This business is not BBB accredited.

Tynan's Nissan

Phone: (970) 282-1400 Fax: (970) 282-1497 5811 S College Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80525 http://www.tynansnissanftcollins.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Tynan's Nissan include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tynan's Nissan
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1984 Business started: 03/01/1984 Business incorporated 03/01/1984 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Auto Division-CO
140 W 6th Ave Rm 109, Denver CO 80204
Phone Number: (303) 205-5696

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ed Tynan, Genl Mgr
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ed Tynan, Genl Mgr
Business Category

Car Dealerships Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars Used Car Dealerships

Service Area
Central and Northern Colorado
Alternate Business Names
Fort Collins Nissan Inc Tynans Fort Collins Nissan
Industry Tips
Research Key in Buying New Vehicle

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5811 S College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 282-1400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/19/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In April 2016 we shopped at Tynan's ****** and was told they had a rebate in the amount of $250 on their 2016 ****** *********. If the rebate went away, we would be charged more,. The rebate went up to $750 when the vehicle was purchased in May 2016, but we only received the rebate in the amount of $250. I spoke to Todd Hayman the salesman and he said I needed to talk to Brian C******. Brian said I need to talk to Mark M******* and he sent me an email that he was looking into the issue, but that was about 2.5 months ago.

Desired Settlement: Receive the additional rebate amount of $500 that was advertised that the dealership kept.

Business Response: Hello;  Please see the attached buyers order showing that the customer did in fact get a $750 rebate, and not $250.

2/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I responded to an online sales add for a 2015 ****** ******. The car appeared to be very clean, but I specifically inquired about any damage. I was told, "only 2 light door dings." Based on the information given, I decided to make the 5 hour trip down to the dealer to purchase the vehicle. It was not until I was on my way back with the vehicle that I noticed it had a sketchy "reapir" to major rear bumper damage. This was never disclosed to me and is not on the paperwork presented at the time of sale either. It became ver clear to me that during the look-over of the vehicle my attwntion was beeing kept away from that area of the vehicle. The vehicle was parked in a way to draw my attention to the front and I was always drawn away from the rear of the vehicle by the sales person. I immediately contacted the sales person and his direct manager via phone and sent over detailed pictures. I also found the original sales add and noticed there was a close up of the passenger rear but not the driver rear, which again pointed to the dealer hiding the issue. I was able to find a distant straight on shot of the rear that showed way looks to be a shadow, at first glance, where the damage is, but I now know it is actual damage. I also left a voicemail with the head of the sales department after receiving no further responses as promised from the sales person's manager. The sales department head responged via email saying I purchased a used vehicle and he isn't responsible for the repair. I am not pleased as I was expecting to save some $ but ultimately it is now going to cost me way more than buying the same car elsewhere. The repair estimate is $1,800 plus the cost of a rental vehicle for 1 week.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting the dealer cover the cost of the repair and rental vehicle.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern;

Mr ******** bought his ****** ****** on Jan 22nd, 2016. The customer took the vehicle home on a trailer and as he was unloading noticed the back end damage. I have attached a picture that we used for the online posting that shows the damage. I also included the "as is" and "customer credit memo" he signed upon purchase stating that he was buying a "used" vehicle and that the dealership was not responsible for any further repairs (this includes cosmetic repairs.)

Thank you

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I did not notice the damage after I unloaded the vehicle. It was noticed while filling up on the way back to WY. I immediately called the dealer and was accused of causing the damage on my trip. That is when I went to the ad and looked at the pictures in further detail (now knowing damage present and where to look). The screenshot the dealer just provided is what I had sent them 5 minutes after calling. I was not able to fully inspect the rear of the vehicle before purchase. The dealer had it intentionally backed up to their building and in the shade on a very sunny day. The fully knew damage was present and took all steps to hide it by going as far as distracting me each time I went to the rear of the vehicle. The document they provided only details 2 door dings and mentioned nothing of major rear bumper damaged that was just not repaired but simply pushed back into place somewhat. The listing also said the vehicle was in "excellent condition." I specifically asked about any damages on this now "as-is" vehicle. I have attached images of the Tynan's Used Car Inspection and Damage Inspection forms they provided me at time of sale. Neither document mentions or details the damage to the rear bumper. Why is that? My phone calls went unanswered other than an email saying they wouldn't help, even though we both know they deceived me. Yet, I keep getting solicitation emails saying how concerned they are with customer retention and asking for referrals.

