BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Accelerated Automotive Specialists Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Accelerated Automotive Specialists Inc

Phone: (970) 356-7373 Fax: (970) 356-7384 6380 W 10th St Ste 22, Greeley, CO 80634 http://www.acceleratedauto.procarcarezone.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Accelerated Automotive Specialists Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Accelerated Automotive Specialists Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Accelerated Automotive Specialists Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 29, 2001 Business started: 02/01/2001 Business started locally: 02/01/2001
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Business Management
Mr. Wes Daniels, Owner Mr. Greg Daniels, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Wes Daniels, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Shops Engine Repair Rebuilding Companies Auto Transmission Suppliers Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electricians

Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Oil cooler line were replaced. Six miles later no oil pressure.Mechanic pulled a main bearing out of the engine without approval said I need new motor On 4/3/13 had oil cooler lines replaced. Six miles later I had no oil pressure. I shut off the engine and had it towed back to the shop. I was told to come in to talk to the mechanic. I go into the shop and he has a main bearing in his hand. He was to fix oil pressure problem NOT tear down the engine. There is no way to put that bearing back in and have it work like it is supposed to.The mechanic told me it would be $6,000 to replace the engine with radiator. The radiator in the truck was brand new. The invoice on 4/8/13 states that the oil pump failed. Why was the oil pump not replaced? Why was the engine torn apart? When the main bearing was remove without my knowing the shop bought that engine. I have had no oil pressure problems or any other major issues with that engine. The engine he dismantled had many, many many more miles on it. Now I have an engine in my truck I know nothing about. If the oil cooler line were installed properly we would not be at this point right now.

