BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Tynan's KIA?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Tynan's KIA

Phone: (970) 377-6900 Fax: (970) 377-6990 2849 S College Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80525 http://www.tynanskia.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tynan's KIA meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tynan's KIA include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tynan's KIA
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 15, 2011 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984 Business incorporated: 01/01/1984 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Auto Division-CO
140 W 6th Ave Rm 109, Denver CO 80204
Phone Number: (303) 205-5696

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Edward Tynan, Vice President Ms. Kathy Snyder-Martin, A/P
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Edward Tynan, Vice President
Business Category

Car Dealerships Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Fort Collins Nissan Inc
Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Additional Locations

  • 2849 S College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 377-6900

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After going on a test drive my salesman **** tried to rush me into a high pressure sale of this vehicle. After noticing a popping sound I investigated to find out that the rubber isolation around the drive-shaft carrier bearing to be worn out, after pressing them further it was in the safety inspection that indeed the carrier bearing was worn. I called my friend who is a ASE certified mechanic he stated that the carrier bearing would be an easy fix but also stated that it might also be a rear pinion gear issue as well. I asked them directly if there was any issues in the report about the rear pinion gear or rear axle to which they replied NO. I fixed the drive shaft and after putting it back in and taking it on a test drive I noticed a vibration coming from the rear of the truck. I inspected everything and found nothing wrong. The next day I had the tires balanced only to hear and feel the same vibration. I called **** my salesman and told him of my problems and asked if they would look at it, ultimately they said no, they would not even look at it for any reason. I also noticed that someone had recently put fresh gear oil in the rear differential. I took it into another Nissan dealer in the area and had them look at it to which they found out the rear axle was worn out and failing, the slop in the drive-line and worn out carrier bearing masked the problem. It will need a $2400 dollar rebuild or a used axle installed for $980 plus tax to even be dependable. The service manager was shocked that this passed Tynan's safety inspection and stated that they would have never put it on their lot in this condition. I called **** once again only to find out they they are planning to do absolutely nothing to help me out, NOTHING! not you buy the part and we will pay labor NOTHING! I have had better service from shady used car only lots. The carrier bearing and this should have been fixed before they even put it on their lot and certainly should at least be dealt with now to some degree.

Desired Settlement: Since they wanted NOTHING more to do with me once they got my money and will not even return my calls and I am having it fixed at a third party shop (authorized Nissan service). I want them to pay the repair bill, $980 plus tax. The very least I will settle for is half of that. I think that is more than fair. I will upload supporting documents once I get them.

Business Response: We have attached the:

1)     Customer credit memo (aka work promised) where the customer has signed that the vehicle is sold as equipped- no promises.

2)     Buyers Guide/ As Is- signed by customer stating he was buying the vehicle As-Is.

 
The vehicle is a 1995 Nissan pickup with 87,000 miles.

Mr. ***** called **** about these issues and was told that the vehicle was sold AS-IS,  at which point Mr. *****  threatened **** with lawyers and legal action. **** then told him that he would no longer be allowed to talk to him and that if he needed any more assistance that his lawyers would have to contact our lawyers. 
               The dealer explained to the customer that the vehicle was put through a safety inspection and items that were deemed “unsafe” were fixed on the vehicle. The general sales manager, ******** Hartford, explained to Mr. ***** the night before he bought the vehicle that there was some play in the steering links, the rear carrier bearing was indeed warn,  and there were some leaks present in the vehicle- which is due to the fact that it’s 19 years old. Mr. ******** then discounted the vehicle an additional $250 in lieu of our dealership fixing it. The carrier bearing was not a safety issueand the dealer wasn’t obligated to do anything about it.

                The
customer stated after he took delivery of the vehicle that he did work himself
to the vehicle and found the problems with the vehicle AFTER he worked on it.