Regards,

*** ********

Business Response:

Again, you can see in the original craigslist picture the vehicle had a dent in the back.

The picture we provided as an attachment is indeed a screen shot, but as you can see it was taken on the lot (by our picture lady who takes pictures of every car). In doing research in my system I can see these pictures were added in December, and the dent was present.

The customer mentioned to the salesperson that we had the lowest price of similar vehicles at other dealers, and we do feel this was priced accordingly.

Every car is pulled under the awning of the dealership for delivery in our designated spot, the dealer was not trying to hide anything.

The signed As-is states that the vehicle was sold in “as is” condition meaning there may be damage, but the dealership is not required to fix it. The customer makes mention of finding the damage on his way back home, meaning he was off the lot and had already left as owner of the vehicle.

We as a dealership are not responsible for fixing any damage on this vehicle.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Why was the damage not listed on the dealer reports I attached? Why did the sales manager try to accuse me of causing the damage and act like he knew nothing about it? The screens hot is not a closeup of the damage and there was no larger picture to zoom-in on, fyi. The dealer specifically leftout the closeup pic of that side when placing the ad. The ad also stated the car was in "excellent condition." No, your price is not cheaper if the customer has to foot a bill for thousands of dollars after the fact because you hid information about damages and repairs needed! If you would like me to remove the negative reviews I have left on multiple sites, then I suggest you make this right. If not, I will continue to do the exact opposite of what a satisfied customer would do. 

Regards,

*** ********

11/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After looking for a very specific ****** ******** pickup for months, in May 2015, I found the exact truck I wanted in Fort Collins CO, at Tynan's ******. I worked a deal over the internet and drove from New Mexico to Fort Collins and completed the deal on May 30, 2015. When I arrived at the dealership, the contract price had been raised about $800. After some discussion, this was corrected - but ONLY because I caught the error. When finalizing the deal, the Finance person asked me about the extended warranty. I told him (Dustin) that I was interested, but ONLY if it was the actual ****** product, not a third party warranty. He assured me it was the ****** warranty and I had it added to my ****** Financing. A couple days after returning to Albuquerque, I had opportunity to start reading the manuals and I decided to review the specifics of the extended warranty. I could not find any paperwork for the warranty so I contacted Tynans, **** C********, who stated he would have the packet in the mail, that day. Nothing ever arrived. On June 8th, after contacting ****** Finance, I learned the warranty was not from ******, but a third party, ******** ******** ********. On June 11th, I contacted Tynan's and complained about the warranty that I was sold in error. Later that day, Gary O**** (Finance Manager) left a lengthy voice mail (retained) explaining the error by Dustin and how he was going to fix it. On June 12th, Dustin contacted me and left a lengthy voice mail explaining (retained) that he was new to the dealership and that he believed ******** and the ****** warranty were one in the same. I informed Dustin that I wanted the warranty cancelled and the $2500 I paid for the warranty applied back to my loan. I was assured that would be taken care of immediately. Since June 15th, I have contacted Tynan's no less than a dozen times. I have been lied to time and time again that the warranty was cancelled and my money would be refunded. I have emails from various Tynan's employees to include three from **** C******** - each indicating that the issue would be resolved. I continued to contact Tynan's to no avail. I posted a negative comment about this issue on a Dealer satisfaction survey. The "General Manager" replied that he was very sorry for the inconvenience and that he would get the issue resolved. Nothing from Tynan's. After waiting 5 months, I contacted ******** ******** ******** directly. They indicated that they had NO record of Tynans ever contacting them in reference to the contract termination - contrary to emails and voice mails from Tynan's employees. ******** terminated the warranty on their side immediately and provided a copy of the termination instructions to Tynans on October 12th. After 10 days, it is apparent to me my belief that Tynan's will ever do the right thing was misplaced. ****** ******* indicated the dealership could refund the money through their automated banking system - within minutes. I'm tired of the lies and want this resolved. I can provide proof of the statements made via email and voice mail if required.

