Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Insight Automotive

Phone: (720) 204-2542 Fax: (720) 222-8613 1877 Vista View Drive, Longmont, CO 80504 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.insightautomotive.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Insight Automotive meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Insight Automotive include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Insight Automotive
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 13, 2010 Business started: 06/01/2008 Business started locally: 06/01/2008 Business incorporated 01/28/2010 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Auto Division-CO
140 W 6th Ave Rm 109, Denver CO 80204
Phone Number: (303) 205-5696

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Scott Middleton, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Middleton, Owner
Business Category

Used Car Dealerships Auto Air Conditioning Car Alternator and Generator Repair Stations Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair Auto Repairing - Foreign Brake Service Engine Repair Rebuilding Companies Moving Equipment Rental Truck Rental Companies Truck Repair Shops Auto Services Car Dealerships

Alternate Business Names
Carmatch LLC
Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service Research Key in Buying New Vehicle

Additional Locations

  • 1877 Vista View Drive

    Longmont, CO 80504 (720) 204-2542

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased our car from Insight Automotive on March 29 2106. I was told although the car was used it was sold as it as shown however that I was not to worry because their shop had gone through the car from top to bottom and it needed nothing. I trusted and believed Scott the owner. We immediately noticed that the rear shocks were leaking, my husband called him about this and he said they were only leaking a small amount, which was never disclosed and they were still to General Motors specification but if I wanted to bring the car back he would look at it again. Scott was very upset that he would even call. To get a clear honest opinion we went for a second opinion at a certified general motors dealer. At that point it has gone from bad to worse. All 4 shocks were completely void of oil and had to be replaced, also the rear tie rods need replacing and the harmonic balancer needs to be replaces. As you can well imagine, to have a car that was promised it had completely been serviced, reviewed and assured us it needs nothing, now were are faced with a total bill of $4531.00 on a car that we have not even made the first payment on yet. I have repair quotes, and a detail explanation of what is wrong with the car that anyone that honestly would have look at the car knew there where problems. We did reach out to Scott, the owner of this company by phone to attempt to resolve our issues and concerns. He got angry with my husband, told us we bought the car as is as shown with no warranties and then stated some used car statue, ( He must have been down this road before, I am assuming) and then hung up the phone on him. He also had promised the second key for the car, which I personally called on twice and no response to getting us the key to the car. I really am beside myself, with 4531.00 dollars in immediate repair bills. If he had not said how clean, and through they were with the service on the car, I would not be so upset. If he had been helpful or tried to work out a solution the times we reached out to him I am sure we could have gotten to some agreeable place. Now sadly I have to file this complaint for us and so hopefully they cannot take advantage of other women buyers when they go to their business. I am hoping you can help us get this resolved. We did already have the 4 shocks replaced yesterday and will have the balance of the work done in 2 weeks. I have not done any on line reviews yet of this company, as I keep waiting and hoping we could get all of this resolved before I go very public with my displeasure and feeling that I was taken advanatage of.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to cover the repairs, that are needed with a company of our choice because at this point, I do not trust this company to do the right thing and or tell me they did it and did not as outlined in my above outline of events. I do not believe we are being unreasonable and want them to pay for this, as they had said the car needed nothing and that was not and is not the truth. I don't want to them to hide behind behind to bad, they bought it as is as shown. I am looking for a check in the amount of $4531.00

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

***** *** ********** *********************** *** ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** *** ********* ** ********

Good Morning,
I have reviewed Scott’s response. He is again not telling the truth nor is he addressing all of the dispute.
 
I have attached the service repair quote that was receive 7 days after the purchase of the car.
The shocks were void of oil. It had run down the side. I am sorry, I am not great with mechanic lingo.
He has chosen not to respond to the other issues, that are wrong with the cars. Please see attached service quote to repair all items.
 
As you can see, there is much more wrong with this car than any of us ever expected.
The reason we took it to *******, is we did not have confidence in Insight Automotive to address the concerns, because when Scott was called the first time, he got very angry and said nothing was wrong with the car and hung up the phone on us.
It is not our style, or in our core values to use harsh vulgar language towards anyone. Again he is not telling the truth as stated in his response.
 
Also I did purchase the highest level of extended warranty coverage the day I purchased the car from Insight Automotive. It is my understanding that because I did purchase the extended warranty, it gives me a higher level per state statue of warranty in addition to the warranty I purchased.
So again, he was not correct or telling the truth even to you.
 
As far as the key goes, he told me the day I purchased the car that the previous owner took a friend out to dinner and forgot to drop the key back and he would get it for me. Yet again, he is not being honest with any of us.
 
This is a new issue that has since come to my attention. I received my financing from his preferred lender, and was told that in order to get the loan, I had to join ********** Credit Union at a cost of $40.00. I then get my statement from them and the cost to join was $25.00. He never disclosed he would charge me $15.00 to his company.
I do have a copy of the check I wrote Insight Automotive if you would like to see it and my statement showing the 25.00 new member fee. I would also like to add this amount to my dispute.
  *** ********** ** **** ****** ******************************* ** ************ ** ************ 
 

Business Response:

I have reviewed the estimate submitted for the car.  I am sure that all or most of this was not needed on this low mileage car.  We see a lot of shops doing unnecessary work.  We did offer to look at the concerns at our shop.  Had our offer been taken, we would have looked at all of the concerns under the car with the customer on the lift.  I cannot talk specifically to this without the car here on our equipment.  I cannot provide assistance at another shop.  

The $40 is required for certain Counties with ********** CU, $25 for the account and $15 service fee.  I just mailed a check for $15 to the **********'s address on record. 

The key was as stated previously.  We had one key and fob delivered to the customer.  I contacted the seller as I agreed to with Mrs. ********** and he did not have an extra key.  

Best Regards

Scott

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Although we respect your offer because of our complete lack of trust and belief in you and you company we are declining to have you look at our car We will be taking this issue out of the BBB and seeking alternative advise. 

Thank you for returning the $15.00 as you said you did. 


Regards,

*** **********

12/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i bought a used 2006 ford f250 diesel(list price $19,500) (96,000miles) and paid extra for what they said was the best warranty. payed fair market value for good running vehicle with no issues, that is not what i got. owned tuck for three days (130miles later) and noticed coolant loss, but not visible. so i took it to my mechanic and turns out needs head gasket repair, egr cooler,oil cooler, glowplugs and the list continues. so i try to work out deal with owner of insight automotive but no luck. beings i only had the truck for three days and needed 5,700.00 dollars worth of repair i thought i could return vehicle or somehow be compinsated for repair or something but no help at all. it is disgusting to me to sell someone a vehicle in this condition and not own up to it with anything at all. the only thing he offered was to refund the 2,700 dollars i paid for extended waranty (***** waranty) but still owe it to the bank, wich is like giving me my own money that i would still owe to the lein holder and have to pay back . im not even sure thats legal.? all in all they will not help me at all and i am now stuck with a 5,700 dollar repair bill that i can not afford. the extended waranty they sold me wich was the best one they had with all upgraded options wants me to pay for 11 hrs labor to take truck apart and determine point of failure, why would i pay that only for them to tell me its pre existing, wich it is because they sold it to me that way. again only had three days and major engine componets failure. i dont understand how peole can do this to just anyone. the owner has refused any compensation, the only thing he offered was he would fix in his shop on my dime for 4,700 dollars. the only problem is, there is no certified diesel technician there to do the job. why would anyone want to use that mechanic if he didnt notice all these problems when it went through there shop.they also said they did wery good pre-sale inspection on it.when a dealer says as-is sale that is not what u should get.

Desired Settlement: i am only asking for some kind of help, 50 percent is fair. i am not asking for anything for the currently 9 days and counting of not having a vehicle.wich has been extremly inconvinent for not only my self, but my whole family. shame on insight automotive for there way of handling things, i have been as paitent as anyone could be. currently have no choice but to get fixed, as we all need a car to get to work and every where else.

Business Response: ********** ********* ******* ********** ***** ***** ********* ***************************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** ********* ** ******* *** ****************** *** ***** ********* ****************************** **************************

Hello *****,
I am responding to a complaint filed by a customer regarding the purchase of a 2006 **** F250.  The vehicle and warranty were sold to the customer by my general manager on October 25th, 2013.  The vehicle was inspected and was sold with no known issues.  This vehicle was the standard used vehicle offered for sale “AS IS – NO WARRANTY”.  The customer signed the standard Federal Trade Commision Buyers Guide “AS IS – NO WARRANTY” form front and back.  This signed form is attached for your reference.  The Customer Elected to purchase a third party warranty from ***** Warranty Services covering major failures which may occur on the vehicle including seals and gaskets.   I met the customer approximately one week following the sale when he come to our office to discuss the coolant loss issue with the truck.  The customer had taken the truck to ******** **** and indicated they recommended a $5700 repair.   **** was at that time pursuing warranty coverage from ***** on the covered portion of the repair.  The customer contacted me the following week and indicated he was moving the truck to another diesel repair center in ******** that would do the same repair for $4200 on verification of the diagnoses from Ford.  Insight Automotive took the following actions:
1.      Contacted ***** to facilitate warranty coverage.  ***** requested further diagnostics which the customer to that point had refused to support.

2.      Offered and encouraged the customer bring the vehicle to Insight Automotive for failure verification, warranty facilitation, and performance of whatever repair was needed.  This option would provide for Insight Automotive to work with the warranty company for payment of covered components and to discount repair of non-covered components to the customer.

The customer on our last communication:
1.      Refused to follow the procedures of the warranty company.

2.      Refused to allow Insight Automotive to assist with the warranty and repair.

3.      Requested compensation for repairs at a third party shop.

I regret that the customer is having difficulty with the truck.  I have gone out of my way to assist him.  The customer has refused all of our offered assistance. 
Sincerely,
*****  *********
President
Insight Automotive
 
*****  *********
Insight Automotive
1877 Vista View Drive
Longmont, CO  80504

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
as is has a fine line with whats right and whats wrong its not legal to sell someone a vehicle (knowingly) with these conditions and not only that sell at market value. i payed market value for a vehicle i owned for three days and had to pay $4,516.53 for repairs(actual payed, current) i am rejecting response because u are still not offering me any compensaion. i request no less then 50% of $4,516.53. wich is $2,258 to keep it from court, if there is no resolving i want full reimbursment in court for being so un-coopertive.... and there will be reports to all local newspapers as well...and i will do all i can to let people know that u run a bussines like this, and they will here my story.. oppritunities to do the right thing should not be taken lightly.. thank you.
Regards,

***** **********

Business Response: **** ***** ********* ***************************** *** ***** ***** ********************** *** ***** ********* ***************************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** ***** ** ******** *** ***** ********** ***

Hi *****,

Here is additional response on **********.  He in fact prevented payment on his warranty for the repair by failing to cooperate and follow procedure.  The note below is from our ***** warranty representative.
Thank you
*****
 
*****  *********
Insight Automotive
1877 Vista View Drive
Longmont, CO  80504
  ***** ************ *****  ************ ****  ************ ***************************
www.InsightAutomotive.com
 
***** *** ******* ****************************  ***** ******* ******** *** **** **** ** *** *************************** ******** ***** **********
 
To:  ***** ********* at Insight Automotive
 
From:  ****** ******* from ***** Warranty Services
 
Good morning *****. I wanted to email you with an update on the warranty that Mr. ***** ********** bought from you, through us, on 10/25/2013. Mr. ********** brought his vehicle in for a potential warranty issue a few weeks thereafter.  After further review, our third party inspector had decided that we need to look closer into the engine and needed to break down the engine further. Mr. ********** would not allow that to happen and instructed the repair shop to put the items back into the vehicle and then he drove away. After you have tried several times to call him to help resolve this issue, our company also tried to call him but to no avail.  I am afraid that even though we wanted to help him find and potentially pay for the cost of needed repair, we cannot work with someone who will not return phone calls and then further drive the vehicle any potentially damage it even more. Should you have any questions and/or concerns along these lines, please feel free to call me at 303-875-8270. Thanks again for your business and your extended desire to help Mr. **********. Even though Mr. ********** didn't come into your shop to receive your extended hand in helping to solve this issue, we are very proud of your reputation in the automotive industry!!!
 
Sincerely,
 
*** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Insight Automotive
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)