'e the pitures... Consumer Response /* (3000, 35, 2012/11/30) */ B-Town tried to cover up the problem the ******************* did. B-Town was not forth coming to the customer.. How can we believe B-Town Automotive. 1) B-Town stated a price and it was 3X's amount. 2)***** w/B-Town stated in the 10/25/2012 that B-Town was never paid by the visa. Which B-town was paid 3 weeks prior on 10/3/2012.(see attached) Ms. ***** blamed it on the slow posting from bank. ******** Bank had called B-Town Directly . Clearly she stated on her response 10/25/2012 3)Ms. ***** tried to run the **** card for more money then the repair bill was. Acting like it was no big deal. $211.00 for Explorer, run for $228.00, and Eclipse was more than her voicemail. Had to play her voicemail she left. Then Ms. ***** said it was the computer program. How many more customers does B-Town do that to? 4) Authorized a repair for the replacement Clutch that was broken by ****** transmission. DID NOT Contact the owner of the car. 5)Also ***** stated my *** was texting and smoking that I never corrected the problem. ***** NEVER asked to bring back the loaner SUV and she knew I corrected the problem. But she still stated it in the response. B-Town damaged my paint on the 2005 Eclipse. It was scratch on the top front fenders, pass door, the nose piece and the hood. Never took the extra care of the car. I just had the Eclipse painted last year by ******* ****** in ***********. As the estimates and pictures were submitted already. I want my refund and the damages done to the paint. Thank you. Consumer Response /* (3000, 36, 2012/11/30) */ Case #46029577 I have read the response from B-Town Automotive. Unbelievable. The NEW PREFECTION Clutch was bought from ****************** Parts. The Clutch has a LIFETIME WARRENTY. Also OEM Factory Clutch As stated by B-TOWN Automotive that the clutch is a poor quality that DOES NOT carry a warranty.(see attach) It carry's a lifetime warranty. Also the Perfection Clutch WAS NOT purchased by B-Town Automotive. Of course they'll say it's low quality, because they wanted to sell me one from **** Parts store and make additional markup on the part. Walk in price is $376.38, also it's cheaper because of a business discount. And B-Town wanted to charge me $639.00 for the **** Clutch made by ****. The transmission was removed from the car already because of the repair to the gears in the transmission. The clutch had ½ of the life still left, but I decided to replace the clutch since the transmission was removed. Savings later on if the clutch did wear out. ******************* did do the right thing by calling B-Town when they occurred the problem. ******************* never knew me at that time as the owner of the 2005 Mitsubishi Eclipse. ****** transmission need the approval to replace a part that they broke. B-Town NEVER contacted me about this problem. B-Town Authorized the replacement of the Clutch without my permission. B-Town wants to make there own rules as stated in there response, "Authorization is not required when a mechanic breaks something and a shop has to eat the cost of a replacement part due to the mechanic breaking the component during repair"!! Maybe on his own vehicle, not a customers vehicle. That's why we "the customer" has protection from businesses that think this way like B-Town Automotive does. B-Town DOES NOT OWNED the 2005 Mitsubishi Eclipse and the DID NOT PURCHASED the NEW CLUTCH!! B-TOWN Automotive DID NOT have the authority to give ****** Transmission to replace the Clutch with a ******** Clutch. B-TOWN NEVER told me that the Perfection Clutch had been damaged and was replaced by a ******** Clutch. ****(?) at ****** transmission slipped about saying the clutch was replaced. The car was already back the at the time. B-Town stated that it's the same clutch. It's totally different, from the manufacture, the quality and different store. I have a receipt for buying the Perfection Clutch from ****************** parts. ALSO with a LIFETIME WARRANTY. (SEE Attached) B-Town tri Consumer Response /* (-5, 39, 2012/12/04) */ Case #46029577 I have read the response from B-Town Automotive. Unbelievable. The NEW PREFECTION Clutch was bought from ****************** Parts. The Clutch has a LIFETIME WARRENTY. Also OEM Factory Clutch As stated by B-TOWN Automotive that the clutch is a poor quality that DOES NOT carry a warranty.(see attach) It carry's a lifetime warranty. Also the Perfection Clutch WAS NOT purchased by B-Town Automotive. Of course they'll say it's low quality, because they wanted to sell me one from **** Parts store and make additional markup on the part. Walk in price is $376.38, also it's cheaper because of a business discount. And B-Town wanted to charge me $639.00 for the **** Clutch made by ****. The transmission was removed from the car already because of the repair to the gears in the transmission. The clutch had ½ of the life still left, but I decided to replace the clutch since the transmission was removed. Savings later on if the clutch did wear out. ******************* did do the right thing by calling B-Town when they occurred the problem. ******************* never knew me at that time as the owner of the 2005 Mitsubishi Eclipse. ****** transmission need the approval to replace a part that they broke. B-Town NEVER contacted me about this problem. B-Town Authorized the replacement of the Clutch without my permission. B-Town wants to make there own rules as stated in there response, ''Authorization is not required when a mechanic breaks something and a shop has to eat the cost of a replacement part due to the mechanic breaking the component during repair''!! Maybe on his own vehicle, not a customers vehicle. That's why we ''the customer'' has protection from businesses that think this way like B-Town Automotive does. B-Town DOES NOT OWNED the 2005 Mitsubishi Eclipse and the DID NOT PURCHASED the NEW CLUTCH!! B-TOWN Automotive DID NOT have the authority to give ****** Transmission to replace the Clutch with a ******** Clutch. B-TOWN NEVER told me that the Perfection Clutch had been damaged and was replaced by a ******** Clutch. ****(?) at ****** transmission slipped about saying the clutch was replaced. The car was already back the at the time. B-Town stated that it's the same clutch. It's totally different, from the manufacture, the quality and different store. I have a receipt for buying the Perfection Clutch from ****************** parts. ALSO with a LIFETIME WARRANTY. (SEE Attached) B-Town tried to cover up the problem the ******************* did. B-Town was not forth coming to the customer.. How can we believe B-Town Automotive. 1) B-Town stated a price and it was 3X's amount. 2)***** w/B-Town stated in the 10/25/2012 that B-Town was never paid by the visa. Which B-town was paid 3 weeks prior on 10/3/2012.(see attached) Ms. ***** blamed it on the slow posting from bank. ******** Bank had called B-Town Directly . Clearly she stated on her response 10/25/2012 3)Ms. ***** tried to run the **** card for more money then the repair bill was. Acting like it was no big deal. $211.00 for Explorer, run for $228.00, and Eclipse was more than her voicemail. Had to play her voicemail she left. Then Ms. ***** said it was the computer program. How many more customers does B-Town do that to? 4) Authorized a repair for the replacement Clutch that was broken by ****** transmission. DID NOT Contact the owner of the car. 5)Also ***** stated my *** was texting and smoking that I never corrected the problem. ***** NEVER asked to bring back the loaner SUV and she knew I corrected the problem. But she still stated it in the response. B-Town damaged my paint on the 2005 Eclipse. It was scratch on the top front fenders, pass door, the nose piece and the hood. Never took the extra care of the car. I just had the Eclipse painted last year by ******* ****** in ***********. As the estimates and pictures were submitted already. I want my refund and the damages done to the paint. Thank you. Business Response /* (1000, 42, 2012/12/10) */ *****, Enclosed are the documents from ***************** documenting the chargeback to our account from ***************'s bank. Currently we have no collected funds for his transmission and work to a Ford Explorer that has nothing to do with his complaint. Anything **** is trying to send in showing he is paid is false. Thanks, ***** **** B-Town Automotive Consumer Response /* (3000, 44, 2012/12/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 12/11/2012 This is a way for B-Town Automotive to justify there actions of DIS-HONEST Automotive Repair Services. I had only took my car to B-Town was to fix the reverse gear only! B-Town Automotive DID NOT Purchased the "NEW" clutch set. NEW CLUTCH set Perfection had a LIFETIME Warranty through ******************, purchased by me (***************). B-Town had NO RIGHT to authorize a repair to replace the clutch without contacting the owner first!! Why would I (***************) trade a Lifetime Warranty to a less warranty of 3yrs/75,000 miles!! Another way for B-Towns to justify there actions. B-Town say's "the part that was installed was the EXACT same make and model". B-town for got to mentioned that there is clearly a different manufacture in the part. If every part was the same then we would not have different manufactory's of the parts. B-Town FAILED to inform the owner before authorizing a repair to the Mitsubishi Eclipse. And also ***** **** as continually failed to mentioned that B-Town automotive has received payment from Card Services. Over and over she has completely false statement about being paid. And they damage my paint on the Eclipse by not taken precautions protecting the paint. I had the Eclipse painted in November of 2011.. *******************s owner mentioned to me, never take a auto to a standard repair faculty when there is a major problem like a transmission. He mentioned to take it to a transmission place directly. Now I know from this bad experience .. Consumer Response /* (-5, 45, 2012/12/13) */ From: ****** ****** (mailto:*********@live.com) Sent: Wednesday, December 12, 2012 6:33 PM To: *********** Subject: ********** *****... I'll send u more later tonight.. B-Town automotive was re-paid on Nov. 5th 2012. Clearly letter from ******** Bank shows that the money was refunded back on the 5th of Nov. I'll more later tonight. Thank you.. *************** Consumer Response /* (-5, 47, 2012/12/14) */ Today 12/14/2012 I'm requesting to put everything on HOLD.. I had spoken to **** at ******************* on 12/13/2012.. I AM REQUESTING A HOLD ON THIS FOR RIGHT NOW!! The transmission is being removed and **** has to open the transmission to see whats FAILED. And also he'll be a mediator with this complaint.. Thank you and if