Desired Settlement: I want Tynan's to refund the $2500 immediately and I'd like an explanation from Tynan's management as to how this was allowed to continue for so long - almost 6 months. I don't want anything else - just what I paid for the warranty that they misrepresented.

Business Response:

Mr. *****; We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience. We had a staff turnover at the original time that you were trying to get this taken care of, so we are sorry that we didn't get you taken care of. We are working to make sure in the future, these situations are rectified in a timely manner.

We have sent a check to ****** today to be applied to your loan. We will call on Tuesday to verify the funds have been received and processed. Please see the attachments for additional information.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


While Tyans’s has finally reimbursed me the money they have been promising since June, 2015, the response they posted to my complaint is simply disingenuous. For those reviewing the BBB site before making a purchase, consider the following and decide if the response would satisfy you.

They cite that they had a personnel turn over when the initial error occurred and that’s what created the delay.  Maybe there was indeed some personnel turn-over, but I wrote and called half-a-dozen times in June, four times in July, four times in August, twice in September and again in October.  Ultimately, in September, Eric M. (one the Managers) responded to my complaint – posted on the Dealer Rater website, indicating he would correct the problem.  He didn’t.  He never contacted me.  No one from Tynan’s has ever made any attempt to make this right.  The claim that personnel turn-over is responsible for the last 5 months is insulting.

For resolution, I asked for a full refund and an explanation as to how this could have been allowed to happen.  I received my credit.  As for their explanation,  I’ll be satisfied when someone from Tynan’s finally steps up and tells the truth.

 Regards,

******* *****

Consumer Response:

from: ******* ***** <*****************>
to: disputes@wynco.bbb.org
date: Fri, Nov 20, 2015 at 4:24 PM
subject: Complaint ID # ********- Tynan's Nissan

I am satisfied with the issue.  Mr. Tynan contacted me and resolved the issue to my satisfaction.  I logged onto the BB site but it would not allow me to change my status as the site indicated it was in Tynans court.

I am satisfied with the response provided and would appreciate it being reflected that way – not that the consumer remains dissatisfied.

Please contact me if there are questions concerning this notice.

Thank you.

**** *****

11/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tynans was supposed to fix paint chips on my new truck I bought from them as per our contact. They replaced the hood and bumper with parts from another vehicle without telling me. When they replaced the parts the truck was two different colors. I asked them to get my parts back and just fix the chips I was then advised they had already sold my parts to someone else.

Desired Settlement: Would like to have whole truck repainted or replaced. Will NOT accept "blended" paint on new truck that should be ONE color.

Business Response:

Please see the attached letter.

This was sent to the customer with our resolution offers. She made the BBB complaint AFTER this letter was sent to her, and we have not received a response.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I have seen this letter and rejected it on 9/25/15. Among the reasons I am rejecting it now and then is that the paint will not be fixed just blended, which will look like the truck has front end damage. The letter does not ensure that the truck will be appraised at a specific value  and the wording allows for the dealer to later say " it was not the paint it was 'x', 'y', and 'z' that diminished the value". I feel that this is unacceptable. If Tynan's would like to replace the phrase "will not diminish the value of the vehicle at trade in" with "will give excellent trade in value at time of trade" I would discuss the way to fix the paint. If Tynan's is unwilling to assure excellent trade value the only other way to make it right is to repaint the entire truck including anything that is painted now. 
Regards,

**** ******

7/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought aa vehicle from tynan nissan and they told me that the vehicle was inspected, but when I take it to another shop, I found out that there was alot of problems with this vehicle, I take it back to them, they fix one of the problem and said that there wasn't anything else wrong. I take it back to another dealer and they told me that there's still a lot of problems with this vehicle, even the brakes that they claim to fix wasn't fix properly.

Desired Settlement: They should fix all the problems without any cost to me.

Business Response: The customer purchased the vehicle "as is" (attached)
The vehicle was inspected by Tynans Kia and sold at Tynans Nissan, as they are sister stores.
After delivery, the customer brought the vehicle back because the brakes were grinding. The measurements passed inspection but were a bit rusted.
Tynans replaced the brakes and did an alignment at no charge to the customer.
The customer also brought up a clunk in the front end. The inspection concluded that it was not a safety issue so we are not required to fix it.
The customer came back more recently and said that the brakes were squeeking (which is normal with the brakes that were put on)
He also brought up the clunking again, however we noticed it was not any worse than when we inspected before.

The customer was supposed to have to an appointment to look into things yesterday, and the customer did not show up.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I went to ***** in fort collins twice ans they told me not to let tynan nissan work on my vehicle, they also told me that the vehicle is not safe to drive. Every problem the vehicle as I take it to ***** another plce and the said it needs to be fix. I didn't bought the vehicle as is, I have no papers that say it was as is. As them to send you the papers that say it was as is. The brakes are grinding, and the reason I didn't go to the appointment is because they only want to give me a 10% discount. 


Regards,

****** ********

Business Response: I have attached a copy of the We Owe as well as the As Is Buyers Guide.

Thank you.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
The vehicle wasn't bought ( as is).I didn't initial any as is paper. The vehicle came with 90 days 3000 miles warranty. they told me that all cars are inspected be they sold them. But they didn't fix any of the problem this vehicle as. 
Regards,

****** ********

Consumer Response: They didn't give me any papers saying it was 3 months/90 days warranty.  They told me that's on all their vehicle under 80000 miles. I didn't initial any paper saying it was ( as is) and I have a witness that went there with me. They are the ones thar did that, the paper on the the window says limited warranty,  not ( as is). That paper that they did and trying to put my initial on it, I never get on as is paper, the person that was with me knows that too. 

Business Response: The dealer attached a copy of the AS IS signed by the customer in an earlier response. As far as the limitied warranty offered by the dealer it is strictly a limited power train warranty and would not cover the part in question. The dealer reached out to the customer offered to have him come in and offered a discount on work the customer wanted done. He declined to come in.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
I didn't signed an as is paper, I have a witness to prove it.
Regards,

****** ********

5/20/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased 2012 Nissan in November, 2013, with 1152 miles, manufacturer's warranty/limited warranty on Buyer's Guide for $29,495.00 and dealership said this vehicle most likely did not sell because of the color, no other owner had purchased this vehicle and it was used by the salesman a couple times to drive to and from Denver. Five months later I noticed small dent-like defects and paint flaws on entire truck body. on 4/19/14 and 4/24/14 dealer inspected the vehicle and only then disclosed they purchased this car from a Nissan Auction, it had been through a sand storm, touched-up by their body shop and placed onto their lot for sale. Further they would NOT repair the car or stand behind their body work because it was sold 'as is'. In researching our options, we found the FTC requires car dealers to post a Buyer's Guide; however, our buyer's guide was so poorly copied I had to print a copy out on the internet in order to read the fine print…..Said vehicle was sold with a check mark by 'Warranty' and 'Limited Warranty' on our copy/ Buyer's Guide. Under 'Limited Warranty' was a poorly stamped statement quoting "the dealership itself assumes no responsibility for any repairs, regardless of any oral statements about the vehicle"….ver badum what is contained under the unchecked "AS IS Warranty" section. The FTC also requires the Buyer's Guide to tell you 'what percentage of the repair costs a car dealer will pay under the 'warranty' section and our Guide is left blank or open-ended. This seems very deceitful as we were lead to believe it was warranted per the checked section "WARRANTY" followed by a checked "LIMITED WARRANTY". Further, 'Implied Warranties' under state law hold car dealers responsible if cars they sell don't meet reasonable quality standards. These obligations are called implied warranties - unspoken, unwritten promises from the seller to the buyer and have no specified time period. A buyer would clearly expect a vehicle with 1152 miles to meet quality new paint standards - vs - the paint to appear it had been through a sand storm within five months. This is a breach of contract as the defect existed at the time of sale and was NOT disclosed. Lastly, the dealership did repair work on this vehicle and is not standing behind that work. Referring to the 'touch-up' performed in their body shop which was not disclosed at the time of sale.

Desired Settlement: (1) We have received two bids from local auto body shops both stating in order to 'correctly' fix the vehicle, it would need to be sanded down and repainted - otherwise it will start to show flaws and dents like it is now. Each bid included refinishing to the entire passenger side and tail gate areas in the amounts of $2400.00 and $2700.00 (second bid Includes two windows on passenger side due to chips) and require the vehicle in their shops 7-10 days. Therefore we are requesting that amount plus cost of renting another vehicle in the total amount of $2900.00, from Tynons Nissan, Inc., as they refused to correct the issue. Both Auto body shops said when dealers perform 'touch up' on body paint, it will only last 6-7 months then begin to show white 'popcorn' spots. (2) Tynon's Nisson should be required to provide a completed and legible Buyer's Guide to each buyer and NOT be deceitful by marking 'Warranty' then poorly stamping verbiage indicating the vehicle is actually being sold 'As Is' which is contradictory……….either mark 'As Is' or 'Warranty'.

Business Response: We are very sorry to hear that you feel you were not treated fairly here at Tynans.

I have attached the buyers guide that was in the car deal for this customer, and as you can see, it is clearly legible.

Considering we had the paint touched up, and this vehicle was sold at a very good price in "as is" condition, we as a dealership are not required to do anything. But, as a gesture of good will Tynans will pay 50% for the customer to get the vehicle repainted, although we wouldn't recommend breaking the paint.

We will cut the customer a check for  $1275. (between their bids of $2400 and $2700 and split 50%

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  We are very sorry to hear Tynans will only offer 50% of our desired resolution.  Thank you for providing a copy of Tynan's Buyers Guide (BG).  It is NOT the BG I described in my complaint - their appears to be two.  The FTC states the BG becomes part of your sales contract and overrides any contrary provision. Depending on which BG you look at ……both are NOT marked 'as is'.

Although their copy is clearly legible, it is also clearly marked WARRANTY.  The car dealer must check the appropriate box on the BG to indicate whether the warranty is 'full or limited' and list systems covered.  It does NOT.  The dealer did not fill in the percentage they will pay toward labor or parts - it is left blank.
 
Tynans base their decision on the fact they had the paint touched up (Which did not hold up for five months) the sale was a 'good deal' (which is irrelevant to the issue at hand), that it was sold in 'as is' condition (yet they fail to show any documentation as such), as a dealership is not required to do anything (contrary to both BG) and they don't recommend breaking the paint (yet two local body shops have provided written bids as to what is needed to correct the damages).
 
We have brought the truck back to the dealership twice asking them to correct the damages - both times they refused.  And only then did they disclose this truck had been purchased at a Nissan auction, been through a sand storm, touched up at their body shop and placed onto their lot for sale. We do not accept the business' response and are requesting full reimbursement in the amount of $2,900.00 as initially requested (the amount required to fix the paint/windows).  We have based our request on the FTC's requirement that all car dealers must provide a completed and legible BG, the warranty clearly marked on both BG's, Tynan's failure to stand behind their bodywork prior to sale, and the fact they did not disclose the defect existed at the time of sale - which is a breach of contract per the Implied Warranty law.
 
If the dealership is not willing to fully satisfy our desired resolution, we will be left to take this matter to court and allow a judge to determine the outcome.  Thank you for your assistance.
 

Regards,

**** ******

1/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased my leased vehicle beginning of October and was told the paper work could take up to 45 days, the temporary plate was valid for 60 days. Part of the price included several hundred dollars for dealer processing. When nearing 60 days I called numerous times and left messages and was not called back. Finally in the beginning of December called the leasing company which told me they were still awaiting info from Tynan's Nissan. They had sent letters at the end of October and middle of November requesting the info. Paper work needed to be signed by my mother so the title could be in my name. The paperwork was finally fedex to her at the end of November. In the meantime, my temporary plates expired and the dealer said they could not do an extension and I had to go to motor vehicle and wait 2 hours to get the extension for 30 days and paid $6.25. Finally I was called on Friday, Dec. 20th to pick up the title at the dealer. I left that weekend for a planned vacation and did not get back until after the 1st of Jan. I went to motor vehicle, once again waited a considerable time, to register the car and was told that since it turned over into another year the car needed an emissions test before registrating the vehicle and that the dealer was responsible to having done that. I was told to go to the dealer for a paid voucher for emissions and then to the testing station. I also had to pay for another 2 week extension of the temporary plate for another $6.25. I went to the dealer and I was informed that they never pay for emissions tests. I asked to speak with the one in charge and was told I was speaking to him and he just spoke to his boss and they would not do anything to help me. I went to the emissions testing and paid $25 for the test. The dealer has not been helpful or cooperative over and did not seem to know the process for a vehicle going from lease to purchase. This issue has cost me much time, worry, stress and additional costs. I would recommend no one use this dealer.

Desired Settlement: Refund for additional costs and info to public regarding dealer's unwillingness to help and their poor customer service.

Business Response: We were unaware that the customer was trying to buy out the lease that was in her mothers name in the beginning. SO when Nissan informed us that we needed the customer's mother to sign a power of attorney we had to get in contact with her, and she was out of town.

We had the paperwork waiting to be picked up and completed for the customer when she was out of town. This was by her request because she didn't want us to mail it to the state, she wanted to pick it up personally. She was called several times to let her know the paperwork was available prior to the end of the year, however her as well as her mothers vacation put a bit of a time constraint on everything.

The dealer and handling fee is a fee that every dealership charges on every deal. It was in her paperwork that she signed and this is no above and beyond fee that is not explainable.

We do not pay for emissions test unless the vehicles has been turned into our shop for reconditioning. On a lease buyout the customer has the vehicle the entire time.

The dealer is not responsible, or allowed to by law, to extend a temporary permit.

Tynans wants all customers to be truly happy with their experience, we are sorry for all of the confusion.

We will reimburse you $37.50 for your emissions tests and the plate extensions and we will also offer you a complimentary full detail to make up for your bad experience. Our office assistant will call on Monday to arrange for you to pick up the check and the certificate.

Thanks

*** ****** ****** ****** *** *** ************
www.tynans.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ******

1/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2006 Chevy Equinox on 10/01/13. On test drive a rattling/clunking noise thought to be the table in the back was noted. Within hours of purchasing it I had many issues. The clunking got very bad & the brakes were pulsing and squeaking-ABS & traction control lights came on. They told me to bring it in-they gave me a loaner car-they had mine for 4 days. They repaired the front swaybar links-said that they could not reproduce any braking issues. I then received a copy of "Used Car Multi-Point Inspection" invoice dated 7/19/13 for the inspection they apparently did when they took the vehicle in on trade before they put it up for sale. It states: A - Found that the T-case fluid is black & valve covers are leaking - Sales denied service (ie this was not repaired); B - Internal Used Vehicle Emission Test-passed; C - Lube & filter service performed; D - Inspection found driver-sided door lock switch not working - replaced & works properly (THIS DOES NOT WORK); E - found that front brake rotors have pulsation - resurfaced & pulsation is no longer present (PULSATION IS STILL PRESENT); F - noticed front end clunk noise-found front sway bar bushings are worn - replaced sway bar bushings (CLUNKING NOISE WAS STILL PRESENT WHEN PURCHASED); G - while braking at low speeds, ABS comes on-left front ABS sensory was erratic - replaced left front wheel bearing (ABS & TRACTION LIGHTS COMING ON IMMEDIATELY AFTER PURCHASE). Considering these items were ALL noted back on 7/19/13 & stated on the invoice to have been repaired, yet were still present immediately after purchase-I am extremely concerned if ANY of these items were ever actually taken care of at all. I contacted the dealership again-they have no desire to take care of anything. They provided me with an inspection report showing the issues that they found with the vehicle that showed they were all repaired, yet those same issues still exist, and have now progressed to a grinding sound when making tight slow turns.GROSS misrepresentation of vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I would like Tynans at THEIR expense to make the repairs for the issues noted on their inspection report as detailed above. I would like to be sure that everything stated as "repaired and working" is actually done this time & working as indicated to include any issues with the sway bars (creating the rattling/clunking noise), issues with the grinding sound on turns, any braking issues (squealing, squeaking, ABS light and traction lights coming on), driver-side door lock switch, etc.