                The
vehicle was sold As-Is at the time of sale. The dealer does not see any reason
to pay any money to Mr.  *****.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:   I am not disputing the fact I bought this vehicle "as is" this has the be the most anyplace I have ever heard of trying to throw that back in someones face. I am disputing the FACT that **** *******  lied to me when I asked if there was ANYTHING wrong with the vehicle to which he replied "NO" That was indeed the case when I noticed the pooping sound when I discovered the bad carrier bearing. and yes in fact it was on the mechanics notes (so yes he was caught in a lie! ) along with the other issues of which I agreed to fix at my own cost for the added $250 discount. But despite asking to see the Print out of the Mechanics findings on the truck it was never made available, I should have and wised I'd ran.  What I am not willing to pay the cost on is the completely trashed rear end, pinion gears are striped out. Over $1000 just to put a used one in and $2400 rebuild.    Tynans Kia-**** ******* DID NOT disclose the problems with this and the service manager and tech that looked at it where I am getting it repaired said it would be impossible for any ASE certified mechanic to not find this in their safety inspection, They also said a carrier bearing worn out the way it was was indeed a safety issue.  I am accusing Tynans Kia of flat out lying to me and believe that they had prior knowledge of this problem before they sold it to me. This Axle has fresh gear oil in it indicates that it had been completely changed out so they must have known something, trying to mask the problem.   How come after I drove the car off the lot you guys wanted nothing more do do with me? no even look at it? for any reason, I have never been treated so badly by any dealer. might as well have gotten a restraining order.  
  I told **** and also left a message for the general manager that if no one called me back and they left it as it was last Frida,y which they apparently did that I would seek an attorney, If I had an attorney or not they were not going to return my calls or help me out one bit, they got their money and that's all they cared about. I did contact an attorney and he advised me to give it one more chance through the BBB to resolve this without court action which I am trying to do. 
  I really don't want to waste more of my time dragging this into court and calling people to the stand and testify, Tynans Kia has wasted enough of my time.  They even lied to me and said it was stolen off the lot when I initially went to look at it.
  I will drop my case if they can provide me with a copy of the Police report of it being stolen from their lot, and the actual mechanics findings on the truck and it makes no mention of the rear end pinion gears being bad or making noise,  or a statement from the mechanic that looked at this stating that he found no problems with the rear end or rear axle. 
  As mentioned I have bought cars from some strictly used car lots that have done way more for me after the sale than Tynans Kia has. Asking for you to pay half is not asking to much.  



Regards,

***** *****

Business Response: Per Mr. *****'s response he would drop his case if we provided a copy of the police report, and a copy the findings from the mechanic who inspected the vehicle showing no mention of pinion gears being bad or making noise. You will see that the police report was filed on 1-29-2014 and the inspection 2-4-2014 has no mention of pinion gears at all.   

We have attached the Police Report dated 1-29-2014 and the Repair Order performed by our master technician on 2-4-2014 which shows no mention of the pinion gears.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I still don't know how you missed this and had absolutely no desire whatsoever to help me with the issues. Not me buy the part and you pay for labor nothing. What would that have set you back really? 100-150 bucks? It set me back $629.74 for labor,  don't even care huh? Did not even offer to give me a discount on labor or even want the truck on your lot at all for any reason, so much for service after the sale I guess.  And now I can see why I was not allowed to see this report, if I had I would NOT have bought the truck.  Live and learn I guess and NEVER send anyone to your dealership. 

Regards,

***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was notified by the sales person that the car i was purchasing has hail damage after i signed all the paper work for buying the car. I went to Tynan's Kia in Fort Collins to buy a new 2014 Kia Sorento SX on 22nd June. I did test drive the model i wanted and then selected the color i wanted and i came to an agreement on the price of the car with the dealership. Once i signed couple of papers with Sales guy then went to the finance guy and did all the paper work for buying the car.Once i completed paper work came out and went to the car. Then sales guy shows me the hail damage on the car and tells me that he would fix it and told me that i should not worry as it will not showup on carmax reports. I asked him why he did not tell me earlier before i signed all the paper work, he started telling me that he saw them after the car was washed. I told him you should have come to me when i was signing the paper work with finance guy and there was not answer. he did tell me there was hail in the area and it might be then this car might have had hail damage and he also told me that they got insurance check.So my question for him was if you knew there was hail damage, how couldn't you check this car. There was no proper answer from the sales guy. I was not happy told him to write in a paper and give me what he told me about when he saw the hail damage. He told he would fix hail damage, all the scratches on the and fix a running board and deliver car early next week by Tuesday or Wednesday. finally he delivered my car on Friday evening(06/28)

Desired Settlement: I want them to compensate me for selling me a hail damage car.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I asked sales person if they can give me another new vehicle and he said no. As car was delivered on Friday evening around 7:00 PM and it was weekend and so it took me a while to find out the right BBB to file a complaint.My question is why did not sales person tell me there was hail damage before i signed paper.As he knew there was hail damage for the cars in the dealership.

Business Response: The hail was disclosed and repaired before the customer took delivery. Therefore, the dealership is not going to give the customer any additional money or services.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/3/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sold me a mechanically inferior vehicle to what was portrayed at time of sale and the sales manager used my lowest score to determine my APR. List if issues in the first 500 miles: TPMS sensor, leak in the panoramic roof, faulty battery, squeaky breaks, oil change indicator sensor on, vehicle engine knocking and noisy suspension. I came back to the dealership three times and in a matter of three weeks only the battery issue was fixed by replacing the battery. Final diagnostic at Jeep showed an initial bill of $1500-$2000 just for the leaky roof and TPMS sensor. The rest of the issues went undiagnosed.

