BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Scott's Auto Recyclers?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Scott's Auto Recyclers

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 498-0662 Fax: (970) 498-0318 View Additional Phone Numbers 209 N Link Ln, Fort Collins, CO 80524 http://www.hondapartsused.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Scott's Auto Recyclers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Scott's Auto Recyclers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Scott's Auto Recyclers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 19, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1993 Business started locally: 01/01/1993 Business incorporated: 05/01/1993 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott Milan, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Milan, President
Business Category

Used Auto Part Suppliers Wheel Align, Frame & Axle Service Equipment & Supplies Shock Absorber Suppliers Tire Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Smog Inspection Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Power Steering Auto Repair - Maintenance Brake Service Engine Repair Rebuilding Companies Radiators - Automotive Auto Transmission Suppliers Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto

Alternate Business Names
Scott's Auto Inc
Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Additional Locations

  • 1900 E Lincoln Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80524

  • 209 N Link Ln

    Fort Collins, CO 80524 (970) 498-0662 (800) 767-8640

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 767-8640(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband took his Toyota Van to Scott's to have his universal joint replaced based on a recommendation of a friend. When he got the call for the estimate he told them to go ahead and replace it even though the estimate was higher than places he had called because of the recommendation. They called back that evening to let him know that it would take extra time because in the process of getting to the U joint bolts snapped on the exhaust and they needed to be drilled out. Upon picking up the vehicle my husband was informed he would be charged $290 for the U joint and $210 for the parts and labor of the exhaust "issue". Not acceptable. After discussion with my very unhappy husband they knocked off $80. Still not acceptable. I don't think we should be stuck with paying for their mistake. I understand things happen and the bolts might have been bad. Fine, I would be okay paying for the $75 in parts for what was fixed on the exhaust but the $135 in labor for them to fix their own mistake. Not Okay.

Desired Settlement: $135-$80= $55.00

Business Response: *****,


 In Response to your complaint I think we have a communication error we are not trying to up sale any parts or labor the problem was that your vehicle had some rusty and corroded bolts on the exhaust and in order for us to remove the axle we had to take apart the exhaust and when we removed the bolts they broke due to rust and this is nobody's fault just the age and miles (274620) on the vehicle. ****** discounted the standard 4 hr labor job of removing the manifold to 1hr trying to help out with your situation. If the 55.00 make you a happy customer we would be glad to have a check for you at are office

   thanks *****   

12/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sold me an engine in absolute disrepair claimed it was working and reliable. Third party mechanic confirmed the poor condition of the engine. I purchased an engine from scotts auto recyclers on Jun 20th 2012. I was assured the engine would be in gone through before install and assured it was in good working order and was given a 90 day warranty if Scotts auto installed it. I took in to have the engine installed first part of july and was given a 10 day time frame for the repair. After nearly 4 weeks and several phone calls with varying excuses for not having it done i got it back.Immediately upon receiving the vehicle and before leaving the shop i noticed a abnormal noise coming from the engine. I was told it was normal and it would never go away. Well after a couple weeks it never went away and i determined furthermore that the engine block was bad and it was leaking antifreeze into the oil. I contacted scotts auto and they confirmed it around Mid august. I asked for a refund and was denied and they would only do an exchange and that the labor for it was not covered. The qoute to change out the engine was the same as i paid to have the original engine put in. I decided that scotts auto could not be trusted and decided to have a 3rd party remove and evaluate the installed engine. Upon removal it was discovered that the engine was in an extreme distressed condition and that the shop had to have known about it because they removed parts which exposed the distressed areas of the engine. Scotts auto knowingly sold and installed a defective engine in order to attempt to gain more labor costs.(which were overinflated as well).