Business Response: ***** ******** ****** ******************** *** ***** ***** ********************** ***** **** *** ** **** ** ***** ** ******** *** ****** ****** ******* ***** *** *******
 
Since this was reported in early October, my service department has already taken care of the situation.
 
I went through her service file and found that when the issue could be found and diagnosed, that service took care of it at no cost to the customer. (there was a situation that the service department couldn’t reproduce in order to address)
 
*** ****** ****** ****** *** *** ************ **************

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  I do agree that "some" attempts have been made to make some minor things right; however, not all of them.  I guess my biggest issue is being told that things have been taken care of that haven't been, i.e. all the things that were apparently repaired before the vehicle was even put up for sale that were still in existence immediately after purchasing it.  I was told this last time that there had been a wiring issue and that the repair that they made had taken care of everything regarding the interior lights, power outlet, door lock switch on driver's side, etc.......I distinctly asked if the odometer light and other interior lights were all working, and I was told "Yes, the service man had reported that the lights all came on after the repair".  The odometer light and the light on one of the heater knobs still does not come on.  I was told that they could not reproduce the issues with the vehicle intermittently not starting without several tries and having to push on the gas.  That problem is STILL occurring as recently as this morning when I had to try 4 times to get the vehicle to start.  I still get the intermittent pulsing when applying the brakes, which did also happen this morning, which was concerning on these snowy/icy roads.  I have never purchased a used vehicle before (always bought new) and I went to Tynans because of their good reputation; however, I had fewer problems with the 1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee with 174,000 miles that I replaced!  

Regards,

****** ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  In direct response to Tynan's reference to their "as is" clause, it states: "...........except as may be otherwise specifically provided in writing on the face of this order or in a separate writing furnished to buyer by Tynan's."  

 
I have attached a copy of the Tynan's work order dated 07/09/2013, which was their "used car multi-point /service inspection" and repair order.  This is a "separate writing furnished to me (the buyer) by Tynan's".  
 
On page 1, it clearly states that the driver's front door switch was not working and that they replaced it.  THIS WAS NOT WORKING IMMEDIATELY AFTER PURCHASE.  
 
On page 2, it clearly states that there was a clunk noise and that the front sway bar bushings were worn and that they replaced the sway bar.   THIS CLUNKING WAS HAPPENING IMMEDIATELY AFTER PURCHASE.
 
On page 2, it clearly states that the ABS light was coming on while braking at low speeds and that they replaced the ABS sensor.  THIS SENSOR CAME ON IMMEDIATELY AFTER PURCHASE AND HAS CONTINUED TO COME ON.  SEE ATTACHED PHOTOS FROM 12/16/13.  
 
Any person would assume that if provided with a document from the dealer stating that these issues were found and repaired on 07/09/13 before putting the vehicle up for sale that this was a true and honest face.  Yet, ALL of these issues still existed and were found by me right after I left the dealership, and I called and let them know.  THAT is why they told me to bring the vehicle back.  If they had repaired the door switch back in July, why did they have to do it again.  If they had replaced the sway bar in July, why did they have to do it again?  They have never done ANYTHING with the braking issues, as they state they cannot duplicate the issue, yet it was noted on their own inspection report to have been found and repaired in July; however, the problem continues.  I have attached 3 photos that I took on 12/16/13 at 4:07 p.m. with both the ABS and traction control lights on.  
 
Tynan's themselves provided me with written documentation of these issues and a repair order, yet NONE of these things had actually been repaired back in July 2013 as indicated.  This is quite deceitful, and while they have made some attempts to take care of some of these things, the braking issue (serious issue) and some wiring issues still do exist.  There, I am rejecting their stance that they have resolved the complaint.  

Regards,

****** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Tynan's Nissan
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)