Desired Settlement: List if issues in the first 500 miles: TPMS sensor, leak in the panoramic roof, faulty battery, squeaky breaks, oil change indicator sensor on, open safety recall in the windshield wipers, vehicle engine knocking and noisy suspension. I came back to the dealership three times and in a matter of three weeks and only the battery issue was fixed by replacing the battery. Diagnostic at Jeep showed an initial estimate of $1500-$2000 just for the leaky roof and TPMS sensor. The rest of the issues went undiagnosed as per ******'s Kia request. During the time of sale the vehicle was sold "as is" and ********** (sales manager) assured me that there were no mechanical issues with the vehicle as there is a $500 fee written into each sale to cover maintenance costs for all their vehicles. Furthermore, when my credit was ran they either lied to the bank or submitted my lowest score in order to give me a non-negotiable APR over 8%. When I asked if they could do better, ********** said "not from this bank and we are a diamond member with this bank; they give us the bast rates. If you like I can run your credit with other banks but it will effect your credit negatively with further inquiries". I found out from my attorney that this was not true because vehicles and houses have a 30 day period where this is an exception. After three visits to ******'s Kia and the final visit to Jeep to diagnose/fix my vehicle; I called ******'s Kia three times. The first time I spoke to ************ and he told me Mr. ****** was on vacation and only he could fix any issues and Jeep is not to diagnose anything more than a leaky roof and fix the oil change light. The second time I called I spoke to Jesse Powers and he said Mr. ****** is at another dealership and he doesn't know when Mr. ****** ****** would be in because he doesn't have a set schedule. When I called back a third time I reached a receptionist and asked again where Mr. ****** ****** was and I was told he was with a sick relative. In short, no one but ****** Tyanan could help me and no one knew where he was or when he would be back. The attitudes I was getting from Tynans Kia were more argumentative and passive/aggressive in relation to the vehicular issues I was having. Furthermore, the deceptive sales practices in regards to the price vs. condition of the vehicle and how my credit was ran "tipped the scale" for me and I decided to trade in the vehicle and take a $3850 loss. Upon hearing that I traded in my vehicle, Mr. ****** ****** declined to do any further business with me or remedy my situation in any way.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2012/10/29) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Owner/GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@tynans.com Mr ****** purchased the 2008 **** Liberty on September 17th, 2012 "as is" at time of Delivery. Mr ****** brought the car back to our service department on September 11th for repair on cigarette burns- which we fixed for free Mr ****** brought the car back to our service department on September 24th with the following issues (I also have responses on what we did for him) TPMS sensor- this light was on because of the SPARE tire, that didn't have a TPMS stem in it, it just had a regular stem, causing light to come on. WE told him that if he purchased the stem that we would put it in for free (no labor charge) he declined. Leak in the panoramic roof- this is something that is a common problem on this model, I have attached a few articles that show how other people are experiencing the same thing. This seem sto be **** Factory Defect. http://www.carcomplaints.com/****/Liberty/2008/accessories-exterior/sky_slider_is_defective.shtml http://chrysler-corporation.pissedconsumer.com/jeep-liberty-sky-slider-XXXXXXXXXXXXXX.html Faulty Battery- we replaced the battery at "no charge" on October 1st Squeaky brakes- we replaced the brake pads at "no charge" on September 24th Oil change indicator sensor- this is something that we as a ****** store can't properly diagnose. Per the owner, ****** ******, Our service manager made an appointment at the ********** store for Mr ****** (offered to put him in a loaner car and Tynans would take the vehicle down to ****** (once again at no charge) and Mr ****** declined, claiming he lives close to the ***** store and he could bring the car in himself. Vehicle engine knocking and noisy suspension- we did not find any problems with the engine knocking or suspension. ****s are a rather "loud" vehicle as is. When we made the appointment for him at **********, we only asked for the light to be cleared and also a second opinion on the panoramic roof. Mr ****** traded the vehicle in to ****** without ever contacting that we went above and beyond for Mr ******. After he traded his car into the other dealer **** (the service manager) or ****** ****** (owner/ Gm) We at Tynans feel ship before contacting us with the diagnosis, we felt there was no more that we could do for him. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2012/10/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did purchase the vehicle "as is" on September 17th. The vehicle was sold to me in excellent condition "as is". I paid ******'s $500 maintenance fee and was assured that the vehicle was in perfect mechanical working order at the time of sale. I have the paperwork that shows an "as is" vehicle in excellent working condition and the additional $500 I paid. I'd like to see the paperwork for Sept 11th as there were never any cigarette burns in the vehicle. How did these get fixed for free if they never existed? As far at the TPMS sensor in the spare tire, this should have been addressed at the time of sale. If I was missing a break pad or a spark plug would you charge me for that too? Of course I don't want to pay for something twice and that's why I declined. Come on, I paid full retail for a broken vehicle with missing parts. These things were supposed to come out in the maintenance diagnostic that I paid $500 for at the time of sale. You told me about the bad wipers, but failed to mention anything else, why???? As far as the leaky roof, this was not mentioned to me either. It seems like you have plenty of articles to throw at me once I bought the vehicle and here on BBB response page. Where were these reports at time of sale or did you just know nothing about the vehicle you sold me? Either way, ignorance or deception is not a way to conduct business. I agree, you replaced the battery and cut my rotors and sanded down my breaks for free. Thank you. You also sent me over to ********** **** to fix the oil change sensor indicator and look at the leaky roof for assessment. I was also told to get back to ****** ****** once these things were done or if I ran into any problems. **** couldn't even see me that day and I was stuck there all day with nothing but an initial assessment of $1XXX-XXXX worth of work. I got offered a vehicle the week prior but declined because the issues were not great enough to warrant a loaner car. Common sense says it takes less than a day to assess a roof and clear a sensor. Plus, I live 5 minutes from the **** dealership. Vehicle engine knocking and suspension happened the week between I was last at ******'s ****** and when I took the vehicle to ****. Tyanan's ****** was adamantly opposed to having **** diagnose these issues and I was not getting any reassurance that they were going to remedy the situation on Oct 16th, 2012, the day I took it to ****. I had to run everything through ****** ****** who was either on vacation, at another dealership or taking care of a sick relative. Either way, no one could reach him. I am assuming Mr. ****** does not own a cell phone due to these responses. In short, I did contact Tynans ****** and got nowhere. I lost $3850 on the trade in because I cannot afford to be without a reliable vehicle for one day. No one helped me and ******'s made a nice profit while I lost a nice amount of money. I'm looking for a compromise here, not $3850. ******'s failed to even offer me one dollar. Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2012/11/06) */ Upon review of Mr. ******'s purchase agreements and contracts, as well as all of the paperwork from Mr. ******'s purchase of the ****, no item described or referenced as a "maintenance fee" was assessed. A vehicle service contract was offered and declined, this can be reviewed and confirmed on the buyer signed "product disclosure" that has been included. The closest charge to $500 "maintenance fee" is the Dealer Handling Fee which is $499.50. In compliance with Colorado State Motor Vehicle law, the $499.50 is clearly stated on the buyers order as "additional cost or profit for the dealer/seller," again, nowhere is there a $500 maintenance fee assessed or collected. When a car is sold and delivered in an "As-Is" state, nothing is written that says that the car is in excellent working condition, as you can see Mr. ****** signed the As-Is disclosure acknowledging his liability for any and all vehicle repairs after the time of purchase/delivery, indicating that he was advised and purchased the vehicle in As-Is condition. Should the consumer have had any concerns about the condition of the vehicle, such concerns are to be voiced and any agreements are to be clearly stated in writing and signed by the customer as well as the dealer authorizing any additional promises or repairs. In regards to the leaky sunroof, the vehicle in question is a 2008 **** Liberty with the panoramic sunroof. The vehicle was purchased at a ****** dealership. The vehicle was described and presented with the most information available to those involved at the time of the transaction. Performing additional research after learning of Mr. ******'s complaints, these documents were obtained and provided for review post-sale. Any issues or concerns about the ****, again, needed to be addressed before contracting and delivery with consideration given to the AS-IS disclosure and the liabilities outlined within said disclosure. After several attempts to rectify the situation, Mr. ****** insisted on only corresponding with ****** ****** and when ******'s ****** contacted Mr. ****** to transport his vehicle to a **** repair facility for his convenience, Mr. ****** refused this attempt and insisted on bringing the vehicle to a repair facility and vocalized a complaint to ******'s about being made to wait by the other service department. The fact that **** could not see Mr ****** in a timely manner, is not of our concern. We offered a loaner as we could use our inter-dealership relations to address the concerns but he declined. Expedience and quality of another dealership is unrelated to Tynans. Subsequently, Mr. ****** thought it prudent to trade out of the **** and purchase a different vehicle. It was at this time that Mr. ****** contacted his Visa card provider and initiated a charge-back on his down payment for the **** Liberty for $1000 on September 17th 2012. This cancellation of his down payment was processed October 26th 2012 and documents supporting this have also been included. This was not discussed nor authorized by any employee of ******'s.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved