Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Cutting Edge Automotive

Phone: (970) 689-1556 Fax: (970) 472-1042 935 N College Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80524 http://www.cuttingedgeautomotive.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers used car sales and full service auto repair.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cutting Edge Automotive meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cutting Edge Automotive include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Cutting Edge Automotive
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 13, 2013 Business started: 03/01/2010 Business started locally: 03/01/2010 Business incorporated 02/23/2010 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Auto Division-CO
140 W 6th Ave Rm 109, Denver CO 80204
Phone Number: (303) 205-5696

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Craig Manthey, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Craig Manthey, Owner
Business Category

Used Car Dealerships Auto Parts & Supplies - New Tire Dealers Truck Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Car Alternator and Generator Repair Stations Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair & Service - Airbags Auto Repair - Suspension Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Power Steering Auto Repair - Maintenance Brake Service Engine Repair Rebuilding Companies Car Lubrication Shops Radiators - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Truck Repair Shops Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Auto Services Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Repair & Service - Equipment & Supplies Engine Starter Suppliers Auto Bumpers, Guards & Grilles

Products & Services

Subaru, used car sales, auto repair, truck sales, Fort Collins auto services, brakes, oil, lube, transmission, alternators

Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service Research Key in Buying New Vehicle

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Cutting Edge Automotive has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 935 N College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80524 (970) 689-1556

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid cash for a vehicle, the dealership took our money and did not sign over a title to us or give us a voucher for emissions. Two days after purchase, we discover the cords are coming through one tire. We take it to see if we can fix one tire, the tire company informs us that there are four completely different tires on the vehicle and if driven like that, it will ruin the all-wheel drive, therefore, we must buy all four tires. Five days after driving the vehicle, a headlight goes out. The dealership inspects the car, and notices it was still in good condition and repaired the headlight. Less than 6 hours later a rod goes out in the engine. Car had to be towed and not operable. Dealership tells us the engine must be replaced and is requiring us to pay an additional $2,600 in order to get the car running.

Desired Settlement: Would like my entire purchase price back for the vehicle plus the amount of the new tires (which was $500).

Business Response: I would like to address the original complaint by fully disclosing the details of the interaction between the customer and Cutting Edge Automotive.

The customer, who purchased the vehicle for her 18-year-old son, did not pay cash for the vehicle, the customer paid with a cashiers check which is not legally equivalent to cash. Dealers legally have 30 days to sign over a title despite method of payment, however it is more likely that we will not immediately sign over a title until we are 100% sure that the cashiers check will clear. The customer was issued an emissions voucher as well as a "We Owe You" legally binding document stating that Cutting Edge Automotive would install a catalytic converter on the vehicle so it would pass emissions. Out of courtesy to the customer, Cutting Edge Automotive held on to the voucher and offered to take the vehicle to emissions testing for her after installing the catalytic converter. I have attached documentation that shows both the "We Owe You" agreement and the emissions voucher.

All vehicles sold at Cutting Edge Automotive are Sold As Is, which is stated in the documents attached and signed by the customer. All customers are encouraged to take their vehicle for an inspection from a trusted mechanic shop and are encouraged to inform us of any issues. In all instances, prior to purchase, Cutting Edge Automotive will provide any necessary work to the vehicle to ensure that it is safe and reliable. In this case, both the customer and her son were aware of the condition of the tires and had the option to not purchase the vehicle, or to purchase the vehicle and then replace the tires - which is exactly what they did rather than return the vehicle and demand new tires. 

In line with our commitment to providing excellent service to our customers, we fixed the headlight for the customer free of charge and at that time in point there were no other issues with the vehicle, as the customer stated in her complaint, the vehicle was "still in good condition." This was five days after selling the vehicle, also documented in the attached states that there is no cooling off period in Colorado. 

While the customer claims that "less than 6 hours later a rod [went out]," it wasn't until Monday morning that we were notified that the vehicle was not running. The father of the vehicle owner (we would like to note that this is not who filed the complaint) is who called us on Monday and informed us that the vehicle had to be towed on Sunday to Cutting Edge Automotive because it stopped running while his son was driving it. 

After inspecting the vehicle, our technicians determined that the engine did need to be replaced. Out of a courtesy to the customer, our service writer looked around and found a used engine for $1,600. In order to pay my technician to install the engine, the total bill came out to $2,600 which is standard for a professional auto shop. After discussing this with the customer, the customer was very displeased and requested that we purchase the vehicle back. While we are not legally bound to do anything because the vehicle was sold As Is - and the paperwork signed also states this - the owner of Cutting Edge Automotive offered to eat the entire cost of labor. 

Unfortunately, as soon as a vehicle is driven off the lot at Cutting Edge Automotive, we have no control over how it is driven or how it is treated, especially a high performance turbo charged ****** *** which is based off a rally car platform. The vehicle was a 2002 ****** *** with 118,000 miles, there is no reason that the engine would have had any prior internal issues. The fact that the vehicle was sold As Is and all interaction between Cutting Edge Automotive and the customer complied with dealer regulations, we are not legally bound to provide any sort of refund to this customer. 

The only resolution that we are willing to offer at this point would be to purchase the vehicle back at purchase price minus the cost of the engine and labor to install it at $2,600, however the customer would be required to remove the purchased tires prior to bringing the vehicle back. 

At the end of the day, Cutting Edge Automotive is a locally owned and operated used car dealership. We care about our customers and we did what we could to try and make the situation right, however we have to be fair and I have to run a business. We tried to resolve the situation by eating our labor cost of $1,000 despite not being at fault, so that the customer would only have had to pay for the used engine at $1,600. At this point, it seems as though the customer will not be happy with anything but a full refund on a vehicle that is not in the condition in which it was sold.