any questions , please call me at my number ************.. *************** Consumer Response /* (-5, 48, 2012/12/14) */ I have just submitted info, and I do not see it.. Consumer Response /* (-5, 49, 2012/12/13) */ From: ****** ****** (mailto:*********@live.com) Sent: Thursday, December 13, 2012 12:29 PM To: *********** Subject: RE: ********** *****... This was the file u couln't open.. This is a way for B-Town Automotive to justify there actions of DIS-HONEST Automotive Repair Services. I had only took my car to B-Town was to fix the reverse gear only! B-Town Automotive DID NOT Purchased the ''NEW'' clutch set. NEW CLUTCH set Perfection had a LIFETIME Warranty through ******************, purchased by me (***************). B-Town had NO RIGHT to authorize a repair to replace the clutch without contacting the owner first!! Why would I (***************) trade a Lifetime Warranty to a less warranty of 3yrs/75,000 miles!! Another way for B-Towns to justify there actions. B-Town say's ''the part that was installed was the EXACT same make and model''. B-town for got to mentioned that there is clearly a different manufacture in the part. If every part was the same then we would not have different manufactory's of the parts. B-Town FAILED to inform the owner before authorizing a repair to the Mitsubishi Eclipse. And also ***** **** as continually failed to mentioned that B-Town automotive has received payment from Card Services. Over and over she has completely false statement about being paid. And they damage my paint on the Eclipse by not taken precautions protecting the paint. I had the Eclipse painted in November of 2011.. *******************s owner mentioned to me, never take a auto to a standard repair faculty when there is a major problem like a transmission. He mentioned to take it to a transmission place directly. Now I know from this bad experience .. Consumer Response /* (-5, 50, 2012/12/13) */ From: ****** ****** (mailto:*********@live.com) Sent: Thursday, December 13, 2012 8:10 PM To: *********** Subject: **********/b-town ***** enclosed is the rec'd from B-Town Auto. Where does it say that a New clutch was installed at ****** transmission. B-Town tried to cover up the problem occurred at ****** transmission. I spoke to **** at ****** transmission today since the Eclipse is sitting there broke. I have provided papers from ******** Bank about B-Town collected the funds back. ***** has called **** and has plastered me saying that B-Town had the monies taken and never deposited back OR PAID. Well both of my accounts were closed on/about Oct. 20th, 2012. Ms ***** stated that I rec'd the funds back, and B-Town is out of the monies. I showed the paperwork from ******** Bank when the funds was taken from the acct. and process back to B-Town on 11/4/2012. Ms **** clearly isn't truthful, I'm showing from my bank accounts when active that has ******** banks name on it instead a hand written paper. MS. **** SHOW YOUR BANK TRANSACTIONS FROM **** CARD SERVICES!!! And it'll show that they rec'd the monies back!!! MS.**** LETS SEE APPLES FOR APPLES!!! BOTH OF MY accounts. have been CLOSED SINCE MIDDLE TO LAST PART OF OCTOBER 2012. HER documents were dated 11/05/2012 handwritten note... Date's don't add up..11/21/2012 when they requested papers from Merchant processing Center... 11/12/2012 Arbitration/Compliance Authorization, signed 11/20/2012 ...****..., 11/12/2012 PRE-Arbitration charge-back Notice, just a notice if B-Town does not respond back by 11/22/2012 then the monies would be taken out of B-Towns acct. B-Town, and they signed on 11/20/2012 by ...****. Then a letter to SOMEONE.. TO MAY IT CONCERNS.....THIS LETTER DOESN'T SAY WHO IT WAS TO, IT COULD HAVE BEEN SENT TO A NEIGHBOR AT THERE HOME ADDRESS!! There is NO SIGNATURE THAT I SIGNED ALLOWING B-TOWN TO AUTHRORISE A REPAIR THAT WAS TO ANOTHER SHOP. the INVOICE DOES NOT SHOW A "NEW CLUTCH" WAS PUT IN OR ANYTHING ABOUT A DIFFRENT CLUTCH. TRIED TO COVER UP... Consumer Response /* (-5, 51, 2012/12/13) */ From: ****** ****** (mailto:*********@live.com) Sent: Thursday, December 13, 2012 8:24 PM To: *********** Subject: **********/B-TOWN *****.. My Accountants at ******** Bank have been CLOSED since middle of October 2012..... I DO NOT HAVE ANY ACCOUNTS AT ANY BANK NOW!! **** Business Response /* (-10, 53, 2012/12/18) */ From: ***** **** (mailto:******@msn.com) Sent: Tuesday, December 18, 2012 11:19 AM To: *********** Subject: RE: BBB Complaint Case******************************************* He know he is wrong. He has been at ****s Transmission all last week. **** has been doing a good job of setting him straight. I spoke with his bank and they are throwing out his ****************** complaint. I have not recieved the money back or a new check though. Not sure where the money is though. ***** **** B-Town ************************ ********,Colorado ***** ************ Business Response /* (-10, 54, 2012/12/17) */ From: ***** **** (mailto:******@msn.com) Sent: Friday, December 14, 2012 5:38 PM To: *********** Subject: RE: BBB Complaint Case#46029577(Ref#38-46072082-46029577-46-3150) Hi ***** I am mailing documents from my merchants service showing that I have not recieved money. ***** **** B-Town ************************ ********,Colorado ***** ************

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/2/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1