Desired Settlement: I will pay for the transfer case seals and that is it. I already paid $ 515.04 for the oil cooler lines that were not done correctly. I need a refund of $ 6164.60. Due to the incompetence of the shop I do not expect to be stuck paying this outragous bill. I want the shop to admit their total lack of concern for me, and not taking responsibility for their actions. This truck did not need a new engine until I went into their shop and they compromised it. It needed an oil pump installed.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/10) */ On 4/3/2013 ****** ****** had his oil cooler lines and front crankshaft seal replaced with us. After picking up his vehicle and leaving, within 6 miles his truck lost oil pressure. We had the truck towed back to our shop with ****** and verified the truck was full of oil and that the oil cooler lines were not leaking, proof that the repair was done correctly. Mr. ****** was told at this point the oil pan was going to need to come off to find the root of the problem. Which he did not object to. He also was never charged a dime for the 3 hours of tear down and diagnosing we did. So after verifying oil cooler line repair was done correctly, we changed the oil filter. That did not fix the oil pressure problem. So the next step is to pull the oil pan and check the oil pump pick up tube seal and oil pump. The oil pump pick up tube seal was ok and the diagnosis turned up a failed oil pump. Keep in mind the oil pump is an internal engine component and oil cooler lines are external. They simply run from the side of the block to the radiator. For the engine to lose oil pressure from a failure with this part or it's installation the lines would have had to come apart at the factory crimp or blown out of the fittings in the radiator. If either of these 2 scenarios would've taken place there would have been most of the trucks capacity of oil pumped out all over the ground. ******'s engine had 312,117 miles on it when it lost oil pressure. Due to the extremely high mileage this engine has as a precaution we have to check bearings to see what kind of condition they're in so we can advise the customer on making an informed decision on how to move forward with repairing thier vehicle. I pulled #8 rod bearing cap to check the conditoin of the bearing and the crankshaft. As can be expected with an engine with this kind of mileage the bearing and the crankshaft did not look to be in very good condition. At this point we called ****** to come in and look at everything. I explained to him that the oil cooler line repair was done correctly and that the seal for the oil pump pick up tube was ok and that he needed an oil pump. Then I showed him his rod bearing and the crankshaft and told him that we can put an oil pump in your engine which is still over $1200 however this could be just putting a band aid on a bigger problem. He decided at that point to have us put a remanufactured engine in it because he didn't want to put that kind of money into an engine with that kine of mileage and he needed it to be reliable and couldn't risk the bearings going bad. Per ****** engines requirements for warranty we had to put a new radiator in with the new engine because it's impossible to clean all the contaminants out of the oil cooler inside the radiator. At no point in this conversation did ****** express that he didn't approve of our tear down or prognosis. He also never implicated that he thought it was our fault this happened. We offered to replace the oil pump and ****** decided to have us put a new engine in his truck. If ****** would have expressed the concern in his complaint at this juncture we would have put his truck back together and asked him to take it somewhere else. Instead he expresses no concern approves the new engine and waits until we're elbow deep into the project to express concern. At which point we had a discussion which ended with him agreeing to what we were doing. To address some of the things in Mr. ********* complaint. He was told we were going to tear into the engine and he never objected. We pulled a rod cap to check the rod cap half of the bearing, not the main bearings. Yes you can absolutely put the rod cap back on and have it work just like it was never removed. He was offered to have the oil pump replaced and declined. At a certain point to diagnose an oil pressure problem the engine has to be disassembled some. Now ****** has a truck with a new engine in it with a 3 year 100,000 mile nation wide warranty instead of a worn out 312,111 mile engine. ****** keeps saying the oil cooler lines were installed wrong. My question is how? They were not leaking, not one drop. ****** keeps wanting to point the finger now after the repair is done. Why not do so before we do anything? Why approve the repair then go back on your word? We have verified that we absolutely did not cause ******'s engine to lose oil pressure and also the repairs that were done were all authorized by ****** ******. As far as we are concerned this issue has been resolved and we are done with it. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/04/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was NEVER told that the engine would be torn down. I had the truck towed back there to fix the problem of no oil pressure. If there is no oil pressure look at that problem first. Give an estimate for oil pump if that is the problem. Put in an oil pump and see if you have oil pressure. Pretty simple. I was never given a quote. I was told to go into the shop, which I did and found the bottom end torn apart.This is when I was told it MIGHT be an oil pump issue. The bottom end was apart and will not just bolt back in and seal like it should, any mechanic should know that. You are being told that I now have a "remanufactured" engine in my truck. I have a ****** transfer case on the same truck and it won't even last through the warranty period.. am I stuck with the same thing in this engine? I don't know.100,000 miles is not that much. I know with oil pressure in the original engine I would have had many, many more miles. $6,000 is a ton of money for what I feel I got. I will mabe go $3,000. Let me know. Consumer Response /* (-5, 9, 2013/04/12) */ This "new" engine is not right. It whistles, whines and screams. There is a large puddle of fluid under it and I am collecting it to see what it is. By no means have I gotten any kind of a deal on this. Just a good shaft.I will try to have it looked at tomorrow, 4/13/2013. There is only 350 miles on it... nice deal huh. Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/04/18) */ We can go back and forth with the "he said she said" business. The proof is in ******'s actions. The attached document shows 2 receipts, 1 for $3000 on April 4th and 1 for the remaining balance of $3252.60 on April 8th. Both receipts show the card was swiped and both receipts are signed. The 1st receipt for $3000 was a deposit to buy the engine, which we collected before we got started replacing the engine. Now if ****** did not approve of us disassembling part of his engine to diagnose it, or approve us to replace his engine, why in the world would he give us money up front to get started? Further more pay us again when we were done? The answer is because ****** was well aware of everything we were doing and was informed that he could replace the oil pump or replace the whole engine. I have witnesses and documents that prove these facts. It's pretty clear ****** has seen an opportunity to get something and not pay for it and is trying to take advantage of it. We have proof we did not break his engine and we also have proof that he approved the repairs that were done. I have donated 6 hrs of labor to ****** to replace his transfer case input shaft seal, Transmission Cooler line, as well as time spent diagnosing his problem. That is $527.70 worth of work that was done and we were not compensated for. This is all the charity he will be receiving from us. Regarding his latest issue ****** has our phone number and address, if there is something wrong with the engine he can bring it in. It is under warranty, if he doesn't want to come here then he can take it to another shop and the ****** warranty will take care of it. Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2013/04/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Please refer to the original complaint. The bottom of the engine, namely the bearing, was torn down without authorization from me. You chose to do this to stick me with a new engine, which I did not need. Please sit back and clear your head and look at the true facts in this case. You did not have authorization to tear down my engine. Consumer Response /* (-5, 17, 2013/05/01) */ As I have said all along there is no signed work order or contract. This engine was torn down without approval from me whatsoever. I do not know what more they are wanting from me. They need to take full responsibility for their actions. They need to face the fact that the engine was torn down by them without my direction to do so.This not the way work is preformed at any mechanic shop, they know this. They saw me as an easy target. As far as I am concerned this is resolved and they bought the engine.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1