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the engine price and install cost since Scotts autos mechanics should have know the engine was in disrepair and neglected to tell or notify me before the install was complete. Furthermore they attempted to charge me more money for the reinstall.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2012/11/20) */ Mr. ***** purchased his used engine from us, and we carefully explained, and disclosed our warranty policy with him. Our warranty is clearly stated on the back side of the invoice, as well as on the front side that he signed acknowledging our policy. We sell USED parts, not new. There is always a certain level of risk involved, and we do what we can to stand behind our product (90 days). We test our engines to make sure they run. We do not take them apart and look inside, because they could not be sell able in that fashion. We guaranteed the engine to be in working order. Never did we say it would be "reliable" we cannot judge the life time of a used part. Our service department installed the engine. We replaced numerous gaskets, hoses, and other "wearable" components to preserve the longevity of the used engine. Never did we say the engine would be "gone through"-that phrase would imply that the engine would be rebuilt, and it wasn't. After the work was completed the vehicle was picked up on 7/19/12, and that is when the warranty period started per our policy. Mr. ***** returned on 8/16/12 to have the engine inspected because it was loosing coolant somewhere. We inspected the engine, and verified that there was coolant in the oil, and explained that the probable cause was a faulty head gasket, but we would have to diss-assemble the engine to verify. Mr. ***** declined any further work. Mr. ***** than called our parts department, explained the problem, and we agreed to warranty out the engine and give him a replacement. He showed up to pick the replacement engine up, expecting us to give it to him without returning our origional defective engine. We explained to him that we need our origional engine back. We told him he could pay for the 2nd one, and upon returning the 1st one we would issue a refund, or he could just bring the origional back for a straight exchange. He said he had the engine in his garage, and he would go get it and be back to do the exchange. He never came back, and this was months ago, and he has not been in contact with us ever since. This is our bottom line- We sold as used part, and it came with a 90 day replacement warranty, with no labor reinbusements. He acknowledged this, and signed multiple documents that clearly stated our warranty policy. The engine was unfortunately defective, and we stood behind our warranty and agreed to supply a replacement part. The warranty period for this engine expired on 10/19/12, and the customer failed to return the product for a replacement within the specified period outlined on all of our invoices, and has yet to contact us directly. We have done everything within our company policy to do good with our customer, unfortunately we are un-able to bend our policies to fulfill customers on case by case scenarios. Copies of product invoice with signatures, as well as the repair order invoices from our installation department will be faxed over for review. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2012/11/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The engine intake manifold and valve covers were removed by scotts auto they had to to install the engine and the disrepair of the engine was clearly visible then. At this point they have an obligation as a professional mechanic service to notify me of the condition of the engine and provide me with an option to either continue or seek a different avenue. Instead they chose to continue to knowingly install a bad engine, and charge me the full price. When the engine was determined to finally be bad they told me they would have to charge me a 2nd time. I understand the purchase and warranty policy, however it is based on them doing their part determine the part is working and usable before they install it. Otherwise they could sell broken parts and then make money on the labor twice, which i believe they have tried to do here. I know that certain internal parts of the engine could never be checked, however your mechanics saw this engines poor state before it was ever installed. I as well noted very abnormal sounds coming from the engine when it was running the first time I picked it up. I was assured by scotts auto that this was nothing more than common engine noise and "it will go away". I signed an agreement with the assumption that i was buying a qaulity used part, this however was not and it was known not to be. Furthermore the return policy does not state when i must take delivery of the replacement engine. Since the engine was determined to be bad within the 90 day time frame it should be covered under warranty regardless of when I am able to return the other engine. They have not done everything within their company policy unless the there policy is to NOT provide honest service. Also i have contacted the company directly via email and recieved no response in fact when i did get a hold of them by phone in the past I was told several times that the person i needed to speak with(owner) was always unavailable. I will have comparison photos of my old engine(which has double the miles) and this engine to post shortly. As well as written statements from other mechanics agreeing that the extremely poor state of the engine was clearly visible before being installed. Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2012/12/05) */ The consumer has indicated that the engine was in "dissrepair", but has yet to actually indicate what that exactly is. We assume that the "dissrepair" is cosmetic cleanliness, or something along those lines. If that is the case, we cannot base the quality of any part from cosmetics. We have been in business for 20+ years, and have seen multiple arrays of engines with cosmetic signs of wear at multiple mileage increments, and we have seen clean looking engines fail, as well as dirtier looking engines. We have also seen the "dirtier" engines outlast clean ones. So for that matter, we cannot say if a engine is good or bad by sheer looks alone. We tested the engine to make sure it ran, did not smoke, and did not have lower end crank case knocking. It passed all of the above. That is all we can do to verify the engine is a good running engine. Anything past that is taking a risk, hence the selling price. New/rebuilt engines are $3-4000, and carry a much better warranty because the company selling it knows the engine is new inside and out. We are sorry the engine did not last as long as the customer hoped, and we as a company offered the replacement engine. The customer needs to understand that we took the same risk he did by selling the engine and giving it a warranty not knowing its whole past. We, just like the customer have to pay labor to remove the 1st engine, as well as the 2nd engine from the donor vehicles, and we loose money on the 1st engine because it was defective. So for the customer to say we deliberately installed a known bad part is ridiculous, such action on our part would be detrimental to our company as well as the customer, and if that was the case we would not be in business today if that was our standard practice. We paid our employees to remove the 2nd engine for warranty over 2 months ago, and it is on the shelf to this day. We have stood up to our word, but we are afraid that no matter what we do as a business the customer can not be satisfied. We sold a used engine that unfortunately became defective, and we where here to honor our warranty and provide a replacement. Our service department offered the service to install the engine the customer purchased, and they did their part by properly installing the engine. Consumer Response /* (-5, 12, 2012/12/05) */ I have pictures of the installed engine as well as a similar engine with almost the same amount of miles to compare it to. Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2012/12/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I wish it was just a cosmetic problem, and Scotts auto would like to think that i am some naive customer with no mechanical inclination and just upset about the "cosmetic condition" but Scotts auto knows that it is not just a cosmetic problem and they confirmed the state of the engine in Sept. I find it disheartening to think a professional mechanics shop would install a part that is clearly in bad shape because "it might run for a long time" without at least notifying the customer. A simple google search will will produce many things someone can look for in order to determine the condition of an engine some of which are clearly evident on this engine, such as Leaking cam seal Heavy Heavy prolonged sludge deposits on the lifters and pushrods.(this was causing the noise I notice when i picked up the vehicle. I was told that it would go away) Failed compression in one of the cylinders and visible water deposits in the oil I am suprised as long as Scotts auto has been in business they have not developed a simple protocal to test these things and show the engine is ok. Scotts auto would also like you to think that i am an unreasonable consumer who will never be satisfied. This is also false! While i am clearly upset by the condition of the engine, never have i expected anything more than what is owed to me. The engine was determined to be bad within the time period of the warranty, Scotts auto gave me a hefty bid to replace the engine for the second time so i elected to replace it myself. I asked scotts to acquire a new engine. They did and when i went to pick it up they told me i needed to bring the old engine to them first. I said ok it would have been nice had they mentioned that to me but i will take it out. I spent a little over a month and a half removing it on my own. When it was out i attempted to contact Scotts for the other engine and never recieved a reply. I contacted them once via email and twice over the phone. I met the requirments of the warranty and there is no statement as to a time frame the part must be taken delivery of. Regardless of how long it takes me to remove the engine I am due the replacement. Scotts further stated in there last response that the events have fallen outside of the 90 day time frame and they were no longer accountable for giving me a replacement engine. I believe there are 3 possible outcomes to this situation and i will gladly accept any. 1.)Scotts auto honors their stated warranty and replaces the engine with one in running condition and similar mileage as the one i purchased. I would like to be able to inspect the engine before delivery is taken. 2.)Scotts can issue a refund for the purchase amount of the engine that is bad. In both of these cases i will end the dispute and not pursue any further issues with this situation. 3.)Scotts refuses to honor the warranty or issue a refund, Litigation will be sought through the court system and all negative reviews and complaints will be upheld. If Scotts would like to solve this problem without litigation I can be reached at: ****** ****** XXX-XXX-XXXX (if no answer leave a message please) *****@aol.com Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2012/12/17) */ We have upheld our responsibility with this matter that is clearly stated on our invoices that have been signed acknowledging our warranty terms. The customer was given ample time to comply with our terms and did not do so within the appropriate time line. Consumer Response /* (4200, 18, 2012/12/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Your responsibility is you owe me an engine! I will see you in court.